Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

stanley85
post Apr 17 2007, 10:12 AM

704 posts

hello...i'm new here..
i plan to get a new pc in either this month or early of may
spec:

c2d e6600
gigabyte 8800gts 320mb
hdd WD 160gb
17" LCD
mushkin 1gb 667 ram (x2, total 2gb)
1or 2 dvd rewriter
any mobo will suit my processor..possibly gigabyte 945p-s3 or better one

i plan to get a igreen cooler master 500w... will it be sufficient for my pc? or do i need to get a 600w or even better ? thanks..
stanley85
post Apr 18 2007, 08:25 PM

704 posts

hmmm...ic.. thanks guy smile.gif
stanley85
post Apr 19 2007, 02:03 PM

704 posts

but i see the silver stone strider 560w which cost me RM 399 in the last week price list.. where u get the RM 320 ??
stanley85
post Apr 20 2007, 10:28 AM

704 posts

hmm..ic, i maybe going to lowyat on this sun see again smile.gif
stanley85
post Nov 13 2007, 01:14 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(scph50004 @ Nov 12 2007, 10:35 PM)
Planning to upgrade my com through these specs:

C2D E6750 2.66GHz
Gigabyte P35C DS3 mobo
4GB ram
8800GT
500GB HDD

CM Extreme Power 650W good enough? Not OCing, and don't wanna spend too much on PSU department...

saw CM iGreen Power 500W and Mushkin H-500W PSU getting good comments... Which one to recommend?
to be the safe side..better dun buy this one la.. since the psu label didn't show the total wattage for +12v rail. you will need at least 22A to power up your pc.

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Nov 13 2007, 12:52 AM)
using chapalang PSU (my friend)
izzit fan noise? last time my psu also had that problem..went rma and bought another better one shakehead.gif

stanley85
post Nov 14 2007, 04:46 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Nov 13 2007, 03:19 AM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif hahaha....some chapalang psu is good if you were lucky.  tongue.gif 
im selling my old psu. blush.gif
wasn't using chapalang.. sumore cm lagi.. 380w. now put there din touch edi. dunno what series liao..din go see.

QUOTE(scph50004 @ Nov 13 2007, 09:31 AM)
okay... CM iGreen Power 500W, is it better?
yeah..according to the PSU label, it should be enough to power up your pc.
stanley85
post Nov 17 2007, 09:40 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Nov 17 2007, 09:21 AM)
u still dont get it...
the way both brands rate their power supply is different...
the enermax have stronger rails compared to the ST56F... the power quoted by silverstone are absolute maximum, while enermax has been more conservative, otherwise how do u explain a weaker rails have higher output power? if u were to calculate the absolute maximum, then the enermax would have higher output.
so if it's like u say, bigger is better, then in other words u're slapping your own face..
see the photos, and read the rails, dun be a blindfolded fanboy..
btw i doubt silverstone manufacture their own PSU, my guess is they OEM from other manufacturers, which makes them no difference with brands like thermaltake or coolermasters.
frankly, i don't get what u mean sweat.gif if as 0168257061 said:

QUOTE(168257061 @ Nov 17 2007, 02:54 PM)
you mean the +3.3V rails and +5.0V rails  isit ? sorry for missing to see that. I just see the +12V rails only  blush.gif
+3.3v and +5v rail isn't needed much for today's pc so 2A doesn't really affect. they mainly for hdd, ram and other part which use smaller power. anyway i would not say any words on that enermax as i din read any review from it and don't know the exact value for it's +12v rail.
stanley85
post Nov 18 2007, 01:19 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Nov 18 2007, 12:29 AM)
i'm trying to say if u combine all the rails of the enermax, it'll be higher than the ST56F..
the ST56F has weaker rails, and yet was quoted as a higher power PSU @ 560W. while the enermax has stronger rails, are only quoted @ 535W.
so the way the manufacturer rate their product is actually different, and 0168257061's way of just comparing the number is not sufficient to determine which is a better PSU, cause he judge it by seeing which number is bigger..
i see. anyway..we shouldn't look at the wattage itself la..need to take consideration of the amperage. anyway through the psu label, both also a good psu. smile.gif

QUOTE(ggoo @ Nov 18 2007, 10:59 AM)
hey.. so after all.. silverstone ST56F is a good PSU right??
yes.
stanley85
post Nov 19 2007, 12:37 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(syazwanreno @ Nov 18 2007, 08:49 PM)
silverstone ST56F vs coolermaster iGreen 500w
which is the best.....
and
higher MTBF = good?
ST56F = 100 000 hours
CMiGreen = 300 000 hours
please pick one for me  thumbup.gif
if only look into cm igreen 500w, it shows a better psu than silverstone, with higher energy efficiency. anyway i din go find the review (lazy tongue.gif). just the down side is..lower amp for +3.3v.. anyway i don't think recent pc need much power from +3.3v rail.. again..looking through psu label, the igreen looks better than silverstone.

btw mtbf is something like a method of testing how long the psu can be use... erm something like that..or testing how many unit before the failure.. go google around you will get the answer. smile.gif

QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Nov 18 2007, 08:50 PM)
Hi guys...what does it means if my PSU is buzzing? My chapalang powerlogic psu just started buzzing a few days back. Ive check and see if theres anything hitting the fan or not but there isnt anything blocking it. So..what could be the problem?  blink.gif

Edit: Silverstone ST400 ( 400w ) vs Cooler Master Real Power 450w = which one win  hmm.gif
unsure ur situation.. but buzzing maybe the electric component inside have some problem.. better send for warranty asap if it's still under warranty (but chap ayam psu also got warranty? blink.gif ) or open up and see..whether got something inside or any of the component failure.
stanley85
post Nov 19 2007, 02:04 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Nov 19 2007, 01:21 AM)
MTBF is Mean Time Between Failure, which means how many hours of usage before failure is expected..
oh ya thats the exact answer. rclxms.gif but also got article wrote it is pretty much useless... sweat.gif

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Nov 19 2007, 01:23 PM)
just a noob q here...
is acbel e2 470w a true power psu??
cuz i saw dis promotion at all it selling at RM159 plus a life time warranty...
is it enuff for duo core proc?
if it not gud enuf, can u guys suggest a gud one??
thanks in advance... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
what is your pc spec?
stanley85
post Nov 19 2007, 06:09 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Nov 19 2007, 05:13 PM)
amd athlon x2 6000+
biostar t force 560
sapphire 1950 gt 256mb
80g sata hdd
liteon sata dvdrw
3gig corsair value ram

dats all i think...gonna upgrade my hdd to 250g soon...
pls help me to choose d cheapest!!! brows.gif
acbel 470w should be enough. smile.gif or silverstone 400w RM 180
stanley85
post Nov 27 2007, 06:31 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(sayming @ Nov 24 2007, 10:08 PM)
I'm getting a

C2D e6750
Asus 8800GT
160GB HDD

But the shopkeeper recommended me the Cooler Master Elite 330 Casing that comes with a Real Power 380W PSU. Will that PSU be sufficient enough for my rig?
ask the shopkeeper sign in a contract and make sure it's bind in law, stated that: if the psu which recommended by the shopkeeper fail to funtion within 1 year or malfunction of the psu within 1 year causes any of the pc hardware fail to function, he have to replace all the affected hardware and replace a better psu (silverstone 560w). brows.gif icon_rolleyes.gif then the shopkeeper sure will afraid. rclxm9.gif

Added on November 27, 2007, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(qiyi @ Nov 26 2007, 01:37 AM)
1. Lets say ur computer uses 400W only. If u buy a 700W psu with >80% efficiency, will it automatically lower the wattage usage to 400W or it will still pump 700W?
2. Average efficiency of chapalang psu? Say ICUTE 450W?
3. If monitor draws power from the psu, should it be included in the calculation of total watt usage of the psu?

Want to save on electricity bill  sweat.gif
1.it will fix to meet your pc power requirement, like when it use 300w only, then it will provide 300w output only. unless it's chap ayam psu then i not sure la...
2. & 3. sorry i can't answer you. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stanley85: Nov 27 2007, 06:34 PM
stanley85
post Nov 27 2007, 07:11 PM

704 posts

hmm..got a question here.. abt silverstone 750w. from other forum. some said it used unqualified capacitor .. how reliable is silverstone and enermax in m'sia? hmm.gif whistling.gif (i heard they said those branded psu also got 偷工减料 in m'sia.. hmm.gif )
http://chinese4.cari.com.my/myforum/viewth...&extra=page%3D2
stanley85
post Nov 27 2007, 07:21 PM

704 posts

lol i also not sure abt that.. sweat.gif from other forum also got ppl said ..

有些好像ENAMAX阿,某些款的silverstone
已经证实是偷工减料的了
选购一个足料的PSU,经验是很重要的,文章固然必要看
但是PSU这个东西,没有自己拆来看,真的是很难说
有些PSu,在这个国家给的料石这样
另外一个国家又不一样
whistling.gif whistling.gif

http://www.jbtalks.cc/viewthread.php?tid=2...&extra=page%3D1
stanley85
post Nov 27 2007, 07:49 PM

704 posts

eh when i bcome 高级会员 i also din notice sweat.gif

hmm..maybe.. hopefully they didn't do so... sweat.gif
stanley85
post Nov 29 2007, 09:21 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Nov 29 2007, 08:58 AM)
erm around RM200 below...
enuff ka???
pretty tight rite now... icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
lol no worry..your rig won't kaput la.. at most your pc keep restart if the psu can't supply enough power.. like blue screen while gaming, or the vga have to reduce it's performance in order to keep your pc running. but some chap ayam psu will pop la..dunno whether silverstone will or not.. maybe not gua..cos the quality is still there. so not enough power = can't power up your pc or restart or vga reduce it's performance. so..use it first la.. laugh.gif
stanley85
post Dec 3 2007, 11:34 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Dec 3 2007, 10:40 AM)
wah..so far i see alto icute psu user kabomb....wondering when my bro icute psu kabomb and let him learn the lesson
ah..you so evil tongue.gif
stanley85
post Dec 3 2007, 04:59 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Dec 3 2007, 11:36 AM)
LOLZ!!! laugh.gif

It's not evil la... Coz some ppl dun understand why they should buy a better PSU...

well i have a doubt here. i see there are few cases on PSU go "kaboom" while they using their pc... those are refer to those chap ayam and ICUTE psu izzit? and those quality psu such as enermax, silverstone, etc..even if you using a under power psu, at most the psu will shut down or not even boot up the pc but not going to blow...right?
stanley85
post Dec 7 2007, 12:17 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Dec 3 2007, 05:34 PM)
Well, for my case that time I was using Thermaltake Butterfly 400W and it doesn't hav enuf power to power my PC... The worst is onli shutting down la... They r just making a joke out of it.... laugh.gif

Unless u r fiddling with something else, then the senario might change....
QUOTE(tech_frix @ Dec 3 2007, 05:36 PM)
i think it depends on d power surge it self..
if u r using chapalang psu and d current flow is not stabilize, it may conjure to a kaput incident...
ignore me if i'm wrong.. sweat.gif  sweat.gif
ya..1 of the reason for those chap ayam psu to blow is because the use of they using lauzy component part..or not qualified. so i assume that those quality brand won't have such problem (blow up).. hmm.gif
stanley85
post Dec 19 2007, 09:46 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(bonedragon @ Dec 19 2007, 02:34 PM)
hm..from that calculation..I need around 300W i think. But then for my other comp I am thinking of getting a 8800GT graphics card but I don't think my current PSU can support it. What PSU do you recommend? I heard the 12vrail connecting to the 8800GT should have at least 22A? This is my comp specs

Intel Dual Core 2.8GHz
PSU no idea...probablly 300W
Current gcard is Asus Extreme AX550
try to use the pro version (paid version) in order to get more accurate for every single rail amperage.. the overall result doesn't help much. cos some old psu might have more amp on +3v and +5v rail. just a suggestion here.

0.0236sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:08 PM