4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

akachester
post Jun 12 2007, 08:53 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 12 2007, 12:34 AM)
I dunno about FSP, normally for non-real power, eg the extreme power 430W, the max. output would be 400W iinm, while a Real Power 400W would output the same 400W. Extremepower is considered the best non-real power, this site has rated it as the best thumbup.gif
http://www.overclockers.com.au/wiki/Power_...y_Unit#The_Best

however, I think that CM realpower has really low current output on 12V. On real power, I recommend Silverstone in any case

the extreme power 430 can be used to power a C2D with single 7900GT, and theoretically it can still support 8800GTS single card.
Actually i am thinking of FSP as well. The price for the 400W version seems to be good at RM135. If its confirmed real power, then i guess that would be my best choice unless there is anything else better below the budget of RM150. CM Extreme Power wise, i guess if its able to handle those high end system, it should be able to handle the upcoming rig at these specs:

AMD X2 3600+ AM2
Biostar TForce Mobo
7300GT/8500GE
1 sound card
250gb HDD
DVDRW
a couple of fans

430W Extreme Power should be enough right?
akachester
post Jun 12 2007, 09:57 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 12 2007, 09:54 AM)
enough. my friend use that "crap" for c2d e4300 + 2*1GB team elite + 8500GT. sorry for the crap laugh.gif
Yea, i have seen review as well stating its able to handle the 8800 series so, not sure how "crap" they are..LOL..Ocing wise, yea, maybe they are not stable and reliable enough but i guess for normal usage (low end rig wise), it should be enough. So, its wise to get the Extreme or the FSP?
akachester
post Jun 12 2007, 10:04 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 12 2007, 10:03 AM)
FSP low end lineup IMHO cr@p too. better go with higher rated wattage.
You mean the Saga series? Well, budget is kinda limited to RM150 and i couldnt go any higher than that for now. Any recommendation?
akachester
post Jun 13 2007, 09:30 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 13 2007, 09:19 AM)
specify why your tt tough powert 750 wouldnt work, because i have one and afaik, psu dont have any compatibility issues so long the motherboard follows its standard ATX specifications, in which the one you have should be.
Looking at the DFI Dark thread, this DFI board is indeed a lil bit picky on PSU.Some had said that certain PSU are unable to boot the mobo up..
akachester
post Jun 25 2007, 08:26 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Guys, have a problem here with my ST56F. When i turned on my PC yesterday, i can feel running electricity at my casing and the back IO Panel. After that, i decided to dissamble everything and check what might be the cause of the problem..

Cant found anything specific but when i turn off the PC after assembling it (Casing power button turned off, PSU switch still on, main switch still on), i can hear some hissing sound at the back of the PSU. Even when i turn off the PSU switch, there is still some slight hissing sound. May i know is this the problem with the PSU?

If i would like to take it for RMA, do i need to go back to the same shop where i bought it?can i send it back to the distributor (how do i know who is the distributor?) and will they help me fix it?Thanks..
akachester
post Jun 25 2007, 08:37 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 25 2007, 08:30 AM)
no point you ask us. ask the distributor directly la.

as to your problem, could be PSU issue.

in my case, i also kena electrocuted biggrin.gif but mine was due to faulty wires.
You mean InterAsia?They are the Sole Distributor right? Anyone have their contact number?

Anyway, i might send it back to MyPC during the weekends but the trouble of going there might be difficult for me.Not sure what happened to the PSU as well...

One more thing, i have an LCD that is going to standby mode after a while (around 30min - 1hour) and would not wake up unless i force restart the whole PC. In this case, by anyway it could be related to my current PSU problem as well?
akachester
post Jun 25 2007, 08:42 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 25 2007, 08:38 AM)
The problem is not constant right? Sumtimes buzzing sumtimes not buzzing? This is sumtimes caused by unclean power from my own experience. Like in my hse, when sum1 turns on the hot water heater in the bathroom, my PSU starts buzzing, my projector TV also has these horizontal lines running up n down the screen while the shower is on. The minute the heater goes off, all these things stop. Weird but true. laugh.gif
Err...I have yet to notice that though cause i only tested it for only around 2min and straight turn it off after i got electrocuted and hear the buzzing sound. LOL..Maybe i try to retest this and see..If that is really the problem, how can i solve it?

Anyway, does InterAsia supply Silverstone product to MyPC?Anyone knows?If they do, i might send it back directly to them..
akachester
post Jun 25 2007, 08:47 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(beast921 @ Jun 25 2007, 08:45 AM)
fuhhhhhhhh.............yeah me also facing the same problem, I'm also using Silverstone Strider 560W. I thought its the PSU, if its the house electric then its ok la.
You mean you have this problem with this PSU as well or its the house electricity problem?
akachester
post Jun 25 2007, 09:54 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(blackshirt @ Jun 25 2007, 09:52 AM)
The hissing sound will happen on most of the 80PLUS PSU,

Please check here, http://www.silverstonetek.com/qa/qa_conten...f-plus&area=usa
But the problem for me is, i can feel running electricity at my LL casing as well. Could this be due to faulty PSU as well?

Does this mean that it is nothing dangerous?

This post has been edited by akachester: Jun 25 2007, 10:53 AM
akachester
post Jun 25 2007, 10:06 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Well, i might be taking it for RMA later to see what they could do. Retest will be done tonight to absolutely check what might be the problem..Anyway, is there by any chance to check whether the PSU is the one that is the one causing the eletrocuting problem of my casing?

If it was really the PSU fault, i could not stand having a PSUless PC for the moment..Any idea what PSU i could get in the meantime to power up my PC as in my rig?I need it to be as cheap as possible...Is FSP Saga 400W enough?Or maybe ST400?

This post has been edited by akachester: Jun 25 2007, 10:11 AM
akachester
post Jun 25 2007, 01:37 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just checked with PSU Calculator.Not sure how reliable that is but it gives me an estimate of around 395W. Gosh, so 400W should not be sufficient..Really need to look for a cheap solution for the moment..
akachester
post Jun 26 2007, 10:05 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Jun 26 2007, 09:40 AM)
i think 395w is during the max power consumption period...
during idle maybe around 200w++ only...
So, a 400W pure power PSU is enough right?

If it is, any good one to recommend?

Might be getting either one of these :

CM Extreme Power 430W - ok, this is not pure power but seems cheap enough at around RM130 - 150.

FSP Saga 400W - not sure whether this is pure power or not but FSP seems like a reliable brand. +12V rail seems strong.

SS ST400 - kinda expensive at RM170. +12V rail aint the strongest available but most reliable in comparison of all..

Any other idea on which to get for a budget around RM150? Requirements: at least able to support my system (at bare minimum). If 8800GTS is out of the picture (replace with 7300GT), it would be safer right?

This post has been edited by akachester: Jun 26 2007, 10:08 AM
akachester
post Jun 26 2007, 11:43 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Ok guys,

I have tested the PSU with a testpen and it shows that there are leaking power around it. Even on my LL casing as well. How do i make a final confirmation that it IS the PSU that is leaking electricity?

Will send it for RMA at MyPC this weekend and get myself a replacement as well in the meantime..
akachester
post Jun 27 2007, 09:46 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Jun 27 2007, 09:12 AM)
did u try to plug the psu to AVR?
maybe is ur hse electricity not clean...

dun know which PSU to recommend u, but i remember got 1 review of Fortron 400W silent series (blue colour de and fan-less) can power up 8800gts SLI mode without problem...
Ok. I have made another round of intense testing with the PSU again yesterday and found out some weird problem. I am starting to believe that it is not the PSU that is faulty and might either be the Power Extension or the Power Plug.

Sign of relieve their for me. Will perform another round of testing tonight to fully check whether it is the problem with electricity or my power extension. Gosh...

What happened was, when i touch the back of my LCD near the VGA/DVI adapter area, i got electrocuted as well which is weird as my monitor is connected to an external power (not via PSU). If thats the case, it might not be a problem with my PSU. Retested again where i unpower my PSU and only my LCD is on. Problem persist with electrocution again. Gosh...Electrocuted so many times in one week..LOL.. rclxub.gif

ANyway, i will get another lower wattage PSU for testing this weekend to fully make sure its not my PSU that is faulty. For now, my target seems to be the FSP Saga 400W. If its not good, please do let me know..

This post has been edited by akachester: Jun 27 2007, 09:49 AM
akachester
post Jun 27 2007, 11:21 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Jun 27 2007, 11:12 AM)
u shud see hw much the saga 400w provide hw much ampere at its 12v first...
firstly, b4 buying the psu, u shud shift ur pc to other wall socket and test the wall socket...
Thanks for the advice there.

IIRC, the last time i check about the FSP SAGA, its offering dual 12V rail at around 15A each. So, should be around 30A for both rail MAX. Thats more than what silverstone and CM Extreme is offering. The problem is, is the SAGA a TRUE POWER PSU. Tried searching many places about the answer but to no avail.

As said before, further testing will be done tonight with the PSU directly connected to the power socket (not extension anymore) to see whether problem persist. Then, switching to another extension will also be done alongside the suspected faulty one. After that, i might shift to another PSU (probably some chaplang one or get another 400W PSU - the FSP i am asking) and retest again on the suspected faulty connector. If problem did not occur, i will assume its the extension that is causing a problem..
akachester
post Jun 27 2007, 10:56 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Jun 27 2007, 05:15 PM)
they wont stack and give u 30A...this is because the rail 1 and 2 comes from the main rail... correct me if i am wrong...
and i think SAGA is cheap coz they dun have active PFC...correct me if i am wrong again...

and why do u need to spend extra money (more than rm100) to confirm is ur PSU problem?? jz send the Silverstone to the service center and test on the spot lor...
Well, for a first, i am not getting another PSU just for testing purposes. I am helping a friend of mine to get a new PSU for his new rig. Therefore, i could use that on my own rig for testing purposes. If it is confirmed that my PSU is faulty, i would at the same time, have a temporary replacement while waiting for the PSU to be back from RMA..

What is the difference between having active PFC and not?
akachester
post Jul 25 2007, 03:07 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jul 25 2007, 01:05 PM)
Silverstone Strider 400w is around rm170 right?
Yes, thats the current price for the ST400.
akachester
post Sep 21 2007, 09:14 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Would my ST56F be able to sustain a possible spec below or upgrade is needed:

- Intel Q6600
- 2 * 1GB DDR2
- 8800GTS 320MB
- Audigy 2
- Around 6 - 8 Fans (Ranging from SS, to normal LL to Deltas)
- A couple of external devices..
akachester
post Sep 22 2007, 06:50 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 21 2007, 12:33 PM)
imho i think it should be fine if ur running single 8800gts.
Well, for now, i guess i will stick to a single 8800GTS. But surely would not close the possibility of an upgrade in the future. That is why i am wondering would my current PSU be able to withheld the setup in the future...

QUOTE(watsup99 @ Sep 21 2007, 04:05 PM)
my spac
E6300
gigabyte P35-DS3
2x 1gb corsair ddrII 667mhz ram
palit 7600gs
seagate 160gb hdd
1 dvd-rw

but i am using delta 350w psu...
izzit suitable for it?
i am not oc
Getting a better and more reliable PSU would obviously be better in your case here. Your current one should be already running at its limit. Do consider changing to a better PSU for sure..

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Sep 21 2007, 06:51 PM)
Please recommend me a PSU...?

Million thanks in advance.
One thing to consider, do state your rig here or i suppose its the one on your sig as off now?
akachester
post Nov 26 2007, 09:39 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Between PCP&C Silencer 610W and SS OP650, which one is better as both of them are having roughly the same price point.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0220sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:07 PM