125 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V62, From A to E Mount!

kyLL
post Nov 2 2015, 09:55 PM

-=-
1,638 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 2 2015, 08:39 PM)
How's the 30F35M as portrait lens?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 2 2015, 09:40 PM)
Haven't tried, but it should be interesting. The 30M is plenty sharp in the center by f/4 - and the colour rendering is marvelous. There's a bit more distortion vs the SEL50 though, and the shorter FL of the 30M doesn't compress/flatten as much as the 50 (which might not be preferable for portraits).
Yeh i've got the 30M too. didnt like it for portraits. not bokehlicious enough.
SEL50 is nice.. but wide open its not super sharp. ): My Sigma30/2.8 is very sharp.. and i do prefer that distance. i feel a little claustrophobic with the 50.

domo_kun
post Nov 2 2015, 09:57 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

Haven't tried, but it should be interesting. The 30M is plenty sharp in the center by f/4 - and the colour rendering is marvelous. There's a bit more distortion vs the SEL50 though, and the shorter FL of the 30M doesn't compress/flatten as much as the 50 (which might not be preferable for portraits).
First things first, FF or APSC? Looking at the FE2870 kit you already have I'll just assume you have an FF cam.

With that, I'd say the FE55 because it's faster and it's arguably the more flexible FL. The kit already covers the long and wide end, you just need one fast standard lens.

Preferably, if you have the resources (and don't mind another zoom) get the FE1635Z because UWAs are always fun for travel - but otherwise, the 55 should be top on your list.

The FE35 is fun simply because its small and compact, and the wider FL *is* useful - BUT it's not much faster than the kit aperture-wise. You can also consider the faster FE35 Distagon but it's HUGE and EXPENSIVE, not really something I'd consider to be a "travel" lens.

domo_kun No choice, you just gotta get used to carrying it around - especially if you're out specifically to take photos.

There's the "cheat-code" Zipshot though, small(er) and tiny(er)... but that one isn't half as stable as the Manfrotto unless you know how to wing it properly.
just noticed... I CAN'T DO BW SHOOTING WITH SAMYANG!!! vmad.gif
ganick5461
post Nov 2 2015, 10:00 PM

245 posts

But I digress, I haven't tried it lol.
First things first, FF or APSC? Looking at the FE2870 kit you already have I'll just assume you have an FF cam.

With that, I'd say the FE55 because it's faster and it's arguably the more flexible FL. The kit already covers the long and wide end, you just need one fast standard lens.

Preferably, if you have the resources (and don't mind another zoom) get the FE1635Z because UWAs are always fun for travel - but otherwise, the 55 should be top on your list.

The FE35 is fun simply because its small and compact, and the wider FL *is* useful - BUT it's not much faster than the kit aperture-wise. You can also consider the faster FE35 Distagon but it's HUGE and EXPENSIVE, not really something I'd consider to be a "travel" lens.

domo_kun No choice, you just gotta get used to carrying it around - especially if you're out specifically to take photos.

There's the "cheat-code" Zipshot though, small(er) and tiny(er)... but that one isn't half as stable as the Manfrotto unless you know how to wing it properly.
I'm using FF body, don't really have enough budget for either FE1635 or the FE35 f1.4 though.
35mm is much more versatile length I think, and very compact. Erm...let me think.

This post has been edited by ganick5461: Nov 2 2015, 10:07 PM
hanafinoor
post Nov 2 2015, 10:40 PM

2,062 posts

QUOTE(ganick5461 @ Nov 2 2015, 09:41 PM)
I'm travelling to HK next week, considering to buying a lens before I go?
What'? the best prime lens for travel? 35 or the 50? Currently have a FE 28-70mm f/3.5-5.6
30mm la

This post has been edited by hanafinoor: Nov 2 2015, 10:41 PM
ganick5461
post Nov 3 2015, 08:23 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(hanafinoor @ Nov 2 2015, 10:40 PM)
30mm la
You mean 35? Sony's 30mm is for crop if I'm not mistaken.
Eiraku
post Nov 3 2015, 09:47 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(ganick5461 @ Nov 2 2015, 10:00 PM)
I'm using FF body, don't really have enough budget for either FE1635 or the FE35 f1.4 though.
35mm is much more versatile length I think, and very compact. Erm...let me think.
It's wider yes, but it's not really much brighter than the kit.

As for versatility, it's arguable because some like the 35 Focal Length while others like the 55. Personally, while I prefer the AOV of the 35mm between the two (I like wider FLs), the 55 is a much more flexible FL IMHO.

I mean, you can do portrait or landscape just the same with the 55 - while in comparison the 35 wouldn't be preferable for portraits (beside environmental/contextual/group portraits) due to the slight perspective distortion (of the FL, not optical distortion of the lens).

But that's just what I think. If you prefer the 35, there's no problem in getting the 35.

Another alternative, why not the FE28? It's fast (f/2), wide, sharp and even takes converters to go even wider.

QUOTE(kyLL @ Nov 2 2015, 09:55 PM)
Yeh i've got the 30M too. didnt like it for portraits. not bokehlicious enough.
SEL50 is nice.. but wide open its not super sharp. ): My Sigma30/2.8 is very sharp.. and i do prefer that distance. i feel a little claustrophobic with the 50.
Lol... back in the day exclusively portrait lenses aren't even supposed to be sharp wide open. The slight unsharpness was "flattering" for portraits.

But then, that was back before the age of Photoshop. Nowadays people just shoot sharp and smoothen the heck out of everything in PS lol.

But yeah, the SEL50 isn't super sharp by any measure... but the bokeh is sublime. I just shoot it slightly stopped down and it sharpens right up though - shooting wide open gives me a razor thin DOF anyway, especially for closer shots.

As for it being a tight FL, the SEL50 is a 75mm equivalent on FF. That's already a short tele, of course ler it's gonna be tight. I use it for tighter shots that I can't get with my usual SEL20 (which sits on my 2nd body almost 100% of the time for snapshots).

That said, the Siggy 30 is a fine lens too, though I kinda prefer Sony colour rendering compared to Sigma's.

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Nov 2 2015, 09:57 PM)
just noticed... I CAN'T DO BW SHOOTING WITH SAMYANG!!!  vmad.gif
What do you mean you can't shoot BW with the Samyang? I just dug out my camera and tested this - I could shoot BW no problem with the 12mm.

I used the BW Creative Style though, which is buried somewhere in the menus.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 3 2015, 09:57 AM
IazHes
post Nov 3 2015, 10:01 AM

371 posts

Just a quick question,
SEL50F18, the lens turn ring is there any function in aperture first mode or others?
Eiraku
post Nov 3 2015, 10:11 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(IazHes @ Nov 3 2015, 10:01 AM)
Just a quick question,
SEL50F18, the lens turn ring is there any function in aperture first mode or others?
Err no.... unless you enable DMF (or MF) under AF. That ring is for focusing and focusing only.

AFAIK you can't assign it to do anything else unfortunately, as with every other E-mount lens that lacks an actual aperture ring (except the Distagon 35, which has one).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 3 2015, 10:52 AM
akira87
post Nov 3 2015, 11:02 AM

Weeeee~
779 posts

Hi, i own nex5n with kitlens, today i found out that my lens have 2 spot of fungus. Is there any method to stop and remove the fungus w/o sending it for service? If no, where is recommended service centre that provide the service? And how much roughly the price will be? Im from KL btw... Thx
hensky
post Nov 3 2015, 11:05 AM

644 posts

QUOTE(ganick5461 @ Nov 2 2015, 08:41 PM)
I'm travelling to HK next week, considering to buying a lens before I go?
What'? the best prime lens for travel? 35 or the 50? Currently have a FE 28-70mm f/3.5-5.6
sell FE 28-70mm and get FE 28mm F2 and FE 55 F1.8 rclxms.gif
you also can buy ultra wide converter for FE 28mm to achieve 21mm F2.8
domo_kun
post Nov 3 2015, 11:09 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

Yeah, hehe, my bad. I usually uses the one in Picture Effect, instead of Creative Style. rolleyes.gif

I remember reading about setting a certain distance on the MF so that whenever I shoot, subjects covered in the distance will be focus whereas the rest would be out of focus. How that works, really?
Eiraku
post Nov 3 2015, 12:03 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Nov 3 2015, 11:09 AM)
Yeah, hehe, my bad. I usually uses the one in Picture Effect, instead of Creative Style.  rolleyes.gif

I remember reading about setting a certain distance on the MF so that whenever I shoot, subjects covered in the distance will be focus whereas the rest would be out of focus. How that works, really?
Err... that's Zone Focusing and DOF? The markings on the lens generally give you an idea of what distance it focuses at, and aperture determines DOF - but I usually don't bother and just do f/8-11 and infinity unless I need to get close; which is just a matter of peaking and praying pol.

How it works... err... Not really sure how to explain, but I know it has something to do with the circle of confusion. Or something lol.

akira87 Normally for fungus servicing I send my lenses over to Ving Son Service over at Klang Lama (contact him at zero-one-six-6322968) or J-One over at Amcorp PJ.

Prices not so sure cause it's been a while since I last sent in any fungified lenses - but expect something around RM80-100 depending on how bad the fungi outbreak is.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 3 2015, 12:15 PM
ganick5461
post Nov 3 2015, 12:06 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 3 2015, 09:47 AM)
It's wider yes, but it's not really much brighter than the kit. 

As for versatility, it's arguable because some like the 35 Focal Length while others like the 55. Personally, while I prefer the AOV of the 35mm between the two (I like wider FLs), the 55 is a much more flexible FL IMHO.

I mean, you can do portrait or landscape just the same with the 55 - while in comparison the 35 wouldn't be preferable for portraits (beside environmental/contextual/group portraits) due to the slight perspective distortion (of the FL, not optical distortion of the lens).

But that's just what I think. If you prefer the 35, there's no problem in getting the 35.

Another alternative, why not the FE28? It's fast (f/2), wide, sharp and even takes converters to go even wider.
Lol... back in the day exclusively portrait lenses aren't even supposed to be sharp wide open. The slight unsharpness was "flattering" for portraits.

But then, that was back before the age of Photoshop. Nowadays people just shoot sharp and smoothen the heck out of everything in PS lol.

But yeah, the SEL50 isn't super sharp by any measure... but the bokeh is sublime. I just shoot it slightly stopped down and it sharpens right up though - shooting wide open gives me a razor thin DOF anyway, especially for closer shots.

As for it being a tight FL, the SEL50 is a 75mm equivalent on FF. That's already a short tele, of course ler it's gonna be tight. I use it for tighter shots that I can't get with my usual SEL20 (which sits on my 2nd body almost 100% of the time for snapshots).

That said, the Siggy 30 is a fine lens too, though I kinda prefer Sony colour rendering compared to Sigma's.
What do you mean you can't shoot BW with the Samyang? I just dug out my camera and tested this - I could shoot BW no problem with the 12mm.

I used the BW Creative Style though, which is buried somewhere in the menus.
Thanks for your advise, I just went to YL and got the 55mm. The 28mm will be on my next lens list, quite cheap though.

This post has been edited by ganick5461: Nov 3 2015, 12:16 PM
ganick5461
post Nov 3 2015, 01:05 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(hensky @ Nov 3 2015, 11:05 AM)
sell FE 28-70mm and get FE 28mm F2 and FE 55 F1.8  rclxms.gif
you also can buy ultra wide converter for FE 28mm to achieve 21mm F2.8
Can't sell it la, the kit zoom quite handy sometimes.
hensky
post Nov 3 2015, 01:39 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(ganick5461 @ Nov 3 2015, 01:05 PM)
Can't sell it la, the kit zoom quite handy sometimes.
U can buy FE 16-35 F4 or Voigtlander 15mm F4.5 III to pair with it. best combo for travel, covers ultra wide to short tele. tongue.gif

philipcs
post Nov 3 2015, 01:56 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(ganick5461 @ Nov 3 2015, 12:06 PM)
Thanks for your advise, I just went to YL and got the 55mm. The 28mm will be on my next lens list, quite cheap though.
28mm is a must buy lens, not so expensive and good in quality.
I also only got 55 and 28 as AF lens, the rest are all manual biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by philipcs: Nov 3 2015, 01:57 PM
philipcs
post Nov 3 2015, 01:58 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(hensky @ Nov 3 2015, 01:39 PM)
U can buy FE 16-35 F4 or Voigtlander 15mm F4.5 III  to pair with it. best combo for travel, covers ultra wide to short tele.  tongue.gif
Yup, i bought the Voigtlander 15mm F4.5 III because of the small size and easy to carry around. However, this lens is not that light in weight biggrin.gif
Eiraku
post Nov 3 2015, 02:15 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Nov 3 2015, 01:58 PM)
Yup, i bought the Voigtlander 15mm F4.5 III because of the small size and easy to carry around. However, this lens is not that light in weight  biggrin.gif
It's not light? How is the older V2 then?

Thinking of getting the smaller V2 to replace the SEL20 for snapshot duty on my 5T. If it's heavy then maybe not.

Anyway, spam of the day:

user posted imageDead Red Desolate by Eirakkun, on Flickr
hensky
post Nov 3 2015, 02:25 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 3 2015, 02:15 PM)

Thinking of getting the smaller V2 to replace the SEL20 for snapshot duty on my 5T. If it's heavy then maybe not.

Anyway, spam of the day:

I have v2 on my a7s last time and it is light and small. very easy to use. just point and shoot no need to focus thumbup.gif

GOOD FLARE RESIST

super sharp star from light.
philipcs
post Nov 3 2015, 03:22 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 3 2015, 02:15 PM)

Anyway, spam of the day:

Due to the III is bigger and full metal built quality, it difinitely heavier than II. But is not like very heavy lah. Later I weight. biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0304sec    1.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:47 PM