Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread
gark
Aug 24 2017, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 24 2017, 03:08 AM) Take your time to read though this blog http://www.turtleinvestor.net/. He's a pro on ETF investing. And there are more ways to buy a Vanguard fund rather than opening a Vanguard account (which I do not recommend opening account with them. But I am a noob, so don't listen to me  ) You can buy Vanguard ETF online via any brokerage account, either from HKSE or NYSE:ARCA Hint : Buying through HKSE have no witholding tax.. Only std brokerage applies ETF >>>>> UT My first investment in 2005 is via FSM:UT.. after the platform fees makes it super expensive, cashed out and look for direct investment.. This post has been edited by gark: Aug 24 2017, 02:07 PM
gark
Aug 24 2017, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 24 2017, 12:14 PM) There's a few reason I tell you don't go open Vanguard account 1) Vanguard is famous for their ETF not their mutual funds and mutual funds. 2) Why restrict yourself to Vanguard when there are other ETFs like iShare, etc Because Vanguard ETF has cheapest fees compared to others with the same performance? Reason enough..
gark
Aug 24 2017, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(simplylegendary @ Aug 24 2017, 12:05 PM) One more thing, Looking at Vanguard's Total World Stock ETF image below, does it mean that Vanguard's returns is closely modeled to FTSE's spliced index, but actually lost out by a small margin? Tracking error, forex and also due to fees. The lower the fees will make this error smaller. This is very common in ETF. (UT is much more worse... with sky high fees) This post has been edited by gark: Aug 24 2017, 02:06 PM
gark
Aug 24 2017, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 24 2017, 02:17 PM) You forgot, with holding fees + expensive brokerage + dividend fees + maintenance fee We asian investors suffer because of those extra fees. Only 0.1% Brokerage, SGD2 holding and 1% of dividend as fees.. consider cheap lah, compared to the 1.5%-2.0% they charge for UT.. You think UT manager buy shares no need brokerage charges? Go see how much their yearly brokerage is... in the annual report. Got to put things in perspective. This post has been edited by gark: Aug 24 2017, 02:32 PM
gark
Aug 24 2017, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 24 2017, 02:50 PM) Ya I know. Sometimes up to few million  But for asia region, unit trust is still the way to go as mat salleh ETF which track the benchmark still get left behind in the dust by fund managers. Not once but few years already.  Asia still not advanced (efficient) yet.. this one better buy stock direct only.. ETF if you want to buy US, Commodities, Europe or world stocks.. is better.