Need Help To Decide ICE Setup, ICE Dilemma Now......

TSshocker
post Nov 30 2006, 08:25 PM, updated 19y ago

LivingLegend
901 posts

hie LYN ICE sifus... wave.gif

im currently thinking of making some upgrade to my current OEM ICE setup but couldnt really decide what brand shud i choose as my level of ICE is still low smile.gif ...still a beginner but not completely noob hehehehe tongue.gif ....below are details that might be helpful in order to recommend me something that is above average and sounds good... thumbup.gif

probably u all could suggest something in a range of rating of 6.5-8 out of perfect 10, doesnt really need to be as good as 10 perfect rolleyes.gif ...something better in range of music that i listen and suits the budget i have... smile.gif

looking for: 1 set of component speaker...
budget: RM800-RM1000...
current setup: just changed the OEM P2 BetaMax HU to Pioneer DEH 3850..other speakers or setup are still stock....no subwoofer, tweeters or amplifier...back speaker i have already disconnected...
vehicle: P2 kelisa...
music type listened: a mix of various type, mostly current latest stuffs...like pop, hiphop, rap, house, dance, a little bit trance, techno, disco, r&b, alternative, normal rock and slow rock, themes, soundtracks and scores....a little bit of everything....but not really in jazz or classical stuffs....
audio direction: i think its SQL...u all decide as im not sure...
remarks: importance of the speaker selection would be more on vocal clarity (as i like to sing-along tongue.gif ...) and clean background music, prefer bass which is not that heart shaking or thumping or boom boom boom, maybe low or deep bass i suppose....preferably temporarily this component set could provide some bass untill i get a amp and sub next year...atleast shud be something that doesnt sound cracky when i crank the volume up....hehehee.... rclxm9.gif

hhmm....this are the details that i can think off u all might be needing smile.gif ...if there is a need for more details, please ask notworthy.gif ....from this component set, in future i wish to add a 2/4 channel amp and sub but that will be next year or so.... icon_rolleyes.gif

any response here would be very appreciated, thanks all..... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 8 2006, 11:13 PM
driftmeister
post Nov 30 2006, 11:27 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

no amp for now ?
craziechild
post Nov 30 2006, 11:41 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

since you dun hav an amp now... why dun keep the money and buy it together when you are buying your amp... IMHO component matching is very important... so buy the amp and the component together and get the best match to your ears... this way you can save more for having the right match for your ears...

and well your music preference is kinda hard to determine what suits you the most... mayb something more specific?

cheers...
TSshocker
post Nov 30 2006, 11:54 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Nov 30 2006, 11:27 PM)
no amp for now ?
QUOTE(craziechild @ Nov 30 2006, 11:41 PM)
since you dun hav an amp now... why dun keep the money and buy it together when you are buying your amp... IMHO component matching is very important... so buy the amp and the component together and get the best match to your ears... this way you can save more for having the right match for your ears...

and well your music preference is kinda hard to determine what suits you the most... mayb something more specific?

cheers...
well, not just to mention having no amp, im still using the crappy OEM BetaMax speakers doh.gif ....when i crank up the volume, they will start to squeal like a pig during certain songs rclxub.gif ...hehehehe.... laugh.gif

i tend to see and understand wat is ur point craziechild, but i want to upgrade step by step so atleast i appreciate the upgrades and sound differences better by each time upgrades are done icon_rolleyes.gif ....if im not mistaken, this is wat most ppl would say to do if budget is a not meeting ICE target...upgrade step by step...hehehehe.... smile.gif

on music preferance, lets just narrow down to pop, hiphop, dance/trance and rock...let me know if something is in range of these genre... notworthy.gif
mattchin
post Dec 1 2006, 12:17 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

actually maybe u can start wif a pair of entry level focal.. it is g00d wif pop and high tone..

o..
alpine spx-177r.. good wif strong mid and moderate high..

this is what i can recommend... all other folks here can introduce u other brands...

but hope that u can feed back after ur mod.. he! he! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSshocker
post Dec 1 2006, 01:13 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Dec 1 2006, 12:17 AM)
actually maybe u can start wif a pair of entry level focal.. it is g00d wif pop and high tone..

o..
alpine spx-177r.. good wif strong mid and moderate high..

this is what i can recommend... all other folks here can introduce u other brands...

but hope that u can feed back after ur mod.. he! he! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
thanks for ur suggestion biggrin.gif ....but can u please point out which focal is it? there is quite some focals around...focal polyglass, K2P, access, utopia.... smile.gif

2 years back i listened to rockford fosgate fanatic X 2614 comps in my frens wira thumbup.gif ....sound is quite crisp i would say, but since then sure got better speakers leadi....also few mths back i audited a JL audio XR series comps but seems like nothing special blink.gif ...probably i listened it in a show room..... rolleyes.gif

wat u guys think of my budget? is it too low or high for a beginner.....probably since just starting out and want some high differences from normal OEM speakers, i shud start low like with boschmann or soundstream and upgrade from there...but then that would be like wasting money a bit rite.... sweat.gif

im more like a fan of MTX and RF (used to heard about them) but not sure which would suit me better, worse still which model....not only they are reputable brand but they would look nice on door panel too...hehehehe... tongue.gif
(N)3
post Dec 1 2006, 09:35 AM

2,661 posts

beware of the K2P cause i think those have a lot of imitation of those in the market

i was told last time then between HU, amp and speakers. out of the 3, you get the most difference when changing speakers/drivers compared to the other 2 wink.gif

phase liner sounds good, tested on my friends car biggrin.gif
not really a fan of alpine
dun really like focals either to harsh for me
loon1031
post Dec 1 2006, 09:47 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

You can try
Helix Blue 6
DLS B6, C6
Alpine SPX-177R

This speaker good for beginner..
TSshocker
post Dec 1 2006, 05:16 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE((N)3 @ Dec 1 2006, 09:35 AM)
beware of the K2P cause i think those have a lot of imitation of those in the market

i was told last time then between HU, amp and speakers. out of the 3, you get the most difference when changing speakers/drivers compared to the other 2 wink.gif

phase liner sounds good, tested on my friends car biggrin.gif
not really a fan of alpine
dun really like focals either to harsh for me
yeah, there is various kind of fake ICE stuff around especially in lelong mad.gif ....and worse still ppl are bidding and paying for such stuff... doh.gif

u said between HU, amp and speakers, speakers/drivers makes most difference...may i know wat is drivers and, phase liners?

reading from various forum threads, mostly ppl would say go step by step for upgrades if budget is an issue... sweat.gif

step 1: change to a good and reliable HU
step 2: change to a good component set speaker
step 3: install a good 4 channel amplifier
step 4: install a good subwoofer

are u telling me there is another way around perhaps? some ppl tend to install a amp first, then change comps and later change HU... smile.gif

some even said installing a amplifier improve the sound on their OEM P2 speakers which is kind of made from paper...hehehehe.... laugh.gif

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 1 2006, 09:47 AM)
You can try
Helix Blue 6
DLS B6, C6
Alpine SPX-177R

This speaker good for beginner..
hie loon, i tot u recommended last time mb quart? hehehehe... biggrin.gif i thought beginner speakers are like those from like BM boschmann or soundstream, care to elaborate...thanks... notworthy.gif

another silly question would be, these speakers are within my budget? would it suit the music type i listen? i dont want the speakers to sound like koyak later on...hehehehehe.... thumbup.gif
loon1031
post Dec 1 2006, 08:11 PM

1,105 posts

Hi brother!
MB Quart in Penang the most cheaper now is RM1k...loh
Mostly MB Quart more than 1k...
so I dun introduce u..

Maybe I recomance you so reasonable price shop ..you go and ask for it loh...
TSshocker
post Dec 1 2006, 08:41 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

MB Quart in Penang the most cheaper now is RM1k...loh
Mostly MB Quart more than 1k...

hi bro,
ur sentence above conflicts with each other smile.gif ...first u said cheapest is RM1K then u said mostly more than RM1K...which one is it rclxub.gif ? hehehehee.... smile.gif

besides golden and alpha, where else u recommend ler smile.gif ...asacar in kulim sounds good, cheaper and professional but far ler... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 1 2006, 08:42 PM
loon1031
post Dec 1 2006, 11:25 PM

1,105 posts

I mean most of the shops at pg sold MB Quart Discus more than 1k..
But I found one cheapest around RM1k..
If go to Asacar...maybe can find at RM900 guar
TSshocker
post Dec 1 2006, 11:42 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 1 2006, 11:25 PM)
I mean most of the shops at pg sold MB Quart Discus more than 1k..
But I found one cheapest around RM1k..
If go to Asacar...maybe can find at RM900 guar
hehehe....cheaper i think can find one...but must make sure they are authentic also since MBQ stuff a lot of fake ones also... sweat.gif

also important is that tuning which most shops lacks around pg wink.gif ....those well known for tuning are normally expensive but they do good job.... thumbup.gif

u mind telling me where is ur recommended reasonable price shop smile.gif ...im thinking of getting a set of good comp in 1-2 weeks time before i head down to KL on mid mth... rclxm9.gif
Kai Sheng
post Dec 1 2006, 11:52 PM

81 posts

can get a good 3-way speakers for RM200 ka??
loon1031
post Dec 2 2006, 11:15 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 1 2006, 11:42 PM)
hehehe....cheaper i think can find one...but must make sure they are authentic also since MBQ stuff a lot of fake ones also... sweat.gif

also important is that tuning which most shops lacks around pg wink.gif ....those well known for tuning are normally expensive but they do good job.... thumbup.gif

u mind telling me where is ur recommended reasonable price shop smile.gif ...im thinking of getting a set of good comp in 1-2 weeks time before i head down to KL on mid mth... rclxm9.gif
For old Mb Quart, sure got a lot of imitation...
But If you looking for new DSF216 (red color one), it not yet have any imitation in market.
Most of the shop still carry the DSE216 old MB Quart you have to make sure it have Autocraft sticker or not, but Asacar have DSF216 and have Autocraft sticker because my friend just install it from Asacar few months ago.

For reasonable price shop, I only prefer go to Alpha...
You can also survey & compare the price before purchase...
Sometime the shop sell cheap doesn't mean they have good skill...
TSshocker
post Dec 3 2006, 05:03 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 2 2006, 11:15 AM)
For old Mb Quart, sure got a lot of imitation...
But If you looking for new DSF216 (red color one), it not yet have any imitation in market.
Most of the shop still carry the DSE216 old MB Quart you have to make sure it have Autocraft sticker or not, but Asacar have DSF216 and have Autocraft sticker because my friend just install it from Asacar few months ago.

For reasonable price shop, I only prefer go to Alpha...
You can also survey & compare the price before purchase...
Sometime the shop sell cheap doesn't mean they have good skill...
bro u mean this one below? so far i didnt came across DSF216 or DSE216.... rolleyes.gif

red u mean of the crossover's PCB color is it blink.gif ?

hehehe...alpha dat white hair chinese uncle, he recommend me last time for beginner users BM boschmann comps speaker with LA's bolt amps laugh.gif ....but his stuff is some sort limited i would say, he dont keep a lot of stuff around but he say can order ler.... smile.gif

i heard his myvi he did da sound is quite good but i didnt get the chance to listen myself.... rolleyes.gif
loon1031
post Dec 3 2006, 07:22 PM

1,105 posts

DSF216 is the new Discus ....

The DSD216, DSE216 is old version...

My latest setup tuning by the uncle... thumbup.gif

TSshocker
post Dec 3 2006, 10:31 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 3 2006, 07:22 PM)

looks nice man drool.gif ....i suppose it sounds nice too flex.gif ? sorry im a bit new in ICE so didnt realise already got new MBQ comp in market..... rclxms.gif

this one u got for RM1K is it smile.gif ? hows the performance tongue.gif ? i think this new MBQ not yet come out with fake one just yet shakehead.gif ...only earlier models so far.... rclxub.gif

is it true that discus line is like entry level for MBQ wink.gif ? thanks........l

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 3 2006, 10:32 PM
(N)3
post Dec 4 2006, 10:26 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 1 2006, 05:16 PM)
yeah, there is various kind of fake ICE stuff around especially in lelong mad.gif ....and worse still ppl are bidding and paying for such stuff... doh.gif

u said between HU, amp and speakers, speakers/drivers makes most difference...may i know wat is drivers and, phase liners?

reading from various forum threads, mostly ppl would say go step by step for upgrades if budget is an issue... sweat.gif

step 1: change to a good and reliable HU
step 2: change to a good component set speaker
step 3: install a good 4 channel amplifier
step 4: install a good subwoofer

are u telling me there is another way around perhaps? some ppl tend to install a amp first, then change comps and later change HU... smile.gif

some even said installing a amplifier improve the sound on their OEM P2 speakers which is kind of made from paper...hehehehe.... laugh.gif
hie loon, i tot u recommended last time mb quart? hehehehe... biggrin.gif i thought beginner speakers are like those from like BM boschmann or soundstream, care to elaborate...thanks... notworthy.gif

another silly question would be, these speakers are within my budget? would it suit the music type i listen? i dont want the speakers to sound like koyak later on...hehehehehe.... thumbup.gif
drivers = speakers, both are the same, just different name

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 3 2006, 10:31 PM)
looks nice man drool.gif ....i suppose it sounds nice too flex.gif ? sorry im a bit new in ICE so didnt realise already got new MBQ comp in market..... rclxms.gif

this one u got for RM1K is it smile.gif ? hows the performance tongue.gif ? i think this new MBQ not yet come out with fake one just yet shakehead.gif ...only earlier models so far.... rclxub.gif

is it true that discus line is like entry level for MBQ wink.gif ? thanks........l
yup wink.gif
loon1031
post Dec 4 2006, 01:02 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 3 2006, 10:31 PM)

MB Quart have 4 level speaker
Discus is the beginner speaker
DSF 216

Reference
RVF 216

Premium
PCE 216

Q-line is the high-end for MB Quart
QSD 216
Levin92
post Dec 4 2006, 03:15 PM

61 posts

jz inquiry abt BM Boschmann n Soundstream.. good brand/stuff or not???
TSshocker
post Dec 4 2006, 04:31 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(Levin92 @ Dec 4 2006, 03:15 PM)
jz inquiry abt BM Boschmann n Soundstream.. good brand/stuff or not???
BM boschmann and soundstream are OK for beginners with tight budget but wants something quite better than their normal OEM speakers thumbup.gif ...between BM and SS, i think go for SS better.... smile.gif

hey loon and (N)3, thanks for ur explanation nod.gif ......but may i ask how much is u got ur new MBQ for? even entry level MBQ also about RM1K rite cool.gif ??
(N)3
post Dec 4 2006, 04:48 PM

2,661 posts

i never use MB quartz b4
sorry
but most brands entry level stuff is round that price tag
D_Y2k.4^
post Dec 4 2006, 04:54 PM

Enriching Your Lifestyle!
2,271 posts

Bro,just wanna share with you that bare in mind that MB Quart's Discuss Line produces rather bright sound.It may not be everyone's liking.

This post has been edited by D_Y2k.4^: Dec 4 2006, 05:25 PM
TSshocker
post Dec 4 2006, 04:59 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE((N)3 @ Dec 4 2006, 04:48 PM)
i never use MB quartz b4
sorry
but most brands entry level stuff is round that price tag
hehehe...i was asking loon actually...hehehe tongue.gif .......anyway, not all branded stuff entry level is around RM1K...brands like BM and SS around RM300-400.....ive seen MTX and RF comps around the range of RM500-600 smile.gif ....i guess RM1K entry level stuff must be really good entry level stuff... nod.gif

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Dec 4 2006, 04:54 PM)
Bro,just wanna share with you that bare in mind that MB Quart's Discuss Line produces rather bright sound.It maybe not be everyone's liking.
yeah Y2K, i heard the very same comment from another fren of mine, he said its tweeters which is too bright... smile.gif
D_Y2k.4^
post Dec 4 2006, 06:06 PM

2,271 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 4 2006, 04:59 PM)
yeah Y2K, i heard the very same comment from another fren of mine, he said its tweeters which is too bright... smile.gif
I'm using that set on my other car and I'm really disappointed with the performance.High pitch frequency is rather disturbing when driving under hot weather condition.

Probably should check out Focal or DLS.

This post has been edited by D_Y2k.4^: Dec 4 2006, 06:09 PM
loon1031
post Dec 4 2006, 07:19 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Dec 4 2006, 06:06 PM)
I'm using that set on my other car and I'm really disappointed with the performance.High pitch frequency is rather disturbing when driving under hot weather condition.

Probably should check out Focal or DLS.
MB Quart have special crossover can set db...can control the tweeter.
The best way play MB Quart is run active... laugh.gif

loon1031
post Dec 4 2006, 07:25 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 4 2006, 04:59 PM)
hehehe...i was asking loon actually...hehehe tongue.gif .......anyway, not all branded stuff entry level is around RM1K...brands like BM and SS around RM300-400.....ive seen MTX and RF comps around the range of RM500-600 smile.gif ....i guess RM1K entry level stuff must be really good entry level stuff... nod.gif
MB Quart tweeter bright because it is titanium tweeter ma.. not softdome tweeter.
MB Quart got the way to play.. you can refer Alpha uncle to give advice how to play it...

Becarefull MTX & RF which sell as cheap as RM500 ... It might be imitation...
RF punch component cost around RM1.2k .... If found RM500... It might imitation...
TSshocker
post Dec 4 2006, 08:26 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 4 2006, 07:25 PM)
MB Quart tweeter bright because it is titanium tweeter ma.. not softdome tweeter.
MB Quart got the way to play.. you can refer Alpha uncle to give advice how to play it...

Becarefull MTX & RF which sell as cheap as RM500 ... It might be imitation...
RF punch component cost around RM1.2k .... If found RM500... It might imitation...
so loon, i ask u again, how much u got ur new MBQ DSF216 smile.gif ? thanks for the infor on MBQ setup... smile.gif

last time ive seen the below RF comps set going at RM500-600 at Crystal Sound at Sg 2.....luckily u told me about it...hehehehe...thanks..... biggrin.gif
D_Y2k.4^
post Dec 4 2006, 09:00 PM

2,271 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 4 2006, 08:26 PM)
so loon, i ask u again, how much u got ur new MBQ DSF216 smile.gif ? thanks for the infor on MBQ setup... smile.gif

last time ive seen the below RF comps set going at RM500-600 at Crystal Sound at Sg 2.....luckily u told me about it...hehehehe...thanks..... biggrin.gif
A very funky component.But I think when it comes to sound quality,its better for blasting music IMO.Correct me if I'm wrong
loon1031
post Dec 4 2006, 09:11 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 4 2006, 08:26 PM)

I don't use MB Quart component...
My friend use it...

When u saw the Crystal Sound Sold that RF comp with RM500-600 ?
If RM500- 600 sure he rugi mah.. ohmy.gif

TSshocker
post Dec 5 2006, 02:04 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Dec 4 2006, 09:00 PM)
A very funky component.But I think when it comes to sound quality,its better for blasting music IMO.Correct me if I'm wrong
yeah, looks funky and bulky also smile.gif ...the magnet so huge I wonder if can fit the door panel... sweat.gif hehehe....I once heard RF FNX2614 in my frens wira.....that was the first time I listened to such clear sound from a car speaker.....it was really good but that is like 2-3 years leadi laa smile.gif ....rite now no more fanatic X speakers from RF.... cry.gif

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 4 2006, 09:11 PM)
I don't use MB Quart component...
My friend use it...

When u saw the Crystal Sound Sold that RF comp with RM500-600 ?
If RM500- 600 sure he rugi mah.. ohmy.gif
loon, as refering to ur quote earlier (as in below).... flex.gif
QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 3 2006, 07:22 PM)

that was the reason why i asked u if u got use or install the new MBQ in ur car..... biggrin.gif

anyway, why u said he rugi maa....RM500-600 is OK wat for a comp set....isnt it drool.gif ? saying this so if ppl dont know its fake, he is going to be untung wat...

I saw like 2-3 mths leadi laa smile.gif .....but Im not that sure also cos at that time I really have no knowledge on ICE, so probably I seen the wrong price tag..sorry for that notworthy.gif ...anyway, u can just go and see it ler even tho u have not good experience there before... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 5 2006, 02:05 AM
loon1031
post Dec 5 2006, 09:01 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 5 2006, 02:04 AM)
yeah, looks funky and bulky also smile.gif ...the magnet so huge I wonder if can fit the door panel... sweat.gif hehehe....I once heard RF FNX2614 in my frens wira.....that was the first time I listened to such clear sound from a car speaker.....it was really good but that is like 2-3 years leadi laa smile.gif ....rite now no more fanatic X speakers from RF.... cry.gif
loon, as refering to ur quote earlier (as in below)....  flex.gif
that was the reason why i asked u if u got use or install the new MBQ in ur car..... biggrin.gif

anyway, why u said he rugi maa....RM500-600 is OK wat for a comp set....isnt it drool.gif ? saying this so if ppl dont know its fake, he is going to be untung wat...

I saw like 2-3 mths leadi laa smile.gif .....but Im not that sure also cos at that time I really have no knowledge on ICE, so probably I seen the wrong price tag..sorry for that notworthy.gif ...anyway, u can just go and see it ler even tho u have not good experience there before... laugh.gif
Oh...I don't use MB Quart..... but my ICE lastest setup is from Alpha there... Try a lot of place before finally go back to Alpha... Uncle staging skill nice...

I say rugi, because the market price for RF component around RM1k+ ....
If RF component sold RM500-600 ... it might imitation...or he do the rugi busines lo
Please confirm that is coxial speaker or component... As I know RF power coxial cost around RM600..but RF Power component cost RM2K cool.gif
TSshocker
post Dec 5 2006, 08:44 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 5 2006, 09:01 AM)
Oh...I don't use MB Quart..... but my ICE lastest setup is from Alpha there... Try a lot of place before finally go back to Alpha... Uncle staging skill nice...
I say rugi, because the market price for RF component around RM1k+ ....
If RF component sold RM500-600 ... it might imitation...or he do the rugi busines lo
Please confirm that is coxial speaker or component... As I know RF power coxial cost around RM600..but RF Power component cost RM2K cool.gif
bro wave.gif , some of my frens said that golden is the only one shop in Penang that does ICE tuning using osciloscope sweat.gif , well that depends how much u are willing to spend also laugh.gif ...if the more u can spend, then take do it more nicely and use their advance equipments to do it compared to other shops tongue.gif .....hahahaha.......my frens said they been to many shops in Penang so far but only Golden does it.... icon_rolleyes.gif

on Alpha, the chinese boss there is quite nice fella also biggrin.gif ...but then his staff (the malay boys) who is doing the installation most of the time I takut abit ler sweat.gif .....perhaps less experience one ler....if uncle does the installation I dont mind ler try to go to him rolleyes.gif .....like if u see golden, the old fellas are the only ones doing ICE installation cos they said they afraid to hire other ppl to do it for their customers incase if their staff doesnt do a good job, so this probably will spoil Golden's name..... sweat.gif

on RF comps and coaxs, I will check it out for u tomorrow...Im free in da evening, so will go and see ler cool.gif .....update u later....but power series is sure better than punch series thumbup.gif ....price also nice ler....hehehehe.... laugh.gif
loon1031
post Dec 5 2006, 09:55 PM

1,105 posts

I had been Golden few times... but nothing installl there bcoz the Golden lan shi & one more thing i don't like is he try to call me try Agako..omg.. I just sold Agako one...

Haha.. Alpha instaltion done by Malay guy..but tuning done by Uncle...
Audit few car at Alpha before...nice staging

osciloscope not only Golden can... many also can but you don't see only
TSshocker
post Dec 6 2006, 03:26 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 5 2006, 09:55 PM)
I had been Golden few times... but nothing installl there bcoz the Golden lan shi & one more thing i don't like is he try to call me try Agako..omg.. I just sold Agako one...

Haha.. Alpha instaltion done by Malay guy..but tuning done by Uncle...
Audit few car at Alpha before...nice staging

osciloscope not only Golden can... many also can but you don't see only
hehehehe.....hhmm...golden boss talk like dat cos I heard they are IASCA judges biggrin.gif ...some more their reputation is good in Penang so maybe thats why they talk like that to u rolleyes.gif .....to me, wat he said was quite knowledgeble for a newbie like me....same goes for alpha boss... thumbup.gif

if alpha boss does tuning, maybe I will give it a try rclxms.gif ....does he have the alpine amp and comps that u recommended in earlier posts? last time he recommend lightning audio's bolt amps the yellow color ones...hehehehe... laugh.gif

osciloscope story, I think they will only take it out when they see u willing to spend money...hahahaha.... laugh.gif laugh.gif
loon1031
post Dec 6 2006, 12:59 PM

1,105 posts

As I know diference people, the way tuning difference...
Some like add Time Alighment, EQ....on ICE
Some just prefer tuning basic setup only (HU, amp & speaker + xover) without TA & EQ..

osciloscope only show off when their customers need to see show loh...
Saw before Helix amp tuning by using Helix osciloscope..
TSshocker
post Dec 7 2006, 07:25 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 6 2006, 12:59 PM)
As I know diference people, the way tuning difference...
Some like add  Time Alighment, EQ....on ICE
Some just prefer tuning basic setup only (HU, amp & speaker + xover) without TA & EQ..

osciloscope only show off when their customers need to see show loh...
Saw before Helix amp tuning by using Helix osciloscope..
yeah, u are rite...some ppl use angle management also to get good staging tongue.gif ...hehehe... laugh.gif

anyway, I went to alpha yesterday evening but couldnt be there long enuff cos uncle needs to go for a dinner, ask me to come again another day....he's giving me a non-china made MBQ DSE-216 for a good price that matches my budget quite nicely brows.gif ...but I havent decide just yet sweat.gif ....also he offered me sound proofing deal for 2 front doors for RM200... smile.gif overall it was good meeting him cos he is quite knowledgeble and technical in ICE... notworthy.gif time well spent for me...

I think I will be going there again in da afternoon or evening today, perhaps will install the sound proofing first to feel the difference first rclxm9.gif .....then later on decide on which comp speakers as need to test them out yet first rite, maybe will test out speakers today also ler... icon_rolleyes.gif

on RF comps and coaxs, I couldnt go to crystal sound becos I went elsewhere later so will probably go there today......will let u know then..... tongue.gif

by the way, may I ask why MBQ's tweeters always naked one....I mean like there is no cover made to cover the tweeter unlike other brands in the market.... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 7 2006, 07:32 AM
loon1031
post Dec 7 2006, 08:10 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 7 2006, 07:25 AM)
yeah, u are rite...some ppl use angle management also to get good staging tongue.gif ...hehehe... laugh.gif

anyway, I went to alpha yesterday evening but couldnt be there long enuff cos uncle needs to go for a dinner, ask me to come again another day....he's giving me a non-china made MBQ DSE-216 for a good price that matches my budget quite nicely brows.gif ...but I havent decide just yet sweat.gif ....also he offered me sound proofing deal for 2 front doors for RM200... smile.gif overall it was good meeting him cos he is quite knowledgeble and technical in ICE... notworthy.gif time well spent for me...

I think I will be going there again in da afternoon or evening today, perhaps will install the sound proofing first to feel the difference first rclxm9.gif .....then later on decide on which comp speakers as need to test them out yet first rite, maybe will test out speakers today also ler... icon_rolleyes.gif

on RF comps and coaxs, I couldnt go to crystal sound becos I went elsewhere later so will probably go there today......will let u know then..... tongue.gif

by the way, may I ask why MBQ's tweeters always naked one....I mean like there is no cover made to cover the tweeter unlike other brands in the market.... rclxub.gif
MB Quart tweeter have housing as below :

For RF, Uncle is RF expert and have been installing RF more than 10 years...
If buy RF better try at uncle there...maybe price not as cheap as crystal sound...

TSshocker
post Dec 7 2006, 10:13 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 7 2006, 08:10 AM)
MB Quart tweeter have housing as below :

For RF, Uncle is RF expert and have been installing RF more than 10 years...
If buy RF better try at uncle there...maybe price not as cheap as crystal sound...
hey loon, thanks for the pic, that was really helpful..... thumbup.gif

I think once Im there, will probably put sound proofing and then test out few comps sets brows.gif ......thinking of that MBQ, RF and lightning audio......wat u think of lightning audio man biggrin.gif ? is it more SPL then SQL? I heard other ppls LA ICE, quite OK also in my book.... tongue.gif .....more so, I heard u took LA woofer from uncle, is it true smile.gif ?

talk about crystal sound, I think alpha will be better....I rather go somewhere where the installer is technically experience than somewhere where I can get cheaper speakers wink.gif .....after all, if anyone wants good installation and tuning in ICE, he or she must be prepared to spend da money.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 7 2006, 10:28 AM
loon1031
post Dec 7 2006, 12:30 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 7 2006, 10:13 AM)
hey loon, thanks for the pic, that was really helpful..... thumbup.gif

I think once Im there, will probably put sound proofing and then test out few comps sets brows.gif ......thinking of that MBQ, RF and lightning audio......wat u think of lightning audio man biggrin.gif ? is it more SPL then SQL? I heard other ppls LA ICE, quite OK also in my book.... tongue.gif .....more so, I heard u took LA woofer from uncle, is it true smile.gif ?

talk about crystal sound, I think alpha will be better....I rather go somewhere where the installer is technically experience than somewhere where I can get cheaper speakers wink.gif .....after all, if anyone wants good installation and tuning in ICE, he or she must be prepared to spend da money.... tongue.gif
But RF, MB Quart & LA is dynamic speaker...might suitable for musical..

Maybe you also can try others than that like PHD, DLS, Helix, a/d/s... which difference with Dynamic Speaker
TSshocker
post Dec 7 2006, 07:15 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 7 2006, 12:30 PM)
But RF, MB Quart & LA is dynamic speaker...might suitable for musical..

Maybe you also can try others than that like PHD, DLS, Helix, a/d/s... which difference with Dynamic Speaker
how to classify a dynamic speaker and how different is it a dynamic speaker than other category speaker..... smile.gif

by the way, I didnt go to alpha today cos sleepy (last nite sleep 3 hrs cos been working nite shifts for the past few days, so today afternoon sleeping brows.gif )

anyway, I did go to crystal sound tongue.gif ......managed to check the RF speaker.....the power comps cost about RM1800 and power coaxs costs about RM700...the punch comps costs about RM600 but punch coaxs Im not sure... biggrin.gif

I saw DLS C6 going for RM620 and B6 for RM680 drool.gif ......I think both DLS and RF sets can get cheaper a bit since that is the price written on the box but dont expect good tuning and installation like golden or alpha..... rclxm9.gif

another thing is I dont think those speakers he is selling will be chaplang or fake... thumbup.gif
loon1031
post Dec 8 2006, 08:08 AM

1,105 posts

Maybe the tweeter....
btw You have to listen to compare the speaker...
TSshocker
post Dec 8 2006, 11:10 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

hey loon (yeah, to the only person who is replying me always...kekeke tongue.gif ).....

anyway, I visited ur dear alpha uncle today evening but he was kind of busy cos need to entertain other 3 customer's car so didnt talk to me a lot whistling.gif .....I went there thinking of doing soundproofing for my front 2 doors ended up not doing it..... yawn.gif

anyway, I audited one ICE system he set up for a customer's wira.....mind to say I was not say not really impressed yawn.gif .....not to say he didnt do a good job, the clarity in vocal and musical background was there but overall setup just doesnt suit my ears that well sweat.gif .....when I tried sitting in the back, I can hear light bass power which is OK by me biggrin.gif .....when I tried to sit in the front, I hear like the sound is coming from both sites of the speakers but its only louder at one side where Im sitting.... rclxub.gif

I asked him if the staging is done and he said it is in the centre....I think since this is SQ setup and Im new to this type of setup (used to listen to front OEM speakers loudly), it might not suit me well in this area cry.gif ......I like clarity in every sense but then to me volume shud be balance on both sides of the door, if one side only then something is wrong with the ears or setup.... sad.gif

so now I am confused, really I am icon_question.gif ....I dont even know whether I shud take the comps he's offering to me....he ask me to come tomorow or when Im free to install the soundproofing and probably test out the MBQ DSE216 and others in the car itself.....that is if Im interested in buying unsure.gif .....if after test out I dont like it then how ler shakehead.gif ? on top of that the only latest comps he have currently are like MBQ, RF (like those advertised in RF website), LA is only the sub is new one the rest of LA stuff is like old stuff, dragster and BM boschmann (lets not talk about it ler, hehehe)...the rest is so and so only..... cool.gif

if like this how to decide ler since he dont keep current stocks because he is afraid he cant sell it out, for me if really need to buy need to test out but if stuff is limited then susah to decide, isnt it?....Im really in dilemma now cry.gif ...cant decide anything, thinking of going elsewhere now also rclxub.gif .....wat u think bro, please advice dude or anybody based on my predicament here...... icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 8 2006, 11:17 PM
loon1031
post Dec 9 2006, 11:08 AM

1,105 posts

Actually, for testing ICE you have to bring yours favor CD to listen the music you familiar.... to compare the ICE system can bring you more detail music + vocal like some instrument, vocal ...before & after.
because when you listen the music you haven't listen before you won't know what is the difference before & after mah and also when the instrument got, when the vocal strong.... a lot reason...

Beside other ICE owner taste might not same as you...
Maybe you want bass more low but they maybe not...
Some request vocal more strong, musical less...
Please keep in mind..yours taste diference with other people...
Your ICE must meet yours requirement..not listen the installer say waht & what loh...

This post has been edited by loon1031: Dec 9 2006, 11:14 AM
ahboy2725
post Dec 9 2006, 01:46 PM

33 posts

bro shocker, sometimes what u listen *which u think is clarity* instead is thin or mellow sounding, they lack of warmth n airy.

In ice, u need to compromise, so better choose what type of music u luv most n tune n setup to it. Every components in ice also got their own characteristic, make sure u differentiate it n choose wisely. Choose those products which suits ur ears n not to the taste of installer.
TSshocker
post Dec 9 2006, 06:18 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

both of u are rite, thanks for that smile.gif .......but problem is that to really really understand, appreciate, feel and taste the sound would be to test it out in a car and not in a show room..... wink.gif

but problem with testing in the car would be if lets say u decide not to buy from the installer after testing the ICE, meaning those ICE stuff doesnt match our requirement, then installer would get angry rite cos he setup so hard for our listening then decide not to take it..... rolleyes.gif

in my case, that could be the situation but as well as not having latest or a lot of comps set to decide sad.gif......but the installer is good and technically competent that I feel sorry for him if I go elsewhere... cry.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 9 2006, 06:19 PM
ahboy2725
post Dec 10 2006, 02:10 PM

33 posts

bro shocker, u can attend ice tt n audit urself. If u r serious on purchasing, installer should setup whatever needs u want, if they get angry just because u dun like it, then change for another installer.

Bear in mind, what u pay n what u will get, dun expect few hundred rm stuff could over power few thousand rm stuff.
D_Y2k.4^
post Dec 10 2006, 04:08 PM

2,271 posts

Hey bro,just wanna share with you bout my setup.

I got my MB Quart DSD-216 for RM400 and i bought 2 pairs.After that I installed Dynamat Extreme to my doors and now the bass produced is subwoofer like+_+
loon1031
post Dec 10 2006, 07:13 PM

1,105 posts

So Bro Shocker, already decided liao?

TSshocker
post Dec 11 2006, 06:19 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(ahboy2725 @ Dec 10 2006, 02:10 PM)
bro shocker, u can attend ice tt n audit urself. If u r serious on purchasing, installer should setup whatever needs u want, if they get angry just because u dun like it, then change for another installer.

Bear in mind, what u pay n what u will get, dun expect few hundred rm stuff could over power few thousand rm stuff.
u are rite also, but around here in penang very less ICE TTs so its a bit hard on that part sweat.gif ....if in KL then no problem always got activities like dis all da time... cry.gif

on installer setups, need to try to go somewhere where I can test/audit and choose a variety of models smile.gif , otherwise if I go somewhere where models and parts are limited (even though installer is damn good), then probably I cannot stretch my budget limit up to maximum level wink.gif , meaning I would probably wont get the best deal around, he probably can tune wat he have to wat I want, but I can only get most out of wat speakers he have without comparing to other speakers..... cool.gif

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Dec 10 2006, 04:08 PM)
Hey bro,just wanna share with you bout my setup.

I got my MB Quart DSD-216 for RM400 and i bought 2 pairs.After that I installed Dynamat Extreme to my doors and now the bass produced is subwoofer like+_+
thanks for sharing ur setup, sound proofing/deading is important too I realise that, but Im confuse whether I shud choose proofing or deading (which is 2 different things).... unsure.gif

refering to ur setup, did u mean the enchanced the comps speakers bass to like a subs bass rolleyes.gif ?? if u are using an amp, sure that might be the case with the effects of a sound proofing/deading material.... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 10 2006, 07:13 PM)
So Bro Shocker, already decided liao?
not yet ler bro loon, currently pening kapla thinking of this rclxub.gif....I think I need to go audit more setups around icon_rolleyes.gif .....probably be heading around penang first before trying to go to asacar in kulim smile.gif......my target is by end of the year shud have component set atleast....then follow up by an amp preferably 4 channel one....thanks for ur assistance so far... notworthy.gif
D_Y2k.4^
post Dec 11 2006, 10:16 AM

2,271 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 11 2006, 06:19 AM)
thanks for sharing ur setup, sound proofing/deading is important too I realise that, but Im confuse whether I shud choose proofing or deading (which is 2 different things).... unsure.gif

refering to ur setup, did u mean the enchanced the comps speakers bass to like a subs bass rolleyes.gif ?? if u are using an amp, sure that might be the case with the effects of a sound proofing/deading material.... thumbup.gif
Yeap.I'm using an amp to power the speakers and have installed 2 layers of Dynamat on each door.However,the subwoofer like bass is not my liking.Probably it suits better for those SPL users.Can use it to 'cha ge'.Hehehehe icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif laugh.gif
loon1031
post Dec 11 2006, 11:39 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 11 2006, 06:19 AM)
u are rite also, but around here in penang very less ICE TTs so its a bit hard on that part sweat.gif ....if in KL then no problem always got activities like dis all da time... cry.gif

on installer setups, need to try to go somewhere where I can test/audit and choose a variety of models smile.gif , otherwise if I go somewhere where models and parts are limited (even though installer is damn good), then probably I cannot stretch my budget limit up to maximum level wink.gif , meaning I would probably wont get the best deal around, he probably can tune wat he have to wat I want, but I can only get most out of wat speakers he have without comparing to other speakers..... cool.gif

not yet ler bro loon, currently pening kapla thinking of this rclxub.gif....I think I need to go audit more setups around icon_rolleyes.gif .....probably be heading around penang first before trying to go to asacar in kulim smile.gif......my target is by end of the year shud have component set atleast....then follow up by an amp preferably 4 channel one....thanks for ur assistance so far... notworthy.gif
At Penang here, want TT sure can.. but none organize it
Find one day la...We TT... even only 2 ppl... laugh.gif
ahboy2725
post Dec 12 2006, 06:30 PM

33 posts

shocker, try to browse autoworld.com.my ice forum, there r lotsa icer there, like pras, vegatron, twofish n who lots more. or browse mycarhifi.com or gr8tunes.net.

Dy2k4, nope u r wrong, all sq setup will need to soundproof our doors n whole lots more places too. we need low bass for those double bass, drum n piano too.

Thats why u need to know what brand is for spl n what brand is for sq.
TSshocker
post Dec 21 2006, 11:26 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 11 2006, 11:39 AM)
At Penang here, want TT sure can.. but none organize it
Find one day la...We TT... even only 2 ppl... laugh.gif
hahahaha.....want to do TT between us 2 onli huh smile.gif ....hehehe...that will be like comparing drain water (which is my setup) and champagne (which is ur setup) cool2.gif ....cant bear the humilation man.... laugh.gif tongue.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(ahboy2725 @ Dec 12 2006, 06:30 PM)
shocker, try to browse autoworld.com.my ice forum, there r lotsa icer there, like pras, vegatron, twofish n who lots more. or browse mycarhifi.com or gr8tunes.net.

Dy2k4, nope u r wrong, all sq setup will need to soundproof our doors n whole lots more places too. we need low bass for those double bass, drum n piano too.

Thats why u need to know what brand is for spl n what brand is for sq.
ahboy, I have been browsing those sites since I started to get involve in ICE some few months back, anyway....thank u... notworthy.gif
loon1031
post Dec 21 2006, 11:49 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 21 2006, 11:26 PM)
hahahaha.....want to do TT between us 2 onli huh smile.gif ....hehehe...that will be like comparing drain water (which is my setup) and champagne (which is ur setup) cool2.gif ....cant bear the humilation man.... laugh.gif tongue.gif brows.gif
ahboy, I have been browsing those sites since I started to get involve in ICE some few months back, anyway....thank u... notworthy.gif
Oh... Not decided yet?
TSshocker
post Dec 22 2006, 12:04 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 21 2006, 11:49 PM)
Oh... Not decided yet?
damn, still havent ler doh.gif ....been thinking of going for american based set rather than european based one since most of the type of music that I listen is US based genre... biggrin.gif

wat u think, is it wrong to think this way blink.gif ? been thinking like LA (new LA of course), RF (perhaps fanatic series) and others....still need to go to asacar and see how ler... rclxub.gif
loon1031
post Dec 22 2006, 01:13 AM

1,105 posts

If you prefer dynamic music, you can try US thing..
If you prefer warm muisc, try euro thing
ahboy2725
post Dec 22 2006, 11:57 AM

33 posts

If anyone of u guys coming to kl, pm me in advance, i will organise one ice tt for u guys.

shocker, dun lah paiseh, there is not entry or highend level among icer, we all sharing info n having fun out of it nia, so dun worry bro.
TSshocker
post Dec 22 2006, 11:58 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 22 2006, 01:13 AM)
If you prefer dynamic music, you can try US thing..
If you prefer warm muisc, try euro thing
roughly, how does we differenciate dynamic music and warm music..... icon_question.gif
(N)3
post Dec 22 2006, 02:51 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 22 2006, 11:58 AM)
roughly, how does we differenciate dynamic music and warm music..... icon_question.gif
welllll in a nut shell
dynamic = lala music tongue.gif
warm = unkle music tongue.gif

haha just joking, no offence guys wink.gif
TSshocker
post Dec 23 2006, 11:42 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE((N)3 @ Dec 22 2006, 02:51 PM)
welllll in a nut shell
dynamic = lala music tongue.gif
warm = unkle music tongue.gif

haha just joking, no offence guys wink.gif
hehehehe....I was expecting a good answer but I got a pre-christmas joke tongue.gif laugh.gif

so is it right to say dynamic music is like mainstream music (hip hop, R&B, pop, rock, techno/trance/disco etc etc) while warm is like jazz, classical, orchestrial type of music.... unsure.gif blink.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 23 2006, 11:43 AM
TSshocker
post Dec 26 2006, 01:20 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

so guys, after browsing high and low for 1-3 weeks, I think I have roughly made my mind on wat I would like to take... blink.gif cool2.gif

below is my options but Im not sure which one to take just yet:

alpine type R : RM980
alpine type S : RM680
MBQuart DSF216 : RM980
helix blue 62 : RM680

looking to pair either one of the above component sets to a 4 channel amplifier, perhaps an alpine one since I can get one at less than RM1K... biggrin.gif

as for alpine type R and S, Im not sure wat exactly is the model no as there is some 171, 176a, 177 hehehehe...confusing..... rclxub.gif

music preferance would be like mentioned before, just would like to add that I prefer my music setup loud and clean with no breaking up at high pitch/frequency... sweat.gif thumbup.gif biggrin.gif

please advice if there is any better sets than those above ones at about the same price or shud I just take either one of those above ones icon_question.gif ...will probably be installing one set dis week or next.....still dok tahan the temptation of new speakers coming soon.... laugh.gif

edit: personally prefer alpine sets R or S but need inputs from others... wink.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 26 2006, 01:08 PM
mattchin
post Dec 26 2006, 07:57 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

alpine type R has a very strong mid bass and the high tone is pretty sharp.. mbquart's well known for it's tweeters but the mid bass is lack.. (applies to the DSD version)

about others.. not sure lia0.. tongue.gif
loon1031
post Dec 26 2006, 08:13 AM

1,105 posts

Alpine Speaker mid bass very strong bass...but tweeter lack...Some time the mid bass too bass disturb also..
MB Quart tweeter nice + dynamic ... new one DSF216 mid bass nice also but vocal not so real...
Helix's tweeter & mid bass also match
(N)3
post Dec 26 2006, 10:36 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 23 2006, 11:42 AM)
hehehehe....I was expecting a good answer but I got a pre-christmas joke tongue.gif laugh.gif

so is it right to say dynamic music is like mainstream music (hip hop, R&B, pop, rock, techno/trance/disco etc etc) while warm is like jazz, classical, orchestrial type of music.... unsure.gif blink.gif
haha okay a more serious answer
dynamic music refer to music with fast changes in notes/tone
warm music refers to music with slower changes in notes/tone

as for which speakers, i got no opinion as never heard them b4
valve_300b
post Dec 26 2006, 10:43 AM

212 posts

try a pair of avantgarde, cost around RM700 - RM 800 the last time I was quoted. Not bad, it has nice vocal

http://www.valeraine.com/

i would not recommend alpine unless u can get the Vifa drivers, Type-X or you r getting alpine F1. The new one i heard, doesn't sound good.
driftmeister
post Dec 26 2006, 11:37 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

up ur budget to get Type X (177a or 177r)
confirm no regret
TSshocker
post Dec 26 2006, 02:22 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Dec 26 2006, 07:57 AM)
alpine type R has a very strong mid bass and the high tone is pretty sharp.. mbquart's well known for it's tweeters but the mid bass is lack.. (applies to the DSD version)

about others.. not sure lia0.. tongue.gif
thanks for ur comments, still undecided for now.... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 26 2006, 08:13 AM)
Alpine Speaker mid bass very strong bass...but tweeter lack...Some time the mid bass too bass disturb also..
MB Quart tweeter nice + dynamic ... new one DSF216 mid bass nice also but vocal not so real...
Helix's tweeter & mid bass also match
haiya brother, last time u recommend alpine rite cool2.gif ....wat u think of it now ler...I think seriously before buying will need to test out those speakers in the car ler....da other day, tested out in open space..... blink.gif

dat day, tested few comps set, like RF punch, LA strike and alpine type R, found dat RF punch bass is higher followed by LA strike and lastly alpine type R, but both punch and strike costs more than RM1.3K and RM1.5K respectively moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif , totally out of my budget... doh.gif

QUOTE((N)3 @ Dec 26 2006, 10:36 AM)
haha okay a more serious answer
dynamic music refer to music with fast changes in notes/tone
warm music refers to music with slower changes in notes/tone

as for which speakers, i got no opinion as never heard them b4
thanks brows.gif .....this might be the answer I was looking for....rougly u answered like I mentioned before.... icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(valve_300b @ Dec 26 2006, 10:43 AM)
try a pair of avantgarde, cost around RM700 - RM 800 the last time I was quoted. Not bad, it has nice vocal

http://www.valeraine.com/

i would not recommend alpine unless u can get the Vifa drivers, Type-X or you r getting alpine F1. The new one i heard, doesn't sound good.
thanks for ur comments..... wave.gif

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 26 2006, 11:37 AM)
up ur budget to get Type X (177a or 177r)
confirm no regret
hehehe, thanks to u also bro biggrin.gif .....but dat day was offered type R onli at my budget, dang need to look around again then.... tongue.gif
loon1031
post Dec 26 2006, 02:52 PM

1,105 posts

Alpine Type R & S just average...and a bit bass...for SQ only normal le but for dynamic maybe suitable guar.
But Alpine Type X, I think out of your budget range le...
Alpine component Can try find at Asacar with lowest price but have to look for boss le, not his stuft.

LA Strike with cheap price can be found at Alpha there around RM600++ (old model la but brand new)

Helix Blue 62 also can be found at Asacar with low price around RM600++ also.

DLS B6 or DLS R6A also a good choice for SQ which below RM1k...
New DLS MS6A heard people recomance but I not yet hear it and also don't know the price... but the price around RM1K

a/d/s 236i also a good component....

PS : try to listen it by yourself... maybe My taste not suitable you.

This post has been edited by loon1031: Dec 26 2006, 02:57 PM
TSshocker
post Dec 26 2006, 04:01 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

Alpine Type R & S just average...and a bit bass...for SQ only normal le but for dynamic maybe suitable guar.

do u meant that if wanna take R better go for cheaper S since u said just average, u think got huge difference is it flex.gif ?

Im more into dynamic music then warm, I realised this now.... nod.gif

But Alpine Type X, I think out of your budget range le...

I think so the same also, but sifu driftmeister said its about RM1K.... brows.gif

Alpine component Can try find at Asacar with lowest price but have to look for boss le, not his stuft.

do u mean I have to look for asacar's boss/manager..... tongue.gif

the price range I mentioned in few posts back on 4 component sets are based on asacar's pricing brother....thats wat they offered to me... smile.gif

LA Strike with cheap price can be found at Alpha there around RM600++ (old model la but brand new)

LA strike I saw at asacar is new one and new model with new LA logo at RM1.5K....u think better take new one or old one if I choose LA instead rolleyes.gif ?

some ppl would say old is gold lust.gif but some says old is mold laugh.gif hahahaha.....

PS : try to listen it by yourself... maybe My taste not suitable you.

yeah, end of the day, it all boils down to whether it fits ur budget and ears...cheers... cheers.gif
loon1031
post Dec 26 2006, 04:27 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 26 2006, 04:01 PM)
do u meant that if wanna take R better go for cheaper S since u said just average, u think got huge difference is it flex.gif ?

Im more into dynamic music then warm, I realised this now.... nod.gif
I think so the same also, but sifu driftmeister said its about RM1K.... brows.gif
do u mean I have to look for asacar's boss/manager..... tongue.gif

the price range I mentioned in few posts back on 4 component sets are based on asacar's pricing brother....thats wat they offered to me... smile.gif
LA strike I saw at asacar is new one and new model with new LA logo at RM1.5K....u think better take new one or old one if I choose LA instead rolleyes.gif ?

some ppl would say old is gold lust.gif but some says old is mold laugh.gif hahahaha.....
yeah, end of the day, it all boils down to whether it fits ur budget and ears...cheers... cheers.gif
So all price is refer ro Asacar price?
Hmm... few months I don't go there...
Go to Asacar should looking for the boss... because the boss can give a lowest price than manager...

For LA stuft, some people say take old model better than new one... because old one made in US loh... new one made in China... But I not sure...
I buy speaker base on my ear + budget...

TSshocker
post Dec 26 2006, 04:50 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 26 2006, 04:27 PM)
So all price is refer ro Asacar price?
Hmm... few months I don't go there...
Go to Asacar should looking for the boss... because the boss can give a lowest price than manager...

For LA stuft, some people say take old model better than new one... because old one made in US loh... new one made in China... But I not sure...
I buy speaker base on my ear + budget...
yeah, the pricing mentioned before this is taken by asacar staffs.....just went there like last week.... smile.gif

boss how to meet him huh? cos go to the shop immediately kena attack by their staffs.....hahahaha tongue.gif
loon1031
post Dec 26 2006, 05:51 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 26 2006, 04:50 PM)
yeah, the pricing mentioned before this is taken by asacar staffs.....just went there like last week.... smile.gif

boss how to meet him huh? cos go to the shop immediately kena attack by their staffs.....hahahaha tongue.gif
Hehe.. if you know the boss, u may get a good price like me... whistling.gif
TSshocker
post Dec 26 2006, 11:47 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 26 2006, 05:51 PM)
Hehe.. if you know the boss, u may get a good price like me... whistling.gif
waiting for u to recommend ler smile.gif ....then I can get discount also ler...kekeke... biggrin.gif

so talk about alpine type R or S, the new version one got different housing is it like below unsure.gif ?

the ones which I tested and being offered are those with normal honey comb housing but got alpine wording on top, not like these pics blink.gif ....besides that the crossover housing is not same like in those pics above and their tweeter is not like those standing in da pics above but normal ones flat bed type... blink.gif

am I being offered old stuff or wat rolleyes.gif ....thanks for replying... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 26 2006, 11:48 PM
mattchin
post Dec 27 2006, 12:02 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

QUOTE(valve_300b @ Dec 26 2006, 10:43 AM)
what about the z17t? heard it b4? is it the 1 wif the vifa driverS?

sorry.. hijack ur thread for a while.. tongue.gif
driftmeister
post Dec 27 2006, 12:04 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

z17t is the current model F1 ?
mattchin
post Dec 27 2006, 12:16 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

i dono... i saw a thread in mycarhifi selling it..

the latest is the z18t..

not sure if it is the latest o the lower end ones
TSshocker
post Dec 27 2006, 12:28 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

I heard that only type R speakers are made by vifa..... smile.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Dec 27 2006, 12:41 AM

841 posts

shocker... just wondering... did your current setup has subwoofer??

Or just a head unit (and waiting to get a nice component speaker... as the topic stated)...
TSshocker
post Dec 27 2006, 02:54 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Dec 27 2006, 12:41 AM)
shocker... just wondering... did your current setup has subwoofer??

Or just a head unit (and waiting to get a nice component speaker... as the topic stated)...
no subwoofer yet bro doh.gif ....not even an amp also, still using standard setup yawn.gif...concentrate front setup first then look back, ICE principle is dat benefit urself first then think of others in da back...hahaha... laugh.gif

just got a reasonable HU ler wink.gif ....cannot say great cos its among entry level HU....works fine to me in my usage... smile.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 27 2006, 02:55 AM
Phoenixwunin
post Dec 27 2006, 07:45 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 27 2006, 02:54 AM)
no subwoofer yet bro doh.gif ....not even an amp also, still using standard setup yawn.gif...concentrate front setup first then look back, ICE principle is dat benefit urself first then think of others in da back...hahaha... laugh.gif

just got a reasonable HU ler wink.gif ....cannot say great cos its among entry level HU....works fine to me in my usage... smile.gif
like that arr?? rclxms.gif

You strategy in putting your ICE make me thinking... maybe I shud follow your way instead of trying my best to put in all the component including sub and amp with budget just RM1.5k sweat.gif

How much is your HU btw... and what model issit?? smile.gif

*I think I'm going to up my budget from around RM200 to RM300 for component speakers to maybe RM700 now icon_idea.gif ... is that OK?? Can get good ones arr?? Eh.. what am I doing hijacking your thread sweat.gif But if you don't mind to answer I really appreciate though blush.gif

TSshocker
post Dec 27 2006, 05:12 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

You strategy in putting your ICE make me thinking... maybe I shud follow your way instead of trying my best to put in all the component including sub and amp with budget just RM1.5k

*I think I'm going to up my budget from around RM200 to RM300 for component speakers to maybe RM700 now  ... is that OK?? Can get good ones arr??

I answered ur question HERE.... cheers.gif

How much is your HU btw... and what model issit??

price shud be around RM480-500 now, I bought it higher some more sweat.gif ...model no is inside this thread as well, please do a little bit reading and searching first before yawn.gif .....I dont mind helping but u must help urself first also ler... smile.gif

Eh.. what am I doing hijacking your thread  But if you don't mind to answer I really appreciate though 
no problem bro, we learn together with our sifus here... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 27 2006, 05:13 PM
driftmeister
post Dec 27 2006, 08:54 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Dec 27 2006, 12:16 AM)
i dono... i saw a thread in mycarhifi selling it..

the latest is the z18t..

not sure if it is the latest o the lower end ones
as i remember there are 2 ways and 3 ways version of the F1 series
the previous version is made by scans

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 27 2006, 12:28 AM)
I heard that only type R speakers are made by vifa..... smile.gif
nope...they arent
only type X are made by vifa
loon1031
post Dec 27 2006, 11:53 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 27 2006, 08:54 PM)
as i remember there are 2 ways and 3 ways version of the F1 series
the previous version is made by scans
nope...they arent
only type X are made by vifa
You right...! thumbup.gif
mattchin
post Dec 28 2006, 12:23 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

if the speakers r made from denmark, is it considered as vifa or scanspeak?o they r both the same.. HE HE smile.gif
driftmeister
post Dec 28 2006, 11:51 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

indeed they're not the same
vifa is vifa
scans is scans
although they are under the same mother company
but production, RnD, target market all diff

cant expect them to produce the same thing
loon1031
post Dec 28 2006, 04:40 PM

1,105 posts

What the difference sound between vifa & scans?
driftmeister
post Dec 28 2006, 08:51 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

macam abang adik aje
loon1031
post Dec 28 2006, 10:13 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 28 2006, 08:51 PM)
macam abang adik aje
mean same la...
shakehead.gif
driftmeister
post Dec 28 2006, 10:44 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

u same with ur brother ?
physically, mentally, technically

physically - i am taller, my bro is fatter rclxms.gif
mentally - i am lazier, he is more hardworking shakehead.gif
technically - both the same tongue.gif

This post has been edited by driftmeister: Dec 28 2006, 10:46 PM
loon1031
post Dec 28 2006, 11:49 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 28 2006, 10:44 PM)
u same with ur brother ?
physically, mentally, technically

physically - i am taller, my bro is fatter  rclxms.gif
mentally - i am lazier, he is more hardworking  shakehead.gif
technically -  both the same  tongue.gif
Wahaha...laugh.gif
TSshocker
post Dec 29 2006, 06:20 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

ooooiii, wats happening to my thread huh laugh.gif biggrin.gif became some sort of joke...hahahaha... rclxms.gif tongue.gif

anyway, Im back with few questions again...hope to get some answers from sifus here... notworthy.gif

1. is it true those speakers sets have almost very limited warranty unsure.gif ? I was quoted alpine gives 3 mths warranty and sony gives no warranty watsover for their speaker sets shakehead.gif ? how about other brands rolleyes.gif ? normally this is not the same for HUs and amps however which gets 1 year warranty, according to a salesperson.... cry.gif

2. so I guess I have finally decided wat to take...the alpine type R SPS-176A for about less than RM1K brows.gif ...wat u guys think of this wink.gif ? any comments...if everything goes well today, will go and install it in the evening today..... drool.gif pics are as below....mind to say its not the latest type R model with different grill set and different looking crossover.... icon_rolleyes.gif

3. between this type R and type S, how much difference is it in between these two? I mean any huge differential features or functionality? price difference between the 2 is about RM300.... sweat.gif

hopefully to read some comments before going to install it....thanks to all... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 29 2006, 06:21 AM
loon1031
post Dec 29 2006, 10:37 AM

1,105 posts

Make sure the sound You like to listen example dynamic, bass, vocal...
Base on this, you listen the speaker and compare it your self.

driftmeister
post Dec 29 2006, 11:52 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

shocker,
this information is for u
alpine official distributor/dealer

WO KEE HONG ELECTRONICS SDN. BHD.
2nd Floor, Bangunan Infinite Centre,Lot 1, Jalan 13/6, 46200 Petaling Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan, Malaysia.
Tel:
Service Direct Line:
Fax:
E-mail:  603-7954-8088
603-7954-6166
603-7954-7088
wkhma@tm.net.my
call them whether they provides 3 months or 1 year limited warranty
i remember my HU got 2 years warranty wink.gif
hope it helps

This post has been edited by driftmeister: Dec 29 2006, 11:53 AM
loon1031
post Dec 29 2006, 12:16 PM

1,105 posts

Alpine Hu confirm have 2 years warranty!
TSshocker
post Dec 29 2006, 12:55 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 29 2006, 11:52 AM)
shocker,
this information is for u
alpine official distributor/dealer
call them whether they provides 3 months or 1 year limited warranty
i remember my HU got 2 years warranty wink.gif
hope it helps
QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 29 2006, 12:16 PM)
Alpine Hu confirm have 2 years warranty!
guys, as I said before HU and amp no problem normally got full warranty rclxms.gif .....its the speakers that is Im worry about because thats wat Im getting in the meantime.... sweat.gif

anyway, I will contact the distributor based on contacts given by driftmeister to confirm....thanks again.. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 29 2006, 12:55 PM
TSshocker
post Dec 29 2006, 02:17 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 29 2006, 10:37 AM)
Make sure the sound You like to listen example dynamic, bass, vocal...
Base on this, you listen the speaker and compare it your self.
loon, I only manage to compare this to LA bolt (RM400) and RF punch (RM1300) component sets, type R doesnt have punchy bass compared to above LA and RF, vocal and dynamic is acceptable IMHO, need to listen it the car then only know.... rolleyes.gif

I got a question, if between type R and S, of course R is better but then wat might be the biggest difference between these 2 sweat.gif ? I didnt get to test R and S side by side.... wink.gif
driftmeister
post Dec 29 2006, 02:25 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

mid bass and details not as refine for the type S
loon1031
post Dec 29 2006, 08:18 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 29 2006, 02:17 PM)
loon, I only manage to compare this to LA bolt (RM400) and RF punch (RM1300) component sets, type R doesnt have punchy bass compared to above LA and RF, vocal and dynamic is acceptable IMHO, need to listen it the car then only know.... rolleyes.gif

I got a question, if between type R and S, of course R is better but then wat might be the biggest difference between these 2 sweat.gif ? I didnt get to test R and S side by side.... wink.gif
Where you compare those component?

Try to listen the component by same song... If can you should bring you favor CD and listen for it...

I feel Alpine Type S & R quite chapalang on sound characteristic ... all characteristic got but not so good loh..
TSshocker
post Dec 29 2006, 08:35 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 29 2006, 08:18 PM)
Where you compare those component?

Try to listen the component by same song... If can you should bring you favor CD and listen for it...

I feel Alpine Type S & R quite chapalang on sound characteristic ... all characteristic got but not so good loh..
compared them at ur recommended shop asacar maa.... doh.gif

I listened using their CDs, they have few CDs that is kinda the type of music I listened...yeah, in between each songs, swapped the speakers to see the difference lor... icon_rolleyes.gif

hahaha laugh.gif .....u so high end leadi now even RM1K speakers also u say chaplang...kekeke.... wink.gif
loon1031
post Dec 29 2006, 09:56 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 29 2006, 08:35 PM)
compared them at ur recommended shop asacar maa.... doh.gif

I listened using their CDs, they have few CDs that is kinda the type of music I listened...yeah, in between each songs, swapped the speakers to see the difference lor... icon_rolleyes.gif

hahaha laugh.gif .....u so high end leadi now even RM1K speakers also u say chaplang...kekeke.... wink.gif
I mean the sound characteristic ... got those got that but only midde middle if compare with same price stuft...
TSshocker
post Dec 29 2006, 10:20 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 29 2006, 09:56 PM)
I mean the sound characteristic ... got those got that but only midde middle if compare with same price stuft...
if like this which one matches the same price stuff but have the sound characteristics like u wanted flex.gif ?
loon1031
post Dec 29 2006, 10:56 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 29 2006, 10:20 PM)
if like this which one matches the same price stuff but have the sound characteristics like u wanted flex.gif ?
Everytime listen to song try to compare the vocal, music & instrument produce by each component...
See which one same price range have good performance mah....
TSshocker
post Dec 29 2006, 11:07 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 29 2006, 10:56 PM)
Everytime listen to song try to compare the vocal, music & instrument produce by each component...
See which one same price range have good performance mah....
to me when I compared between those limited 3 sets and brand, type R stands out more flex.gif ....and at the same time since I didnt compared with other models or brands, I cant say anything also, thats why I ask u within same range of price if there is anything better than this...hehehe... laugh.gif

but I cant say anything about u tho....wat is nice in my ears might not be nice to ur ears and the other way around icon_rolleyes.gif ...so no need to keep on comparing as this would become nvr ending story sweat.gif ...

anyway, I got a question regarding warranty on speakers only (like I ask before), is it true warranty for speakers are very limited, like alpine 3 mths only and sony no warranty at all, other brands Im not sure... shakehead.gif

do u know anything about this, I havent call distributors and ask about it tho.. rolleyes.gif
loon1031
post Dec 29 2006, 11:23 PM

1,105 posts

For me got difference... for you maybe nope maybe got...

For you after you listen demo of those speaker with same song, can compare which one sound characteristics more good? What difference sound characteristics between which other...?
It's yours feeling on it...
If you feel your feeling right...Go for it.. I have no comment... because you r the one who buy it..not me... whistling.gif
TSshocker
post Dec 29 2006, 11:33 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 29 2006, 11:23 PM)
For me got difference... for you maybe nope maybe got...

For you after you listen demo of those speaker with same song, can compare which one sound characteristics more good? What difference sound characteristics between which other...?
It's yours feeling on it...
If you feel your feeling right...Go for it.. I have no comment... because you r the one who buy it..not me... whistling.gif
yeah, u are rite there rclxms.gif ....buying ICE must be based on personal liking and self budget, this shud be primary thumbup.gif ....secondary would be on other ppls recommendation based on budget and music type.... icon_rolleyes.gif

so u have any infor on warranty as I asked before this smile.gif ?

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 29 2006, 11:33 PM
loon1031
post Dec 29 2006, 11:37 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 29 2006, 11:33 PM)
yeah, u are rite there rclxms.gif ....buying ICE must be based on personal liking and self budget, this shud be primary thumbup.gif ....secondary would be on other ppls recommendation based on budget and music type.... icon_rolleyes.gif

so u have any infor on warranty as I asked before this smile.gif ?
Anyway..try to ask for DLS R6A component at Asacar...Last time they have it.. now wonder..

Nope.. I never ask for warranty... because I wont' abuse speaker.... biggrin.gif
TSshocker
post Dec 29 2006, 11:44 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 29 2006, 11:37 PM)
Anyway..try to ask for DLS R6A component at Asacar...Last time they have it.. now wonder..

Nope.. I never ask for warranty... because I wont' abuse speaker.... biggrin.gif
OK, thanks for ur reply...will head down there tomorow and check it out... notworthy.gif

0.0449sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:23 PM