Need Help To Decide ICE Setup, ICE Dilemma Now......

loon1031
post Dec 1 2006, 09:47 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

You can try
Helix Blue 6
DLS B6, C6
Alpine SPX-177R

This speaker good for beginner..
loon1031
post Dec 1 2006, 08:11 PM

1,105 posts

Hi brother!
MB Quart in Penang the most cheaper now is RM1k...loh
Mostly MB Quart more than 1k...
so I dun introduce u..

Maybe I recomance you so reasonable price shop ..you go and ask for it loh...
loon1031
post Dec 1 2006, 11:25 PM

1,105 posts

I mean most of the shops at pg sold MB Quart Discus more than 1k..
But I found one cheapest around RM1k..
If go to Asacar...maybe can find at RM900 guar
loon1031
post Dec 2 2006, 11:15 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 1 2006, 11:42 PM)
hehehe....cheaper i think can find one...but must make sure they are authentic also since MBQ stuff a lot of fake ones also... sweat.gif

also important is that tuning which most shops lacks around pg wink.gif ....those well known for tuning are normally expensive but they do good job.... thumbup.gif

u mind telling me where is ur recommended reasonable price shop smile.gif ...im thinking of getting a set of good comp in 1-2 weeks time before i head down to KL on mid mth... rclxm9.gif
For old Mb Quart, sure got a lot of imitation...
But If you looking for new DSF216 (red color one), it not yet have any imitation in market.
Most of the shop still carry the DSE216 old MB Quart you have to make sure it have Autocraft sticker or not, but Asacar have DSF216 and have Autocraft sticker because my friend just install it from Asacar few months ago.

For reasonable price shop, I only prefer go to Alpha...
You can also survey & compare the price before purchase...
Sometime the shop sell cheap doesn't mean they have good skill...
loon1031
post Dec 3 2006, 07:22 PM

1,105 posts

DSF216 is the new Discus ....

The DSD216, DSE216 is old version...

My latest setup tuning by the uncle... thumbup.gif

loon1031
post Dec 4 2006, 01:02 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 3 2006, 10:31 PM)
looks nice man drool.gif ....i suppose it sounds nice too flex.gif ? sorry im a bit new in ICE so didnt realise already got new MBQ comp in market..... rclxms.gif

this one u got for RM1K is it smile.gif ? hows the performance tongue.gif ? i think this new MBQ not yet come out with fake one just yet shakehead.gif ...only earlier models so far.... rclxub.gif

is it true that discus line is like entry level for MBQ wink.gif ? thanks........l
MB Quart have 4 level speaker
Discus is the beginner speaker
DSF 216

Reference
RVF 216

Premium
PCE 216

Q-line is the high-end for MB Quart
QSD 216
loon1031
post Dec 4 2006, 07:19 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Dec 4 2006, 06:06 PM)
I'm using that set on my other car and I'm really disappointed with the performance.High pitch frequency is rather disturbing when driving under hot weather condition.

Probably should check out Focal or DLS.
MB Quart have special crossover can set db...can control the tweeter.
The best way play MB Quart is run active... laugh.gif

loon1031
post Dec 4 2006, 07:25 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 4 2006, 04:59 PM)
hehehe...i was asking loon actually...hehehe tongue.gif .......anyway, not all branded stuff entry level is around RM1K...brands like BM and SS around RM300-400.....ive seen MTX and RF comps around the range of RM500-600 smile.gif ....i guess RM1K entry level stuff must be really good entry level stuff... nod.gif
yeah Y2K, i heard the very same comment from another fren of mine, he said its tweeters which is too bright... smile.gif
MB Quart tweeter bright because it is titanium tweeter ma.. not softdome tweeter.
MB Quart got the way to play.. you can refer Alpha uncle to give advice how to play it...

Becarefull MTX & RF which sell as cheap as RM500 ... It might be imitation...
RF punch component cost around RM1.2k .... If found RM500... It might imitation...
loon1031
post Dec 4 2006, 09:11 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 4 2006, 08:26 PM)
so loon, i ask u again, how much u got ur new MBQ DSF216 smile.gif ? thanks for the infor on MBQ setup... smile.gif

last time ive seen the below RF comps set going at RM500-600 at Crystal Sound at Sg 2.....luckily u told me about it...hehehehe...thanks..... biggrin.gif
I don't use MB Quart component...
My friend use it...

When u saw the Crystal Sound Sold that RF comp with RM500-600 ?
If RM500- 600 sure he rugi mah.. ohmy.gif

loon1031
post Dec 5 2006, 09:01 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 5 2006, 02:04 AM)
yeah, looks funky and bulky also smile.gif ...the magnet so huge I wonder if can fit the door panel... sweat.gif hehehe....I once heard RF FNX2614 in my frens wira.....that was the first time I listened to such clear sound from a car speaker.....it was really good but that is like 2-3 years leadi laa smile.gif ....rite now no more fanatic X speakers from RF.... cry.gif
loon, as refering to ur quote earlier (as in below)....  flex.gif
that was the reason why i asked u if u got use or install the new MBQ in ur car..... biggrin.gif

anyway, why u said he rugi maa....RM500-600 is OK wat for a comp set....isnt it drool.gif ? saying this so if ppl dont know its fake, he is going to be untung wat...

I saw like 2-3 mths leadi laa smile.gif .....but Im not that sure also cos at that time I really have no knowledge on ICE, so probably I seen the wrong price tag..sorry for that notworthy.gif ...anyway, u can just go and see it ler even tho u have not good experience there before... laugh.gif
Oh...I don't use MB Quart..... but my ICE lastest setup is from Alpha there... Try a lot of place before finally go back to Alpha... Uncle staging skill nice...

I say rugi, because the market price for RF component around RM1k+ ....
If RF component sold RM500-600 ... it might imitation...or he do the rugi busines lo
Please confirm that is coxial speaker or component... As I know RF power coxial cost around RM600..but RF Power component cost RM2K cool.gif
loon1031
post Dec 5 2006, 09:55 PM

1,105 posts

I had been Golden few times... but nothing installl there bcoz the Golden lan shi & one more thing i don't like is he try to call me try Agako..omg.. I just sold Agako one...

Haha.. Alpha instaltion done by Malay guy..but tuning done by Uncle...
Audit few car at Alpha before...nice staging

osciloscope not only Golden can... many also can but you don't see only
loon1031
post Dec 6 2006, 12:59 PM

1,105 posts

As I know diference people, the way tuning difference...
Some like add Time Alighment, EQ....on ICE
Some just prefer tuning basic setup only (HU, amp & speaker + xover) without TA & EQ..

osciloscope only show off when their customers need to see show loh...
Saw before Helix amp tuning by using Helix osciloscope..
loon1031
post Dec 7 2006, 08:10 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 7 2006, 07:25 AM)
yeah, u are rite...some ppl use angle management also to get good staging tongue.gif ...hehehe... laugh.gif

anyway, I went to alpha yesterday evening but couldnt be there long enuff cos uncle needs to go for a dinner, ask me to come again another day....he's giving me a non-china made MBQ DSE-216 for a good price that matches my budget quite nicely brows.gif ...but I havent decide just yet sweat.gif ....also he offered me sound proofing deal for 2 front doors for RM200... smile.gif overall it was good meeting him cos he is quite knowledgeble and technical in ICE... notworthy.gif time well spent for me...

I think I will be going there again in da afternoon or evening today, perhaps will install the sound proofing first to feel the difference first rclxm9.gif .....then later on decide on which comp speakers as need to test them out yet first rite, maybe will test out speakers today also ler... icon_rolleyes.gif

on RF comps and coaxs, I couldnt go to crystal sound becos I went elsewhere later so will probably go there today......will let u know then..... tongue.gif

by the way, may I ask why MBQ's tweeters always naked one....I mean like there is no cover made to cover the tweeter unlike other brands in the market.... rclxub.gif
MB Quart tweeter have housing as below :

For RF, Uncle is RF expert and have been installing RF more than 10 years...
If buy RF better try at uncle there...maybe price not as cheap as crystal sound...

loon1031
post Dec 7 2006, 12:30 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 7 2006, 10:13 AM)
hey loon, thanks for the pic, that was really helpful..... thumbup.gif

I think once Im there, will probably put sound proofing and then test out few comps sets brows.gif ......thinking of that MBQ, RF and lightning audio......wat u think of lightning audio man biggrin.gif ? is it more SPL then SQL? I heard other ppls LA ICE, quite OK also in my book.... tongue.gif .....more so, I heard u took LA woofer from uncle, is it true smile.gif ?

talk about crystal sound, I think alpha will be better....I rather go somewhere where the installer is technically experience than somewhere where I can get cheaper speakers wink.gif .....after all, if anyone wants good installation and tuning in ICE, he or she must be prepared to spend da money.... tongue.gif
But RF, MB Quart & LA is dynamic speaker...might suitable for musical..

Maybe you also can try others than that like PHD, DLS, Helix, a/d/s... which difference with Dynamic Speaker
loon1031
post Dec 8 2006, 08:08 AM

1,105 posts

Maybe the tweeter....
btw You have to listen to compare the speaker...
loon1031
post Dec 9 2006, 11:08 AM

1,105 posts

Actually, for testing ICE you have to bring yours favor CD to listen the music you familiar.... to compare the ICE system can bring you more detail music + vocal like some instrument, vocal ...before & after.
because when you listen the music you haven't listen before you won't know what is the difference before & after mah and also when the instrument got, when the vocal strong.... a lot reason...

Beside other ICE owner taste might not same as you...
Maybe you want bass more low but they maybe not...
Some request vocal more strong, musical less...
Please keep in mind..yours taste diference with other people...
Your ICE must meet yours requirement..not listen the installer say waht & what loh...

This post has been edited by loon1031: Dec 9 2006, 11:14 AM
loon1031
post Dec 10 2006, 07:13 PM

1,105 posts

So Bro Shocker, already decided liao?

loon1031
post Dec 11 2006, 11:39 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 11 2006, 06:19 AM)
u are rite also, but around here in penang very less ICE TTs so its a bit hard on that part sweat.gif ....if in KL then no problem always got activities like dis all da time... cry.gif

on installer setups, need to try to go somewhere where I can test/audit and choose a variety of models smile.gif , otherwise if I go somewhere where models and parts are limited (even though installer is damn good), then probably I cannot stretch my budget limit up to maximum level wink.gif , meaning I would probably wont get the best deal around, he probably can tune wat he have to wat I want, but I can only get most out of wat speakers he have without comparing to other speakers..... cool.gif
thanks for sharing ur setup, sound proofing/deading is important too I realise that, but Im confuse whether I shud choose proofing or deading (which is 2 different things).... unsure.gif

refering to ur setup, did u mean the enchanced the comps speakers bass to like a subs bass rolleyes.gif ?? if u are using an amp, sure that might be the case with the effects of a sound proofing/deading material.... thumbup.gif
not yet ler bro loon, currently pening kapla thinking of this rclxub.gif....I think I need to go audit more setups around icon_rolleyes.gif .....probably be heading around penang first before trying to go to asacar in kulim smile.gif......my target is by end of the year shud have component set atleast....then follow up by an amp preferably 4 channel one....thanks for ur assistance so far... notworthy.gif
At Penang here, want TT sure can.. but none organize it
Find one day la...We TT... even only 2 ppl... laugh.gif
loon1031
post Dec 21 2006, 11:49 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 21 2006, 11:26 PM)
hahahaha.....want to do TT between us 2 onli huh smile.gif ....hehehe...that will be like comparing drain water (which is my setup) and champagne (which is ur setup) cool2.gif ....cant bear the humilation man.... laugh.gif tongue.gif brows.gif
ahboy, I have been browsing those sites since I started to get involve in ICE some few months back, anyway....thank u... notworthy.gif
Oh... Not decided yet?
loon1031
post Dec 22 2006, 01:13 AM

1,105 posts

If you prefer dynamic music, you can try US thing..
If you prefer warm muisc, try euro thing

0.0217sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:31 PM