Old house to dream house

luvimp
post May 5 2016, 12:26 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(loginet @ Mar 8 2016, 04:36 PM)
I got one ID - quote RM 0.90 per sq feet.
So for double story, about RM1.5K -  is that reasonable??

Btw - I got few quotes from contractor, and it seems better to buy your own tiles, due to GST 6% added
by contractor to me.  So you will kena double GST, as we dont claim input tax.

Another thing, contractor usually give sub-tiles... hence better choose our own.

Any sifu got lubang?? rclxms.gif  .... Good tiles on discount?  icon_rolleyes.gif
Bro, for 3d layout from ID, I was quoted RM12k for 15 pieces of 3d layout alone.

Would suggest you to use Niro tiles. Get it from APEX at Jalan Ipoh if you are from KL/SEL.
post May 5 2016, 01:41 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ May 5 2016, 12:26 PM)
Bro, for 3d layout from ID, I was quoted RM12k for 15 pieces of 3d layout alone.

Would suggest you to use Niro tiles. Get it from APEX at Jalan Ipoh if you are from KL/SEL.
Go for better quality of tiles. It solve a lot of tile standard issues...

PM me if you are interested in Niro. I can quote a good price.

jootat
post May 11 2016, 04:29 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Mar 7 2016, 11:22 AM)
Finally, after months of planning I have come to the finalized scope of work with my contractor. This is a different one from the update posted above.

Currently waiting for architect & runner to settle with local council. Hope to start work by end of this month  rclxm9.gif

Just sharing the scope & plan here...

Renovation: RM190,000
Council Approval fees: RM5,000
Solar, water pump, filter, toilet stuff, sinks, lights, fans, aircon, curtain etc etc: RM30,000 est.
Total: RM225,000

Notes:
1) Extra room downstairs + new back balcony upstairs (laundry here).
2) After surveying some friends houses, decided to go for laminate instead of timber. Too costly.
3) Decided to change the entire roof structure to make first floor ceiling higher. Ceiling est. can raise another 1ft+ with new structure.
4) Not much extra costs apart from the RM30,000 mentioned above (hopefully). Contractor covers everything incl. tiles, laminated flooring, rockwool + aluminium sheet (for roof)... can't think of any more

From here on, I think it will be easier to keep costs within my original RM300,000 budget vs. if I had gone with the other one. Balance of RM75,000 or so to play around with for ID works.

Attached below the scope & plan for sifus here to peruse.  smile.gif

[attachmentid=6124624][attachmentid=6124646][attachmentid=6124650][attachmentid=6124653][attachmentid=6124656][attachmentid=6124660][attachmentid=6124663][attachmentid=6124667][attachmentid=6124668]

[attachmentid=6124385]
this contractor "bao kah liao"? Means he cover everything? e.g. architect, drawing, approvals and etc? how long is the project duration ...
TSphoenixxx
post May 11 2016, 05:07 PM

Sesquipedalian hittin' the quasihemdemisemiquaver
1,241 posts

Yeah he cover everything. Estimated 4-6 months, but now everyday rain like this, dunno can or not.

Work already started this week but only dismantling here and there inside the house (no hacking) since approval still pending, more than 2 months liao ><
jootat
post May 11 2016, 05:09 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ May 11 2016, 05:07 PM)
Yeah he cover everything. Estimated 4-6 months, but now everyday rain like this, dunno can or not.

Work already started this week but only dismantling here and there inside the house (no hacking) since approval still pending, more than 2 months liao ><
ok thanks ... i will keep your progress as a reference as I am also planning to do something similar like urs next time probably in 1 - 2 years time ... smile.gif
sonerin
post May 11 2016, 06:22 PM

8,740 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ May 11 2016, 05:07 PM)

Wow approval take that long ? Mine was done in 5 days. Maybe different majlis perbandaran is different
welly1999
post May 11 2016, 06:55 PM

QUOTE(loginet @ Mar 8 2016, 04:36 PM)
I got one ID - quote RM 0.90 per sq feet.
So for double story, about RM1.5K -  is that reasonable??

Btw - I got few quotes from contractor, and it seems better to buy your own tiles, due to GST 6% added
by contractor to me.  So you will kena double GST, as we dont claim input tax.

Another thing, contractor usually give sub-tiles... hence better choose our own.

Any sifu got lubang?? rclxms.gif   .... Good tiles on discount?  icon_rolleyes.gif
Can share your ID who quoted you RM0.90 per sq ft. Am keen to engage too.

This post has been edited by welly1999: May 11 2016, 06:56 PM
TSphoenixxx
post May 11 2016, 07:44 PM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 11 2016, 06:22 PM)
Wow approval take that long ? Mine was done in 5 days. Maybe different majlis perbandaran is different
I made some changes in between to the design, but mostly it's just waiting. Every week call and chase. Maybe I need to take the "extra step"? brows.gif
sonerin
post May 11 2016, 08:33 PM

8,740 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ May 11 2016, 07:44 PM)
I made some changes in between to the design, but mostly it's just waiting. Every week call and chase. Maybe I need to take the "extra step"?  brows.gif
Extra step might not help unless you know someone inside
eastherd
post May 11 2016, 10:53 PM

177 posts

Mine is like u. Old house. 22X75. Now structure almost ready.

Cost a bit lower that u. Excluding auto-gate n electrical items.

I have a lot of folding doors. no grill. Glass folding door + window is like 45K.

Hopefully can finish before raya.

Good luck with ur reno. Upload pics later.
joefrezzo
post May 12 2016, 11:58 PM

507 posts

Can't wait to see
avrilmae
post May 13 2016, 10:26 AM

1,039 posts

Wish you a smooth sailing reno and look forward to your reno journey smile.gif
TSphoenixxx
post May 19 2016, 12:24 PM

1,241 posts

Thanks for your kind wishes.

Went to visit couple of nights ago, saw some raw material lying on my porch smile.gif
Some works apparently done inside the house too, but unfortunately I couldn't enter because the contractor is holding my keys. Hope to see something this weekend.

sonerin
post May 19 2016, 02:01 PM

8,740 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ May 19 2016, 12:24 PM)
Thanks for your kind wishes.

Went to visit couple of nights ago, saw some raw material lying on my porch  smile.gif
Some works apparently done inside the house too, but unfortunately I couldn't enter because the contractor is holding my keys. Hope to see something this weekend.

This is how it all begin smile.gif
TSphoenixxx
post May 23 2016, 11:06 AM

1,241 posts

20 - 23.5.16

Internal hacking & flooring removal commenced at selected areas. Project still in low priority mode as the workers are idle most of the time due to lack of tools to do further hacking.

sonerin
post May 23 2016, 05:01 PM

8,740 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ May 23 2016, 11:06 AM)
20 - 23.5.16

Internal hacking & flooring removal commenced at selected areas. Project still in low priority mode as the workers are idle most of the time due to lack of tools to do further hacking.

Lack of tool.....🙄 Sounds like small time contractor doing a big job.
TSphoenixxx
post May 23 2016, 05:46 PM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 23 2016, 05:01 PM)
Lack of tool.....🙄 Sounds like small time contractor doing a big job.
Not sure... he handling around 4-5 project at the same time. I also find it quite weird visit a few times the workers mostly sleeping or smoking. Give it another week or so.. see how's the general progress

This post has been edited by phoenixxx: May 23 2016, 05:50 PM
sonerin
post May 23 2016, 07:25 PM

8,740 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ May 23 2016, 05:46 PM)
Not sure... he handling around 4-5 project at the same time. I also find it quite weird visit a few times the workers mostly sleeping or smoking. Give it another week or so.. see how's the general progress
If that is the case I will advice you don't make any further payment for now
MtV
post May 24 2016, 08:20 AM

Starry Starry Skies
1,685 posts

What is the payment terms for this project.
TSphoenixxx
post May 24 2016, 09:49 AM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(MtV @ May 24 2016, 08:20 AM)
What is the payment terms for this project.
Started with 15%. The rest will be subjective & based on agreement by both parties based on POC.

I will probably also hold the last 5% for a few months for potential defects & rectification / touch up works required.

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:18 PM