IKEA Kitchen Cabinet, Suggestion and Comments

TStriad
post Oct 19 2015, 12:10 PM, updated 11y ago

356 posts

I plan to get myself for ikea kitchen cabinet.

Just wonder anyone using it and how good is the quality?

Imma looking for kicthecn kabinet, with a island table in the middle.
yee0810
post Oct 19 2015, 01:29 PM

50 posts

Hi, I am planning to have my wet kitchen done by IKEA. With quartz worktop from outside though. As for my dry kitchen, I have engaged Signature kitchen. Reason being I like the rustic series from SK but I wanted a longer warranty with the wet kitchen. Save a bit too
TStriad
post Oct 19 2015, 01:51 PM

356 posts

im worried about the installer, since they will use 3rd party. Looking the way assembling the cabinet, fast but not convince enough.

Anyone use them? and what is the feedback?

I like the way ikea present their storage ideas. which really suit demanding wife "workplace"
PJusa
post Oct 19 2015, 02:10 PM

2,034 posts

i have a higher ranged ikea kitchen installed 7 yrs ago (dry). installation by appointed ikea installer was perfect. they paid attention to detail, sealed all cut-holes properly, great sink & hob & oven installation. i have actually nothing to complain about. the leveling and everything was done without any issues and even though the kitchen is very large installation was done in 1 1/2 days. value for money. kitchen still looks like new. changed then handles recently because i got tired of the old handles though but that was cosmetic and not because anything failed. all doors still work fine, all hinges too, no peeling, discoloring or any other issues at all.
peri peri
post Oct 19 2015, 04:01 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

I will avoid IKEA.
TStriad
post Oct 19 2015, 04:58 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 19 2015, 04:01 PM)
I will avoid IKEA.
Any issues on your side? i just like their storage idea. AFAIK never see any cabinet can match ikea functionality.
matrix123
post Oct 19 2015, 05:02 PM

94 posts

If not mistaken it comes with 25 years warranty...I think its worth it
sonerin
post Oct 19 2015, 07:13 PM

8,740 posts

QUOTE(yee0810 @ Oct 19 2015, 01:29 PM)
Hi, I am planning to have my wet kitchen done by IKEA. With quartz worktop from outside though. As for my dry kitchen, I have engaged Signature kitchen. Reason being I like the rustic series from SK but I wanted a longer warranty with the wet kitchen. Save a bit too
Must be expensive using signature kitchen
TStriad
post Oct 19 2015, 08:26 PM

356 posts

usually the quality is not great but ok. the only problem is if u use their disassembler. they do not have a certain level attention to detail
ar188
post Oct 19 2015, 09:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(yee0810 @ Oct 19 2015, 01:29 PM)
can you check what material SK uses for their carcass and thickness? block board? chipboard? mdf? 3 layer plywood? 5layer marine ply? that will tell u if the frame really can tahan or not especially when kena wet/damp issues.
zulcorleone
post Oct 19 2015, 09:59 PM

15 posts

the 25 years warranty is very tempting.
what do the warranty covers?
idoblu
post Oct 20 2015, 07:51 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Oct 19 2015, 01:51 PM)
im worried about the installer, since they will use 3rd party. Looking the way assembling the cabinet, fast but not convince enough.

Anyone use them? and what is the feedback?

I like the way ikea present their storage ideas. which really suit demanding wife "workplace"
whats wrong with 3rd party installers? even Signature Kitchen uses 3rd party installers
if they are good, they are good. if you get bad installers, then it doesnt matter if they are in-house or 3rd party

Ikea kitchen cabs are not cheap. You should first come out with a design then ask both Ikea and Signature Kitchen to quote/estimate for comparison
Btw there is nothing wrong with Ikea's. They are just as good as others. Just choose a durable finished door.

SUSskyblu3
post Oct 20 2015, 09:58 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Oct 19 2015, 12:10 PM)

been using it since 2009. still good as new today.

TStriad
post Oct 20 2015, 10:50 AM

356 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 20 2015, 07:51 AM)
whats wrong with 3rd party installers? even Signature Kitchen uses 3rd party installers
if they are good, they are good. if you get bad installers, then it doesnt matter if they are in-house or 3rd party

Ikea kitchen cabs are not cheap. You should first come out with a design then ask both Ikea and Signature Kitchen to quote/estimate for comparison
Btw there is nothing wrong with Ikea's. They are just as good as others. Just choose a durable finished door.
Yup agree on that one. It depends on the installer. My friend first house using SK the product is good but the installer screw the instllation.
2nd house go get ikea and put himself one.
peri peri
post Oct 21 2015, 10:14 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Oct 19 2015, 04:58 PM)
Any issues on your side? i just like their storage idea. AFAIK never see any cabinet can match ikea functionality.
my office now using Ikea work station and cabinet, very bad finishing at all edge.
peri peri
post Oct 21 2015, 10:17 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Oct 20 2015, 09:58 AM)
been using it since 2009.  still good as new today.
my house "free kitchen cabinet" from developer since year 2005 still look new until today.

I believe last time cabinet are built from solid material.

but nowaday all cutting cost, a lot things scrutinized. Same like we built house, where got using clay brick but still selling u premium price.

think about it.
ar188
post Oct 22 2015, 09:59 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 21 2015, 10:17 PM)
my house "free kitchen cabinet" from developer since year 2005 still look new until today.

I believe last time cabinet are built from solid material.

but nowaday all cutting cost, a lot things scrutinized. Same like we built house, where got using clay brick but still selling u premium price.

think about it.
can still get the cabinet frames built in solid plywood if you know who to look for... but most people choose mdf or chipboard already.. due to cheaper cost. sad.gif
TStriad
post Oct 22 2015, 11:54 AM

356 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 22 2015, 09:59 AM)
can still get the cabinet frames built in solid plywood if you know who to look for... but most people choose mdf or chipboard already.. due to cheaper cost. sad.gif
Ya all ikea stuff is mdf..dunno how they can last 25 years
ar188
post Oct 22 2015, 11:56 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Oct 22 2015, 11:54 AM)
Ya all ikea stuff is mdf..dunno how they can last 25 years
maybe good also.. if all out of shape after 10years maybe can claim waranty for new cabinets? biggrin.gif
ricstc
post Oct 22 2015, 12:00 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Oct 19 2015, 12:10 PM)

IKEA's cabinet looks good even touches good

but 4 yers down the road - you will - lets just say look like my avatar being upsidedown

dont believe me, remember me in 4 years time that you heard it here

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0234sec    1.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:18 PM