LCD Thread Ver 3.1, Everything about LCD monitor

TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Apr 28 2008, 02:43 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(vchenv @ Apr 27 2008, 10:53 PM)
Hi guys,

I just bought LG Flatron W1952TQ from All It Hypermarket, Lowyat at RM 739. Its great to have a 19" LCD monitor with contrast ratio 1:10000 (the highest so far i have seen) with 2ms (GTG). It has both DVI and analog. The picture was sharp and well satisfaction. Any comments?
For your information and those who didnt know..

Those lcd monitors esp. LG likes to state their monitor with high contrast numbers, but if u check it properly those 10000:1 its dynamic contrast, not typical contrast.

If im not wrong, Dynamic contrast its the software and not hardware, wherelse Typical contrast its the real deal, hardware wise.

So in other words, imo the "Dynamic" contrast basically juz a marketting gimmick.

Heres a short summary:-
"One of the latest tricks manufactures did was to introduce Dynamic Contrast. So instead of measuring the difference between the whitest white and the blackest black displayed on the screen at the same time, they display white and black on the screen one at a time and then measure the difference."

If not mistaken, basically for Dynamic contrast will have less accurate colors, wherelse Typical contrast has more accurate colors.

Basically, im trying to say its.. dun juz get a lcd monitor juz bcoz it has high dynamic contrast are.. best its to check out the real thing or at least checks the user reviews online.

Even a optical engineer says that human eyes can't detect more than 1000:1 contrast ratio.. lol

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Apr 28 2008, 02:54 AM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Apr 28 2008, 03:00 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(Niuminoid @ Apr 24 2008, 03:41 PM)
Mine wan does not appear when is with black or white background...
is tat consider as dead pixel? sad.gif
If not mistaken, other than "black dot", meaning u have a "bright dot" which its a stucked pixel.

Do try to massage/rub it with a non-static cloth gently for 30seconds.

QUOTE(ReaperX @ Apr 28 2008, 03:00 AM)
...and "typical" contrast is also better known as static contrast. smile.gif
Yeap! wink.gif

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Apr 28 2008, 03:01 AM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Apr 28 2008, 03:32 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Apr 28 2008, 03:27 PM)
Did you enable ClearType font? And the native resolution for 24" is 1900 x 1200.
Err.. dude its 1920 x 1200... rolleyes.gif

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Apr 28 2008, 03:39 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 3 2008, 02:56 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

Arrggh.. i can't decided whether to wait a for BenQ V2400w or juz get BenQ G2400w only... heh

Afaik, the specs of V2400w same as G2400w rite?.. can anyone confirm this?..

Cheers smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 4 2008, 02:56 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(littleman @ May 4 2008, 08:38 AM)
There is someone selling this here

Anyway, is it good? better in the terms of quality than samsung?
Depends with Samsung model u want to compare with... imo it can't be worse than Samsung.

Chimei its pretty good, esp. with its connectivity and its price.

The only setback of Chimei i can think of its 1-year warranty only (correct me if im wrong), and not too sure how good its their service centre / customer service, i guess thats one of the reason its cheaper as other brands like Philips, Viewsonic and etc. has 3-years warranty and some even includes "zero dot warranty" and etc.

Wasted locally, Chimei doesnt have 24inch tho.

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: May 4 2008, 02:58 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 4 2008, 11:02 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ May 4 2008, 10:30 PM)
the difference is only the glossy screen. where V2400W has glossy screen. Hope that can help u make decision  flex.gif
I think the the frame its glossy only, not the lcd screen itself.. if im not mistaken...

Cheers smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 5 2008, 10:19 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

w00t!, juz recently gotten my BenQ G2400W. First impression i do like it 'low-profile' all black look biggrin.gif

Even tho its TN panel, it looks great, as i have P-MVA panel lcd monitor too. The viewing angles looks really good, surprising it looks better than my P-MVA lcd monitor, or mabbe juz me smile.gif

As most reviews oredi mentioned, this BenQ G2400W oredi looks well calibrated with this factory settings.

Tested watching 'Full-HD' (1920res) movie, oh man.. it looks awesome rclxm9.gif , looks dam clear yet no ghosting or flickering.

On games, so far i tested TeamFortress2, RainbowSix:Vegas2 and TitanQuest:ImmortalThrone, it looks great and sharp at 1920x1200res, and i was kinda suprised my "low-mid rig" can run those games smoothly thumbup.gif

The only thing i haven't tested yet its the HDMI, as i don't have any players that uses it.

All and all i like it very much thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Delirium @ May 5 2008, 09:27 AM)
I prefer matte screens, since I sit close to a window. The glare would be pretty distracting.
Heh.. yea... but it depends how lit up yer room are... if like office, it certainly distracting.. lol

QUOTE(jimmydotnet @ May 5 2008, 03:44 PM)
HP W2207 >> Sammy 2232GW >> Sammy 2253BW
which one is better?? for playing games (FPS) and movies...help me on this...cheers!! icon_rolleyes.gif
Well, i vote for HP w2207 it looks great, and i read most of the reviews pretty much recommend it.

Unless, ur not into glossy screen...

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: May 5 2008, 11:09 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 6 2008, 03:14 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(jimmydotnet @ May 6 2008, 01:43 AM)
HP W2207 and Sammy 223GW both glossy...im into glossy...but comparing to response time the 2232GW better than HP
Imo, anything 8ms and less response time, u won't noticed the difference.

Cheers smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 7 2008, 10:02 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(khairolnizam @ May 7 2008, 06:52 PM)
got a question.. my laptop has hdmi output.. n im planning to buy a lcd monitor as my laptop monitor is broken..

currently im looking to buy a lcd monitor.. n theres not many model come with hdmi input..

are there going to be any differences if i plug my hdmi laptop to a dvi lcd monitor.. compared to plugging my laptop to a hdmi monitor.. i mean.. any major differences in picture quality?
At times it depends on the monitor.. but in theory shld be same.

And the only differences between HDMI and DVI other than picture quality wise, its that the HDMI carries sound as well, for those who didnt know smile.gif

Cheers biggrin.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 11 2008, 07:15 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ May 11 2008, 12:20 PM)
guys, any opinions on the Viewsonic VX2235wm-5?

got a quote of RM830 for it, it's RM140 cheaper than the 2232BW with similar specs, just that it looks ugly.. but I can live with it.
Well, imo all Viewsonic VX series are pretty much recommended (esp. for its price = performance) and if not mistaken all VX series has 'zero dot warranty' for 3-years wink.gif

http://www.thinkcomputers.org/index.php?x=...s&id=571&page=4

Cheers biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: May 11 2008, 07:18 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 12 2008, 08:12 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 12 2008, 01:59 AM)
Anyone knows what is a good 27" LCD to buy these days? I don't seem to see LG/Samsung in most of the price list.
Afaik, Dell its the only brand has that size locally, the next closest its Viewsonic 28inch which pretty much recommended (multiple awards), not surprise anywayz.. lol

Imo, theres one setback abt Dell 2707wfp which its Pixel Pitch of 0.303mm.. and not to mentioned its on 27inch screen... it will looks less sharp compared to a 24inch which normally has Pixel Pitch of 0.27mm.

Cheers smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 15 2008, 05:24 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ May 14 2008, 12:18 PM)
Widescreen is not supporting in some game. Only difference is widescreen is wide gaming. Some graphic card cannot support big widescreen, cause has big pixel.
Old games doesnt really count, as nowadays and future games will be supporting widescreen format.

Where did hear that from? abt gfx card cannot support widescreen?... blink.gif shakehead.gif

Im using my 7+ years old gfx card on my 20inch widescreen running at 1680x1050res wink.gif

QUOTE(Federer @ May 14 2008, 12:02 PM)
A question here. Which is better for gaming, normal or widescreen? Is the picture flawless on widescreen?
Definately widescreen, as u'll have more 'viewing' space, and esp. nowadays all games supports widescreen resolution, once u get it, welcome to future gaming.. heh

As u can see below, more "FOV" (field of view).

QUOTE(notorius @ May 14 2008, 05:53 PM)
Samsung 2253BW no HDMI rite? Is HDMI important?  I don play consoles so HDMI is not tat important to me rite? When compared to Dvi, Which is more beautiful to view at? Same ah?
Imo, HDMI its important for those future use like use it for next-gen console like PS3, Xbox360, etc. and Blu-Ray player, which those supports HDMI interface natively.

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: May 15 2008, 05:27 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 16 2008, 12:01 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(nightc @ May 15 2008, 11:29 PM)
The different between DVI and HDMI is that the latter support sound. That's all. Both are digital signal. Since LCD monitor speaker sucks for games and moves, even loud music, it doesn't matter if it support HDMI or not but if you can get the function for same price, why not.
Of course i know HDMI carried sound as i mentioned a few post back but that doesnt tells (for those ppl doesnt know) normally what HDMI use for?..Anywayz, it matters if ur getting or thinking getting wares like x360, ps3, blu-ray player, more future proof.

Shhesshh... and maybe u may not know its expensive to get those convertor from hdmi to dvi, u know?.. thats why ppl prefer getting with it, get it?..

And another thing u might not know its that some monitors do carried sound thru hdmi.

Cheers rclxub.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 16 2008, 11:41 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(mrpac_187 @ May 16 2008, 09:03 PM)
guys. what is the diff for the refresh rate? the higher the better? pm me the answer pls. thank you.
In lcd monitor, dun bother abt refreshrate, it basically doesnt matter unlike those crt monitor.

Cheers smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 18 2008, 02:03 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 17 2008, 10:50 PM)
Any monitor with DVI port is HDCP capable
Are u so certain abt that bold statement?.. as i heard and read in forums that alot ppl having "no display / black screen" when using a (esp. older) lcd monitor that mostly doesnt have HDCP on their PS3 and Blu-Ray players.

Cheers unsure.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: May 18 2008, 02:04 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 20 2008, 05:23 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ May 18 2008, 01:43 PM)
its not dead pixel but stuck pixel but quite alot even i tested and how to see if they just turn the lcd on an see.u cant really see it..unless u wanna spend an hour looking every inch of the damn monitor IMO.owh well maybe i try and ask later on...if not maybe i'll send to the distro
How many stuck-pixel(s) u have there?... anywayz, u can try 'gently rub on the stuck-pixel in circular move using soft-non-lint cloth or better yet those microfibre cloth for lcd monitors, of course do this while the lcd monitor its on.. lol

It works most of the times.

Cheers smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 31 2008, 03:31 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(shenshenshen @ May 30 2008, 06:11 PM)
hello , i am kinda new to LCD here , cos i am using CRT monitor now and plan to change to LCD sooner then later. what i like is the Viewsonic VX2255WMB. so jus wanna ask the pros here. izit reccommended or is there anyone here who has problems with the monitor?? i heard viewsonic is the leading brand in USA so it shudn be a problem rite? it has 3 years warrranty.

Added on May 30, 2008, 6:11 pmits 22" btw......
Yes, it very well recommended as in seen the online reviews that i seen so far.

If not mistaken, Viewsonic's VX series offer "zero dot warranty" for 3years, which its great for value, and worry free wink.gif

Cheers smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 31 2008, 04:39 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(shenshenshen @ May 31 2008, 12:46 PM)
errr......wats "zero dot warranty" means???
Meaning, any dead or stucked pixels can claim warranty unlike others Samsung/LG/AOC and which u need at least 5-pixels or more... wherelse "zero dot warranty".. 1-pixel oso can claim warranty.

Err.. understand?.. pardon for my cacated "england".. hahaha tongue.gif

Cheers smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 9 2008, 09:19 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(fugu199 @ Jun 8 2008, 09:50 PM)
how is that ppl are saying lcd screen price going up?.. last 2 yrs or so, 37inch LCDTV cost about RM9k..now..its half that! even 42inch LCDTV is about 4 to 4.5k. .. so, how is that price is going up?.. mayb in malaysia we dont hv this kind of anticompetetive law, ie if dealers ganged up and have anticompetetive complot to mark up price and such case is proven, they'd be fined!
Well, im not to sure abt prices hiking, but ur referring to LCDTV price which isnt the same compared to LCDmonitor like resolutions and etc.

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jun 8 2008, 10:08 PM)
So will I end up with bigger pixels which then gives me jagged edges with 22"?
Its more "sharper" if u get a 20" since the screen size its smaller, its juz 640x480res and u enlarge it to 1024x768res, sure the pixel looks bigger.

QUOTE(shenshenshen @ Jun 9 2008, 05:15 PM)
can u tell the difference from ur eye? or ur just telling the specs.....ur eye is ur everything if u cant tell the diff....its nothing comparing all those cun specs....
I mentioned this quite alot times oredi, dun judge by its specs (especially Dynamic Contrast, which its a juz marketing tool), go and see for yerself or u can juz google reviews online for it.

Cheers doh.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 12 2008, 05:23 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(zqotue @ Jun 11 2008, 11:16 PM)
Anyone knows where in penang can find benq G2400 or V2400 LCD?
in LowYatPlaza, Viewnet selling it wink.gif

Cheers smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0516sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:29 AM