30 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Can I afford a BMW f30 with my current income?

kons
post Oct 14 2015, 11:13 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(jay881209 @ Oct 14 2015, 10:42 AM)
Vios maintenance is no problem for me. Wonder anyone own a BMW for 7 years? Is there any major problem in changing parts that's cost 10k above?
just saying if you are staying in kl/pj and combined nett income is only 9k.
then better dont get it.

you dont have kids yet?
kids will take a huge chunk out of your income.. more and more until they graduated from college/university.

ahfox
post Oct 14 2015, 11:18 AM

70 posts

buy lorh,
dont think much,
u dont know when will u die,
which is better driving evo x at 30yo or felali at 60yo,

mozact89
post Oct 14 2015, 11:55 AM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

QUOTE(jay881209 @ Oct 14 2015, 10:39 AM)
No kids yet? U r driving a 320 or 316?
1 kids. Not 3series. Vw jetta only. But since the thread starter said that the monthly commitment is rm1400, so mine is 1340 not much different.

Previously i have z800 with monthly commitment 407. But sold my z800 already and buy 400cc scooter cash.

My house which i pay 1650 monthly, i make as homestay.

I have 1 more car, potong sawi which no monthly commitment.
adamhzm90
post Oct 14 2015, 12:12 PM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Oct 14 2015, 11:55 AM)
1 kids. Not 3series. Vw jetta only. But since the thread starter said that the monthly commitment is rm1400, so mine is 1340 not much different.

Previously i have z800 with monthly commitment 407. But sold my z800 already and buy 400cc scooter cash.

My house which i pay 1650 monthly, i make as homestay.

I have 1 more car, potong sawi which no monthly commitment.
Bro, how's your homestay? Got good feedback and enough to cover monthly bank installment or not? I am also thinking to use my condo as a homestay rather than rent it out..
jakal sombong
post Oct 14 2015, 12:38 PM

A fool's brain digests philosophy into folly
880 posts

QUOTE(jay881209 @ Oct 14 2015, 10:45 AM)
If 7-8 hundred every service shud be ok. Won't be a heavy user for this car (only house to work, work to house), probably 2 months only reach 10k mileage.

Perhaps 7 years, is that ok?
my personal experience so far no problem , no unexpected fault breakdown etc.
4years 120k milleage with an e90 full bmw service.

btw imo if yearly youre planning to do around 50k km or more with the car better not.
for continental car it should be around 15-30k km peryear.

Boy96
post Oct 14 2015, 12:58 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(jakal sombong @ Oct 14 2015, 02:36 AM)
if you can afford this
each time service @ 7-8hundred. @ 10k milleage.
& tyres 500 / each

but 9 years. is just to long.
U sure? Even a typical VW Passat costs 1.2-1.5k each service and tyres are around 900/piece..

Cant be BMW cheaper..

This post has been edited by Boy96: Oct 14 2015, 01:00 PM
mozact89
post Oct 14 2015, 04:09 PM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Oct 14 2015, 12:12 PM)
Bro, how's your homestay? Got good feedback and enough to cover monthly bank installment or not? I am also thinking to use my condo as a homestay rather than rent it out..
It depends. But homestay dont have contract document so u cannot declare the money as income. If u rent it, u can use the contract document as income n buy another house..
19 Degree South
post Oct 14 2015, 04:17 PM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Oct 14 2015, 08:46 AM)
I'm a BMW driving experience instructor lol. Salary is from
8 to 15k a month, give or take not including commission. So why not man. I barely spend on unnecessary things. My flights are a all paid for. My hotel stays are paid for. All courtesy of BMW. With the right money management, I don't see why it's not possible.
Lol...17 years of age to get driving license and within two years you become BMW driving instructor! Think you have wasted your talent! You shd go for the super license and drive in formula one! It's min 10 mil usd a season ! whistling.gif
lunchtime
post Oct 14 2015, 04:28 PM

487 posts

9 years loan for a depreciating entry level 2nd hand 316 plus TS and wife are normal office employees? Is TS looking for financial suicide?
raynmann
post Oct 14 2015, 04:34 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 13 2015, 11:20 PM)
So you're planning to also lean on your wife income to buy a car for yourself, or this car will be for both of you, meaning she does not need a car on her own and you can fetch her all the time?
Even with combined income, I suggest you forget about showing off with such a car and just settle with something around rm60k or below which is matching your own income excluding your wife's, then maybe buy another cheaper one for your wife. IMHO for people with such income level, don't think yet about enjoying and showing off with luxury brand cars but first prioritize about practicality and trying to make do with what you can really afford.
exactly

i have a clean Rm15k $$$ in my pocket and yet i dont feel like buying a new bmw.

unless i can have RM 25K $$$$

dude, u cant afford it.
raynmann
post Oct 14 2015, 04:36 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(jay881209 @ Oct 13 2015, 09:04 PM)
Hi fellow bros, can I seek for some advise from you guys? I am a normal office worker, currently income 5k nett. My wife which is also an accountant income around 4k. Combine income 9k. Own a condo monthly installment 1500. Petrol cover by company RM600 every month.

Planning to buy a 2nd hand BMW F30 316i, price RM150k , downpayment 20k , loan 130k, tenure 9 years, installment every month 1400. No more warranty, with 30k left BSRI.

Please advise whether I should go for this 316i? Currently driving a vios. 5 years old car. Really fancy this car but worry about the maintenance cost. What do you guys think of it with me and my wife combine income? ( not plan to have child yet )

Thanks fellow bros. please advise.
why accountant salary so low?
l
awyongcarl
post Oct 14 2015, 04:39 PM

1,870 posts

Driving a BMW isn't as expensive as most people think. Of course it can be more expensive if you compare with a Japanese car but not by much.

I think the most important think being a BMW owner is that you kinda have to be enthusiastic with car/automotive or with the brand, able to do research, know where to buy parts yourself and having some troubleshooting and diagnosis skill so you can tell what went wrong or at the very least able to determine the relevant components with your BMW.

If you are able to do your own research, then you will understand why most BMW enthusiasts never complaint much about their car being problematic (with a few exceptions like the SSG gearbox etc) because they know how to maintain and solve their problem without getting their throat cuts by the workshops out there. If you are the type that just want the brand but never intend to research, study and learn about your car, I suggest you to stay away from the car especially without warranty.

I am not very experienced with BMW but I just recently sold my Civic FD2 2008 and purchased a used 13 years old E46 330i, for the purpose of educating myself with a old and used continental vehicle. Also because the E46 is one of my dream car since young. And I can tell you the E46 is amazing even though it's decade old biggrin.gif

To TS, if you like the F30 and must have it, then you must be prepared for the problematic encounter with the vehicle, but thus far F30 is a pretty solid car, there isn't much major problem with it. Go read on forums and you will understand more than opening a thread here. The 316i is by no means a bad car, it is good for what it is and for its value, test driven the car and I felt the car is more than adequate for normal driving and the 8AT gearbox is just amazing. I just didn't like the bench seats and the thin steering wheel. Otherwise, the car is good. You still get leather seats, xenon lights etc.

Personal advise though, I wouldn't touch a modern continental car without warranty.
xcxa23
post Oct 14 2015, 04:52 PM

2,649 posts

Even if u don't have child yet
Do u have saving for your future child?

With ur current disposable income, no doubt u can afford it

But think again, Izit worth the money
Considering all the things that might happen including your future child

How much money needed to raise a child.
Not to mention increasing cost of living and reduce purchasing power.

Assuming u will have child later will the remaining money able to sustain a comfortable lifestyle or nd to save here and there to support the family needs

After u accounted everything in and u feel it's worth then go for it, u won't regret it

Without any planning jz go for it, u might regret later.
loki
post Oct 14 2015, 04:56 PM

2,109 posts

how many years is the F30? 2nd hand BMW cars are very very prone to breakdown depending on the previous owner.. I heard lots of stories of repair cost ranging from 10k to 40k for gearbox leakage... up to you but you need to reserve at least 1k per month for repairs..

YOLO?? YNRLM!!!!

You Need Repair Like Mad

This post has been edited by loki: Oct 14 2015, 04:57 PM
teeyao888
post Oct 14 2015, 05:02 PM

40 posts

Me and my wife's combine income is RM24,000 and we only drive a Suzuki SX and have a condo and the monthly installment is RM2,900 (including everything). No kids at the moment.

Just wanted to say, plan for the future first before buying anything expensive, my dream car has always been the Merceses A250, I know I can afford it but I'm still thinking of ways to invest my money so that in future my kids can live a comfortable life. Me and my wife is both 26 this year btw.

PS, one way to count how much you should budget for the car, take your income and times 12.

For example, your income is RM10k per month, times 12 will be RM120,000, that should be the budget of your car and should not exceed that budget, then you can live comfortably while paying installment.

This post has been edited by teeyao888: Oct 14 2015, 05:04 PM
lunchtime
post Oct 14 2015, 05:02 PM

487 posts

YOLO but still must use common sense lar.
remix2040
post Oct 14 2015, 05:03 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 14 2015, 04:17 PM)
Lol...17 years of age  to get driving license and within two years you become BMW driving instructor! Think you have wasted your talent! You shd go for the super license and drive in formula one! It's min 10 mil usd a season ! whistling.gif
Lol when you're a 3 time superkart champion, you turn heads. My team happens to be sponsored by BMW Australia with stage 2 weight reduction parts. So when you do well. Good things come your way. I just got lucky mate. Don't judge wink.gif i was already in superkart at the age of 14.
KTCY
post Oct 14 2015, 05:05 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(jay881209 @ Oct 13 2015, 09:39 PM)
Not really will drive for 9 years, maybe will sell it after 5-6 years.. To drag it for 9 years is becoz dun wan too tide in the installment.
sell at 5-6 years means you need to fork out cash to clear the leftover of installment ?
Bad move.

combine income 9k, really not much bro ! maybe few years later wink.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Oct 14 2015, 05:07 PM
OC4/3
post Oct 14 2015, 05:10 PM

4,746 posts

Ever considered a 2010~2012 Mercedes W204 C200 or C250?
Fit better into your income tongue.gif
F30 316I forget about it, 140HP only leh
At least F30 320I

jd low
post Oct 14 2015, 05:25 PM

215 posts

This my f30 modified rclxms.gif

30 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top