30 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Can I afford a BMW f30 with my current income?

akira982443
post Dec 12 2015, 07:13 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 12 2015, 04:54 PM)
A low end beemer also need to pay 9 years and stay in a flat deserve a flame like this whistling.gif
Any scrap metal we going to buy, at any 1 time it shall not go > 10% of our gross income icon_idea.gif
So by going by your idea, estimated 80% of malaysian should be just riding motorcycle or a myvi at the best. That is assuming all can earn 100k p.a. You are living a very sad life.

This post has been edited by akira982443: Dec 12 2015, 07:22 PM
SUSsupersound
post Dec 12 2015, 08:32 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(subaru555 @ Dec 12 2015, 06:36 PM)
That's one thing about Malaysian mentality (or even Asian) - JANJI GAYA ADA, POKET KOSONG TAK APE!

I've seen so many people go in debts because of image. Want to drive a BMW / Merc / Audi but live in a flat / apartment etc. Everyday eat Maggie Mee or roti canai just to live their lifestyle!

Honestly speaking, Malaysian cars are among the highest priced car in the world but people don't care and keep on buying Beemers, Mercs etc. Actually, if you were to analyze the market situation in Malaysia, Beemers and Mercs are more towards mid to high income earners as it is made 'affordable'. Those who are well off drives Porsche, Land Rovers, Jags, etc...

Therefore, Beemers do not command a 'high' status in society except if you buy those high end range ones such as M series, 6 series etc.

So, if you can buy it and willing to sacrifice comfort in your life, then do it. If you can't, then just bite the bullet and get a reliable Japanese new car.

Ps : can't believe this thread can go on for 20+ pages!
That's why government chickened out on releasing latest number of stupid people get sued till bankrupt.
Heard from insiders, it is about 120 per day now, against last year's 75 per day whistling.gif

QUOTE(akira982443 @ Dec 12 2015, 07:13 PM)
So by going by your idea, estimated 80% of malaysian should be just riding motorcycle or a myvi at the best. That is assuming all can earn 100k p.a. You are living a very sad life.
Well, I'm still driving a Protong. More important is I at any 1 time can come out rm10k without problem.
wobbles
post Dec 12 2015, 09:00 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 12 2015, 04:54 PM)
A low end beemer also need to pay 9 years and stay in a flat deserve a flame like this whistling.gif
Any scrap metal we going to buy, at any 1 time it shall not go > 10% of our gross income icon_idea.gif
That kind of fiscal discipline will take you very far and enhance your potential success. Kudos my friend!
ctw88
post Dec 12 2015, 09:18 PM

126 posts

Bought a 316i for the wife back in July when they were offering brand new unregistered 316i for 180k. Decent car with just enough power, but then I dont consider it underpowered. Anything that cruises effortlessly at 160kmh is good enough in my book.

The 316i has same equipment level as 320i, xenon, leather interior, memory seats, key memory etc etc. The 320i gives you better looking trim inserts (glossy ones), where in the 316i's basic trim you get silver-painted plastic trim, similar to those in perodua's and it can scratch easily too. This isnt too big of a problem as you can easily ebay better trims.

The engine, yes shared with peugeot. But nonetheless the engine is as bmw as it gets. Valvetronic+VANOS. Does that ring a bell?

To me, bmw malaysia offered a good competitor to stand against the Merc c180. In terms of equipment, the merc c180 equipment is downgraded from it's siblings. No memory seats, halogen headlights but it still sells anyway. If the 316i is bad, the c180 is worse?

Btw, modern bmw direct injected turbo engine has more moving parts compared to the older port-injected NA straight six ie HPFP, the turbo itself etc etc. More parts to fail more money to upkeep. If it's a used unit, very likely it's already near the end of its 2-year warranty. If anything happens to these parts, it's not gonna be cheap. Do take this into consideration. I bought one because they were offering 5 years warranty.

Also to all the folks that advised based on "smoke this car smoke that car" factor, not everyone buys a car with the aim to "smoke" other cars. There's always a bigger fish out there. There's always a car that can "smoke" yours too, unless you're on the top of the pyramid.
SUSsupersound
post Dec 12 2015, 11:41 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(wobbles @ Dec 12 2015, 09:00 PM)
That kind of fiscal discipline will take you very far and enhance your potential success. Kudos my friend!
Well, we need to know what is "enough" in our life. I know my mother is a woman nod.gif
Getting a continental car no doubt are nice, the question is, are we going to pay for the maintenance fee for it rclxub.gif
I have a neighbor driving a S320 diesel, and it was parked in his house for 6 months doh.gif
Just because of a part failed and need rm20k to change it.
S'aimer
post Dec 13 2015, 09:43 AM

637 posts

Well got dream to drive 'atas' symbol, chasing after own dream not that hard but it's what comes after that.

Let's not ruin the dreams of those, after all we do have our own dreams.
FishnChipx
post Dec 13 2015, 09:46 AM

988 posts

no you cant, bmw no more warranty, each repair and service will boom your wallet
demetry
post Dec 13 2015, 01:25 PM

302 posts

Nobody cares. Stfu lol.
wobbles
post Dec 13 2015, 02:00 PM

175 posts

Well, maintenance costs for a continental car (at least for a BMW or an MB anyway, since I've never bought/kept a Porker/Audi or any of the Italian exotics) isn't necessarily as high or as expensive or as exorbitant as most people fear.

Firstly, BMWs are increasingly being sold with all inclusive warranties which covers even wear and tear items like brake pads, linings, wipers and even oil and transmission fluid changes and spark plugs for 3 to 5 years.

Secondly, unless you decide to Pasir Gudang or Sepang your car every weekend, the new BMW engines and the new ZF transmissions can take a royal beating and still come right back up time and again.

Finally, even when the car is out of warranty, BMWs are so commonplace that any decent third party workshop of any reputation would be able to sort any gremlins out for you at a fraction of what the authorised stealership- I mean dealership - charges.

So, IMHO, the reputation of costly maintenance fees is somewhat misplaced and ill deserved. The fundamental issue still boils down to money management and financial prioritization.
S'aimer
post Dec 13 2015, 02:10 PM

637 posts

Actually, it also depends on the age of the car. If the car is more than 10 years old, even the car parts changes will be more frequent with time no matter how well d owner can take care of it. Hence it can be a pain in the long run since the accumulated repair costs will be costly after totalling it for the year no?

Still, if the car has had less breakdowns etc in the last 10 yeara or so on the overall, it shouldn't be a major issue with maintenance right? Do correct me on that point.
visualfoley
post Dec 13 2015, 02:13 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(shaqie @ Oct 13 2015, 09:08 PM)
save your money la...u think bmw so good meh....its all in the mind...
+1
wobbles
post Dec 13 2015, 03:32 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(S'aimer @ Dec 13 2015, 02:10 PM)
Actually, it also depends on the age of the car. If the car is more than 10 years old, even the car parts changes will be more frequent with time no matter how well d owner can take care of it. Hence it can be a pain in the long run since the accumulated repair costs will be costly after totalling it for the year no?

Still, if the car has had less breakdowns etc in the last 10 yeara or so on the overall, it shouldn't be a major issue with maintenance right? Do correct me on that point.
Well said. I have to admit, my cars are all under utilized - the 6 has 25k on the clock, the X5 only 5k and I never keep a car longer than 4, max 5 years. In fact, my F02 7 series just turned 4.5 years old (29k on the odometer) so we upgraded to the G12 7 series smile.gif

So, wear and tear really doesn't feature in my equation but you're absolutely spot on with regards to that being a factor if one plans to keep the car for an extended period of time.

This post has been edited by wobbles: Dec 13 2015, 03:35 PM
MrPoppyplants
post Dec 13 2015, 03:41 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(S'aimer @ Dec 13 2015, 09:43 AM)
Well got dream to drive 'atas' symbol, chasing after own dream not that hard but it's what comes after that.

Let's not ruin the dreams of those, after all we do have our own dreams.
Exactly. Everyone is different. Some people have dream houses, dream watch, dream vacation, any sort of dream possession. What makes having a dream car any different? Imagine the kind of comments a thread will gather here if someone's dream car is an E46 M3, asking for affordability and maintenance costs.

Different people have different wants and desires that give them a certain kind of satisfaction. Who are we to say what is right to sacrifice and what isn't?

Although it is obviously nice to have money and financial freedom at some point. But I am sure everyone has met someone who does not look at it that way.

So much prejudice here..

myrancid
post Dec 14 2015, 11:32 PM

355 posts

Yo,

This is my salary a month, and I proudly owned Honda Jazz!

This post has been edited by myrancid: Dec 14 2015, 11:33 PM
subaru555
post Dec 14 2015, 11:47 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(myrancid @ Dec 14 2015, 11:32 PM)
Yo,

What does WOD stands for? Incentives?
myrancid
post Dec 15 2015, 12:16 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(subaru555 @ Dec 14 2015, 11:47 PM)
What does WOD stands for? Incentives?
My roster is 28 days on / 28 days off. WOD stands for work over days. means they need me to work during my off days, whenever they needed.

wobbles
post Dec 15 2015, 05:58 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(myrancid @ Dec 14 2015, 11:32 PM)
Yo,

That's what I'm talking about. Well done and congratulations.

What matter isn't what you put on the road, but what you put in you bank account smile.gif

S'aimer
post Dec 15 2015, 08:41 AM

637 posts

High Pay! tongue.gif What job you have that pays you well?
wobbles
post Dec 15 2015, 09:25 AM

175 posts

This is where I believe I should be spending most of my time in the new car:

But, a BMW is still supposed to be a driver's car, so likely I'll still spend more time behind this:

This post has been edited by wobbles: Dec 15 2015, 09:26 AM
ajul
post Dec 15 2015, 09:59 AM

100% ONLINE DEALER
1,258 posts

go go buy..dont make ur life become so boring like others..save money then die...:-D

30 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:30 AM