Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

gsc
post Nov 23 2015, 02:20 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Nov 22 2015, 04:52 PM)
I believe the staff have been instructed to follow strictly "fresh fund" rules  to the T.
However there are ways to work round the system..only thing is, whether the person handling it want to go thru the trouble to do it or not.

Usually successful with the branch where the cashiers are familiar with me liao.
I used to mengamuk...maybe they don't want listen to my broken tape recorder

1) if i take cash and go drink coffee and come back u want the money or not?? if yes, then u do extra work count $$ bagi saya,,, i give u back $$ , u count again...cari kerja kan??

2) U worry system catch u not follow rule...ok u give me "cash withdrawal"... I go another counter and place new fd.
If want to avoid double counting, don't give me the cash...just pass to your colleague. U worry some more, I can add/minus the amount so it shows a different sum.
Have you try these techniques lately (less than 2 weeks) on UOB?
gsc
post Nov 23 2015, 11:45 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Nov 23 2015, 10:10 AM)
my opinion, uob is a tough nut to crack. brows.gif
I know....UOB has tightened the execution of fresh fund rule.....like to learn from that guy

This post has been edited by gsc: Nov 23 2015, 11:52 PM
gsc
post Nov 23 2015, 11:51 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 23 2015, 04:08 PM)
A question for those familiar or existing OCBC account holder, can FD being withdrawn cross branches?
and if can, is there any limit?

New to OCBC.

Reason, attracted by the 4.5% FD.  tongue.gif
Ocbc does not allow to do that
gsc
post Nov 24 2015, 12:09 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 23 2015, 02:40 PM)
Ok, just came back from my Ambank "expedition".  biggrin.gif

As mentioned by our forumers, Ambank have no problems mixing cheque and matured FD. It was smooth-sailing all the way. Went there with my cheque. Told them I want to uplift my FD and put in new promotion FD together with the cheque. They said ok, processed it and settled quickly. Took the 2 years 4.6% as I don't want to play musical chair.  blush.gif

I did ask them how much do Ambank accept as top-up to consider old fund as "fresh fund". The lady said they usually accept if the top-up is 20% or more of the existing fund.
I have overlooked my HL FD on maturity date by a few days. Went to HL to terminate FD because it was renewed to board rate. The counter officer asked why withdrawal....told her Ocbc 12 months 4.5%. She said if I can top up a little bit, she can change my FD from board rate to 12 months promo rate of 4.2%. Wow, HL is very flexible on fresh fund. Told her no...Still prefer Ocbc even though didn't see leng lui there
gsc
post Nov 25 2015, 01:19 AM

1,624 posts

Last Monday was in Ocbc and asked the counter girl (desert??) on eFD. She knew nothing about it. Went to Captain blog, it seems not mentioned. Anyone care to share the link? Tq
gsc
post Nov 26 2015, 12:19 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 26 2015, 11:22 AM)
I called Penang OCBC PB centre (my RM out on vacation). One of the leng lui at the counter that I know (hehe, gsc don't set your std too high tongue.gif ) asked me, "what egg" ?  tongue.gif

So this is not nation wide OCBC promo. KL/Klang valley only ?  hmm.gif

The 12 mth FD 4.5% promo is until end of Dec, by the way.  biggrin.gif
The counter dessert blurr blurr one...tak blh pakai... Ask her the 4% eFD also no idea...the free gift may be offered to new premier customer or may be ringgitplus

I am still waiting for some kind souls tio answer on the 4% eFD monthly interest till end of this year

This post has been edited by gsc: Nov 26 2015, 12:30 PM
gsc
post Nov 26 2015, 02:09 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 26 2015, 12:35 PM)
You are a tough customer to please. OCBC info pass around not that good. But I forgive the leng lui RM last time, also blur blur on the FD promo.

Why not you try to ask if the "egg" is for new PB customer ? Or given up on OCBC already ?  brows.gif

Still pursuing on the eFD thingy ? Did you try the FD online account as I mentioned yesterday ?  hmm.gif
Thanks for your info but I didnt try yet coz want to confirm the 4% rate for 1 month eFD. Ocbc desert not aware, couldnt find the info on Ocbc website and GenXGenY....website....but I rememember it was discussed in ths forum....
gsc
post Nov 27 2015, 02:44 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 26 2015, 02:12 PM)
the "nearest" promotion from OCBC is the eSmartSavers account, promo 4% rate until 31 Dec.
Thanks a lot....will explore this coz I need to use the fund in Jan and this esmartsaver suits my needs
gsc
post Nov 28 2015, 02:27 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Ah SiAnG @ Nov 27 2015, 02:58 PM)
for your information, to enjoy the promo rate of 4% p.a. for this e-smartsavers, you are required to open the account on or before 30.9.2015.
Thanks...this means this option is not availbe to me. Has to find other one month high FD rate or saving account. Currently I have truesaver from Ambank...but the rate is not high enough compare to one FD rate
gsc
post Nov 28 2015, 06:41 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 28 2015, 06:31 PM)
Actually I did ask a HL worker before if I withdraw cash, and put as fresh fund in the spot can or not? They told me no. Said something about system will know. Although I have no idea how the system will know.
Thanks for your input on one month FD.

I have reported that HL is lose on fresh fund. My FD matured and auto renewed to board rate on 18 Nov. a few days later, Went back to hL to withdraw. Was offered to renew it to new promote rate by justing adding a few hundred dollars.
gsc
post Dec 1 2015, 01:23 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Yippie123 @ Nov 30 2015, 07:02 PM)
Anyone might shed a light on how added to principal works? I went in with MBB GIA-I and the interests stated as "added to principal"

So for example i placed 10k, after first month the balance will be 10033 (4% pa) and 2nd month interest will be calculated based on that 10033? ad so on ?
If interest added on monthly, the way you described is compounded interest,the effective rate is even hogher than 4%.

First month - 10000
2nd month - 10000 + 33.33
3rd month 10033 + 33.44
4th month 10066.44 + 33.55 ...

Not sure about your product. Typically when bank said interest added on to principal refers to the interest earned after maturity will be added onto the principal
gsc
post Dec 3 2015, 09:49 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 1 2015, 09:47 PM)
Latest bank stat (Oct)) of loan growth of 9.1%, while deposit only grew 3.7%, may suggest elevated promotion FD rate may stay for sometimes.

The deposit growth pace is not enough to cater the loan given out pace.
Very useful info. Yesterday news mentioned a forex body is encouraging. malaysia to increase interest rate to stop the depreciation.

We need FD related news in this forum. Many are chit chats and treat this as chat forum. It is a waste of space and time. Please stop this to get more post count
gsc
post Dec 3 2015, 10:26 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 3 2015, 10:18 AM)
A little chit chat and making fun are no harm, just don't go overboard until become like Kopitiam talk.

So I urge everyone's corporation to make this thread a useful and informative thread to be read upon.

Ty.
Thanks moderator for clarification and direction setting.

0.0823sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:12 AM