Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

Ramjade
post Dec 3 2015, 02:14 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(captain_asia @ Dec 3 2015, 01:17 PM)
Hi everyone, i put some money into BSN 12-month FD last year and it is gonna due few days from now and i am thinking to transfer it to another bank because after reading some of the posts i have found the interest rate i am having now is comparatively lower than the other banks. Can anyone here tell me currently which bank offering higher interest rate for FD? If i wan to transfer the money to from my current FD account to another bank what will  i have to do? Do i have to withdraw all the money from BSN and ask the bank staff to transfer the money to my saving account and go to the bank i want to put money into FD back again? Do you guys recommend 24-month FD? Is the interest rate gonna be lot higher than 12-month? Other than putting the money into FD what other investment options do i have? I dont want those high risk investment though. I am sorry if i asked any silly question. I am just a student and have no clue about anything about investment but just wish to get some return from my saving other than just putting it into saving account. Thanks.

Which bank offer best rate? Check first page.

How to qualify?
Fastest is online IBFT the money over. (since IBFT is free) If you are scared IBFT not counted as fresh fund, simply withdraw your FD as banker's cheque and bring to whatever bank you want to put.

12 months or 24 months FD?
Only you can answer that question. Do you think you are going to use that money few months down the road? Remember you money is "locked" and you will not be able to touch it without losing at least 50% of the interst. Long term is good as in you don't need to go to bank to keep hunting for new promo. But it can cause you to miss out on some high interest rate promo.

Safe investment
FD (PIDM), Amanah saham fixed price funds, certain unit trust/bonds.
- Only FD principal and returns are guaranteed. The rest no.
- Amanah saham's fixed price fund principals and returns "are sort of guaranteed" more info,https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3779176/+20
- Unit trust. You can buy based on LYN sifus recommendation. tongue.gif more info https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3730638

Personal note
Is up to you you want to choose high intereet rate bank or banks which are nearer to you. There is a hlb (7 minutes walking distance) near my place which in my opinion gave me miserable rates so I opt to drive to another part of town (20 minutes drive + parking + traffic jam) to get better rates. That part of town have affin, cimb, maybank, ambank, scb, pbb all in one place. rclxms.gif party.gif

For me personally, I opt for high interest over convenience

Hope this answer your question.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 3 2015, 02:20 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 3 2015, 04:20 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(captain_asia @ Dec 3 2015, 03:48 PM)
One last question..
Is there any charge for requesting them to issue a banker's cheque from the previous bank? If yes, how much? And is it possible to ask them to issue two cheques with different amounts from my FD account?
It depends you are vip customer or not. Non vip customer is about Rm5+/BC. You asked for 2 BC, you pay for 2 BC.
Ramjade
post Dec 3 2015, 04:33 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Dec 3 2015, 04:26 PM)
you mean bsn non vip bc is rm5+ ? hmm.gif
From experience cimb, hl, Affin all charge Rm5+. Don't know about bsn. Never have any money in bsn. But I think might be standardised across banks like IBG, IBFT charges.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 3 2015, 04:34 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 3 2015, 07:55 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Dec 3 2015, 07:33 PM)
Not sure anyone share this.
Chinaman bank. Still so kiamsap. Other people already offering 4.6% for 15 months, they come out with 4.26% for 15 months. doh.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 3 2015, 07:56 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 3 2015, 09:55 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(captain_asia @ Dec 3 2015, 09:15 PM)
Is it possible if i ask for one bank cheque and the rest amount i ask them to transfer to my saving account?
Can. No problem. Eg. Your maturing FD is RM20k. You can ask for RM10k BC, the balance RM10k, ransfer to your account.

And is it necessary for me to possess a saving account from the bank i gonna put my money as FD?
Depends. Usually banks with >12 months FD require a normal account. Just ask for BSA so that you won't get charged RM8+. You can just keep RM20 inside the BSA.
Ramjade
post Dec 3 2015, 11:40 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(starry @ Dec 3 2015, 11:36 PM)
I need to open RHB SA for FD interest crediting purpose. After the FD matures, can I close the SA or must I leave a minimum balance in the SA?
If you have no need for the SA, you can close it. Make sure to ask for BSA to prevent getting charge for atm card.
Ramjade
post Dec 4 2015, 10:56 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Alexis~ @ Dec 4 2015, 10:51 AM)
Morning guys.
Was about to go HLB to request them to transfer my FD in to my saving account and I forgot to bring my bank book. *smack head* Can I still proceed with only my IC and the FD cert?

This FD matured on October so they're now giving the 3.3% rate since I didn't do anything for the past two months. Will it affect the total amount of money I will get back?
Your principal is still there. Your earlier promo rates is still there. Just you get lesser returns for 2 months.
Ramjade
post Dec 4 2015, 11:05 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Alexis~ @ Dec 4 2015, 11:00 AM)
Yo thanks for the info.
How 'bout the withdrawal matter?
Can proceed without bank book?
.__. was early to work place so I can have it settled but forgot to bring the blardy bank book.  sweat.gif
Got atm card? If don't have, maybe cannot.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 4 2015, 11:06 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 4 2015, 03:24 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Plutoman @ Dec 4 2015, 03:20 PM)
Guys, do you know for Public bank, if I am going to uplift my FD, do I need to go back to the branch that i placed my FD or any branch can uplift and withdraw?
Yes. Need to go back to branch. Happen to me before. But that was > 5 years ago. Things could have changed by now.
Ramjade
post Dec 4 2015, 05:41 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Dec 4 2015, 05:31 PM)
(1) Affin 15 months at 4.6% - valid until end of Dec  --> I think no need
(2) OCBC 12 months at 4.5% - valid until end of Dec  --> No need
(3) UOB 12 months at 4.4% - valid until end of Dec --> No need
(4) RHB 15 months at 4.4% - valid until March 2016 --> I think need
(5) Public Bank 12 months at 4.3% - valid until end of Dec  --> I think no need
Affin bank usually requires casa for deposit interest l. So many times already. But maybe this time no need. Better check the brochure.
Ramjade
post Dec 5 2015, 01:49 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Anhero @ Dec 5 2015, 01:40 PM)
Damn that's out for me.. Thanks for helping clear things up.
With all this talk about possible FD rate hike I might not take any promotion till next year now. Damn it Janet just raise it already.  bruce.gif
Just take 3 months FD or 1 month efd.
Ramjade
post Dec 5 2015, 04:37 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Ogata @ Dec 5 2015, 04:20 PM)
May i know if take 1month fix deposit 10k to 20k now go which bank better? Affin bank?
See if it's worth your petrol and parking money. For me I prefer 1 month efd. No petrol and parking cost incurred.
Ramjade
post Dec 5 2015, 06:25 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 5 2015, 06:07 PM)
How would terminating be better than leaving it there? it seems to me you'd have made more if you left it there. Assuming that it was a 1-year term and you are paid half if you terminate, you lose 1.85% if you terminate. You gain 0.63% if you terminate. Why would you give up 1.85% for 0.63%? and then have to wait longer smile.gif
4.33%, vs 3.7%
Ramjade
post Dec 5 2015, 09:06 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(sl3ge @ Dec 5 2015, 07:57 PM)
which 1 month fd is the best? got more than >3.8%p.a. ? drool.gif
Best one month efd is maybank Islamic efd at 3.25%. Don't expect so high. I heard that if you are vip member of cimb, can get 3.7% for their efd. But you better confirm with the bank. Don't take my word for it.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 5 2015, 09:06 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 5 2015, 10:05 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Dec 5 2015, 09:20 PM)
Affin can uplift online?
Nope.
Ramjade
post Dec 5 2015, 11:56 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 5 2015, 11:47 PM)
Don't you only get half if you terminate?
I got some. But all that's history. Now waiting patiently for the balance of my FD to matured.
Ramjade
post Dec 7 2015, 02:27 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(poi2005 @ Dec 7 2015, 02:19 PM)
Apologise if this question has been asked before.

Do you guys transfer out ur FD money to another bank and back to the original bank to consider as fresh funds?

My PBB FD is going to mature soon, thinking to get the year end promo, however fresh funds only, so means I have to transfer the money out to other bank then back to PBB again to qualify the year end promo.

Is there any other better way to qualify as 'fresh funds'?

Thank you.
Sometimes that cannot be considered as fresh guns. Just ask the bank if I IBFT some money into my Pbb account, does not count as fresh funds.

If not, just IBFT to bank A > buy BC from bank B > bring back BC to PBB. That one I can assure you will be counted as fresh funds.
Ramjade
post Dec 7 2015, 06:09 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Dec 7 2015, 06:04 PM)
Alliance Bank does not look at it that way. Alliance look at the balance compare to previous month
Well they can't say a BC is not fresh fund right? laugh.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 7 2015, 09:02 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Dec 7 2015, 07:01 PM)
Below is what defined by Alliance whether with BC or otherwise:

Please be informed that “new funds” will be measured based on incremental growth of Total Deposit compared against Previous Monthly Average Balance (MAB). New funds are funds that are not derived from any existing accounts with Alliance Bank or its subsidiaries which is calculated as follows:

New Funds = Today’s Total Deposits – Previous MAB – This Month’s Total eFD
So if say previously I have rm10k, matured, IBFT out to bank A then I IBFT back rm10001 from bank A, not counted as fresh fund? hmm.gif

Ramjade
post Dec 7 2015, 09:35 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Dec 7 2015, 09:28 PM)
that make more sense on the definition of new funds
Which at the same time makes it harder for anyone without fresh fund to place FD with them to get promo rates. Since it's really fresh and not "recycled"

17 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 >Top

0.0513sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:52 PM