Ramjade
post Nov 4 2015, 08:01 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 4 2015, 07:43 AM)
Uncle, student or HNWS, whatever !  tongue.gif

I think your thinking is too simplistic : Don't give free money to the banks !

Why humans are different ? A lot of individuality in us ! There are even people having FD's in CB which gives board rates and staying happily as their PB, uncles and aunties.

Some of the forummers have gave their opinions on this topic, learn from it !

You can shout about your slogan, but others may do differently !  biggrin.gif
Maybe those who are not LYN member? tongue.gif Well I can think of only 2 reasons
a) lazy to go chasing FD promos (too rich)
b) lazy to move money around (too troublesome for them)

Well their loss. There are PB. I haven't counted the ordinary folks like the Unker and aunties I saw. Imagine how much free money the banks are earning. shocking.gif

Unker just using you as Eg. Don't get angry la. biggrin.gif what I am saying is Eg people who put 6 digit FD, by the banks renewing at promo rates rather than board rates, lesser chance people will move their money. Hence they don't need to offer promo every now and then.

QUOTE(yygo @ Nov 4 2015, 07:48 AM)
some kiddo thinking just like small kids, grow up! laugh.gif  tongue.gif
Be my guest. Banks not my grandfather for me to give them the money I am suppose to get.

QUOTE(Ah SiAnG @ Nov 4 2015, 07:56 AM)
yea, service from the bank is important and not everyone have the time to go to different banks to place their deposit under promotional rate.
I guess that's true but taking one day off from work per month to chase FD promos I think is doable? No

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 4 2015, 08:11 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 4 2015, 09:09 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 4 2015, 08:08 AM)
Grow up ! Not everyone is like you !  laugh.gif
Well I didn't missed it. Eh, eh, Unker can just leave money inside at board rates what. Why chasing FD promos? brows.gif In a way, Unker also like me going for best rates. tongue.gif
But I agreed with you. HLB, BSN service horrible take no. , need to wait like ~ 1 hour to remove money/open account. shakehead.gif

Best service for me is affin No customer. Take no. Before can sit down, they call. thumbup.gif Maybank also not bad, got customer but wait like 10 minutes only. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 4 2015, 08:09 AM)
why are you so obsessed about banks doing their businesses?

please channel your displeasure to BNM instead of here.
Because everyone should force banks to give better rates. smile.gif If no one decided to do something, banks does not need to give us best rates.

Consider the following scenario cause by majority of people putting at board rates and the scenario people removing from board rates FD / unattractive FD rates
Scenario A
Why should we want to give more promo rates when lots of people putting at board rates. We still have lots of money inside out board FD. No one removing. No need to give higher promo rates. Let's keep the extra profit for ourself.

Scenario B
Damn, we need to give better rates to attract people. People removing their board rates FD. Our rates not good enough to attract people. Our money not enough.

cherroy
I don't think can reached until rm70 shocking.gif petrol most is rm10, Why would need to pay toll? Parking maybe most is rm1.00 (well in Klang parking is RM0.50/hour). Even one day leave is counted as unpaid? I thought one is entitle to certain xx days of paid leave? hmm.gif

familyfirst
If 0.05% I won't chase unless they are located in the same area like Bukit Tinggi Klang. All banks are within walking distance. thumbup.gif But if >0.1% I sure chase. But now is history as I don't chase FD anymore.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 4 2015, 09:12 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 4 2015, 09:41 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(mohdyusof @ Nov 4 2015, 09:27 AM)
budak, go to belajar lah.

fd rm10000, 0.1% more rm10. 0.15% more rm15 also want to chase? tongue.gif beli barang bagi girl fren?  brows.gif
Bro don't underestimate the Rm5. Rm5 can buy breakfast for 3 people or one meal of mixed rice. smile.gif Like I said banks are within walking distance. So why choose 0.1% over 0.15%. If far away, forget it. Not worth.

cherroy
If like that then how those people working in the private sector place FD at promo rates? No time to come out unless you count lunch hour and most banks are close on weekends.

kochin
Actually you didn't get con. With eFD, you don't need to burn petrol and parking. So 4% for 3 months eFD is worth it.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 4 2015, 09:44 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 4 2015, 10:28 AM

24,334 posts

mohdyusof. yygo
If bank A offer 4.1% and bank B offer 4.15% for 1 year and both are located in the same block, you tell me which bank will you choose?
Here same place, same tenure, only different rates. So time is not an issue. Don't tell me you want to choose the 4.1% one. If like that I am speechless. doh.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 4 2015, 10:33 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 4 2015, 11:28 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(robert82 @ Nov 4 2015, 11:09 AM)
i am not sure about the rate, I did walk in to a branch last month and asked for their rate. gave me lower than the rate mentioned, even lower than efd.
Mind you it is over 5 figure...

If the rate is right, I'll ban the branch, simply give rate without checking!
Complain to the branch manager, if no action threaten to complain to BNM. But you must be certain that you have proof that you are entitled to higher rates. Previous flyer/brochure stating the rates. If you got proof, banks usually able to correct it (you will get the actual promised rates upon maturity). Hope this helps. smile.gif
Ramjade
post Nov 4 2015, 12:34 PM

24,334 posts

yygo, mohdyusof

Since when mentioned anything about terminating?

budak, go to belajar lah.

fd rm10000, 0.1% more rm10. 0.15% more rm15 also want to chase? tongue.gif beli barang bagi girl fren?

The sentence above did not mentioned anything about terminating FD. I assumed it means someone with fresh fund rm10k choosing between 4.1% and 4.15% so you are telling me that Rm5 also want to chase.

Btw, I let you know, I terminated a 3.7% FD 3 months into it at affin to go for their 4.33% FD before.

Anyway let it rest. So that topic won't be lengthen by useless argument I am tired of telling you guys not to give banks free money. You guys want to give free money, be my guest.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 4 2015, 12:35 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 4 2015, 12:53 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(robert82 @ Nov 4 2015, 12:52 PM)
Lol not so free, I do what I said previously. Just ban the branch and go another branch
Actually you can just email bnm if you want to complain. They response to emails. smile.gif
Ramjade
post Nov 4 2015, 08:46 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Nov 4 2015, 08:09 PM)
How to have proof? Btw, if I am a few months in, any possibilities of requesting for rates upgrade since promo gets better?
Brochure pic. Eg brochure show 4.2% But they give you only 4.1%. By complaining in with proof, you can get eg 4.2% upon maturity. I suggest you to look back at v9. Might have pic there. Good luck. smile.gif

First thing would be email your bank. Give them one week to reply. By one week, no response, langsung email bank negara.
You can try. No harm.
bnmtelelink@bnm.gov.my

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 4 2015, 08:50 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 5 2015, 08:34 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Nov 5 2015, 03:47 AM)
Anyone got the Note 5 deal from PB? Do they still have stock?
I will show you some calculations and let you decide whether it is worth it or not.

Samsung malaysia official Note 5 price = RM2699
Public Bank SA interest = 0.6%
(220000 x 0.006 x 182)/366 = RM656.39 assuming you put this month
Total amount earned = RM2699 + RM656.39 = RM3355.39

If you put at ambank 6 months 4.25%
(220000 x 0.0425 x 182)/366 = RM4649.45
Directd price = RM2499 (Samsung malaysia warranty)
Savings = RM4649.45 - RM2499 = RM2150.45

So if you put ambank 6 months at 4.25% and you buy a note 5 after 6 months with the interest, you still have leftover of RM2150.45 instead of only RM656.39 if you put at public bank savings account.

What if I don't like ambank? I would like to go for other banks 6 months promo. Be my guest. Just use my calculations and substitute 0.0425 with whatever interest that bank is giving you. And check out for yourself if is still worth it putting at pbb sa. Keep in mind that after 6 months, the Note 5 price will drop further. biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Nov 5 2015, 10:43 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(thingamagic @ Nov 5 2015, 10:36 AM)
Good effort there  rclxms.gif

To put it into perspective, the difference between ambank and PBB is RM1294.06 (RM4649.45 - RM3355.39)

PBB advantage is enjoy the Note 5 immediately (depend on delivery or stock availability) instead of waiting for 6 months interest to buy, so it all depends on phone urgency.

To add more reality to the comparison, Note 5 can get cheaper than retail price in the market eg. 1800+ so that's more difference comparing with Ambank  laugh.gif
If no stock? hmm.gif then you don't get anything by putting there? shocking.gif
Ramjade
post Nov 5 2015, 10:45 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Nov 5 2015, 10:34 AM)
OIC I though the note 5 is come with FD account. My bad didn't read carefully.
So far Ambank still give the best FD interest?
Nope. Now for 6 months is ocbc at 4.3%
Ramjade
post Nov 5 2015, 11:10 AM

24,334 posts

Ocbc rates are good. thumbup.gif even me who don't do FD promo anymore thinks it's good.
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2015, 09:23 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(guitaristdavid @ Nov 6 2015, 08:57 AM)
Exactly... i earn RM but placed in RP...
How's the exchange rate of rm-rp? Flucates like usd-rm?
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2015, 09:32 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(guitaristdavid @ Nov 6 2015, 09:29 AM)
Since last year RM1: Rp3,700... till today is RM1: Rp 3,200... Looks stable for the time being, but will go down some more end of the year or beginning of next to Rp 3,100... I foresee so...
Few questions
1) How do you put FD there? Take a flight there?
2) Do they accept malaysia's cheque?
3) How long do you put?

If putting indon FD at 9%, I think a flight there every 2 years to renew is kind of worth it.
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2015, 10:02 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(mohdyusof @ Nov 6 2015, 09:36 AM)
abang, dia cakap bagi orang bukan m'sia lah! doh.gif

bukan fly there, susah lah!
Dia earn in RM and letak FD kat sana. Dia tak cakap dia orang indonesia Kalau exchange rate indonesia tak banyak tukar macam usd-rm, itu berbaloi. Letak 2-3 tahun di sana dengan interest 8-9%/p.a. Jumaat yg banyak say rm100k, beli tiket airasia yg paling murah, tak perlu menginap effective interest kalau ga salah pasti 6-7%/p.a

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 6 2015, 10:03 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2015, 10:09 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Nov 6 2015, 09:55 AM)
Yup, this is not for us.  Only for their nationality and those working there with valid work permit lo.
Not true. According to this article, there are some people who put FD in India (malaysian who frequently fly to India)

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...mic-uncertainty
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2015, 10:21 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Nov 6 2015, 10:11 AM)
bro, you need to learn to analyse and read posts carefully. not just simple reply and get your post count up. you have been doing that. laugh.gif

does not make sense to fly to a foreign country just to place deposit (singapore excluded). political/economy stability, flight/time cost to be considered. foreign workers can transfer funds and place fd there. currency fluctuation not big concern as they can still use the currency there (family/relative). there is also a reason why their fd is high interest, economic uncertainty!
Come on man. Think of it this way if their exchange rate does not fluctuate much, air ticket cost say rm100/way = RM200/return trip (air Asia promo time) If you can put rm100k, and say taxis only rm100, flight is like 2 hours (kl-kuching is 2 hours), put for 2 years at say 8%, able to earn rm16k in 2 years, your cost of bringing back the money is rm300 (as shown above) I think is worth it.

(Rm15700/rm100k x 100%) /2 = 1 year returns is approximately 8%

That is if their exchange rate does not fluctuate much.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 6 2015, 10:28 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 8 2015, 03:10 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Nov 8 2015, 02:53 PM)
Nope, infact nobody bother to look at me(this is my intention) laugh.gif
You didn't apply for vip banking?
Ramjade
post Nov 8 2015, 05:32 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Nov 8 2015, 05:30 PM)
must be filthy rich, worry people follow or notice! tongue.gif
Captain Gen-X also dress like that what. Btw what's there to scared if bring BC? If money then whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 8 2015, 05:32 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 8 2015, 10:50 PM

24,334 posts

Hapeng
Safest is say your cash comes into bank A (<7 days) ask bank and see can use that fund ot not. If cannot, just IBFT to bank B. Then go to bank B and withdraw in banker's cheque. Bring money back to bank A. This sure considered as fresh funds. thumbup.gif

17 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0488sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:12 AM