Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

BoomChaCha
post Oct 18 2015, 02:53 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 18 2015, 02:34 PM)
Ah Boom Ah Sir, have you deposit in BSN before ? I have heard of their service .....................

But saw they advertise in China Press FULL page advert yesterday. Are they trying to get more Chinese customer ?  hmm.gif
Nevel lah.. Ah Sir..
2 days ago when I was in BSN to pay bills, the staffs were very slow
but luckily I saw 2 sexy young girl customers in good shape that made
me awake..

I am not interested in placing FD with BSN, I do not like the staffs slow working
behaviors.

FD depositors are usually Chinese because Bumi do not need FD since they
can get other Government "Kang Tao" that non-bumi are not entitled.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 18 2015, 02:53 PM
BoomChaCha
post Oct 18 2015, 03:13 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 18 2015, 02:58 PM)
Hahaha, seeing the leng lui made you feel "good" ! drool.gif  tongue.gif

When I was in KFH they told me the same thing. Most of their customer also Chinese. BR Penang same as well but their PR is good giving CNY hampers (cheap cheap), high tea etc.  rclxms.gif
Hu.. one of the leng lui was sibeh sexy, I was thinking to take picture,
but noticed there was a sticker attached on the BSN glass door stating
not allowed to take picture...

In most banks, I guess more than 70% of FD depositors are Chinese lah..
Bumi can get 7%xx from Pos office, but I do not know what kind of saving account
it is..

When I look at BSN staffs slow working progress, I feel like I do not have confidence
in this bank..They give me an impression that they are not efficient..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 18 2015, 03:22 PM
BoomChaCha
post Oct 18 2015, 03:35 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 18 2015, 03:32 PM)
For banks require fresh funds for fd promo, is this consider fresh funds?

BankA fd matured, withdraw and put in bankB for 3mths fd. After 3 mths, put back in bankA.
Yes, this can consider as fresh fund

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 18 2015, 02:35 AM)
UOB FD system will automatically makes it mature on week day. Wonder is it a Singapore central bank policy since both are from Singapore.

My UOB placement  was on 17/10/2014, the maturity date is 19/10/2015 which is a Monday.

Another FD placement on 29/10/2014, maturity date 29/10/2015
Oh.. Where are you going to place your next FD tomorrow (after UOB FD)..??
How about to place 5 years FD gao gao lat this time..? biggrin.gif

My OCBC FD (3.87% effective rate sad.gif ) will mature tomorrow too..
Now do not know should I go for MBSB 5 years or AM Bank 5 years? hmm.gif Very headache..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 18 2015, 03:51 PM
BoomChaCha
post Oct 18 2015, 04:59 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Oct 18 2015, 04:43 PM)
ur 7% is mean amanah saham?quite interesting to know thats saving account although im not bumi. Hehe
Few years ago I saw a bumi holding a small book like a saving account book
in a post office, he told me he could get more than 7% of interest of his saving
account in post office.

I did not ask him further lah otherwise he thought I wanted to rob him, then how..?? cry.gif

Bumi got a lot of Kang Tao lah...

Last time a bank manager told me Bumi can make 4% free money by borrowing
personal loan from bank at 5% rate, then use this money to buy a government bond
to make 9% profit, but this will take several years to generate the profit.

Bank manger told me that this bumi rejected bank manager idea, because this
bumi wanted to make fast money.. doh.gif
BoomChaCha
post Oct 18 2015, 05:17 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Oct 18 2015, 05:05 PM)
I believe it is amanah sayam passbook... Fast money die faster...haha...

Non bumi also have our own kang tao , example callable item from one of the forumer said 5.2% he get , i dont know whether it is per annum or per quarter
Yeah, should be Amanah Saham...

Non-bumi where got Knag Tao..?

Callable cannot guarantee to make money wor...
But Amanh Saham for sure guarantee can make money..this is a real Kang Tao..

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 18 2015, 05:06 PM)
Mine on 27th. The half yearly interests, are they still inside your FD or you have withdrawn them?
I did not withdraw the interest but I leave the earned half yearly interest to add to
principal to roll interest again..

Ai.., sad.gif this low 3.87% effective rate is the bigger pain on my chest lah...
BoomChaCha
post Oct 18 2015, 07:05 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 18 2015, 05:44 PM)
Which promo of OCBC ? There is one 360 days one  by OCBC that pay interest on the 6 mths and roll it into the principle. Not that one, eh ?  hmm.gif
Yes, I think you are saying it right.

Total tenure is 18 months.
First 6 months paid 3.6% first, then 3.6% interest earned will add
to principal and continue with 4% for the remaining of 12 months.

Effective rate is 3.87%

Interest rate went up 3 months later after I placed this FD during last year... cry.gif
A pain on my chest that unforgettable...
BoomChaCha
post Oct 18 2015, 08:07 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 18 2015, 07:56 PM)
same boat as you. quite pain to wait for 18 months
cheers.gif
BoomChaCha
post Oct 18 2015, 09:56 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 18 2015, 08:29 PM)
Oh, it is a different one. I joined OCBC only this March. Met the leng lui RM which @gsc said no leng lui RM in OCBC PB centre.  tongue.gif
Oh.. obviously gsc has a high demand standard for leng lui... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 18 2015, 09:06 PM)
U have overlook on BR 4.50% with profit paid monthly  icon_idea.gif
Ha ha..
Sorry, I forgot about Bank Rakyat... doh.gif

5 Years FD Comparisons

The Best Return:

(No. 1) MBSB 4.7% with interest paid every 6 months
Pros:
(1) Min FD deposit as low as RM 1K
(2) FD interest can deposit to any depositors' desired bank saving accounts
(3) Banker's check is free for payment of FD interest

Cons:
(1) Insufficient of branches nationwide
(2) No ATM, no online banking
(3) No FD interest will pay during holidays. For example if interest payment date falls on Saturday, then no interest will be paid for Sunday.
(4) FD can only be withdrawn in home branch

(No. 2)Am Bank 4.55% with interest paid monthly if 50 years old and above
Pros:
(1) More branches
(2) Can use True Savers to maximize return
(3) FD can withdraw in any branches nationwide but need to pass thumb print verification.

(No. 3) Bank Rakyat 4.5% (negotiable) with monthly interest
Pros:
(1) FD rate is negotiable if deposit amount is RM 50K and above
(2) So far no annual charge for ATM card
(3) Hampers & gifts, high-tea invitations and etc..
(4) Staffs are polite to customers

Cons:
(1) Less branches & ATM machines
(2) No banker's checks will be issued for FD withdrawals but can use IBG/TT instead. Quite troublesome.
(3) Frequent change of FD interest payment schedules which lead to customer unsatisfactions, complaints and confusions.
(4) FD can only be withdrawn in home branch

(No. 4) BSN 4.5% with interest paid monthly if above 50 years old and FD deposit exceed RM 50K
-- Sorry I am not familiar with BSN. But quite disappointed I have not seen any leng lui staffs honestly speaking sad.gif

The Most Secured:

(No. 1) BSN 4.5%, no PIDM but FD deposit guaranteed by the Malaysian Government. I think this is good for deposit amount larger than RM 250K since PIDM protection limit is RM 250K.
(No. 2) Am Bank 4.55% with PIDM
(No. 3) Bank Rakyat, without PIDM but guaranteed by The Ministry of Finance
(No. 4) MBSB 4.7% without PIDM, EPF holds more than 60% shares of MBSB

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 18 2015, 10:24 PM
BoomChaCha
post Oct 19 2015, 08:48 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 19 2015, 11:24 AM)
You based your benchmark whether they have lenglui or not? hmm.gif shocking.gif tongue.gif
doh.gif

QUOTE(HJebat @ Oct 19 2015, 02:37 PM)
Yup, it is with BR.
My last remaining FD certificate that is still stranded in BR biggrin.gif
If market crash = IR most likely will fall.

Right now, if we have excess $$$, just deposit in any institution that we’re comfortable with (the higher the %, the better…usually go for the highest la  laugh.gif ).
Just go for it thumbup.gif

I have lost count of how many MBSB’s chapters to become a full-fledged bank went up in smoke.

The same storyline has been articulated since 2012.

Maybe this time the plot with Muamalat can hit the spot & the entire story can reach a rewarding conclusion for MBSB.
Warrior, after struggling in between MBSB and Am Bank,
finally I just placed 5 years FD with Am Bank.

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 19 2015, 07:44 PM)
The sticker said no picture allowed but leng lui is not BSN property, you are not taking picture on BSN property lah...next time remember to take picture for bbgoat eyetainment

BSN service is very slow and inefficient...I experieced that last time when my money was moved out due to my account is inactive. Need to go at least three times to get it settled

First time submitted info and passbook as proof. I was asked to come back after a few days for the bank to check. Second time went back, was told the status. Then .after 1 month nothing happen...
Third time went to follow up....
Then only receive an email on the status....

The working pace is the workers themselves didahulukan...
These 2 leng lui were in inside BSN lobby wor..? How to take picture..?
If I did it, BSN might think I was sent as a spy to take the bank picture before
to rob the bank, then how..? sad.gif

I agree BSN service is got damn slow, the service is so slow that I really cannot tolerate...

I do not have the mood to place FD with BSN. Maybe never...
BoomChaCha
post Oct 19 2015, 09:35 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 19 2015, 09:00 PM)
Haiyoo Unker, just take out phone and pretend to be smsing.  No one will realise. tongue.gif brows.gif
Ai.. Uncle scared mah..
But recently uncle is very hard to fall in sleep after see these 2 sexy
leng lui. Now quite regret did not take the picture.. sad.gif

QUOTE(michaelho @ Oct 19 2015, 09:25 PM)
turn off the clicking sound in the camera and take lor, share share mah  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Yes.. will do it next time if got a change like this again.. cheers.gif

By the way, when I withdrew my OCBC FD this afternoon, I noticed I got
a blinking "PB" status in OCBC computer. According to OCBC staff, my PB
status is forever shown in OCBC system even my AUM drops below RM 300K.

OCBC staff: Oh.. Mr Boom, why don't you go inside the PB room? Staff in PB room can
work faster for you.

Me: Hah..? You mean the Premier Room? I am not a premier customer anymore

OCBC staff: You see here (turned the monitor screen to me..), you have a PB status here..

Me: Oh.. you mean this blinking PB..? I thought my PB status has been terminated since I have only RM 20K FD in OCBC?

OCBC staff: No lah.. OCBC will not simply terminate PB status, you are a PB, Mr. Boom.

Me: Oh... I see

OCBC staff: So next time Mr. Boom can go to Premier Room? This will save your time.

Me: No need lah...I like here better

OCBC staff: Why leh..? You do not like the service in Premier room?

Me: Not really lah... This is because Premier Room gives me a lot of pressure wor..

OCBC staff: Ha ha.. understood

OCBC staff: Mr. Boom, your IC is quite old, your IC numbers look so blur lah ..Oh.. very hard to see, is your IC number starts with 51?

Me: Yes, it is. But I wish it started with 81..

OCBC staff: Ha ha ha..(a very big laugh.... next counter staffs & customers also turned their heads to us..) Mr . Boom, you like to make joke, biggrin.gif ..but unfortunately we cannot stop us to become old..

Me.. Ya lah..I know.. just a wish only mah, cannot meh..?? sad.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 19 2015, 09:54 PM
BoomChaCha
post Oct 19 2015, 10:26 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Oct 19 2015, 10:08 PM)
Wah, you have executed another round of 5-year FD placement rclxms.gif ...this time I don't think I'm able to sit beside you in the casino. I'm taking my chips off the table.

Oh.. You take the chips to where? hmm.gif

QUOTE(HJebat @ Oct 19 2015, 10:08 PM)
Why choose AmBank over MBSB?

Are you able to get hold of any gifts from AmBank?
I placed AM Bank FD because
(1) I do not want to put too many eggs in a basket
(2) aeiou suggested to put in Am Bank for 5 years PIDM protection
(3) AM Bank 5 years promo will end this month, I do not want to miss this 5 years FD promo
with PIDM

Am Bank gave me a camel coin box only

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 19 2015, 10:27 PM
BoomChaCha
post Oct 19 2015, 10:45 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 19 2015, 10:36 PM)
Wah, like this good oh..just get the PB status one time, then reduces the amount...Is FD placement + cert issuance faster at PB room compared to normal area?
Yes, there is somebody will work dedicated for PB customers in side the Premier Room, so the
work progress will faster than the normal customer service and teller in bank lobby.

But do you know who are inside the Premier Room?
When you walk in the Premier Room, the RM in side the Premier Room will not let
you go until you buy the investment products from them, the Premier Room is a
trap lah.. sweat.gif Lat time I was surrounded by 3 leng lui RMs leh, almost
could not escape out of the Premier Room..

I feel more comfortable sitting in the bank lobby.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 19 2015, 10:50 PM
BoomChaCha
post Oct 20 2015, 12:29 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Oct 19 2015, 11:38 PM)
ASNB...my new betting house biggrin.gif

thumbup.gif

QUOTE(HJebat @ Oct 19 2015, 11:38 PM)
Even if your FDs are scattered across the globe, it is still considered as putting all your eggs in a basket, no meh? hmm.gif
At least if one basket broken, I guess I still have the opportunity to take the rest of
eggs out from another basket.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(cj7lee @ Oct 20 2015, 07:27 AM)
My experience, OCBC staff service attitude is not as good as UOB and the OCBC online feedback/enquiry hardly replied in time.
I think this most of the time depends on the mood, character and behavior of the individual.

Most of the employees do not aware that they are representing the company to talk to the customers. Once if they are saying or doing something wrong to the customers, the whole
company's corporate image and impression will be affected.

QUOTE(kochin @ Oct 20 2015, 09:53 AM)
interesting.
but i just witness an ocbc letter politely informing a close friend of mine that her balance is below the required limit, failing which, membership would be revoke.
nice way of saying top up or get out.
lol.
For my case, I think 2 possibilities:
(1) I think I will receive a letter like your friend soon
(2) OCBC just changed PB policy

QUOTE(yygo @ Oct 20 2015, 08:51 AM)
limpeh thinks that either ah boom is very handsome so leng lui want to kacao kacao or looking like korea's kim made people dare not approach you. tongue.gif
Handsome..? biggrin.gif Uncle where got handsome..?
Leng lui wants Uncle money only.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 20 2015, 12:37 PM
BoomChaCha
post Oct 20 2015, 12:49 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(earlofclarendon @ Oct 20 2015, 12:46 PM)
Today dropped by Ambank Raja Chulan promo 2 year FD 4.6%
Hah..? 2 Years FD 4.6%..?
I just placed 5 years 4.55% yesterday.. cry.gif
BoomChaCha
post Oct 20 2015, 01:03 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Oct 20 2015, 12:57 PM)
How much is the min fresh fund? Promo until when?
Just called to Am bank in Taman Maluri, this promo is starting today and
available until end of October.

Mini fresh fund RM 10K.
If use existing fund, then need to top up at least additional RM 10K, or 20%

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 20 2015, 12:52 PM)
Unker don't feel sad. 5 years ambank = 4.8+% thumbup.gif
I want to withdraw 4.55% 5 years.. and change to 4.6% for 2 years.. cry.gif

Just called to Am Bank again, I can only go tomorrow to uplift the FD because Am Bank
needs 2 days for the check clearance.

I think I should go to change lah even will lose 2 days interest

QUOTE(earlofclarendon @ Oct 20 2015, 12:46 PM)
Today dropped by Ambank Raja Chulan promo 2 year FD 4.6%
Thanks Bro for the update news.. notworthy.gif

MBSB 4.5% for 18 months, interest payout upon FD maturity is out already...

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 20 2015, 01:33 PM
BoomChaCha
post Oct 20 2015, 03:00 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(earlofclarendon @ Oct 20 2015, 02:42 PM)
should be all.

i personally checked wangsa maju branch and raja chulan branch got promo
I just called to Raja Chulan branch:

This 4.6% for 2 years FD promo is available until 30th of November, not previously
stated as available until end of October.

2 Interest Payment methods:
(1) Above 50 years old can get monthly interest
(2) Less 50 years old can get half yearly interest

Min deposit is RM 10K

This FD promo is HOT...

earlofclarendon is No. 1 notworthy.gif Ha ha.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 20 2015, 03:03 PM
BoomChaCha
post Oct 20 2015, 03:09 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 20 2015, 03:06 PM)
lets forget bout maybank no pidm% 4.5 and ambank 5 years 4.55%  drool.gif
No doubt this is the best FD promo so far lah... thumbup.gif
The rest can put aside first lah.... Ha Ha.. biggrin.gif
BoomChaCha
post Oct 20 2015, 03:24 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 20 2015, 03:16 PM)
beaten last year's Affin 2yr @ 4.38% p.a.  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
Correct..correct..correct.. thumbup.gif

And some more can credit interest (monthly or half yearly) to
True Savers account (2.8% p.a.) to maximize profit.. so the
effective rate should higher than 4.6% .. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 20 2015, 03:25 PM
BoomChaCha
post Oct 20 2015, 04:20 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 20 2015, 04:06 PM)
Why put hlb when you can put ambank 4.6% for 2 years?

Ambank must be desperate. Giving so high interest when other banks offering 4.2% like that. Wonder other bank will follow or not. hmm.gif
I think Am Bank 5 Year 4.55% is not sellable.

Imagine, it does not make sense same bank offers 5 years 4.55% and 2 years 4.6%.. rclxub.gif

Am bank is seeing that the response of 5 years 4.55% is slow, therefore Am Bank
quick quick offers 2 years 4.6% which is more attractive..

Hopefully other banks will follow to offer more attractive FD promo.. thumbup.gif
BoomChaCha
post Oct 20 2015, 09:56 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 20 2015, 09:50 PM)
omg, i think i going to do the same, what a hassle.. but 2 years 4.6% promo is it only certain branch or all branch?

why the run promo like this one.. haiz..
Am Bank 2 years 4.6% promo is available in all branches.

I think 5 years 4.55% is not moving well, that's why suddenly Am Bank
executes "Plan B" to come out with unbeatable 2 years 4.6% promo.. smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0298sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:38 PM