126 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

terence_nwb
post Feb 5 2016, 08:37 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Feb 4 2016, 08:55 PM)
Hi guys what are some cheap z170 boards to consider when building an oc build?
If you aren't going for heavy oc on CPU and RAM, then sub-RM 600+/- with 6 power phases design is enough, if you are going to oc to the limit as well as getting a high frequency RAM (> 2133MHz), get those sub-RM 750 and above with 8/10 power phases design.

QUOTE(HayateAyakasi8 @ Feb 4 2016, 10:52 PM)
hehe i know.. but it looks like our currency is going up.. and i will be overclocking
Just minor changes, it won't affect the build much.
philip42
post Feb 5 2016, 02:12 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Feb 5 2016, 08:37 AM)
If you aren't going for heavy oc on CPU and RAM, then sub-RM 600+/- with 6 power phases design is enough, if you are going to oc to the limit as well as getting a high frequency RAM (> 2133MHz), get those sub-RM 750 and above with 8/10 power phases design.
Just minor changes, it won't affect the build much.
actually i dont know which one to pick, i5 6600k setup or i7 6700 non k with a cheap board.
terence_nwb
post Feb 5 2016, 03:01 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Feb 5 2016, 02:12 PM)
actually i dont know which one to pick, i5 6600k setup or i7 6700 non k with a cheap board.
What makes you think of getting an oc setup?

If your workload is low and mainly on gaming, then get the i7 6700 with B150 board, oc won't give you significant performance improvements, while the i7 which is having 4 extra threads is more future proof and is able to give the i5 a big slap when the game is utilizing the hyperthreading technology brows.gif

Don't forget, you need to spend extra money on a decent CPU cooler too if you go for 6600K (it doesn't come with any cooler), not to mention you need to spend time and have patience to test the oc settings too so your PC won't crash during gaming/operation.
philip42
post Feb 5 2016, 03:11 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Feb 5 2016, 03:01 PM)
What makes you think of getting an oc setup?

If your workload is low and mainly on gaming, then get the i7 6700 with B150 board, oc won't give you significant performance improvements, while the i7 which is having 4 extra threads is more future proof and is able to give the i5 a big slap when the game is utilizing the hyperthreading technology  brows.gif

Don't forget, you need to spend extra money on a decent CPU cooler too if you go for 6600K (it doesn't come with any cooler), not to mention you need to spend time and have patience to test the oc settings too so your PC won't crash during gaming/operation.
no lah was thinking about future proofing, like the i5 2500k still packs a punch nowadays after like 5 years. I usually just game on my pc though, so i think i'll get the i7 6700 with b150. Is the igpu enough for dota 2? Because i wanna wait for the new gpus to release then only i'll buy one. biggrin.gif thanks
terence_nwb
post Feb 5 2016, 03:38 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Feb 5 2016, 03:11 PM)
no lah was thinking about future proofing, like the i5 2500k still packs a punch nowadays after like 5 years. I usually just game on my pc though, so i think i'll get the i7 6700 with b150. Is the igpu enough for dota 2? Because i wanna wait for the new gpus to release then only i'll buy one.  biggrin.gif  thanks
Skylake iGPU (HD 530) is as strong as a GT740/R7 250 so you should be able to run it at medium settings at decent frame rate (1080p).
Hezegroth
post Feb 5 2016, 06:17 PM

Miqo'te
570 posts

hello need advise on hdd,
will be using for my steam game and anime collection
would be replacing my 2tb.
fast and reliable. 2 or 3 or 4 tb which one is more value.

more info old mobo msi gd65

This post has been edited by Hezegroth: Feb 5 2016, 06:23 PM
GeForceX
post Feb 6 2016, 10:32 AM

126 posts

[Budget] rm4500

[Purpose] Multitasking and extreme gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor

[Games & softwares that use frequently] High graphic games and dota 2

My friend is buying his very first gaming desktop, need advice
Minecrafter
post Feb 6 2016, 11:09 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(GeForceX @ Feb 6 2016, 10:32 AM)
[Budget] rm4500

Can you be more specific about "Multitasking"? Like, video editing/rendering..or just opening multiple tabs? laugh.gif

GeForceX
post Feb 6 2016, 11:21 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 6 2016, 11:09 AM)
Can you be more specific about "Multitasking"? Like, video editing/rendering..or just opening multiple tabs? laugh.gif
Using PS and some video editing programme
terence_nwb
post Feb 6 2016, 05:49 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Feb 5 2016, 06:17 PM)
hello need advise on hdd,
will be using for my steam game and anime collection
would be replacing my 2tb.
fast and reliable. 2 or 3 or 4 tb which one is more value.

more info old mobo msi gd65
If your budget is tight and want to have a fast drive, go for Seagate Barracuda, the same price point's WD Blue is slower (7200 vs 5400 RPM).

terence_nwb
post Feb 6 2016, 06:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(GeForceX @ Feb 6 2016, 10:32 AM)
[Budget] rm4500

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1299
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 486
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 196
MSI GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Tiger - RM 1535
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 363
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 209
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 185

Total: RM 4488 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
ssxcool
post Feb 6 2016, 07:07 PM

255 posts

hi sifu, looking to upgrade my rig.

lets say i have rm1k, what can i buy?

tronx
post Feb 6 2016, 08:47 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(ssxcool @ Feb 6 2016, 07:07 PM)
hi sifu, looking to upgrade my rig.

lets say i have rm1k, what can i buy?

i7 maybe?
Kapparino
post Feb 6 2016, 09:06 PM

[Budget] 4000-4300

[Purpose] gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] nothing

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] cs:go / h1z1 / ark / rust / gta v

[Personal preferences] genuine windows?

[Location]KL

rclxms.gif Thank you in advance rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Kapparino: Feb 6 2016, 09:07 PM
ssxcool
post Feb 6 2016, 09:11 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(tronx @ Feb 6 2016, 08:47 PM)
i7 maybe?
i7 all rm1k+ cry.gif cry.gif
MyPIA
post Feb 6 2016, 09:52 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ssxcool @ Feb 6 2016, 09:11 PM)
i7 all rm1k+  cry.gif  cry.gif
Have cheaper ones also check garage sales section of lowyat

And depends on your needs if you're a gamer getting another GTX 970 would be much more beneficial to games as compared to an i7

This post has been edited by MyPIA: Feb 6 2016, 09:56 PM
tronx
post Feb 6 2016, 10:48 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(ssxcool @ Feb 6 2016, 09:11 PM)
i7 all rm1k+  cry.gif  cry.gif
QUOTE(MyPIA @ Feb 6 2016, 09:52 PM)
Have cheaper ones also check garage sales section of lowyat 

And depends on your needs if you're a gamer getting another GTX 970 would be much more beneficial to games as compared to an i7
Here got a guy selling 4770K for 1000 brows.gif
hollyweed
post Feb 6 2016, 11:34 PM

67 posts

[Budget] <2000

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Monitor resolution] 720x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] DOTA2 max setting if can

[Personal preferences] i3/i5 and Genuine windows.

[Location] KL

This post has been edited by hollyweed: Feb 7 2016, 12:36 AM
creative zn
post Feb 6 2016, 11:41 PM

Dark Souls II - You will die!
1,468 posts

Guys, i got offer from my friend for Zotac GTX960 2GB and Asus Strix R9 380 2GB. Which one should i choose? hmm.gif

terence_nwb
post Feb 7 2016, 11:05 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Kapparino @ Feb 6 2016, 09:06 PM)
[Budget] 4000-4300

[Purpose] gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] nothing

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] cs:go / h1z1 / ark / rust / gta v

[Personal preferences] genuine windows?

[Location]KL

rclxms.gif Thank you in advance rclxms.gif
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 885
Gigabyte B150M-D3H - RM 439
GSKill NT 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 249
Palit GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1399
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 199
Bitfenix Nova - RM 149
BenQ GW2270 - RM 439
Windows 7 Pro OEM - RM 200

Total: RM 4174 (Idealtech price inclusive of GST)

126 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:02 AM