SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX

prophetjul
post Sep 8 2017, 08:55 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 8 2017, 08:50 AM)
The rights to buy at that price or if don't like one can sell?
Rights essentially mean you have to be a shareholder to begin with, to be entitled to subscribing to these rights.

Do not think you can sell the Manulife rights because they are not convertible rights. These right will rank pari passu with ordinary units when allotted and issued.

http://investor.manulifeusreit.sg/newsroom...RVFEYFCFS.1.pdf
prophetjul
post Sep 13 2017, 10:41 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 13 2017, 10:12 AM)
any news on Croesus meeting?
No one attending from here?
prophetjul
post Sep 13 2017, 10:46 AM

12,273 posts

https://s3-ap-southeast-1.amazonaws.com/inv....jpg?1505269898

No fight at all
prophetjul
post Sep 14 2017, 07:25 PM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 14 2017, 12:18 PM)
Renounceable Ri is the best, non-R RI.. usually less discount, drops the most during 1-2 days of RI announcement and "might" continue until ex date.

Yes, I have done quite a few RIs... very nerve racking.  laugh.gif

The last Reit RI, I participate in was Hektar Reit, managed to snag some juicy mother and lots of cheap RI. Turn out to be a good deal.  laugh.gif

Mother traded as low as RM 1.23-1.25 (cum divvy 4 cent) and RI as low as 0.08-0.10 (Plus subscription 1.11)... Now the price after ex divvy is 1.28-1.29..  thumbup.gif
The Cache rights at 63.2 cents seems a very steep discount to mother share price of 88 cents at 4 Sep. Seeing it will rank pari passu with normal share and right to dsitribution for 3Qtr. Worth a wager? biggrin.gif
prophetjul
post Sep 14 2017, 07:26 PM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 14 2017, 12:18 PM)
Renounceable Ri is the best, non-R RI.. usually less discount, drops the most during 1-2 days of RI announcement and "might" continue until ex date.

Yes, I have done quite a few RIs... very nerve racking.  laugh.gif

The last Reit RI, I participate in was Hektar Reit, managed to snag some juicy mother and lots of cheap RI. Turn out to be a good deal.  laugh.gif

Mother traded as low as RM 1.23-1.25 (cum divvy 4 cent) and RI as low as 0.08-0.10 (Plus subscription 1.11)... Now the price after ex divvy is 1.28-1.29..  thumbup.gif
The Cache rights at 63.2 cents seems a very steep discount to mother share price of 88 cents at 4 Sep. Seeing it will rank pari passu with normal share and right to dsitribution for 3Qtr. i do not see a conversion premium. Is there one? Worth a wager? biggrin.gif
prophetjul
post Sep 15 2017, 10:47 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 15 2017, 08:52 AM)
Wahh.. I am not interested in Cache.. so I never check the risk reward..  tongue.gif

I only know that they have several master list expiring, which could affect the DPU..
Just dsicussing the rights per se

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Sep 15 2017, 10:49 AM
prophetjul
post Oct 12 2017, 08:12 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Oct 11 2017, 05:40 PM)
I m wondering how is the portfolio performance of most SGX investor here. 

Reason is although the STI index is at near record high, it is supported mainly by its 3 banks, the Jardine conglomerate and REITS.  The rest of the stocks really perform quite badly.  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

There are a long list of companies (mostly so called bluechip) that perform badly....
Singpost, Comfortdelgro, SIA Eng, Raffles Med, SPH, Starhub, M1, Keppel, Sembcorp, Sembcorp Marine, Ezion....the list goes on.  sad.gif
YTD at Sep17, portfolio was doing 17% . I am mostly in REITs
prophetjul
post Oct 12 2017, 09:20 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Oct 12 2017, 08:56 AM)
my un realized P&L + Div = 19%
unrealised P&l + dIV + closed position = 26%

last month was 19% the increase is  because of my semi-con counters that appreciate fast.

i am 60% in reits; 18% in elect & tec..

to grow capital still need to put in the effort to buy and sell whenever....
Impressive, SiS!

But I find SGX very hard to trade actively. Too small a market.
prophetjul
post Oct 12 2017, 11:38 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 12 2017, 11:06 AM)
Excellent,... investors,...  thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif The SGX has been kind to us,... support !!!!

My cap gain till now purely from my Tracking Site, not inclusive of all dvds collected, cap gains and losses (maybe a lot of losses from cutlosses ??, don't know,...),.. till this minute : 33.60% !

My portfolio too has a lot of Semicons and REITs,...
Not sure, but how do you achieve 33% without cap gains??? rclxub.gif
prophetjul
post Oct 12 2017, 11:52 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 12 2017, 11:44 AM)
Err,.. I think our unedrstanding is different here - to me, cap gains is supposed to be in-hand, ie realized, after having beem sold away,... and retreived the $$$ in-hand.

That 33% is purely from what I see in my Tracking Site now, (Profit / Amount Invested) x 100%. I don't really track the money coming in,.... TOO MUCH to do,... always have $$ sitting here and there and coming in as dividends, coupons,...,... can't invest fast enough. And of course, got a lot of work to do too,....

Wrong calculation above, bro ??
Capital gains basically mean you invest a stock at $1, let's say the stock is presently $1.1.

YTD means start of year your stock was $1 and now its $1.1, your YTD cap gain is 10%

Your capital gains is 10%.

Whether it is realized or unrealized gains, that is a different matter.

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Oct 12 2017, 11:53 AM
prophetjul
post Oct 16 2017, 08:28 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Oct 13 2017, 10:25 PM)
I dun keep track my profits on yearly basis... But just did a quick calculations recently as two months ago was my 5 yrs anniverssary investing in SGX... Over 5 years in RM term, it has appreciated about 110% (including dividend which was mainly re-invested), which gives me around 14-15% return p.a... So far pretty happy smile.gif

I am mostly in Reits, some non reits I bought before are Keppel, DBS, SingTel.
Nice growth and returns

I started in SGX in 2009 when MYR was 2.3 or so. Just currency alone is 34.7% laugh.gif
That was my real purpose in investing in SGX, to hedge to the ever depreciating MYR.
prophetjul
post Oct 16 2017, 09:00 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Oct 16 2017, 08:47 AM)
OT a bit.

Prophetjul..what u think of
triple point venture?
its BDC.

BTW i was looking back but cannot find.. other than ECC u mention another REIT.. forgotton which one. can give again?

for USD shares.. capital gain no tax.. but Dividend auto 30% deducted out is it?
Not seen Triple point venture.

The other Reit is a mortgage Riet although it is not. laugh.gif It is New Residential Investment Corp NRZ.

Yeah. For foreigners, not sure about Cap gain, but dividends gets a haircut of with holding tax of 30% mad.gif
prophetjul
post Oct 24 2017, 09:36 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Oct 24 2017, 09:31 AM)
UMS super sales
Super? Think its expensive?
After ex from $1.06, it should be 0.85?

prophetjul
post Nov 1 2017, 09:31 AM

12,273 posts

Anyone got their UMS 'bonus' shares yet?

hansel
prophetjul
post Nov 1 2017, 09:53 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 1 2017, 09:49 AM)
Bro,... morning,...

Don't really know if the whole mkt is waiting because I got some feedback from my investor-friends that they have relatives who have received their UMS bonus shares, 'got letter to confirm too'..... The SG red-colored bank is the custodian of these shares,...

I raised this issue in ShareJunction,... got some replies,... but somehow, the discussion turned into a 'big name-calling competition' instead. We need to diffuse the situation first,... then start the probing again.

If really can be proven that some investors got their bonus shares EARLIER, this is a breach already for a financial centre because those who got the bonus shares earlier can sell already-mah,... before the price drops, right ??? But again, just speculation on my side only,... I/We are dealing with Singapore, with MAS here,...

I wish to accord them the proper respects.

http://www.sharejunction.com/sharejunction...m?topicId=10409

Watch this event closely,... Singapore is great today 'because of things like this',.... I think we can sort this out,... After all : Singapura Maju,....
Singapura may Maju.

However, there are still many unscrupulous people and companies in the market
prophetjul
post Nov 1 2017, 10:24 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 1 2017, 10:15 AM)
Yes,... this is all priced-in from the efforts of their regulators. But of course, MAS will NOT be able to cover everything,... in my perspective, it has covered a lot,... a very good observation would be in the prosecution of the 1MDB-related individuals.

Sent a really strong message to the world.

We, as investors everywhere, must work together with MAS and the regulators to achieve this, Leaving all the work to MAS is not good enough. So long as they are ready to improve, the make changes for the better and to do the right thing, then it is worth our time and effort to feedback and to help them,...
My grouse with UMS is that their corporate people seems to be very inept.

First, BONUS issue is not really a BONUS issue.

Now, this distribution........a bit dodgy in their corporate dealings?
prophetjul
post Nov 1 2017, 10:36 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 1 2017, 10:34 AM)
Yeah, bro, agreed,... never replied emails too. That's why I kept using the word 'odd' in this present exercise.

MAS will be able to see our feedback here,...
You emailed them? And they do NOT reply??? ohmy.gif

Sounds VERY DODGY!
prophetjul
post Nov 1 2017, 01:07 PM

12,273 posts

Maybe Andy already selling his bonus shares in this rally smile.gif
prophetjul
post Nov 2 2017, 08:47 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 1 2017, 05:45 PM)
hehe,... bro,... Then we will wait for disclosures in the next few days,... see if Andy sold anything,....  dry.gif  biggrin.gif
If he did, then this is manipulation of markets. See what MAS does after.
prophetjul
post Nov 30 2017, 02:16 PM

12,273 posts

UMS tanking after ex div.. Still a pump and dump counter! smile.gif

23 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.1802sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:23 AM