7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V4], Motion & Emotion

jfcheong
post Mar 22 2018, 08:36 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 21 2018, 11:15 PM)
Ok,thx a lot bro...
Reali nv notice d facelift version before...
Maybe nv see one on d road...
Will look into it den...
So called "FL" version mostly are NA. Hardly find Turbo.
Nasim changes some cosmetic just to clear NA old stock.
jfcheong
post Mar 22 2018, 11:09 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 22 2018, 10:50 AM)
Ic,noted...
Den kinda not related to thp version den...
Found 1 used 2012 car around my area...
Will go to see if it is worth to get...
2012 is first batch, now market should be around Rm20k if get from dealer

jfcheong
post Mar 23 2018, 09:18 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Mar 23 2018, 07:44 AM)
Hi everyone! I am planning to get a new-ish 2nd hand car, and the 408 1.6T
seems to be one of the best buys for a very reasonable price. I do not care so much about RV, as long as the car has good performance and not too bad fuel economy, which the 1.6t offers.

However, I am slightly worried about the reliability of the car. I have read on forums here and other car sites about "horror stories" of owning a pug (the 408 included) and countless advice to avoid it at all costs. I personally do not mind to spend a bit more money to maintain the car but I want a car that will not fail on me. I do not want to keep visiting the mechanic often and spend a small fortune for each visit as I will be starting a family soon, so can't be spending too much on the car. I thought I better ask actual 408 owners rather than the general public who tend to bash on a particular make.

Given all this, my question is, is it worth it in the long-run to get a used 408 1.6t? Will not change car for at least 5-7 years. I'm looking at 2015-2016 year makes, the last few batches before the new 408. If I go ahead with this, anything, in particular, I should look out for, i.e. what would be ideal mileage etc.?

Looking for input from all the sifus here. Thanks guys smile.gif
Assuming u are getting 2015 made, warranty till 2022. Considered a safe buy.
But beware on the part failure starting year 4.
Just some examples from my claims list since day 1
1) Aircon compressor - claimed 3 times
2) Cooling coil
3 Thermostat sensor
4) ABS sensor
5) Water pump
6) Thermostat Housing (Own cost)
7) Valve sensor (own cost)
8) Cylinder head cover
9) Turbo unit + manifold
10) Oil filter housing

If you are not passionate enough to maintain the car, I would not advice you to get the 408. It is not only about the cost of maintaining the car, also the time consuming.

You dont care about the RV becoz you are getting a 2nd hand car, the previous owner absorbed most of the depreciation. Year 2015 made 408 should be able to get around 30k - 40K plus (?) I assume. But do note that you might have difficulty to sell when u wanna sell, dealer dont even wanna take your car. You mentioned will no change car for the next 5-7 years, but how about when the car start giving problems?

Regarding the warranty, do ensure the dealer/ previous owner provide the full service record. Verify it to any Peugeot SC.

Good luck hunting your new ride. Cheers!
jfcheong
post Mar 23 2018, 02:15 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(WongCH @ Mar 23 2018, 02:10 PM)
Hi all,

My 408 got the "Engine Fault - Repair Needed" pop up message again.
This time they checked and suspected engine oil leaking.
After topped up 1L, they ask me to monitor 1k mileage before sending back SC again for the scan. If confirm leaking, they will request HQ to replace the engine for me under the 7yr warranty.
Any guys have this problem so far? Is it the Turbo problem someone had mentioned earlier?
Not sure when they said replace engine, is it really the whole engine?
Yes the whole engine.
jfcheong
post Mar 23 2018, 02:30 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Mar 23 2018, 02:22 PM)
Thanks for sharing jfcheong, wow that does seem like a fairly long list. May I ask how old is your car? Yes if possible I want to keep a car for as long as possible, to avoid having to change cars too often and constantly pay car loan. From your description, it does seem like the 408 may not be the car for me, as I really do not want to spend my leave days going to the workshop to get things sorted, as you said, it's not just about the cost, it's also the hassle and time consumption. I do love the car's performance though....haih.
My car is near 6 years. Just clocked 100k km mileage.
No doubt 408T is one of the best in its range, performance, cabin space, comfort. All rounder. After so many years of owning this car, still loving it.
jfcheong
post Mar 23 2018, 02:53 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Mar 23 2018, 02:45 PM)
i owned the 408T for 4th years now ..
exclude the callback item, below are the thing i change/fault :

1. air cond compressor - once - warranty
2. abs sensor - fault also because the guys accident rosak my sensor when change brake pad - own cost (rm250)
3. turbo inlet hose - own cost (rm450)

the part is not that expensive (for me la .. ) if u know the source actually ..
Quite true the Peugeot parts are not really expensive like the public thought, quite reasonable and comparable to Jap made.
Provided you need to know where to source it.
jfcheong
post Mar 26 2018, 11:26 AM

44 posts

Yes it is covered.
But that time I was rushing for my trip, no time to deal with SC on those things. Need to settle it fast. Even ABS sensor also I change with own cost once.
jfcheong
post Mar 26 2018, 11:27 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(sparcobulk @ Mar 26 2018, 10:57 AM)
The Turbo Inlet Hose is covered by warranty. I got it changed for free after doing all the recall items.

So far after 10,000 driving my 2012 used peugeot 408t, the only expense for me is faulty ABS sensor and headlight bulb. Everything else covered by warranty. The car runs like new. It's seriously value for money.
The ABS sensor is covered too
jfcheong
post Mar 26 2018, 11:40 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Mar 26 2018, 11:35 AM)
Yeah indeed normally private sellers are selling same or slightly lower price compared with used car dealer. Pros is without processing fee.

I bought a 2016 1.6 thp. Now pending for puspapkom inspection before proceed with full payment. I remember I read that 2016 car will not be able to enjoy the extended 2 years warranty right?
If not wrong, only eligible for registration year 2011 to 2015.
jfcheong
post Apr 3 2018, 11:47 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(BUBLEMAN @ Apr 3 2018, 11:07 AM)
Hi Guys, it was awesome and great to see my car old, yellowish headlight restored with shines and looks new again! Maybe cars with headlights problems can try their services, just google happyshines malaysia, they came to my condo to polish my car. Something new to me, haha smile.gif, save lots of my time & oil & no need hassle to go car workshop. Last time i spent around RM200 , now just spent RM50 and they come to my house ! Perfect!  smile.gif
How they restore? Just polish?
Do they apply another protector coat on top after polish?

Saw quite many shop offer this restoration, be it polish or chemical coating.. my worry is how long can it last.
Dont want it to come back again after 6 months time
jfcheong
post Apr 3 2018, 11:52 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Apr 3 2018, 11:51 AM)
i think is his business la ... he just mass post to every car club ..  sweat.gif
Obviously
jfcheong
post Apr 3 2018, 12:19 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Apr 3 2018, 12:02 PM)
At that price it is probably just polish only without any coating. A proper opti coat does not comes cheap. I do found another cheaper solution though. I did wet sanding on the headlight of my another car with 2000 grit sand paper then finish with 2k clear coat. The car has been a year under the sun and the headlight does not seems turn yellowish just yet.
I dont have the skill and dare not do that.. lol
jfcheong
post Apr 5 2018, 04:55 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(JaySon5 @ Apr 5 2018, 04:53 PM)
Hi anyone know how to set the clock at dashboard?
I just change my radio with aftermarket which does not able to control radio.
Recently I change the Battery , thus the clock got reset.

please help guys ....
U changed ur radio, how are we suppose how to set?
Check with the accessories shop
jfcheong
post Apr 5 2018, 05:27 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(JaySon5 @ Apr 5 2018, 05:25 PM)
Its normal after market HU (little modification to the radio cavity for fitting)... cannot use wheel steering control (No CAN BUS).
Other option need to use old HU, but need to go workshop and spend hours... cry.gif
Ur new HU does not integrate with the car's system? I mean the centre small display
jfcheong
post Apr 18 2018, 10:27 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(sparcobulk @ Apr 18 2018, 09:42 AM)
Do you guys feel the headlights are set far too low? Even when I select the highest setting, i can't see more than 5-10m in front. Feels like I always have to keep high beam at every chance I get. Anyone concur?
Adjust it manually, not the button in ur driver side.
By accessing under the hood...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ZF-xu6MYGE
jfcheong
post Apr 19 2018, 05:10 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Apr 19 2018, 03:55 PM)
Hi. Any idea what is the brake pad original brand? Is it ferodo or Bosch? I have not remove anything on the wheel yet so couldn't check.

I find the original brake very dusty and rotor thin out a lot with deep groove line. A 20k km usage looks like 40k km on both rotor and pads. Might get both rotor and pads replaced when the pad has done its service and avoid the original.
Am on TRW brake pad for front and rear.
Less dust, similar braking power.
Cost Rm250+- per pair
jfcheong
post Apr 24 2018, 09:01 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Apr 23 2018, 05:10 PM)
I got this from v2

" 2. Reset Gearbox
Turn off engine, wait all light to dim completely esp the centre dashboard display and after that quickly floor down the accelerator for 15 secs "

Do I need to remove the key from the ignition keyhole after turning off the engine? The mileage display is the last information to turn off. Should I wait until the mileage display turn off or the center information display?

Remove the key and wait everythg light off
jfcheong
post Apr 30 2018, 02:30 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Apr 28 2018, 09:14 PM)
I finally realise how bad/unprofessional is the Peugeot service center. I sent my 408T to Peugeot service center yesterday for inspection and normal service. When I collect my car yesterday in the evening, I was been told that they have performed all the necessary service and repair on defect. Other items are pending for warranty and parts submission which could take 3 months, which I'm fine with it.

One of the service is coolant replacement. I was charged rm125 for coolant and rm120 for labor on coolant replacement. I thought the labor for coolant replacement should be rm24 instead of rm120? Anyone can clarify on this? Alright, the charges is just small matter if they decided to overcharged as long as my car warranty is still valid (QC passed btw). However, I did the engine checking this morning and found out that the coolant was not replaced at all because it is still with green coolant. Peugeot coolant should be blue color and not grass green (the previous owner added green antifreeze). I went to the service center this afternoon to check with the service advisor, he checked and say "come back on Monday we will replace the coolant, and it's free". I was thinking, hey I have paid rm245 for coolant replacement how could you say its free. Anyway let see what would they do on the coming Monday. I'm doubt he meant to say they will refund though.

Another defect I have been complaining is the ventilation/recirculation actuator is not working. They told me they have replaced the motor and did adjustment. Issue rectified my ass, the ventilation never closed and still getting hot air and smells from outdoor. They should just let me know if they can't make it and not telling lie.

I have yet to bring the issue to either their service manager Mr Jason or nasim HQ. I'm still deciding action to be taken next anyway.
Why u need to drain and refill coolant?
jfcheong
post Apr 30 2018, 02:32 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Apr 30 2018, 02:24 PM)
For those who still care, the recycle/recirculation/ventilation button works only if you increase the cabin temperature to the extend where it needs to allow air to go through heater core.

So basically there's no need to turn on that feature everytime you start the car unless you need heater.
Tak faham.. Mind to share more?
jfcheong
post Apr 30 2018, 05:26 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Apr 30 2018, 03:36 PM)
Well for some reason the radiator coolant was green in color. Peugeot SC spotted that and told me it is suppose to be blue, furthermore they told me it is a preventive maintenance for every 1 year or 20k km. I bought the car used with delay/prolong/missed service work and need to reactivate the warranty. Also bought my service and warranty book from HQ at rm53.

Visited the service center just now and get coolant replaced with new blue coolant. Claim another 5L of unopened coolant from the service center since he told me he will replaced it free last week (my understanding is refund as compensation) but end up he meant to say they will do the coolant change which they amiss on last week. What if I'm those people who never pop up the bonnet and check their car? BTW, I also find a slight engine oil overfill for about 8mm above max level.
FYI my coolant is green in color (original from Peugeot SC).

For once I was kena charged for the windscreen shampoo that they added into the washer tank (around Rm10+) without my knowledge. I was pissed and asked them to remove the charge coz I nv authorised that charge. SC claim that is standard SOP from Peugeot and will apply for all cars. I screw them up and down, end up they waive the windscreen shampoo charge.

When I start up my car, I try to spray the washer. THERE IS NOTHING, no shampoo at all. I showed this to the adviser, and screw them like hell.

This is our SC standard.

This post has been edited by jfcheong: Apr 30 2018, 05:31 PM

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0241sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:50 PM