USD/MYR drop, V2

MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 09:06 AM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Sep 19 2015, 09:03 AM)
Hello gurus, this is a good thread to read..

but i just have one question... why do Brunei dollar is higher compared to myr in view of being the same oil producing countries which is affected by the price falling commodities.

where as brunei to sing dollar is at 1:1 appx.

or is it our country fundamentals that are dragging ringgit down?

p/s: still trying to read all the posts here smile.gif
Becos SGD and BND are pegged together.

http://www.nationmultimedia.com/aec/Brunei...r-30208975.html
MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 09:10 AM

18,407 posts

Showtime n dreamer, What is your take on properties in Mysia?

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 19 2015, 09:11 AM
MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 09:19 AM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 18 2015, 03:40 PM)
Hi MGM,.. about the chart, if you say that the level is the same between today and three years ago, then I would say that dividend has not been factored in.

For the REITs in my portfolio, I can tell for certain that the yield has been, on the average, at least 4% per year for the last THREE years, using your frame of time reference. I checked my updated spreadsheet a moment ago, the yield is at 7.98%.

My unrealized capital gain is now at 38%. Let's take a quarter of that, hence at 9.5%, since we are going to use the last three years as the time reference.

So, totalling up the above : 4% + 9.5% = 13% gain.

Had you invested SGD100K into SGREITs three years ago, then : SGD100K + 13% gain = SGD113000 sitting in Singapore now.

If you liquidate and realize your profits by selling-off everything and converting back into the RM, bringing back to Msia to invest more into the ASX, you would have : SGD113000 x 2.98 (conservative exchange rate) = MYR336740 dropping into your bank account.

You would have profited by : MYR336740 - MYR250000 = MYR86740.[SIZE=7]

I have taken very, very conservative figures in my calculation. The profit figure derived above should be higher !

The snag here is : the above calculation is based on my portfolio of REITs and some Dividend Stocks. Not across the board of REITs.
So if your profit is RM100k which if double of mine, I still can live with it.
MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 10:02 AM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 19 2015, 09:41 AM)
MGM,

1) I do not invest in Malaysia.  I believe Malaysia is DOOM.  It will crash and NEVER RECOVER.  The ONLY QUESTION is whether people get their money and asset out of the country before it is too late.

2) I do not know how to invest on properties.

Dreamer
Hope u are not talking down the country, so that u can buy it cheap later. tongue.gif

Like I said I believe our econ will be down but not out.

I believe properties will be more resilient than other assets becos of material cost. I am thinking if the econ is down, I will channel my liquid funds into properties in places popular with tourist for income. Mysia will be an attractive cheap place for foreign tourists esp Sporean. I am also waiting for the confirmation of HighSpeedRail project whether to make use of my land for tourism purposes.
MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 11:06 AM

18,407 posts

Showtime, your advice is more palatable. Will look into all d good feedbacks from here.

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 19 2015, 11:08 AM
MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 09:51 PM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 19 2015, 06:44 PM)
let's recap...! biggrin.gif

the usd strengthening or rm weakening started about a year ago, sometime in oct 2014 when rate was about 3.30.

on 6 jan 2015, a thread emerged on the subject:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3461956

that day, rate had already moved to 3.56.

today, it is 4.20. peak day closing was 4.339 on 8 sep 2015.

so, from a year ago, -27%.
from jan, i.e. 9 months, -18%.

let's not worry about how right or wrong anyone has been or how clever or silly some comments were since jan but spend more time on what has been useful in protecting one's blood sweat and tears rm savings.

i recall some methods thrown out. how useful or useless have they been?

let's not bother with rm denominated methods as there is no fx involved.

my take over the last 1 year:

1. us stocks/etf's - on average, there is zero cap gain, maybe a small loss. plain fx gains, excl transaction costs.

2. sg stocks/reits - stocks probably lower but with fx gains; sg reits not much cap gain but dividends and fx gains.

3. gold - flat in usd, no dividends, fx gain less buy-sell spread.

4. dual currency/foreign currency accounts; usd or sgd cash - pure fx gains less buy-sell spread.

5. european, asian, emerging markets stocks, unit trusts, other funds - pls comment as i hv no idea.

6. what else?

the clear and present danger: all this is not going away anytime soon. it may be only the beginning of a long period of volatility and uncertainty. there is still the fed rate hike issue, china's slowing economy, commodities supercycle at bottom, oil price may fall further, continued currency wars, etc. plus our infamous local politics, of course.

i personally have done a bit of 1 and 2, quite glad i did that. wish i had done more.

for the young with zero savings or debt but plenty of energy, the world is there for you.

for the about to retire, pensioners or wheelchaired, what you have is all you got; lose it, get robbed or get devalued, no one will help you.

even bnm governor has advised us to "adjust".

it is a major and serious issue that impact all of us.

lastly, saying "other countries also affected" does not help, we all already know, no need to dwell on that.
so, pls comment and share yr experience, plans and what not!
Good analysis if it is correct. Looks like mostly from fx gains. thumbup.gif

Btw isn't d 2008 crisis considered as d Global Recession.?

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 19 2015, 09:56 PM
MGM
post Sep 20 2015, 06:54 AM

18,407 posts

bTW AUD, sgd & usd INVESTMENT, which will be a better choice?
In 5 years time my kid will most likely go to one of these countries for tertiary education and spend 500k, although I ask him to aim for scholarship. Oz is very dependent on Commodities, Spore on Asean, CHina n US economies and US is one of the biggest debtor in the world. Would their currencies still be as strong as now in 5 years time, and appreciated another 35% against MYR.

The above post suggested OZ and Spore will be in trouble too, so left with US only?

BTW OT, is it wise to entice a child to study hard to get a scholarship so that 500k will go into his pocket? tongue.gif sign0006.gif

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 20 2015, 07:17 AM
MGM
post Sep 20 2015, 10:01 AM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Sep 20 2015, 09:24 AM)
Don't go to uni..

Tell your son to come out and work.. or get a vocational degree such as technician, electrician or something that pays you well whilst you study.

In no way will he be able to repay you his study loan.

And what's the point of spending 500k only to come out and work for 1.5k salary.. better to take the 500k and start a business straight away..
May be this advice suits your children well but definately not mine, who is already under scholarship in a private school. It will not be a loan to him but a gift. BTW I know my child better than you.
MGM
post Sep 20 2015, 10:58 AM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Sep 20 2015, 10:37 AM)
fair enough.. just make sure you advise him well.

His generation will enter the job force with much lesser work going around. He needs to prepare for it well in advance..
If that is the case earthlings should drastically reduce procreation.
MGM
post Sep 20 2015, 11:02 AM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 20 2015, 10:57 AM)
A very good perspective of someone well-invested in local economy.

MGM,.. you mentioned you have approx. 6%-8% every year. Is the bigger portion of this 6% to 8% from ASX ? I believed you do have a substantial amount in ASX !
Major portion on plantation land, then ASx then EPF. Land price based on transacted market value.
MGM
post Sep 20 2015, 11:05 AM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 20 2015, 11:01 AM)
We are not talking about quantity here, or who has more money here.

Yes, my percentage is more than yours,.. and you can still live with a percentage half of mine. But if you are not diversified adequately, this percentage you are earning is highly at risk, and tends to erode your purchasing power soon.
No that lah, just saying I don't feel lousy earning half as much as you if based on the same amt of investm and I am easily contented. Sorry if I offended you. As for purchasing power, I am currently busy replacing my furniture , aircons, electrical appliances b4 prices go up. Also thinking of changing car.

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 20 2015, 11:08 AM
MGM
post Sep 21 2015, 10:11 AM

18,407 posts

I think dreamer still staying in Malaysia cos of certain reason. Am i right dreamer?
MGM
post Sep 21 2015, 02:12 PM

18,407 posts

By creating a international zone thru reclaimed land along d Tebrau Straits stretching from Changi to Tua with 200k units ave rm5mil each based on d Sentosa Cove idea. That will bring in 1Tril. Would that change d situation?
MGM
post Sep 21 2015, 02:53 PM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 21 2015, 02:17 PM)
Should be one of the factors that make Sgp great. Still,..need to be careful. Look what happened to our Iskandar ?
Iskandar is not an International Zone with tax-free status so not as attractive, thats why somebody is toying with this idea.
MGM
post Sep 21 2015, 03:24 PM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(towar @ Sep 21 2015, 03:21 PM)
the federal gov really gave Singapore a slap in the face by imposing vehicle per-entry fee. singaporeans are the biggest investors/spenders in Johor.
No lah the slaps are mostly on Malaysian working in Spore driving Spore cars(mostly Chinese).

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 21 2015, 03:25 PM
MGM
post Sep 21 2015, 03:36 PM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 21 2015, 03:07 PM)
I fully agrees with this. But I think oil prices will always be below usd30/barrel to suppress shale oil.
don't think so, cos if prolong Saudi will be in deep shit too.

http://www.rt.com/business/217723-saudi-ar...cit-oil-prices/
MGM
post Sep 21 2015, 04:00 PM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 21 2015, 03:51 PM)
The Saudis have reserve which can last them 20+ years. The rest of the world aren't that lucky. So it will be see who will bleed first.
They can increase the price of oil but then the shale will become profitable. Then they need to lower it compete with shale.
But if ME is turned into war zone, situation will reverse. Saudi has started to involve directly in regional conflicts esp Yemen. War cost is scary, 20years reserves can be gone in 5 years.

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 21 2015, 04:02 PM
MGM
post Sep 22 2015, 03:56 PM

18,407 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...lved/?style=biz

Ringgit to recover once 1MDB issues resolved.

So if by yearend !MDB manages to liquidate all its assets and make a small profit (and for getting rid of d financial nightmare), would that change the tide?
MGM
post Sep 24 2015, 07:27 AM

18,407 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 24 2015, 02:42 AM)
this alternative report about hlib is quite different:
such low confidence from an ib, might as well say 3.0 to 5.0! laugh.gif
If 3.55 to 4.20 then next week 1-10-15 onwards highest will be 4.20? Wa so positive. shakehead.gif

Oil also tends to trend upwards during winter in Northern Hemisphere.

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 24 2015, 07:50 AM
MGM
post Sep 25 2015, 07:03 AM

18,407 posts

At the rate MYR is going, I think the govt should implement Capital Control. Currently many biz are affected, esp those who buy in USD and pay in credit, currency exchange loss would have kill the biz if it continues. The 1998 capital control turned out well, didn't it?

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 25 2015, 07:04 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0445sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:27 AM