5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Love & Co, General discussion

Earl9rey
post Dec 18 2015, 11:37 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Dec 18 2015, 11:16 AM)
woah! that's VERY expensive.

I got my loose diamond from Wah Chan (GIA Certified), .5ct, D, VS1, Triple EX for RM8k and then i made the band from Love&Co. The band itself costs RM4k but  it's really worth the price. the workmanship of the ring itself is just great, very wearable.
wah, haha. didn't know can buy the diamond only. My first time buying diamond ring by myself. I heard many people say the love&co workmanship isn't that great compare to the ring they display. is it true? still haven't get my ring yet, so kinda worried. hmm.gif
shaniandras2787
post Dec 18 2015, 02:46 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(Earl9rey @ Dec 18 2015, 11:37 AM)
wah, haha. didn't know can buy the diamond only. My first time buying diamond ring by myself. I heard many people say the love&co workmanship isn't that great compare to the ring they display. is it true? still haven't get my ring yet, so kinda worried.  hmm.gif
yeah, you can buy loose diamonds from them but usually people also go for the ring because most of them bought with a purpose and would prefer not to be hassled with the trouble in shopping elsewhere. their ring is cheap and depending on the weight and design, it should costs you no more than RM800.00 but bear in mind that you can feel the rough workmanship after you have felt the ones from Love & Co.

hearsay can be in many forms. i've got my engagement ring and wedding bands from them and they have not misrepresented to me in any manner whatsoever. the ones on display which i have tried on feels exactly like the ones I've bought, if not, better so yeap, don't worry too much. besides, i trust their professionalism. the salesperson attended to me was very helpful and friendly. I went to the Garden's branch.
lowyatter
post Dec 23 2015, 04:14 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Sep 7 2015, 12:02 AM)
Plan to propose to my gf. Saw a diamond ring in Love&Co, 0.56c ideal cut (Love & Co signature or something, supposedly better than GIA certified diamonds). Full spec below.

0.56c
VS1
H
Round diamond
RM15k including white gold ring.

Is it worth it? Saw this to be the best so far, surveyed Tiffany, Cartier, TSL, DeBeers, Le Lumiere, Habib  rclxub.gif become more confused because I don't see much difference no matter how they try to sell their special / signature diamond. So far Love & Co seems "best" from my very limited experience. But not sure 15k is worth it for the spec?

HCA calculator from pricescope is 1.4 for this particular diamond.

Thanks!
For those who are about to buy diamonds, don't follow this guy.

15k is ridiculously expensive, Love & Co is charging a premium for their "brand".

You can get a good spec 0.5 carat from SK or WC for half the price.
lowyatter
post Dec 23 2015, 04:14 PM

70 posts

*edit*

double post.

This post has been edited by lowyatter: Dec 23 2015, 04:14 PM
Jet23sky
post Dec 24 2015, 09:53 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

To be frankly tell you, getting those diamonds from "KNOWN" brand confirmed will be expensive. They tend to mark up the price due to the "branding". You can try to find those shop who is generally customize the ring, and definitely you can get whatever shape of the ring that you want as long you provide sample to them.

Beginning of the year I bought from a unknown brand in Singapore called JannPaul ( not Love & Co, Tiffany & Co, Goldheart etc ). I bought 0.59c diamond with Class E and VS2 only cost SGD5.9K. Nowadays GIA is quite common for all the diamond, and those vendors usually would avoid those without GIA cause they know that its very hard to sell them off.
Earl9rey
post Dec 29 2015, 05:21 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Dec 24 2015, 09:53 AM)
To be frankly tell you, getting those diamonds from "KNOWN" brand confirmed will be expensive. They tend to mark up the price due to the "branding". You can try to find those shop who is generally customize the ring, and definitely you can get whatever shape of the ring that you want as long you provide sample to them.

Beginning of the year I bought from a unknown brand in Singapore called JannPaul ( not Love & Co, Tiffany & Co, Goldheart etc ). I bought 0.59c diamond with Class E and VS2 only cost SGD5.9K. Nowadays GIA is quite common for all the diamond, and those vendors usually would avoid those without GIA cause they know that its very hard to sell them off.
jannpaul is quite famous actually, many people talking about it. nod.gif was thinking to go jannpaul also, but its a bit not convenient since it was at singapore. sweat.gif
richardchan
post Dec 29 2015, 07:14 PM

try DeGem....is good
MoneyMaker prince
post Jan 22 2016, 05:35 PM

507 posts

I have some questions!

1. I want to buy ring and propose to my gf, but I don't know her finger size, how? Can I walk to any jewellery shop, get the design I want, then ask them to borrow a "sample" ring for the proposal? Later only bring my gf to choose the correct size.

2. Do you guys bring your gf to choose the design before you propose? If No, what if she doesn't likes the design?

3. Do you think the color and clarity important? or as long as the diamond "shine" then is OK? =)

SUSArmata
post Feb 5 2016, 10:14 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Sep 7 2015, 12:02 AM)
Plan to propose to my gf. Saw a diamond ring in Love&Co, 0.56c ideal cut (Love & Co signature or something, supposedly better than GIA certified diamonds). Full spec below.

0.56c
VS1
H
Round diamond
RM15k including white gold ring.

Is it worth it? Saw this to be the best so far, surveyed Tiffany, Cartier, TSL, DeBeers, Le Lumiere, Habib  rclxub.gif become more confused because I don't see much difference no matter how they try to sell their special / signature diamond. So far Love & Co seems "best" from my very limited experience. But not sure 15k is worth it for the spec?

HCA calculator from pricescope is 1.4 for this particular diamond.

Thanks!
expensive if u ask me..for RM15k, u can get higher carat.

but the H color is not recommended.

i would suggest to choose between D ~ F color only. Why? because naked eye can see the color difference when compared to one another..

U can forego clarity if u want...because no one will bring out a magnifying glass to chck ur wife's diamond ring during gathering/meet up.

So the top most important to me is Carat & Color..follow by Cut and Clarity...

Remember if ur wife or her friends are the comparing type, they will put their diamond ring side by side to compare...and once they do that, 2 things will be very obvious, Size (Carat) and Color...anything between stage 2 color (G H I) will show some yellowish to brownish....
Elephant^^
post Feb 6 2016, 04:41 AM

128 posts

thats not true.
limit for naked eye are as following:
colour: H
clarity: S11

obviously the higher grades, the better it is. i am talking about the limit. spend most money on cut!
june_c21
post Feb 10 2016, 03:36 PM

209 posts

Diamond price different by it cutting and clarity .
Same 0.5 c diamond might have different price because of this ..
those that got GIA certified will written everything in the card
wcz
post Mar 1 2016, 10:38 AM

QUOTE(Earl9rey @ Dec 10 2015, 11:19 AM)
end up buy the ring from love & co. first they give 10%, after come 2nd time manage to ask more disc.

0.2 carat only. considering le lumiere as well, around 5k for pair with 0.4 carat, end up with love & co because i prefer the design more.
i was only able to get 10% discount.. u get how many discount after second visit?
Earl9rey
post Mar 1 2016, 06:32 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(wcz @ Mar 1 2016, 10:38 AM)
i was only able to get 10% discount.. u get how many discount after second visit?
Not much disc, only free engraving for both ring. :0
TSphoenixxx
post Mar 1 2016, 11:32 PM

Sesquipedalian hittin' the quasihemdemisemiquaver
1,241 posts

Thx to all who replied, long time I didn't check this thread. Anyway, expensive or not, the deed is done (Sept 2015) so the time to fuss about how overpriced it is is over...

At the end of the day, it's between you and your special someone, but I hope my experience will help you to gauge better quality rings & diamonds for yourselves. smile.gif

If you want to avoid paying a premium for branding, then your shopping should be quite fast based on what others have suggested in this thread.

My mistake was doing this as a last minute decision (2 week before going to Europe), no time to gather sifu insights here....
rubyapple
post Apr 17 2016, 09:57 PM

Hi all.

I want to sell my Hearts & Arrow diamond ring. (Triple excellent)

Weight: 0.36 ct
Colour: D
Clarity: VS1
Cut: excellent
Size: US size 5 (resize-able by buyer)
Metal 18K

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3924518

SUSbudakdegilz
post Jun 18 2016, 04:30 PM

1,138 posts

AOMEI Backupper is the simplest FREE backup software with system/disk/partition/file backups and system/disk clone. http://www.backup-utility.com
mysticalic
post Aug 15 2016, 07:54 PM

Tumpang thread.

Which place is better to get a diamond ring? Love & Co or DeGem or Diamond and Platinum?

Clueless about what my girl will like.
kambingkoh
post Aug 24 2016, 09:56 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(mysticalic @ Aug 15 2016, 07:54 PM)
Tumpang thread.

Which place is better to get a diamond ring? Love & Co or DeGem or Diamond and Platinum?

Clueless about what my girl will like.
Love & Co - Design should be nice, as Love & Co and SK Jewellery belongs to the same company. According to SK salesperson, their bands and ring settings are made in Italy. I took a look at SK's design recently and their ring settings are indeed nice and gives a more contemporary feel. I believe Love & Co should be the same. As far as I know, Love & Co's bands and ring settings are made in Italy as well. Price wise, I am not sure about Love & Co, but for SK, if not mistaken, half a carat with setting should be around 13K, for their True Love. Most of the diamonds of True Love are graded by IGI. Their diamonds are shiny, but they are not really perfect Hearts & Arrows. At least not the sample I saw. But to be fair, other diamond shops may also claim to have diamonds with perfect Hearts & Arrows, but unless they can prove it, I will still take that as a marketing gimmick.

DeGem - Their signature is Lazare diamonds. The salesperson was good enough to show me the difference between a Lazare and a normal GIA diamond that is available in his shop. Price wise is around 13K+ for a 0.42ct, F color, VS1 clarity, Ideal Cut. Lazare is a branded diamond from overseas, hence there is a premium. But truth to be told, although the proportion of how the diamond is cut can be quite strict, it doesn't really guarantee it has an excellent cut, unless proven. To be fair, buying a Lazare can be safer than buying a random diamond because of their stricter process in diamond selection, but if a GIA graded diamond is cut with excellent proportion, they can too shine as nice as Lazare, less the premium. Oh, btw, Lazare diamonds are graded by themselves, not an independent lab.

Diamond and Platinum - Nope, didn't went into that shop to enquire. tongue.gif

So for your question... design wise, I will go for Love & Co. It should be more modern. Brand wise, I will go for Lazare, but should be more expensive.

And if you are clueless about what your girl likes, go for Tiffany & Co. or Cartier. Just top-up budget only bro! thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif

But if you are adventurous, can go and look for diamonds online also. Overall, my personal experience is it is overall cheaper, but you will have to do more work yourself. Do check it out on my blog: http://myengagementringexperience.blogspot.my/ thumbsup.gif

MoneyMaker prince
post Aug 24 2016, 07:13 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 24 2016, 09:56 AM)
Love & Co - Design should be nice, as Love & Co and SK Jewellery belongs to the same company. According to SK salesperson, their bands and ring settings are made in Italy. I took a look at SK's design recently and their ring settings are indeed nice and gives a more contemporary feel. I believe Love & Co should be the same. As far as I know, Love & Co's bands and ring settings are made in Italy as well. Price wise, I am not sure about Love & Co, but for SK, if not mistaken, half a carat with setting should be around 13K, for their True Love. Most of the diamonds of True Love are graded by IGI. Their diamonds are shiny, but they are not really perfect Hearts & Arrows. At least not the sample I saw. But to be fair, other diamond shops may also claim to have diamonds with perfect Hearts & Arrows, but unless they can prove it, I will still take that as a marketing gimmick.

DeGem - Their signature is Lazare diamonds. The salesperson was good enough to show me the difference between a Lazare and a normal GIA diamond that is available in his shop. Price wise is around 13K+ for a 0.42ct, F color, VS1 clarity, Ideal Cut. Lazare is a branded diamond from overseas, hence there is a premium. But truth to be told, although the proportion of how the diamond is cut can be quite strict, it doesn't really guarantee it has an excellent cut, unless proven. To be fair, buying a Lazare can be safer than buying a random diamond because of their stricter process in diamond selection, but if a GIA graded diamond is cut with excellent proportion, they can too shine as nice as Lazare, less the premium. Oh, btw, Lazare diamonds are graded by themselves, not an independent lab.

Diamond and Platinum - Nope, didn't went into that shop to enquire.  tongue.gif

So for your question... design wise, I will go for Love & Co. It should be more modern. Brand wise, I will go for Lazare, but should be more expensive.

And if you are clueless about what your girl likes, go for Tiffany & Co. or Cartier. Just top-up budget only bro!  thumbup.gif  rclxm9.gif

But if you are adventurous, can go and look for diamonds online also. Overall, my personal experience is it is overall cheaper, but you will have to do more work yourself. Do check it out on my blog: http://myengagementringexperience.blogspot.my/  thumbsup.gif
Recently SK launched the Allove series, 10 hearts 10 arrows. I think is nice too.

This post has been edited by MoneyMaker prince: Aug 24 2016, 07:15 PM
kambingkoh
post Aug 25 2016, 09:15 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Aug 24 2016, 07:13 PM)
Recently SK launched the Allove series, 10 hearts 10 arrows. I think is nice too.
Ya, definitely looks nice. I guess I love the ring setting more though. drool.gif It's a pity SK does not do setting for loose diamond.

Anyway, their Group CEO explained here:

Lim explained that they used the brilliant cut as the basis for diamonds and with the Allove, he sees it as just taking it up to the next step. He said the 81-facet is the by-product of diamond cutting as it came about when diamond cutters wanted to break free from all light leakage while optimising the architecture of the diamond and the way is is aligned.

Besides that, Poh Kong also has their own non-standard cut, the Hemera diamond, with 101 facets. blink.gif

And Jann Paul got their 88 facets, 8 hearts 8 arrows, octagon shape (8 sides) diamond... so 'huat'... check it out here. I think they are called D'Amor series. thumbsup.gif

Personally, I will stick to the traditional 57 facets diamond, 58 facets (if include the culet, according to Wikipedia). This is because those materials that I can study online mainly focused on this cut and it is easier for me to shop around. Besides, I am a traditional guy. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Aug 25 2016, 09:52 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0314sec    1.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:34 AM