QUOTE(Spetre @ Feb 22 2017, 01:12 AM)
Draw of luck.For record, only 56% of 7700K has ability to do 5.0GHz+.
6700K would be less and rare.
Source: https://siliconlottery.com/
Skylake/Kaby/Coffee/Comet/Rocket Lake OC V1, Show off your OC here
Feb 22 2017, 06:42 AM
8,711 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan |
QUOTE(Spetre @ Feb 22 2017, 01:12 AM) Draw of luck.For record, only 56% of 7700K has ability to do 5.0GHz+. 6700K would be less and rare. Source: https://siliconlottery.com/ |
Feb 22 2017, 09:49 AM
88 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Penang Island |
Hi all, glad that I found this thread. Just built myself a Core i7-7700K with Asus Z270E motherboard PC. I used Asus ROG forum Kaby Lake overclocking guide.
I was doing this stress test at room temperature last night, ~29'c room temp. I can only achieve 4.7GHz @ 1.29v and stable with 16GB memory XMP to 3200 MHz. Stress test using RealBench v2.43. I started with: i) 1.3v and 4.9GHz it rebooted right away when I ran RealBench. Memory at default 2133MHz. ii) Then 1.3v and 4.8GHz it ran OK, if I memory XMP it to 3200MHz it blue screen during RealBench iii) Then 1.3v and 4.7GHz it ran OK, XMP memory OK, but quite hot when running RealBench, hit 87'C iv) Then down volt to 1.29V with similar setting, temperature ~80'c to 83'c full load. I will follow the guide here to try out other stress test software. Will post some photos this week if time permit. Some question to bro owikh84: 1. owikh84 you have really good overclock results at such a low Voltage. Congrats! And your temperature runs cool too. Can you share with us your cooling solution? I'm using 3 fans as front intake (2 fans from Corsair AIO H100i v2), and another 3 fans as exhaust for hot air (2 at top, 1 at rear). Using Corsair Carbide 400C case. |
Feb 22 2017, 01:08 PM
890 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(tcsee @ Feb 22 2017, 09:49 AM) Hi all, glad that I found this thread. Just built myself a Core i7-7700K with Asus Z270E motherboard PC. I used Asus ROG forum Kaby Lake overclocking guide. For my experience, u need adjust vccio voltage and system agent voltage to stable the overclock ram , I was doing this stress test at room temperature last night, ~29'c room temp. I can only achieve 4.7GHz @ 1.29v and stable with 16GB memory XMP to 3200 MHz. Stress test using RealBench v2.43. I started with: i) 1.3v and 4.9GHz it rebooted right away when I ran RealBench. Memory at default 2133MHz. ii) Then 1.3v and 4.8GHz it ran OK, if I memory XMP it to 3200MHz it blue screen during RealBench iii) Then 1.3v and 4.7GHz it ran OK, XMP memory OK, but quite hot when running RealBench, hit 87'C iv) Then down volt to 1.29V with similar setting, temperature ~80'c to 83'c full load. I will follow the guide here to try out other stress test software. Will post some photos this week if time permit. Some question to bro owikh84: 1. owikh84 you have really good overclock results at such a low Voltage. Congrats! And your temperature runs cool too. Can you share with us your cooling solution? I'm using 3 fans as front intake (2 fans from Corsair AIO H100i v2), and another 3 fans as exhaust for hot air (2 at top, 1 at rear). Using Corsair Carbide 400C case. For the temperature, i have same Celsius when full load , no matter how low my cpu voltage is , i think its time to delid |
Feb 22 2017, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(owikh84 @ Feb 22 2017, 06:42 AM) Draw of luck. Yes , u are right , i check the review and only 3% of 6700k able oc to 5.0ghz , im thinking if im the 3% , heheFor record, only 56% of 7700K has ability to do 5.0GHz+. 6700K would be less and rare. Source: https://siliconlottery.com/ |
Feb 22 2017, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(tcsee @ Feb 22 2017, 09:49 AM) Some question to bro owikh84: I am using a custom watercooling solution as follows:1. owikh84 you have really good overclock results at such a low Voltage. Congrats! And your temperature runs cool too. Can you share with us your cooling solution? I'm using 3 fans as front intake (2 fans from Corsair AIO H100i v2), and another 3 fans as exhaust for hot air (2 at top, 1 at rear). Using Corsair Carbide 400C case. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Looks like this, except that the graphics card is now air-cooled ![]() This post has been edited by owikh84: Feb 22 2017, 09:17 PM |
Feb 25 2017, 01:04 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(tcsee @ Feb 22 2017, 09:49 AM) Hi all, glad that I found this thread. Just built myself a Core i7-7700K with Asus Z270E motherboard PC. I used Asus ROG forum Kaby Lake overclocking guide. I think you have not-so-good chip.I started with: i) 1.3v and 4.9GHz it rebooted right away when I ran RealBench. Memory at default 2133MHz. ii) Then 1.3v and 4.8GHz it ran OK, if I memory XMP it to 3200MHz it blue screen during RealBench iii) Then 1.3v and 4.7GHz it ran OK, XMP memory OK, but quite hot when running RealBench, hit 87'C iv) Then down volt to 1.29V with similar setting, temperature ~80'c to 83'c full load. Here's mine - http://valid.x86.fr/ih396n I use Cooler Master Nepton 240M cooler, fan are 2x JetFlor running at max. Passes OCCT (no AVX) 1 hour Linpack test. Memory is XMP profile at 3200. |
Feb 28 2017, 10:37 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
118 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
arffrhn | i5 6600K | 4.6GHz @ 1.32v | Aorus Z270X Gaming 5 | ID Cooling 240L
![]() Wanted to try pushing further but temps are kinda worrying. Even with 1.32V offset mode voltage, core temps (core 1only, other core floating about 77c max) went up to 82c at the highest. So...yea...any ideas on how to improve temps? Currently rad is on top set to push config. Thanks sifus. This post has been edited by arffrhn: Mar 1 2017, 10:20 AM |
Mar 1 2017, 11:52 PM
33 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Anyone experiencing wrong readings on HWmonitor and CPU-Z?
I set my core voltage to 1.280 in BIOS on manual mode, 4300MHZ (100x43) But when I run stress test at 100% CPU load CPU-Z give 1.3+ to 1.38+ voltage used. |
Mar 2 2017, 07:12 AM
QUOTE(arffrhn @ Feb 28 2017, 10:37 PM) Wanted to try pushing further but temps are kinda worrying. Even with 1.32V offset mode voltage, core temps (core 1only, other core floating about 77c max) went up to 82c at the highest. So...yea...any ideas on how to improve temps? Currently rad is on top set to push config. Thanks sifus. Nice OC, in future please also include a screenshot of the CPU-Z's motherboard tab in order to get listed in the Post #. Sounds like you will need a better cooling. Here's my 6600K @ 4.5GHz @ 1.370v cooled by custom WC of course ![]() QUOTE(cattscratch @ Mar 1 2017, 11:52 PM) Anyone experiencing wrong readings on HWmonitor and CPU-Z? It is normal to have those vCore reading in Windows different from the value set through the UEFI BIOS. I set my core voltage to 1.280 in BIOS on manual mode, 4300MHZ (100x43) But when I run stress test at 100% CPU load CPU-Z give 1.3+ to 1.38+ voltage used. It is different from one board vendor to another. vCore shown in OS-based software is real time and correct one, but the most accurate is of course using a calibrated digital multi-meter (DMM). The differences is also contributed by the level of CPU voltage Load-line Calibration (LLC) you're using. Different LLC level will give you higher vdroop (lower vCore at load) or vdrop (higher vCore when loading). For instance, My 6600K OC 4.5GHz BIOS set 1.35v, LLC 7, but inside Windows CPU-Z reads 1.360v (Idle) and 1.376v (Load). This post has been edited by owikh84: Mar 2 2017, 07:22 AM |
Mar 2 2017, 09:23 PM
[quote=owikh84,Mar 2 2017, 07:12 AM]
Nice OC, in future please also include a screenshot of the CPU-Z's motherboard tab in order to get listed in the Post #. Sounds like you will need a better cooling. Here's my 6600K @ 4.5GHz @ 1.370v cooled by custom WC of course Cannot afford for custom loop. Btw, Here is the pic with mobo tab. ![]() |
Mar 2 2017, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(arffrhn @ Mar 2 2017, 09:23 PM) Cannot afford for custom loop. Btw, Here is the pic with mobo tab. Very nice bro, welcome to the Club This post has been edited by owikh84: Mar 2 2017, 10:49 PM |
Mar 2 2017, 11:25 PM
Mar 3 2017, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 2 2017, 07:12 AM) It is normal to have those vCore reading in Windows different from the value set through the UEFI BIOS. It is different from one board vendor to another. vCore shown in OS-based software is real time and correct one, but the most accurate is of course using a calibrated digital multi-meter (DMM). The differences is also contributed by the level of CPU voltage Load-line Calibration (LLC) you're using. Different LLC level will give you higher vdroop (lower vCore at load) or vdrop (higher vCore when loading). For instance, My 6600K OC 4.5GHz BIOS set 1.35v, LLC 7, but inside Windows CPU-Z reads 1.360v (Idle) and 1.376v (Load). QUOTE(Spetre @ Mar 2 2017, 11:25 PM) Thanks for the replies guys...I appreciate it.So if I want minimum deviation from the manual amount set of 1.280V What level LLC should i set? 1 or 7 ? |
Mar 3 2017, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(cattscratch @ Mar 3 2017, 03:36 PM) Thanks for the replies guys...I appreciate it. Every brand has different LLC behaviour, idle and load voltages.So if I want minimum deviation from the manual amount set of 1.280V What level LLC should i set? 1 or 7 ? I suggest you to try the LLC levels one by one. |
Mar 13 2017, 11:12 AM
3,403 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Hi guys, i overclocked my i7 6700k to 4.5ghz recently with 1.280v and with the h115i corsair. everything is fine with the stresstest using aida64,asus realbench and hwmonitor. but i have some questions for the cpu temp. in aida64 statistic, cpu temp 55c,CAM 60c,asus isuite3 58c, hwmonitor 71c and corsair link 71c as well(temp can go down to 58c and shoot up to 70c and drop again to 65c) ,all under full load.room temp 30c which one should i trust?
after that i turn on msi afterburner to check in game cpu temp and i got around 60c (30-40% cpu load) with Rainbow 6 Siege. i've tried reapply the thermal paste and reseat the pump but no changes. is my temp normal? im a newbie in oc ,sifu sifu pls advice, tq This post has been edited by angel-girl: Mar 13 2017, 11:15 AM |
Mar 13 2017, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(angel-girl @ Mar 13 2017, 11:12 AM) Hi guys, i overclocked my i7 6700k to 4.5ghz recently with 1.280v and with the h115i corsair. everything is fine with the stresstest using aida64,asus realbench and hwmonitor. but i have some questions for the cpu temp. in aida64 statistic, cpu temp 55c,CAM 60c,asus isuite3 58c, hwmonitor 71c and corsair link 71c as well(temp can go down to 58c and shoot up to 70c and drop again to 65c) ,all under full load.room temp 30c which one should i trust? Use Realtemp or Coretemp to monitor core temps, not CPU package temp like certain software.after that i turn on msi afterburner to check in game cpu temp and i got around 60c (30-40% cpu load) with Rainbow 6 Siege. i've tried reapply the thermal paste and reseat the pump but no changes. is my temp normal? im a newbie in oc ,sifu sifu pls advice, tq Here's my 6700K running at 4.5GHz @ 1.312v, cooled by a custom watercooling kit comprising of dual 360 radiators: ![]() |
Mar 14 2017, 02:46 AM
QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 3 2017, 06:37 PM) Every brand has different LLC behaviour, idle and load voltages. I tried each LLC levels from 1-7, all gives similar resultsI suggest you to try the LLC levels one by one. My rig is i7-6700K and Asus z170 Pro Gaming I set my bios to 1.280 VID at 4300MHZ Readings at HWMonitor and CPUID goes from 0.773v at idle to 1.380v at full load. Otherwise current readings usually at 1.320v... My readings never show 1.280v |
Mar 14 2017, 03:55 AM
QUOTE(cattscratch @ Mar 14 2017, 02:46 AM) I tried each LLC levels from 1-7, all gives similar results After doing some research...I have found that you need to switch the adaptive mode and offset values from Auto -> min valueMy rig is i7-6700K and Asus z170 Pro Gaming I set my bios to 1.280 VID at 4300MHZ Readings at HWMonitor and CPUID goes from 0.773v at idle to 1.380v at full load. Otherwise current readings usually at 1.320v... My readings never show 1.280v |
Mar 14 2017, 09:32 AM
3,403 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 13 2017, 09:42 PM) Use Realtemp or Coretemp to monitor core temps, not CPU package temp like certain software. thanks for your reply. so yours full load 70c. what about in game temp?Here's my 6700K running at 4.5GHz @ 1.312v, cooled by a custom watercooling kit comprising of dual 360 radiators: ![]() also does your cpu temp fluctuating? like 50-64c and drop to 49c. |
Mar 14 2017, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(angel-girl @ Mar 14 2017, 09:32 AM) thanks for your reply. so yours full load 70c. what about in game temp? It is normal for temps to jumps around a few C. Usually game will run on lower temps but will still fluctuates a bit not like gpu temps. As voltage is the main cause for cpu temps rise, the logical reasoning imo is because voltage supplied to the core is like a pwm signal that is regulated by the choke. So depending on your mobo, higher end mobo has more phases and more stable volt supply. More stable volt maybe less temp fluctuates. Either way, 70C on full load is nothing to worry about bro.also does your cpu temp fluctuating? like 50-64c and drop to 49c. |
| Change to: | 0.0352sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:10 PM |