Skylake/Kaby/Coffee/Comet/Rocket Lake OC V1, Show off your OC here

cattscratch
post Mar 1 2017, 11:52 PM

33 posts

Anyone experiencing wrong readings on HWmonitor and CPU-Z?

I set my core voltage to 1.280 in BIOS on manual mode, 4300MHZ (100x43)
But when I run stress test at 100% CPU load
CPU-Z give 1.3+ to 1.38+ voltage used.

cattscratch
post Mar 3 2017, 03:36 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 2 2017, 07:12 AM)
It is normal to have those vCore reading in Windows different from the value set through the UEFI BIOS.
It is different from one board vendor to another.
vCore shown in OS-based software is real time and correct one, but the most accurate is of course using a calibrated digital multi-meter (DMM).
The differences is also contributed by the level of CPU voltage Load-line Calibration (LLC) you're using.
Different LLC level will give you higher vdroop (lower vCore at load) or vdrop (higher vCore when loading). For instance,

My 6600K OC 4.5GHz BIOS set 1.35v, LLC 7, but inside Windows CPU-Z reads 1.360v (Idle) and 1.376v (Load).
QUOTE(Spetre @ Mar 2 2017, 11:25 PM)
because the LLC settings u set to auto
Thanks for the replies guys...I appreciate it.
So if I want minimum deviation from the manual amount set of 1.280V
What level LLC should i set? 1 or 7 ?
cattscratch
post Mar 14 2017, 02:46 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 3 2017, 06:37 PM)
Every brand has different LLC behaviour, idle and load voltages.
I suggest you to try the LLC levels one by one.
I tried each LLC levels from 1-7, all gives similar results
My rig is i7-6700K and Asus z170 Pro Gaming

I set my bios to 1.280 VID at 4300MHZ

Readings at HWMonitor and CPUID goes from 0.773v at idle to 1.380v at full load.
Otherwise current readings usually at 1.320v...

My readings never show 1.280v
cattscratch
post Mar 14 2017, 03:55 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(cattscratch @ Mar 14 2017, 02:46 AM)
I tried each LLC levels from 1-7, all gives similar results

Readings at HWMonitor and CPUID goes from 0.773v at idle to 1.380v at full load.
Otherwise current readings usually at 1.320v...

My readings never show 1.280v
After doing some research...I have found that you need to switch the adaptive mode and offset values from Auto -> min value
cattscratch
post Jun 17 2017, 05:29 AM

33 posts

Hi Sifus,

I ran all bench mark and stress test and it passed good.
It is a mild overclock for my kind of rig...most would do 4500Mhz or even 5k with higher voltages.

My question is...everytime I boot up my computer
1 in 5 boot ups...it will not boot up and on AUTO will reBOOT(like pressing the restart button) and then 2nd time will boot up fine.
Only happens once every 5 times I switch on my computer, other 4 times is normal successful boot ups.

Is this ok? Or do I have to increase my voltage a little more for a stable boot up process. Like 100% success rate error free boot up...

cattscratch
post Jun 17 2017, 09:10 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jun 17 2017, 07:02 PM)

What benchmark and stress test did you run?
If those were CPU-intensive benchmark tools such as XTU, Cinebench, Realbench, etc, then I believe CPU voltage shouldn't be an issue here.
It could be a RAM-related issues such insufficient RAM/VCCSA/VCCIO voltages, wrong timing settings etc that your software didn't stress enough RAM.
Did you also experience the same auto reboot issue at default CPU/RAM/etc settings?
Hi owikh84,

I did the Realbench like 5-6 times...
You might be on to something here...it could be the RAM. I hear that there are problems with the Corsair LPX Vengeance series(mine 3000mhz 16gb) with my Asus z170 Pro Gaming boards.
For the RAM overclock i just switched on XMP 2.0. without tweaking anything else...and i remember even before overclocking my CPU, there were some auto reboot instances.

Out of the box, stock configuration 4000mhz + 2333mhz ram = there is no auto reboot
4000mhz + 3000mhz ram = sometimes auto reboot- 1/5
4300mhz + 3000mhz ram = sometimes auto reboot -1/5

Let me try tweaking my RAM configurations...
Any tips ?
cattscratch
post Jun 23 2017, 06:50 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jun 17 2017, 09:30 PM)
Sounds like insufficient voltage issue, specifically the System Agent voltage (VCCSA).
After applying XMP, try increasing it a bit like 1.25-1.35v (depending on strength of your CPU's integrated memory controller AKA IMC).
Weak IMC means you will need to pump more VCCSA.
I gonna try this...
1. Press F5 key while in BIOS to load optimized defaults
2. Press F10 key then OK to save and reboot
3. Choose XMP Ai Overclock Tuner setting while in BIOS
4. Move down to "DRAM Voltage" field then type 1.37 <ENTER>
5. Move to next field "CPU VCCIO Voltage" then type 1.20 <ENTER>
6. Move to next field "CPU System Agent Voltage" then type 1.20 <ENTER>
7. Press F10 key then OK to save and reboot

Repeat steps 4, 5 and 6 above using just the (+) key to increase voltage one press at a time if you still have issues.

Btw anyway to know if the RAM overclocking is stable ? because 4/5 times it will boot successfully, but 1/5 will fail.

0.0319sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:18 PM