Repairing my Dreamcast, Where to go?

TSCompelica
post Nov 19 2006, 09:22 PM, updated 20y ago

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Recently, my uncle gave me his six year old Sega Dreamcast and it's a real classic, I've been wanting to play it. tongue.gif

Unfortunately the console does not power on although I have checked everything, and rechecked again.

Anyone knows where I can get the problem diagnosed and repaired? smile.gif

This post has been edited by colinwong89: Nov 19 2006, 09:23 PM
noisetrigger
post Nov 19 2006, 11:53 PM

687 posts

Forget about it. No more DC parts here. Mine kong like 4 years ago. Sent it to the tech, he says the mainboard fried (very common with DC), cannot fix. I didn't even bother taking it back.

You have better luck finding a used one that works honestly.
TSCompelica
post Nov 20 2006, 01:47 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Just of interest, where did you send your Dreamcast to? tongue.gif
sonic_cd
post Nov 20 2006, 02:08 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

well i had a similar problem last time , same reply, get a second hand wan better . well if u ever go to penang got one or 2 shops in komtar there that might have it .
Gilthoniel
post Nov 20 2006, 03:03 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

good luck in getting it fixed/getting a 2nd hand unit! it's a damn good machine!

Anyway, I have no clue whether my Dreamcast is modded or not... was there such a thing?

I know i had to use a Boot disc, and then the later games didn't need the bootdisc for booting...

now... the thing is, i wanna play different region games... think it's possible? can the boot disc be used to boot different region games?
TSCompelica
post Nov 20 2006, 12:49 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

I'm still new to the Dreamcast scene, although it's quite old... I knew a few games needed the bootdisc, but WHY is my primary concern. smile.gif

Aren't there any shops in Sungei Wang that offer repairs? I don't mind sending it overseas, as long it's not at the other side of the earth tongue.gif I'm sure some company in Asia does it. smile.gif
LiLBoy
post Nov 20 2006, 12:59 PM

319 posts

I want a Dreamcast!!! cry.gif
TSCompelica
post Nov 20 2006, 01:10 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(LiLBoy @ Nov 20 2006, 12:59 PM)
I want a Dreamcast!!! cry.gif
I wish I could get mine working laugh.gif
Gilthoniel
post Nov 20 2006, 02:29 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

i could sell mine off... it might just fetch a premium price tongue.gif

no idea why the earlier games needed a bootdisc

was just playing skies of arcadia last night... man... the dreamcast rocks

This post has been edited by Gilthoniel: Nov 20 2006, 02:30 PM
h3llspawn
post Nov 20 2006, 03:00 PM

If you lookin for a 2nd hand DC try to look around at PJ Old Town. I saw one over there. Priced around $300 plus. I'm not sure whether they could repairs yours though. Good luck. By the way... Skies of Arcadia is one heck of a game!

Gilthoniel
post Nov 20 2006, 03:08 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

RM300 includes what actually? wanna see how much my DC is worth
hehehe
h3llspawn
post Nov 20 2006, 05:25 PM

sorry dun think i hv any info on tat smile.gif i was juz curious tat the shop is selling one so i juz casually asked how much... hehehe. if i happen to be there, i'll enquire it for u.
TSCompelica
post Nov 20 2006, 07:14 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(h3llspawn @ Nov 20 2006, 03:00 PM)
If you lookin for a 2nd hand DC try to look around at PJ Old Town. I saw one over there. Priced around $300 plus. I'm not sure whether they could repairs yours though. Good luck. By the way... Skies of Arcadia is one heck of a game!
Thanks for the tip. smile.gif

By the way, DjiNn's helping me to take a look at my Dreamcast soon. I hope that he can get it repaired. smile.gif
sunauto
post Nov 20 2006, 11:31 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, if you're from Penang, I would have asked you to go to Ace Electronics, Komtar, they can fix any consoles including classing ones like Neo Geo CD. rclxms.gif

You can get a brand new Dreamcast from http://www.gamechoiceclub.com

TSCompelica
post Nov 21 2006, 01:04 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 20 2006, 11:31 PM)
Well, if you're from Penang, I would have asked you to go to Ace Electronics, Komtar, they can fix any consoles including classing ones like Neo Geo CD.  rclxms.gif

Hehe, thanks a lot sunauto! I'll remember to take a look there when I head up to Penang. smile.gif
sonic_cd
post Nov 21 2006, 03:48 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Nov 20 2006, 03:03 AM)
good luck in getting it fixed/getting a 2nd hand unit! it's a damn good machine!

Anyway, I have no clue whether my Dreamcast is modded or not... was there such a thing?

I know i had to use a Boot disc, and then the later games didn't need the bootdisc for booting...

now... the thing is, i wanna play different region games... think it's possible? can the boot disc be used to boot different region games?
mostly the dreamcast is unmodded , though there is one mod chip which eliminates the use of a bootdisc, but very rare ..

Well, if you're from Penang, I would have asked you to go to Ace Electronics, Komtar, they can fix any consoles including classing ones like Neo Geo CD.  rclxms.gif

they even can reapir my old sega saturn .. which is kinda cool considering its age ...
TSCompelica
post Nov 22 2006, 01:45 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Does anyone have the contact number for the company Ace Electronics? smile.gif
shareal
post Nov 22 2006, 02:25 AM

179 posts

yup, they can fix it, and be prepared for a expansive/unbelievable amount they are charging~! vmad.gif (just dont act too stupid and dont act too clever)...just my dua kupang icon_rolleyes.gif
chocobee_2707
post Nov 22 2006, 01:31 PM

782 posts

what is ur dreamcast problem. last time, my dc act like not enough power. when i turn it on, the orange light appear but not bright enough and nothing appear on tv screnn. after that i open up the dc and find the problem with my little knowledge in electronic. i found out the problem coz by the power board connector a bit loose. so i just "sendal" it. and my dc still going strong till today.i dont think it worth to repair ur dc. unless u have alot of money to waste tongue.gif coz the cost should be sky high coz spareparts for dc are very very limited now
TSCompelica
post Nov 22 2006, 04:16 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(chocobee_2707 @ Nov 22 2006, 01:31 PM)
what is ur dreamcast problem. last time, my dc act like not enough power. when i turn it on, the orange light appear but not bright enough and nothing appear on tv screnn. after that i open up the dc and find the problem with my little knowledge in electronic. i found out the problem coz by the power board connector a bit loose. so i just "sendal" it. and my dc still going strong till today.i dont think it worth to repair ur dc. unless u have alot of money to waste tongue.gif  coz the cost should be sky high coz spareparts for dc are very very limited now
Wow, that's real lucky for you. Mine can't even power up at all. sad.gif

0.0208sec    1.03    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:44 AM