Repairing my Dreamcast, Where to go?

sunauto
post Nov 20 2006, 11:31 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, if you're from Penang, I would have asked you to go to Ace Electronics, Komtar, they can fix any consoles including classing ones like Neo Geo CD. rclxms.gif

You can get a brand new Dreamcast from http://www.gamechoiceclub.com

sunauto
post Nov 23 2006, 06:46 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Is there any light on your Dreamcast? It could be your power board, you might probably fried it if you didn't use a stepdown transformer since your Dreamcast is the Japanese version using 110V.

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Nov 22 2006, 05:47 PM)
It's a Japanese Revision 1 console. smile.gif

I opened the Dreamcast, but up to the top cover to check if there was anything odd (I didn't dare go further) but there was nothing. Tried twitching with the switch plugs if there were loose but still no startup. sad.gif
sunauto
post Nov 23 2006, 06:49 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Nah, nonsense, I know them personally, they can fix any consoles, if the repairs are expensive, they'll let you know. You can contact Ah Hin at 016-4815555 or his shop's number is 04-2623707. He many many Dreamcast spare parts including the optical lens, hope you can solve the problem for you. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(shareal @ Nov 22 2006, 02:25 AM)
yup, they can fix it, and be prepared for a expansive/unbelievable amount they are charging~! vmad.gif (just dont act too stupid and dont act too clever)...just my dua kupang icon_rolleyes.gif
sunauto
post Nov 24 2006, 08:28 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

RM170? I think you probably misheard lah, the lens already RM150 only, how can the power board more expensive than the lens itself. rclxub.gif

Alternatively, you can buy the power board yourself from AI Trading Hong Kong, http://www.goldenshop.com.hk and they carry all spare parts for it. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Nov 23 2006, 09:14 PM)
Just gave Ah Hin a call. He said that the power board is most probably faulty, and quoted me RM170. sad.gif

Maybe I misheard. tongue.gif
This post has been edited by sunauto: Nov 24 2006, 08:29 PM

0.0178sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:50 AM