Any guppy fans here?, come come come

Roman Catholic
post Dec 12 2019, 08:17 PM

3,520 posts

Hi guppy fanciers,

What would you recommend for guppy fry ?

1. Brine Shrimps (Artemia) ; OR

2. Micro pellets ?

tehoice
post Feb 12 2020, 02:53 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Dec 12 2019, 08:17 PM)
Hi guppy fanciers,

What would you recommend for guppy fry ?

1. Brine Shrimps (Artemia) ; OR

2. Micro pellets ?
brine shrimps all the way. self hatch type.
Roman Catholic
post Feb 15 2020, 04:55 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 12 2020, 02:53 PM)
brine shrimps all the way. self hatch type.
Bro., thank very much for replying. If you could post some pictures of your setup and how do you do it, which brand are you using in Malaysia etc, I would really appreciate it. I am trying to understand more about this artemia stuff. TQVM Sifu. 😊
tehoice
post Feb 16 2020, 10:56 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 15 2020, 04:55 PM)
Bro., thank very much for replying. If you could post some pictures of your setup and how do you do it, which brand are you using in Malaysia etc, I would really appreciate it. I am trying to understand more about this artemia stuff. TQVM Sifu. 😊
i stopped breeding guppies for a while now already, at least 2 years plus already. you could dig some of my old posts, i believe i do posted quite some pictures before.

the artemis brine shrimp we import from taiwan, can't remember the brand, but i bought for around RM150 to 160 per tin, about 425g, can last me for about 3-4 months each tin.
Roman Catholic
post Feb 17 2020, 12:05 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 16 2020, 10:56 PM)
i stopped breeding guppies for a while now already, at least 2 years plus already. you could dig some of my old posts, i believe i do posted quite some pictures before.

the artemis brine shrimp we import from taiwan, can't remember the brand, but i bought for around RM150 to 160 per tin, about 425g, can last me for about 3-4 months each tin.
You must have went to great lengths until Taiwan but why did you stop ?
Roman Catholic
post Feb 17 2020, 12:22 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ Sep 9 2017, 08:33 PM)
Check the attachment below. And then maybe decide which one you really want?
I am just beginner myself in this guppy, but if not mistaken, the "tuxedo" lines are quite cheap, and also maybe some "mosaic"
Wow the attachment looks fantastic.

I wish the poster, hopefully there is one, included the female fish next to the male fish. Females are really pretty too.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 17 2020, 12:23 AM
tehoice
post Feb 17 2020, 09:17 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 17 2020, 12:05 AM)
You must have went to great lengths until Taiwan but why did you stop ?
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 17 2020, 12:22 AM)
Wow the attachment looks fantastic.

I wish the poster, hopefully there is one, included the female fish next to the male fish. Females are really pretty too.
it's taking up too much of my time. i spent on average about 2 hours everyday for the water change, hatching and feeding of fishes.

also, i'm now breeding caridina shrimps instead =)

there are still plenty of guppies breeders around, my friends are still in this. only if you are interested.

prices varies from 30-50 a pair up to 300 a pair, depending on grades.

Roman Catholic
post Feb 17 2020, 12:06 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 17 2020, 09:17 AM)
it's taking up too much of my time. i spent on average about 2 hours everyday for the water change, hatching and feeding of fishes.

also, i'm now breeding caridina shrimps instead =)

there are still plenty of guppies breeders around, my friends are still in this. only if you are interested.

prices varies from 30-50 a pair up to 300 a pair, depending on grades.
Oh ok I understand.

I am trying to setup an automatic water change system, so that I can spend more time enjoying the fishes than having to deal with the water instead.

Caridina shrimps for guppies too ? I would still like to learn more about brimp shrimp hatching and the best model to copy.

Later I might want to meet up with your friends but let me settle the entire breeding system first. Without a proper system setup and with more and more guppies babies on the way, I am already running out of space !!! Tahi already mahu jatuh, sekarang lintang pukang cari jamban.

LOL

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 17 2020, 12:07 PM
Roman Catholic
post Feb 17 2020, 09:10 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Dec 18 2017, 02:17 PM)
suggest you not to get rojak guppies from the LFS, instead get those rejected ones from home breeders.

the guppies in LFS are often already sick, carrier, etc...
Sifu, what is LFS ?
tehoice
post Feb 17 2020, 10:52 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 17 2020, 12:06 PM)
Oh ok I understand.

I am trying to setup an automatic water change system, so that I can spend more time enjoying the fishes than having to deal with the water instead.

Caridina shrimps for guppies too ? I would still like to learn more about brimp shrimp hatching and the best model to copy.

Later I might want to meet up with your friends but let me settle the entire breeding system first. Without a proper system setup and with more and more guppies babies on the way, I am already running out of space !!! Tahi already mahu jatuh, sekarang lintang pukang cari jamban.

LOL
yeah, automatic wc system is way to go if you wanna breed guppies. as for the brine shrimp hatching stuff, you can try youtube, i learn from there too last time.

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 17 2020, 09:10 PM)
Sifu, what is LFS ?
LFS = local fish store.
dannyw
post Nov 24 2020, 02:41 PM

1,286 posts

Guppy sifu,

I have 1 small tank of guppies which about 1 month the fish is nice and quite active.

Last 2 days, they not so active and die 1.

Possible due to i change new fish food or raining season, temperature go down?

Any master can advice?
Eugene91
post May 2 2021, 12:27 AM

6,109 posts

Hi sifus,

I'm a newb to fishes.

My question is it possible to breed a pure strain gold/black moscow/blue moscow male guppy with a regular female guppy? Wonder what does each strain look like breeding with a regular female?
dragon5255
post Aug 22 2021, 12:57 PM

45 posts

Hi all. Questions about water conditioner Tension Gon. I use 1mL of Tension Gon for my 15Litre tank. Do I need to use it daily or during water change only ya? Thank you 🙏🏻🐭

My guppies 👇🏻

muvinz
post Aug 29 2021, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(dragon5255 @ Aug 22 2021, 12:57 PM)
Hi all. Questions about water conditioner Tension Gon. I use 1mL of Tension Gon for my 15Litre tank. Do I need to use it daily or during water change only ya? Thank you 🙏🏻🐭

My guppies 👇🏻

i'm not sifu , but u use it only water change. dont change 100% water. can watch guides for fishies in youtube. i recommend Aquarium Co-Op
jaswwp
post Sep 4 2021, 06:54 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Hi anyone keeping guppy outdoors in a pot or box? Im doing that but they keep dying. I saw in YouTube some people kept like that also, not sure what is the cause.

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 6 2021, 11:08 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Sep 4 2021, 06:54 PM)
Hi anyone keeping guppy outdoors in a pot or box? Im doing that but they keep dying. I saw in YouTube some people kept like that also, not sure what is the cause.

Check. The water condition.

Chlorine poisoning?
Ammonia spike ?

Try to put gravels , to encourage growth of good bacteria.
tauke9955 P
post Sep 23 2021, 11:26 PM

Probation

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 6 2021, 11:08 AM)
Check. The water condition.

Chlorine poisoning? 
Ammonia spike ?

Try to put gravels , to encourage growth of good bacteria.
need add bubbler?
tauke9955 P
post Sep 23 2021, 11:32 PM

Probation

QUOTE(dragon5255 @ Aug 22 2021, 12:57 PM)

My guppies 👇🏻

https://pictr.com/images/2021/08/22/BUvD1P.md.jpg

how do you keep your plant so healthy? is fertiliser needed?
stevenX
post Oct 18 2021, 02:07 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Sep 4 2021, 06:54 PM)

im also outdoor + solar oxy pump
last time didnt have oxy, only buy recently after they deliver bunch of baby

they sometime swim up to the floating tank ..

This post has been edited by stevenX: Oct 18 2021, 02:09 PM
jesse
post Oct 18 2021, 08:05 PM

85 posts

Hi! I'm a newbie to keeping guppy as a hobby... recently caught some guppies and would like to keep them in a proper aquarium. Someone gave me an old aquarium they are not using anymore and I notice a crack at the bottom of the aquarium. It's not leaking at the moment... Is there anything I should do to prevent the crack from getting bigger? Any advice would be much appreciated!

This post has been edited by jesse: Oct 18 2021, 08:11 PM

95 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 >Top

0.0227sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:24 PM