Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

stimix
post Nov 1 2010, 10:18 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

aeiou, when are you going? will definitely look for you for more tips after your trip.

Get use to your latest garmin maps dy?

Anyway..Too bad can't find any free updated S Korea Garmin maps & even Nokia ovimaps dun support S Korea..sigh.
stimix
post Nov 1 2010, 10:43 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah haven't book any rooms yet..thinking of getting those motels as mentioned by Huiyin & other..budget ~ 40K won/ nite/room.

1st batch AA flying off Today..I think so..so expecting more reviews soon haha
stimix
post Nov 1 2010, 11:44 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I saw a link to lotsa motels in Korea but forgotten to bookmark dy..something like innosotel or someting..really can get good bargain to all motels there...do google & let me know..not in the mood to search for hotel yet till mid this mth haha
stimix
post Nov 2 2010, 11:31 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

yeah this the one tnx rclxms.gif
QUOTE(atah @ Nov 2 2010, 11:27 AM)
here's the link again:

http://innostel.visitseoul.net/en/

quite a good choices here. good price also.
stimix
post Nov 4 2010, 05:23 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Phewww.. atlast only 1mth ++ and now only now booked the hotel haha..

Comparing innostel & Agoda..decided on agoda- cheaper! Got Namsan Park hotel for ~RM667 for 4 nites. If using innostel ~ RM200/nite. Very near to Nandaemun & also mere ~200m walking from MRT.

However Agoda really having less choices on budget motels...Was thinking of Kara too due to the location to all the historic palaces but having diff weekend rates & also the fact that it was labelled as Love motel..
stimix
post Nov 6 2010, 12:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

That's why I dun trust tour guide/agent,s Paying for bringing you to those time wasting soubenirs, gems stores & etc mad.gif
QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Nov 6 2010, 04:52 AM)
Yeah for my tour I also have to do tipping for about rm90 per pax.
stimix
post Nov 8 2010, 11:01 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Sure-kah? I thought they earn basic salary too in addition to the ridiculous tipping at the end of journey..I always pissed off wth such arrangement esp you pay in advance for the guided tour and yet at the end still pay for the ridiculous tips.. That's why I never trust those agents. sad.gif
QUOTE(amykr88 @ Nov 7 2010, 11:11 AM)

tipping because the guide dont work with salary... they earn from tipping one oh~
stimix
post Nov 8 2010, 11:16 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The last I used travel agent was ~ 1998 thereafter all DIY or Free- and easy without guides.. I hate them for bringing me to those time wasting & stupid souvenirs. gems stores & etc..& furthermore need to pay tips at the end of the trip although already paid in advance in M'sia..even if they said tips is included, those foreign guide still asking at the end of the trip!! mad.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 8 2010, 11:17 AM
stimix
post Nov 8 2010, 12:47 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Too long to remember liao..probably got cheated.not by M'sian agent probably those guides in Foreign country..purposely asked although already paid..the last via Reliance..

Anyway, after trying backpacking style/ DIY, I feel more relax & spending more times at attractions that attracted me more rather than limited 1/2 hr here, 1 hr here thingy..I remembered went to HK Ocean park and only managed to que up for the roller coaster & the dophin/killer whales performance and have to rushed back to the bus dy..haizz....By DIY, you can stay as long as you want if the attraction interest you or even skip the attractions that you do not want to go..yeah those gems store, drug stores & etc
stimix
post Nov 9 2010, 09:03 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

you probably still getting rooms there if you dun book in advance but remember you are going there during winter and you do not want to go in/out many times to shop or look for motels during that time kua?

Therefore booking in advance is a good option although it might be abit expensive due to agency fees & etc imposed by those online booking sites.

Well..I was thinking of doing what you're thinking but decided to book in advance after thinking of the heavy luggage & also walking in freezing temperature...That's why I choose hotel just 100-200 m away from MRT..haha
stimix
post Nov 9 2010, 10:02 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I booked Namsan Park Hotel..The so called historic Hotel..abit old, not so spacious & dull but just right at the corner of MRT station and walking distance to both Nandaemun & Myundong shopping district and right at the foot of Namsan park/N Tower.

If you are spending your Holiday roaming around & only stay in the hotel to sleep and not going to enjoy hotel facilities such as swimming pool/gym & etc..a simple motel room wth clean shower & bed will do..No need those star rated hotels

Only few rooms left in AGoda. - so far the cheapest..You gcan get iot from innostel site too but abit expensive

This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 9 2010, 10:14 AM
stimix
post Nov 9 2010, 02:22 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Mind also list down your expenses & how much you exchange earlier that leads to the balance..
stimix
post Nov 9 2010, 02:33 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Winter started liao...well Too early this year kua..should be ~20/11
stimix
post Nov 9 2010, 03:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

geee. u are damn fast..how much he offer you? 2.80?
stimix
post Nov 9 2010, 03:29 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Cool..So RM 2K enuf liao..tnx...Instead of limousine bus, I'm thinking of taking the airport train to Gimpo & switch to subway...Dunno viable or not as I sked the bus will stop somewhere far from my hotel whereas..via subway only 200m walk away wor..
stimix
post Nov 9 2010, 03:35 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

All sites almost simialr lah only +-2 degree diff. Even PJ & KL sometime having diff spot temp depending on rain & wind mah..

Here's Today - 7C high & low 2C. last week touching sub zero but heated up now...
http://www.wunderground.com/global/stations/47117.html
QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 9 2010, 03:32 PM)
can somebody please confirm me the current temperature and weather at seoul?

so many sources, so many different forecasts. above posts stated start to snow some more. damn. rclxub.gif dunno my clothing enough or not. @@
stimix
post Nov 9 2010, 04:24 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Almost there what diff of 2-3C...can't be so accurate...Even at 13C I already beh tahan liao what about sub 10C?

aeiou..I edited your youtube white screen liao biggrin.gif
QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 9 2010, 03:46 PM)
this is the one i found

http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/busi...om=search_10day

even more accurate one, telling you the current weather:

http://web.kma.go.kr/eng/weather/forecast/current_korea.jsp

i just asked my fren. her mum staying at seoul. her mum said very very cold. oh mai. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

and yes, it has already started snowing. just confirmed with my fren. weee..can see snow liao..  rclxm9.gif
This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 9 2010, 04:26 PM
stimix
post Nov 9 2010, 04:29 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Learn it from here:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=35757776

Wah really so early snowing liao..Autumn snow pulak...
stimix
post Nov 9 2010, 04:52 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah me too undecided..and yes the luggages are the main concern.. I dun think much diff bcos that airport train to Gimpo also not cheap but they suppose to operate to Seoul by year end..now already year end wor hmm.gif

Problem wth bus, they stopped probably at Myeondong but you will having problem on the exact location. Thereafter probably need to take taxi to the hotel which probabloy just 400m away & they probably did the same thing as what KL taxi did..round & round b4 stopping at the hotel or telling you can't find the hotel hmm.gif sad.gif
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 9 2010, 04:40 PM)
Thank you Stimix. I undecided to take train or limo bus from airport to downtown.
Any sifu knows how to calculate the cost of taking Airport train+MRT to say Myeongdon area ?
Will the train ride in underground thru out the whole journey ?

I would prefer Limo Bus because if taking train, one have to carry the luggers up and down to switch/transfer lines few times in order to reach the downtown destination.

Added on November 9, 2010, 4:56 pmYeah me thinking of same arrangement. but the big luggage.. sad.gif

If I can find any rate at 2.80 now in KL...no need to change to US$ liao...bcos the market rate now ~ 2.75. biggrin.gif ..Yeah those just back from Korea..Do check the exchange rate at the airport ..appreciate your help hor notworthy.gif
QUOTE(atah @ Nov 9 2010, 04:48 PM)
i'll be taking airport express to gimpo and then subway to seoul. u can get the price from korea tourism website (link below), quite interactive. just click on the stations and it will calculate the cost and also travel time. good for planning a swell.

http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/ena/TR/TR_EN_5_1_4.jsp

Added on November 9, 2010, 4:50 pm

ya but maybe the seller is giving a good rate smile.gif

anyway anyone in korea now? if the local exchange rate is > 1050 won per USD, then it's worth to change to USD here first.
This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 9 2010, 04:56 PM
stimix
post Nov 9 2010, 10:17 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

You really need a down jacket at this time. Others like fleeces or wool sweater..I think you need to wear additional layers + long John liao

18 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:19 PM