125 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

j3ffm0n
post Nov 16 2010, 08:09 PM

SooYoungie
598 posts

i've tried soju and nothing special if you ask me... would like to try makgeolli instead biggrin.gif
SSJBen
post Nov 16 2010, 08:21 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Nov 16 2010, 08:05 PM)
Now u guys make me feel like backpacking instead of following tour,after all the diff diff things u guys said that is not inside my itinerary.
Backpacking is the way to go. biggrin.gif
My first time to Korea was pretty much through backpacking, travelling alone.

You'll feel really, really warm when you ask for help properly.
It's a good feeling.
zstan
post Nov 16 2010, 09:23 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 16 2010, 07:45 PM)
Zstan,

Easy to find money changes in town area ?
The trees still gold colour or barren now ?
Where to find street foods night market like those in Taiwan ?
What is the turn around time to exit from immigration (arrival) ?
should be la. seen quite a lot in those tourist areas. biggrin.gif

trees are now..yellow..red..brown..etc.. as far as i know of its Dongdaemun night market la..turn around time? means? the time to clear immigration? for me i waited 5 minutes. my muslim colleague was suspected as a terrorist and got detained for awhile. laugh.gif

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 16 2010, 08:21 PM)
Backpacking is the way to go. biggrin.gif
My first time to Korea was pretty much through backpacking, travelling alone.

You'll feel really, really warm when you ask for help properly.
It's a good feeling.
a bit hard to ask if you dunno any korean. =/

Added on November 16, 2010, 9:31 pmfrom my latest blog post biggrin.gif :

Yo people I am back from Seoul after a 5 day 3 nights trip. =D

As a mini summary for my trip, let's start of with the weather.

During the first day, weather was still fine and as the days go on, it gets colder and colder, need few layers of clothes but that's just me. Those koreans have no problems walking around in a jacket and t-shirt or mini skirt. Its also quite dry so lip balm is helpful in this situations.

The food here is not too bad. Don't know how to appreciate the kimchi though. Nothing we can't find in Malaysia. Price of food is not that cheap, even an ice cream can cost RM9 and 3 piece KFC about RM24 after conversion. Having said that, most of the things here are pricey lol. A note to Muslim people though, almost everything here is non-halal. So if you are close minded, there's really nothing much for you to eat.

The restaurants there are not like Malaysia. Here they serve a variety of food and drinks whereas in Korea, if that shop sells dumpling noodles, that's all you are going to get. And only ice water or alcohol to go with. No teh ice, kopi ice, apple juice etc.

Do note that if you buy food from the side stalls during your journey, that the nearest rubbish bin is quite hard to find. Preparing a small bag for rubbish would be helpful. And there aren't many chairs around either, be it the streets or shopping malls. Well, i guess Malaysia is the only country with chairs & rubbish bins everywhere in shopping centres. Even singapore also don't have. =D

Speaking about shopping centres, they are all quite specialised and some, cramped. If these place sells clothing, the whole area around also sells clothing. Clothings & accessories here(not branded) are very cheap here. Should sapu a few to bring back.

The buildings here are also quite compacted. Its hard to find linked houses in the city unlike Petaling Jaya where houses are abundant. They usually live in high rises or cramped houses. Not forgetting to mention that Seoul has A LOT of SLOPES. That's why all so slim one. =/ The

Last but not least is the people. Generally i find Malaysians a bit more polite. Language wise, their level of english is reaaaaaaally bad. Very hard to communicate. Its best if you translate all the important words and places that you want to go before heading out to the wild. There are many things to see at the back alleys. So don't just focus on the stuff beside the main road.

Some teaser pictures if you missed them earlier:

Night view of Seoul City

Korean Money.

Sexy Hot Male & Female Dancers

This post has been edited by zstan: Nov 16 2010, 09:31 PM
SSJBen
post Nov 16 2010, 09:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Emm about the part of Koreans.. generally, if you speak to Koreans in english directly... they'll end up sounding rude to you, and in some cases, looking rude too.
But don't get the idea wrong, it is infact they're very shy when speaking english.
They're simply not comfortable doing it.
They give you the "ah.. go ask someone else" face, completely normal really. laugh.gif

So.. it's not that they're rude... the way they speak english is just a wrong impression of how they want to help, which they do end up sounding rude then.
zstan
post Nov 16 2010, 10:03 PM

15,856 posts

hmm..not about the way they talk..there are few occasions like..if i ask something more..they get annoyed(and these people are hotel staffs)..and then when me n my other friends are queuing up at the counter..they will start 'tsk tsk tsk'..er u get what i mean?

anyway, can't generalise la. there are rude malaysians as well. biggrin.gif
SSJBen
post Nov 16 2010, 10:15 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 16 2010, 10:03 PM)
hmm..not about the way they talk..there are few occasions like..if i ask something more..they get annoyed(and these people are hotel staffs)..and then when me n my other friends are queuing up at the counter..they will start 'tsk tsk tsk'..er u get what i mean?

anyway, can't generalise la. there are rude malaysians as well. biggrin.gif
Haha I get what you mean.
I've seen alot of foreigners being treated that way too.
Very common.

Don't let that shy you away from visiting the country again... I'll bring you around next time! smile.gif
zstan
post Nov 16 2010, 10:23 PM

15,856 posts

you from korea? haha. see when next air asia got promo again. really need a local guide la.

that day i ask two korean guys where's dongdaemun market they dunno point me go where.

end up got lost walking under super cold conditions still can't find. mega_shok.gif
SSJBen
post Nov 16 2010, 10:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 16 2010, 10:23 PM)
you from korea? haha. see when next air asia got promo again. really need a local guide la.

that day i ask two korean guys where's dongdaemun market they dunno point me go where.

end up got lost walking under super cold conditions still can't find. mega_shok.gif
Naw.. I work there, travel back and forth to Korea quite frequently these days.
Right now in Malaysia... holidays.

Haha they won't know how to point where to go, because the Koreans now a days all rely on the subway and public transports.
They just remember the number of the buses and subway trains, how they arrive there they ain't have the slightest clue most of the time.

Not all of em'... but many youngsters (even middle-aged men and women also influenced like that already) now a days are like that, especially in the Seoul area.

So you gotta ask em' which train/bus to take instead.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 16 2010, 10:47 PM
zstan
post Nov 16 2010, 10:53 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 16 2010, 10:45 PM)
Naw.. I work there, travel back and forth to Korea quite frequently these days.
Right now in Malaysia... holidays.

Haha they won't know how to point where to go, because the Koreans now a days all rely on the subway and public transports.
They just remember the number of the buses and subway trains, how they arrive there they ain't have the slightest clue most of the time.

Not all of em'... but many youngsters (even middle-aged men and women also influenced like that already) now a days are like that, especially in the Seoul area.

So you gotta ask em' which train/bus to take instead.
ohhh..you are in seoul? wa..so majority don't have sense of direction? rclxub.gif cause i asked them where's the market they still need bring out gps..and point wrong way some more doh.gif

taxi is relatively cheap also. faster and less hassle.
SSJBen
post Nov 16 2010, 11:16 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 16 2010, 10:53 PM)
ohhh..you are in seoul? wa..so majority don't have sense of direction? rclxub.gif  cause i asked them where's the market they still need bring out gps..and point wrong way some more  doh.gif

taxi is relatively cheap also. faster and less hassle.
I'm more in Busan actually... but I do go to Seoul often.
Yea, many don't have sense of direction. Always GPS, GPS GPS... I'm not native also know the roads better than the natives there. doh.gif

Yea taxi is pretty cheap, public transports are very convenient anyways.

So yea, a note for those whose going... if you really need to ask which way to go, ASK FOR THE NUMBER OF THE TRANSPORT (EITHER BUS OR SUBWAY) AND WHERE TO GET OFF instead.
For example in Korean, you wanna ask how to go to dongdaemun you say: 잠깐만요, 동대문에 가고싶어요. 몃본 기차를 탈께요? jamnkanmanyo, dongdaemon-eh kagosipoyo. myeot bon gicha-reul tal-eulkkeyo?

Just keep it short and simple, koreans will understand you easier that way.
But yea like zstan say, suggest to taxi if you can.
The subways are like a mess of zombified workers during the rush hours, damn uncomfortable.
stimix
post Nov 16 2010, 11:24 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

can we shorten to "Dongdaemun seyo" ...That's what I think they can understand kua,,haha
SSJBen
post Nov 17 2010, 01:50 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 16 2010, 11:24 PM)
can we shorten to "Dongdaemun seyo" ...That's what I think they can understand kua,,haha
No... not really.
It is as good as a stranger coming up to you and saying "Hey excuse me, KLCC."

You tell me how you gonna answer... XD
Probably you'd get it after a few questions and what not.
Unlike english, you gotta be a lil' bit more specific than that. smile.gif
sfwong1
post Nov 17 2010, 02:15 AM

456 posts

wah,ssjben what are u working as have to travel back and forth between msia and korea.
Jason
post Nov 17 2010, 05:32 AM

6,354 posts

reporting live from Incheon airport now..

buying 1RM = 390.56
selling 1RM = 327.71

i'm confused.. if i give them RM, i am selling and they are buying.. no? why they buy from me at high price and sell at low price..making loss? are koreans stupid or they mixed up the term

This post has been edited by Jason: Nov 17 2010, 05:32 AM
stimix
post Nov 17 2010, 09:24 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wah the xchange rate really not to market..just compare to this Shinhan bank:
buying 366.8 selling 359.54

http://www.visitseoul.net/en/info/exchange...4007002007&p=07

Meaning no point bringing US$ there also..bad xchange rate at the airport

BTW, you got it wrong liao..meaning is

If you wanna buy Won, for every RM1, they will sell you 327 won..and if you wanna convert bck to RM, they will buy the won from you at every 390 won give you back RM1..meaning slaughtering people liao..Hope you can report on the US$ instead bcos RM probably badly traded in Korea.
aeiou228
post Nov 17 2010, 09:41 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Nov 17 2010, 05:32 AM)
reporting live from Incheon airport now..

buying 1RM = 390.56
selling 1RM = 327.71

i'm confused.. if i give them RM, i am selling and they are buying.. no? why they buy from me at high price and sell at low price..making loss? are koreans stupid or they mixed up the term
That work out to be 1000won=RM3.05 in Malaysian money changers.
koinibler
post Nov 17 2010, 09:51 AM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 16 2010, 07:25 PM)
bro.
i just reached malaysia today 5.30am. can give me some time?  sweat.gif  no i didnt go theme park. go there means one day gone.
sorry bro, that many super informative post thinking that you've been here for several days already..
but still good its? make you urge to write thinking there're a lot of member who not patience enough drool.gif to wait for your post(or a new post)

zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 12:17 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 17 2010, 09:41 AM)
That work out to be 1000won=RM3.05 in Malaysian money changers.
all in all, its still cheaper to change in Malaysia la. nod.gif

QUOTE(koinibler @ Nov 17 2010, 09:51 AM)
sorry bro, that many super informative post thinking that you've been here for several days already..
but still good its? make you urge to write thinking there're a lot of member who not patience enough  drool.gif  to wait for your post(or a new post)
haha. there got free wifi at those tourist areas ma..so can online lo..wait la later one more post..
icun_94
post Nov 17 2010, 01:06 PM

13 posts

Guys, I really need favor rite now. Just dunno where n how to start. Ok, like dis, dad planned to vacate in korea(South Korea) on coming Christmas, so what's the best of korea? If possible, I need to know place of interest , etc.. Thanks in advance. Fyi, I oredi know some place for entertainment like, Lotte World, and Everland only.. Btw, we gonna stay der for like 5 nights and back to M'sia and go to Australia. Thanks brothers n sisters.
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 01:11 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(icun_94 @ Nov 17 2010, 01:06 PM)
Guys, I really need favor rite now. Just dunno where n how to start. Ok, like dis, dad planned to vacate in korea(South Korea) on coming Christmas, so what's the best of korea? If possible, I need to know place of interest , etc.. Thanks in advance. Fyi, I oredi know some place for entertainment like, Lotte World, and Everland only.. Btw, we gonna stay der for like 5 nights and back to M'sia and go to Australia. Thanks brothers n sisters.
read from page 1.

125 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:25 AM