Social Anxiety

SUSSadSoul
post Aug 21 2015, 09:52 PM, updated 10y ago

273 posts

Hi guys,

I think I have a mild condition of social anxiety.

I dislike being around strangers and people I can't click with.

I feel exhausted easily from social events. It feels like work for me to communicate with people.

I'm quite selective in talking with people.Some people I feel ok while some I don't

I tend to be overly self- conscious . Afraid of what Im saying will hurt that person or might not be up to their expectation.

I would say I behave differently around diff people.

AM I normal?
il0ve51
post Aug 21 2015, 09:58 PM

1,054 posts

i am also same type person, only click with people i want.
unless is work related, or else i will avoid whenever possible
Killerjeff88
post Aug 23 2015, 11:03 AM

Climb, Lift, Dance, Sing, Cook, Eat, Play, Sleep
602 posts

QUOTE(SadSoul @ Aug 21 2015, 09:52 PM)
Hi guys,

I feel exhausted easily from social events. It feels like work for me to communicate with people.

I'm quite selective in talking with people.Some people I feel ok while some I don't

I tend to be overly self- conscious . Afraid of what Im saying will hurt that person or might not be up to their expectation.

AM I normal?
Totally understand ur feeling being introverts.
I had it last time.
Then my courage builds up as I speak to more people.
Takes time but dont shy away from trying to know more of ppl when meeting new faces.
SUSSadSoul
post Aug 23 2015, 12:56 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(Killerjeff88 @ Aug 23 2015, 11:03 AM)
Totally understand ur feeling being introverts.
I had it last time.
Then my courage builds up as I speak to more people.
Takes time but dont shy away from trying to know more of ppl when meeting new faces.
I've been having this problem since small.
I talk to alot of people.
But I still have this problem.
mists29
post Aug 23 2015, 02:22 PM

61 posts

don't worry there are so many ppl out there like you.

I'm glad i overcame it, socialize with people can be very fun, if you're talking with the right person.

my advice is, practice to start a conversation(i'd prefer to ask smtg abt him/her), don't wait. don't be shy, if you're afraid of eye contact, stare at the area between eyebrows (I know it's weird). then more and more attempts and practices.

most importantly, stop thinking that u have this anxiety. enjoy smile.gif
danny_sp15
post Aug 23 2015, 02:42 PM

==============
3,045 posts

normal. some people enjoy company, some people enjoy being alone. i dont think there's anything wrong with that if u're comfortable with it.
SUSTham
post Aug 25 2015, 09:47 AM

1,576 posts

I believe the condition is called social avoidance disorder, or
avoidant personality disorder.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avoidant_pers...order#Treatment

http://www.webmd.com/mental-health/avoidan...ality-disorders

It's quite common actually, and even I have it to a certain extent.

As society gets colder with more and more people moving into the cities
(just look at the behaviour of people in KL and PJ), there are not many
people who are sincere or whom we can really trust these days anyway.

In the big cities, every man seems to be for himself.

It can be helped with cognitive behavioural therapy and/or hypnosis.
There is a practising psychologist called Hiro Koo (username Zeropoint9)
who is also a hynotherapist, posting here.

Dr Cheah Wing Yin, a psychiatrist in Sunway Medical Center, also knows hypnosis.

It can also be treated with antidepressants like Prozac and Zoloft, but
these have side effects. Any GP or psychiatrist can prescribe them.

aboveall
post Jan 3 2016, 10:04 AM

Hi guys,

AM I normal?
You are abnormal
subimpact
post Jan 5 2016, 10:33 AM

402 posts

Hi guys,

AM I normal?
yes u r normal it will fade as u age
babybell
post Jan 5 2016, 01:32 PM

101 posts

Hi guys,

AM I normal?
You are not alone. I am quite like you but I dun categorize myself having social anxiety. I am more of a person who is very selective of friends. I can talk to anyone at all, just not at all times that I feel up to it. I used to be afraid of wat's coming out of my mouth, but just be urself. Too much of self consciousness will hinder u from being who u are and people might feel that u are aloof and cant see what a great personality that you might have.

knight
post Jan 6 2016, 02:14 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

I'm talkative and can talk anything. Trying to be friendly but sometimes, I feel like I'm having this problem also.

I start to afraid of what coming out from my mouth and how other thinks. Started to isolate myself out from the group. Maybe it's true no one likes me. I felt down.

Is that social anxiety? How to solve such problems??

SUSSadSoul
post Jan 8 2016, 01:36 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Jan 6 2016, 02:14 PM)
I'm talkative and can talk anything. Trying to be friendly but sometimes, I feel like I'm having this problem also.

I start to afraid of what coming out from my mouth and how other thinks. Started to isolate myself out from the group. Maybe it's true no one likes me. I felt down.

Is that social anxiety? How to solve such problems??
I have group of friends in elementary school.
After graduation, I left that group.
Same goes to high school.
Now I'm left with very few friends.
Isolating yourself from the group gonna hurt you in the future.
I know cause I lost a few really close friends because of my problem.
knight
post Jan 8 2016, 11:03 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(SadSoul @ Jan 8 2016, 01:36 AM)
I have group of friends in elementary school.
After graduation, I left that group.
Same goes to high school.
Now I'm left with very few friends.
Isolating yourself from the group gonna hurt you in the future.
I know cause I lost a few really close friends because of my problem.
I seriously don't have much friend due to my own changes. My old friends(previous friends) are different from me as I changed alot in many things.

Even my hometown friends I also seldom contact them due to I very seldom go back. One year once? Topic start to differ, I start to Dont know what they are talking about. Lost of topics. Then lost of this group friends. For so many years oledi. Now also no contact oledi.
Asherly
post Jan 9 2016, 05:27 PM

47 posts

you must know that everyone get a little bit social anxiety, but you are not gonna live with it, you should be more confident, several advices:

1, get up,and raise your arm before the mirror, then speak to yourself something motivating

2, search in Google "affirmation", some aspiring video. watch these video every day, drowning your mind and telling you that you can do it.
SUSSadSoul
post Jan 10 2016, 12:56 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Jan 8 2016, 11:03 AM)
I seriously don't have much friend due to my own changes. My old friends(previous friends) are different from me as I changed alot in many things.

Even my hometown friends I also seldom contact them due to I very seldom go back. One year once? Topic start to differ, I start to Dont know what they are talking about. Lost of topics. Then lost of this group friends. For so many years oledi. Now also no contact oledi.
People change and they come and go.
I guess we'll just have to find new ones.
But I still miss my old friends.
cry.gif
SUSSadSoul
post Jan 10 2016, 12:58 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(mists29 @ Aug 23 2015, 02:22 PM)
don't worry there are so many ppl out there like you.

I'm glad i overcame it, socialize with people can be very fun, if you're talking with the right person.

my advice is, practice to start a conversation(i'd prefer to ask smtg abt him/her), don't wait. don't be shy, if you're afraid of eye contact, stare at the area between eyebrows (I know it's weird). then more and more attempts and practices.

most importantly, stop thinking that u have this anxiety. enjoy smile.gif
That's one of my problem!
I now look at their mouth or nose.
When I'm nervous, it's easy for other people to notice.
And because I'm nervous, they get uncomfortable.
sad.gif
ezekiel_77
post Jan 10 2016, 01:23 PM

Five Star Fuzz McFuzz
848 posts

Yeah it's quite normal for some people. Not so much a psychiatric problem that needs medications, more a personality trait. If your job requires talking to people you'll be training yourself to talk to people more and more. Always have a few topics ready. Like go where makan good, sports, making ends meet (we're ALL financially constrained now) and new places to hang out. Avoid politics and religion. For women just compliment what they're wearing and take it from there haha.
Belieber505
post Jan 10 2016, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ Jan 10 2016, 01:23 PM)
Yeah it's quite normal for some people. Not so much a psychiatric problem that needs medications, more a personality trait. If your job requires talking to people you'll be training yourself to talk to people more and more. Always have a few topics ready. Like go where makan good, sports, making ends meet (we're ALL financially constrained now) and new places to hang out. Avoid politics and religion. For women just compliment what they're wearing and take it from there haha.
Actually, this is quite true...!! nod.gif

It will be best to start by talking about a topic that you are comfortable with.

Anxiety usually sets in when we are holding back certain information or not being completely honest...
Unfortunately, this is inevitable and we can't always be 100% open with everyone...
However, we can overcome this problem by steering the conversation towards a topic that we feel comfortable to discuss... smile.gif
audy
post Jan 25 2016, 04:47 PM

460 posts

I have this problem too. Sometimes my mind just goes blank and I don't know what to say, leading to awkward silence. Sometimes I feel like ppl just shields away automatically smile.gif
Yato
post Jan 25 2016, 04:59 PM

123 posts

Hi guys,

AM I normal?
It's totally normal & alright to be an introvert ... at least you're not experiencing depression ...
For a start, start talking to the group of people you are comfortable with & +1 which maybe you wouldn't talk to ...
Slowly increase the number or ask your fren along that you can click with whenever you meet with new people ...
Then go to group outings ... by the time you reach this stage you would more or less be opened up to most people already ...
Good luck in this aspect ! thumbup.gif

0.0269sec    0.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:52 AM