post Feb 26 2016, 09:02 PM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

congrats to the winner!

justnits
post Feb 27 2016, 08:44 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(davey.havok @ Feb 27 2016, 07:40 AM)
Doing business while pretending it's "community service" is just one thing.

After going through a couple dozen CtrlAlt GB pages in GH, I realised something else - Cody and Bunny love to bounce the ball back and forth.

Bunny: "Your item should be with Cody, but he is busy, I will ask him later."
Cody: "Bunny knows more about your order, I am not sure, I'll get him to update you."

This is a great tactic for buying time, as it allays customers' anxieties (hey, at least ONE of the bosses replied me) and gets them to ease off for a few more days.

I used to know a company that did this thing all the time.

Boss #1 (on the phone to supplier): "Your payment cheque with boss #2, but he is overseas now, don't worry I will rush him for you."
Boss #2 (on the phone to customer): "Your order is being handled by boss #1, he is currently on leave, it will be completed when he gets back."

Padahal both bosses are sitting side by side in the same office.

We called this tactic "Singgam Linggam". I try to avoid companies that set up two key men to play Singgam Linggam. It's better to deal with faceless entities where your support ticket can be answered interchangeably (e.g. Massdrop), or with companies where one guy is answerable to everything (e.g. Pexon).
haha, i believe those who really look at the GB closely will see more or less the same thing as you did. whistling.gif
except, this one has 1 more level, ctrlalt's voluntarily white knights.

in my mind, i pictured the whole ctrl alt thing like starcraft. bunny & cody is the overmind...and you should know the rest lol!
justnits
post Mar 1 2016, 10:34 AM

2,968 posts

I am under the impression that the awareness about MKB has reach the stage where almost everyone knows about it already, at least PC enthusiasts/modders/builders/gamers.

Like 0168257061 says, spending power is low, which is true. Just look at the budget that people allocate when they ask for MKB recommendation.

Let's not go to keycaps yet since the price for decent keycaps are usually bigger than the budget set for their first MKB.

justnits
post Mar 2 2016, 07:21 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Mar 2 2016, 06:44 PM)
Im not all talk, im going custom, already planning a 60% and a TKL build, using gateron clears, for 60% either GH60 satan or NERD60, TKL still finding for a PCB, easiest set i've seen is the groupbuy going on at the fb group which people seem to be salty about biggrin.gif

So you're saying since there's nobody that has a passion and spending power, so we shouldn't care? If people see a non-active community why would they jump in? You rather join a community that has people constantly discussing about boards, how to make them, how to modify them. Or a dead group that only posts about new boards and people asking whats the best cheapest board, no longer a club more like a recommendation thread.
hmm...nerd 60, i think for now best to avoid Gon for a bit as he has a lot of backlog orders yet to be fulfilled. so i would recommend getting other 60% pcb, such as winkeyless's b.face pcb since it comes with a lot of bling if you like em blings.
are you going acrylic or alu or something else?

i guess some old farts here develops a prejudice against ppl who is going into custom for the first time due to past experiences in this forum sweat.gif

faridr's build from scratch custom is very admirable, something that not many can put their dedication and commitment into it, not even most of the veterans here if not all.
sadly our own community is not supportive or resourceful enough for this, i mean people with good EE background with dreams of building pcb or even program it.

ragecat was inspired by faridr's keyboard and he tried to make one as well. though i don't know how it goes already, but seeing no update from him, i fear for the worse.
still, you want to share your experience with us? it's knowledge as well even if the project tak jadi thumbup.gif
justnits
post Mar 3 2016, 11:38 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(DreamScars @ Mar 3 2016, 10:16 AM)
hello  smile.gif  anyone tried gateron reds? how is it compared to cherry mx reds? looking to get myself a rantopad mxx to try out  biggrin.gif

gateron red is good! but it may be too light for some.

justnits
post Mar 3 2016, 12:55 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(DreamScars @ Mar 3 2016, 12:37 PM)
thanks for the assurance  biggrin.gif

it has 35g actuation force right? i don't mine it being lighter haha. after using cherry reds/browns for awhile i cannot go back to blues anymore  sweat.gif
gateron red is 45g, but i had mine replaced with korean 55g gold spring and lubed, it still feels tremendously very light. i get a lot of typo with this keyboard.
my favourite is still mx blue's spring. i put it in my vintage black, it hit the sweet spot for me.
justnits
post Mar 3 2016, 02:28 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(DreamScars @ Mar 3 2016, 02:06 PM)
okay thanks, I was hoping to find something lighter than cherry reds so gateron reds it is then!  tongue.gif
gateron clear is the lightest linear switch @ 35g, just FYI whistling.gif
justnits
post Mar 3 2016, 05:02 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(davey.havok @ Mar 3 2016, 04:44 PM)
Since everybody is circle-jerking on Gaterons, I guess it's a good time to bring this up.

A while ago I reviewed the Magicforce Smart 68 keyboard. I, too, fell in love with Gaterons.

And then this happened.

One of the switches lost its clickyness overnight. Literally overnight. I was typing up some e-mails at 11pm, went to bed and woke up to find the switch f**ked. So I de-soldered it (as you can see from the pic), opened it up but could not figure out what happened. Technically it *does* still work, although the click is almost inaudible (the tactile bump remains unaffected). Now all I can do is wait for my replacement switches to arrive.

I generally have good luck with peripherals. My Razer mice from 10 years ago all still work fine, I rarely have to RMA stuff, and I have never had a keyboard switch fail on me up till now. Be it Cherry MX, Razer, Kailh, Outemu or whatever. This Gateron is the first, and it also happens to be from the newest board in my collection.

I am just sharing my experience (bearing in mind how people are so quick to bash Razer switches for lesser reasons than this), so please do not misread this post as "Gateron sucks, don't buy them". I will personally continue using Gaterons in my customs & other projects for an extended period of time before I pass any sort of judgement. I just hope they don't fail on me again.
i'm curious to know if you have open up the switch to check the insides and perhaps clean it first?
but before you open up, press the switch and remember the sensation of it, open them up on top of a white piece of paper, this is just to see if there's any dust or dirt trapped inside.
clean the switch housing, stem and spring. use a little blower to blow the blue stem, put them back together and try pressing it again to see if the clicky comes back.

and actually you are one of the first few ones to try gateron's new blue switch tongue.gif

justnits
post Mar 3 2016, 05:42 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(davey.havok @ Mar 3 2016, 05:25 PM)
Thanks Justin, yeah I took out the spring & stem and wiped them with a small microfiber cloth.

Then I blew some compressed air into the housing & dabbed the clicky leaf with a cotton bud. But the click sound is still very weak.

I'll try posting a comparison video if it's not too troublesome to make.
Really?  blink.gif
if it's not too troublesome, can you post a close-up shot of the blue stem?
that's usually where the clicky comes from.
justnits
post Mar 3 2016, 06:25 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(davey.havok @ Mar 3 2016, 06:10 PM)
Here you go:

user posted image  user posted image  user posted image

Wish I could post pics of this faulty switch vs a working one, but don't want to take the risk of de-soldering and opening more than I need to.
nice pic man rclxms.gif

u put back the switch and then put on the pcb without soldering and put on keycaps and type also the clicky not as nice d?
justnits
post Mar 4 2016, 02:39 PM

2,968 posts

dadudeneverabides saw your reddit post, omg that's a lot of money shocking.gif rclxub.gif
justnits
post Mar 4 2016, 02:48 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 4 2016, 02:46 PM)
Now you know why I dulan la?

You see all his post? You just think without bias for a while... I paid so much money for one year, with proof of payment summore, but he never deliver. You think leh?
did you post that in GH? or just reddit?
justnits
post Mar 4 2016, 02:54 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 4 2016, 02:50 PM)
REddit first. Dunno where to post on GH, unless you have an idea.
hmm, no idea, since they don't have dispute thread like lyn.

probably on the hyperfuse thread?
or ctrlalt thread.
justnits
post Mar 4 2016, 03:16 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 4 2016, 02:59 PM)
I might once my connection stabilizes.
connection stabilizes? you mean gh website lag for you?
it will be lag until next month LOL!
justnits
post Mar 4 2016, 05:34 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 4 2016, 05:27 PM)
Damn, really got poisoned into buying once you get a taste of it.

My second mechanical in a year. Planning to use this at work.
more to come brows.gif brows.gif
nice looking keyboard mang
justnits
post Mar 5 2016, 09:07 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Mar 5 2016, 08:59 AM)
Haha. Far from it. It's just that the usual recommendation of getting switch testers really doesn't do it for me. I'm the type of guy who needs long hours and the full experience to decide something. The only thing I got from playing around with mech kbs at shops is that all of them feel awesome. I can also read all about the different switches but that won't tell me how good it would feel.

Money certainly is an issue, escpecially with today's economy but I guess this is the solution for me.
how about this way, buy and try until you are satisfied that you are not satisfied with the keyboard, sell it off.
or just buy 2nd hand keyboard.
justnits
post Mar 7 2016, 11:07 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Mar 7 2016, 10:17 AM)
I see, thanks for the information  nod.gif

Then if i want to improve the keystrokes on my larger keys, what can I do?  hmm.gif
this one I have been following its AMA in Reddit and while this concept is not bad, this is not new also... apparently there exist another one called aimpad

also, i think this tech is good for linear switches only, as it can constantly detecting the change in force applied (as Wooting suggests, currently is at 256 states via control by software) but for other type of switches such as tactile switches like MX browns, MX clears or even clicky ones are kind of difficult, especially clicky ones as they would need the keys to reach a certain level of depression before the "clicking" takes place and registers  hmm.gif

just my thoughts though, open for discussion  laugh.gif
while i didn't follow it from the beginning of it's concept or aimpad's idea, at this moment it make sense that it only works for linear since it seems that it uses either distance or pressure to measure (just guessing here).
nevertheless, this tech caught my interest and i would be very excited to try this out on racing games!

QUOTE(yokemit @ Mar 7 2016, 10:44 AM)
Hello just bought ducky shine 4 (blue switch) ! really happy
I want to know if this keyboard can change MX switch? If yes , where to buy MX switch? need to change certain key to red switch cuz i play o2jam alot
Don't get me wrong , I love blue switch
oh boy, you don't want to do that so soon do you?
changing mx switches on your shine 4 would mean you have to open up the keyboard and desolder the switches and replace them with mx red switch.

my recommendation, try playing o2jam with blue switch, you might like it.
or buy another keyboard with mx red switch. <- i'm serious about this recommendation.
justnits
post Mar 7 2016, 12:04 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(mcastor6 @ Mar 7 2016, 11:21 AM)
justnits what's the pros & cons for IKBC C version vs F version? apparently, i translated to english & yet still don't really understand.

G > F > C hmm.gif C is eco & can't adjust the brightness?

PBT two-color molding translucent keycaps mean can see thru LED more clear? Ray carving PBT?? Mixed high and low voltage change??
to be honest i'm not sure about the ikbc G and C series.
i used to have 1 f104 keyboard which i sold off already long ago.

for this G and C, i really have no idea. :swt: i also banana punya...haha!

look for other keyboard.
what's your budget?
justnits
post Mar 7 2016, 01:09 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 7 2016, 12:29 PM)
Ah dang it... GMK does not play nice with Gateron Blues...
what happen with gmk n gateblue?

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 7 2016, 12:32 PM)
Come here to rant..

My Rapid-i mia "R" key LED dead. sad.gif
another rapid-i victim lol
i am really curious if it's only due to faulty batches of LED or faulty pcb design...
since the same happens to ducky shine 3 and 4?

QUOTE(mcastor6 @ Mar 7 2016, 12:55 PM)
if no mistake;

C is new released on Dec 2015, confusing part is the reaction mode like Ducky feature must DIY using "mixed high and low voltage change" (高低电压混改) + Ray carving PBT (雷雕PBT) look nice for me

G is older version released around 2014, (PBT二色成型透光键帽) google translate PBT two-color molding translucent key caps but i think is like vortex double-shot PBT key caps

G can change LED brightness with 5 different level but i'm not sure C can or not? shakehead.gif those features is mostly based on s/w so i'm not sure if i can use the firmware from G to implemented on C

my budget around USD 100

AZIO MGK1-RGB (blue kailh) i can only get it end of this year to save shipping cost as my lil bro is coming back brows.gif

but i leaning towards IKBC keyboard layout b'cos very simple & brown switches.
what i learn later was C was supposedly a cheaper version of G, with laser etched keys and less LED mode compared to G which has doubleshot PBT keys with more LED modes.

anyway, that mgk1-rgb looks decent, except that i have a personal bias-ness towards kailh switch.
i believe they have improved their quality over the years with razer providing them with the fundings they could use for improvements. rclxms.gif

so you like brown switches?

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0442sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:58 AM