124 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Personal Financial Management, Are you always lacking $$$$?

jasontoh
post Feb 20 2009, 11:34 PM

8,447 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Feb 20 2009, 10:29 PM)
IMHO - CASH IS TRASH

for my mrs and myself - we only have 2 cash buffers:

1.  3 months reserve for any contingencies.
2.  2 months reserve of rental for each property we own.

The rest are 100% planted into properties, properties, properties and just a tiny bit into stocks.

Personally, I feel that cash is way too over-rated.  I feel insecure when my cash balance goes too high by the way.
100% agree cash with trash thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Amaru
post Feb 21 2009, 09:38 AM

1,050 posts

If you want to throw away your trash, please fill free to treat me as a garbage dump. smile.gif

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Feb 20 2009, 11:34 PM)
100% agree cash with trash  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
xuzen
post Feb 23 2009, 01:47 PM

4,436 posts

I' ll start. I have since end of last year:

i) Cancelled all my supplementary Astro lines whilst maintaining the main line.

ii) Cancel 5 of my credit cards, maintaining just two which was issue by the bank custom.

iii) Switch to RON 92 petrol for my car.

What have you done?

I wish to see this thread serve as a repository of wise ways to improve ones' finances.

Mod, is this ok?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Feb 23 2009, 01:56 PM
Phoeni_142
post Feb 23 2009, 01:52 PM

753 posts

Hmnnn - thought there was a similar thread to this somewhere here, no?

1. well - I tapow my own lunch to work - sandwiches. healthier and cheaper

2. my mum in law cooks dinner for me daily, except Fri to Sun.

Discounting debt payments - you'd be suprised that food actually takes up a huge % of your expenditure....(Well, for me anyway)

So - just my 2 cents.
SUSjasonhanjk
post Feb 23 2009, 02:39 PM

1,068 posts

Money is just an idea, it was never real.
tishaban
post Feb 23 2009, 02:40 PM

3,615 posts

Phoeni_142 I agree completely. Bringing food to work, eating a decent breakfast at home and cutting down eating out can bring my food + groceries from 20% to around 15%.

I also have the habit of bringing water from home when eating out. Whether we eat at a food court or fast food or even restaurants like Nando's/Secret Recipe etc. the family won't order drinks. It's cheaper and healthier. Of course it's cheaper to not eat out but we a break sometimes too biggrin.gif

Of course I'd love to cut down more on expenses but I don't really see where I can do it right now...

Pai
post Feb 23 2009, 06:39 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Feb 20 2009, 10:29 PM)
IMHO - CASH IS TRASH
wah, very strong words chief tongue.gif

Gonna disagree wif ya here, personally think cash is king now, PROVIDED one know how, what, and when to invest wink.gif

b00n
post Feb 23 2009, 06:46 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

I'm never stingy when it comes to food.
But than again, am still thin brows.gif
Also, trying to cut down on "good" food nowadays. Visiting lesser restaurant.
Pai
post Feb 23 2009, 06:54 PM

3,318 posts

some money tipsee I have --> Make sure your car's monthly installment doesnt exceed 10% of your take home pay.

Else, just use other means of transportation. smile.gif
Phoeni_142
post Feb 23 2009, 09:45 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Feb 23 2009, 06:39 PM)
wah, very strong words chief  tongue.gif

Gonna disagree wif ya here, personally think cash is king now, PROVIDED one know how, what, and when to invest  wink.gif
Well, it's okay to agree to disagree.

strong words meh? Sorry lor - i already feel that my cash buffers is too over-inflated.

Oh - just saw your "PROVIDED" word above - very smart ah u? Very "diplomatically correct" brows.gif

By the way - the quote CASH is TRASH - came from Mr. Kiyosaki. Not me. Just happen to agree with it.

Added on February 23, 2009, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(b00n @ Feb 23 2009, 06:46 PM)
I'm never stingy when it comes to food.
But than again, am still thin brows.gif
Also, trying to cut down on "good" food nowadays. Visiting lesser restaurant.
Ah - i've heard that "never stingy when it comes to food" line countless of times.....

I eat healthy economical sandwhiches for lunch......but eat expensive gourmet dinners as well.......oops.

LOL - look's like I don't save much anyway....

By the way - I had subway for lunch today - Blo*dy Hell! - D@mn expensive man - one of those 6 inch buggers!

This post has been edited by Phoeni_142: Feb 23 2009, 09:50 PM
Pai
post Feb 24 2009, 12:37 AM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Feb 23 2009, 09:45 PM)

Oh - just saw your "PROVIDED" word above - very smart ah u? Very "diplomatically correct"  brows.gif

By the way - the quote CASH is TRASH - came from Mr. Kiyosaki.  Not me.  Just happen to agree with it.
hehehe, have to be lah, protect own arse kua brows.gif

Actually, I do agree with the phrase, just not in today's context. Think stocks valuations r already quite attractive, and its gonna get even more juicy in the next coming months. Residential and commercial properties prices r still holding up, but downward revision will be imminent in the next few months.........hence why I think hoarding cash now is not so bad unless one find a brilliant deal today.

Just wait for a while, watch the bloodbath then start utilising warchest wink.gif
wkf
post Feb 24 2009, 12:45 AM

344 posts

every mth i saved more than half of my salary. how? do yr own predicted and timed budget... that enable u to get know about the actual fin position of yrselves.

keep yr spending widely.
foofoosasa
post Feb 24 2009, 12:57 AM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Feb 20 2009, 11:34 PM)
100% agree cash with trash  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
hi, sorry to offend u.

pls prove me how u survive in this recession/depression if u no have cash.

if u have rich cash in hand, dont u think automatically u can have few more property and stock in hand as you can hunt them in discount

rate?=.="""
Syd G
post Feb 25 2009, 02:19 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

wa.. lots of posts missing
SUSjasonhanjk
post Feb 25 2009, 02:37 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Feb 25 2009, 02:19 PM)
wa.. lots of posts missing
The one from Jason, I had not completed reading.
wyyew
post Feb 25 2009, 03:19 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Feb 13 2009, 01:49 PM)
Yaya.... i think i should look for some who can save more, or may be earn more  tongue.gif
look for those girlfren use less comestic, work as accountant . Bcuz they know how to count ,rather than those uptrend type girlfren .

zenwell
post Feb 25 2009, 04:36 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Feb 23 2009, 06:54 PM)
some money tipsee I have --> Make sure your car's monthly installment doesnt exceed 10% of your take home pay.

Else, just use other means of transportation. smile.gif
like that i'm in big trouble. I have to increase my income by 70% of my surrent income to meet this requirement. Now my car installment takes up about 17% of my income doh.gif doh.gif
thediablo
post Feb 25 2009, 07:20 PM

68 posts

exactly how how many people earning

- RM7K drive a car that needs RM700 installment?
- RM10K drive a car that needs RM1000 installment?

A better rule: calculate your yearly salary.
Your car should be priced near that figure.
ah_suknat
post Feb 25 2009, 07:39 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Feb 20 2009, 02:29 PM)
IMHO - CASH IS TRASH

for my mrs and myself - we only have 2 cash buffers:

1.  3 months reserve for any contingencies.
2.  2 months reserve of rental for each property we own.

The rest are 100% planted into properties, properties, properties and just a tiny bit into stocks.

Personally, I feel that cash is way too over-rated.  I feel insecure when my cash balance goes too high by the way.
cash is trash?

well why do you invest in propertis and stocks anyway? isn't it because you want to generate more cash? biggrin.gif and can you buy your food with your stocks and houses? biggrin.gif
Phoeni_142
post Feb 25 2009, 08:45 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Feb 25 2009, 07:39 PM)
cash is trash?

well why do you invest in propertis and stocks anyway? isn't  it because you want to generate more cash? biggrin.gif and can you buy your food with your stocks and houses? biggrin.gif
Sigh - i am not going to bother replying this post after this. U missed the 20 posts or so posted on this topic by the way.....Yes, u missed the action - as all the historical posts have been deleted.

1. Guys - Don't take the term so literally. Cash is trash is just to state that there's no point hoarding cash in a FD - for it to eventually get erroded by inflation. It's better to put it to good productive use.

2. For the record, the saying CASH IS TRASH was mentioned by Mr. Kiyosaki......Not me. I just happen to agree with it.

ARGH - I hate repeating myself. Wonder how many more controversial posts there will be. DEJAVU ALL OVER AGAIN.

This post has been edited by Phoeni_142: Feb 26 2009, 12:11 AM

124 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0298sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:24 PM