125 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Bottom

Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

kingkong81
post Nov 7 2007, 06:39 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Nov 7 2007, 02:10 PM)
1. Let's say I'm looking for a PM fund where the manager has great flexibility in shifting the weighting between equity and fix-income depending on market conditions, which ones should I start reading on?

2. Is the Public China Select Fund too high to be buying into at this time? Just looking for general comments.
No.1
You should be looking at Balanced Funds then. Balanced fund profile usually is 60% in Equity & 40% in fixed income securities. The fund manager, depends on market condition, can shift the investment in between the equity & fixed income securities part.

eg. PIABF, PFEBF

No.2
The price seems to be too high for me to go in. But i do believe that PCSF can still go more than RM0.30/unit. So, do u wan to take the risk? smile.gif
SUSDavid83
post Nov 7 2007, 07:18 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 7 2007, 06:39 PM)
No.2
The price seems to be too high for me to go in. But i do believe that PCSF can still go more than RM0.30/unit. So, do u wan to take the risk?  smile.gif
I do agree with you on the 2nd point.
chidori_nep
post Nov 9 2007, 02:55 AM

45 posts

Is the government fund thingy still on? >.< Sked suddenly PCSF drop drop drop then don't come back up again even with olympics coming....>.<

Planning to shoot some shots at PCSF if it reaches 0.265....it'll be the first time I'm doing this hope I succeed sweat.gif think it gonna hit tat price soon coz today all indexes dropped drastically rclxub.gif hope it's price will go back up as fast as before >.<

Anyone got any recommendation of any better funds to shoot?
Kelvinwkw
post Nov 9 2007, 09:16 PM

441 posts

My advise is wait until next year. i mean after the western winter season.

I will buy in PCSF on January 2008 but depending on the market.

Europe fund is my second options

xXwasabiXx
post Nov 12 2007, 11:55 AM

269 posts

Recently bought PBCPEF last 2 week.... the promotion ended on Nov-12

Im totally new in UT... and this can be say the very first fund & its an aggressive fund tongue.gif

I hope i make the right decision.

What do u think about this fund? Any potential since the global market now bearish :-(
risky76
post Nov 12 2007, 12:43 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(chidori_nep @ Nov 9 2007, 02:55 AM)
Is the government fund thingy still on? >.< Sked suddenly PCSF drop drop drop then don't come back up again even with olympics coming....>.<

Planning to shoot some shots at PCSF if it reaches 0.265....it'll be the first time I'm doing this hope I succeed sweat.gif think it gonna hit tat price soon coz today all indexes dropped drastically  rclxub.gif hope it's price will go back up as fast as before >.<

Anyone got any recommendation of any better funds to shoot?
Depend on what is your investment goal lor .... If you can afford aggressive fund then PCSF or PSEAF will be go bet. If you thinking of income fund, PFEDF or PIADF will suit your long term investment goal.

SUSDavid83
post Nov 13 2007, 06:08 AM

52,874 posts

It's a global effect now ... most of the major stocks are affected by US and oil price. It may not be long but just wait and see.

It's better to mix your portfolio with some growth and income funds.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 14 2007, 08:09 PM

52,874 posts

NG Funds wants to become bigger

KUALA LUMPUR: ING Funds Bhd has applied to Securities Commission to increase fund size of its recently launched Shariah-compliant capital protected fund, the ING Baraka Commodities Capital Protected to 450 million units.

The company said the fund, launched in October, had an initial approved fund size of 200 million units and was later increased to 300 million units.

"The ING Baraka Commodities Capital Protected fund offers 100% capital protection and seeks to offer high capital growth from investment in top 30 global equities in the basic materials and oil and gas sectors, through SGAM Al Baraka Commodity Index," ING Funds chief executive officer Steve Ong said in a statement Wednesday.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...40&sec=business
rollinpark
post Nov 14 2007, 11:13 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 14 2007, 08:09 PM)
NG Funds wants to become bigger

KUALA LUMPUR: ING Funds Bhd has applied to Securities Commission to increase fund size of its recently launched Shariah-compliant capital protected fund, the ING Baraka Commodities Capital Protected to 450 million units.

The company said the fund, launched in October, had an initial approved fund size of 200 million units and was later increased to 300 million units.

"The ING Baraka Commodities Capital Protected fund offers 100% capital protection and seeks to offer high capital growth from investment in top 30 global equities in the basic materials and oil and gas sectors, through SGAM Al Baraka Commodity Index," ING Funds chief executive officer Steve Ong said in a statement Wednesday.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...40&sec=business
If gas and petrol price continue to go up, what effect will it have on these commodities based funds?
kingkong81
post Nov 15 2007, 02:23 PM

1,351 posts

Latest News Update from PUBLIC MUTUAL

PIBF Fund size increased from 2 billion units to 3 billion units

Added on November 16, 2007, 3:33 pmClosure of Public Sector Select Fund and Public Islamic Sector Select Fund

Please be informed that Public Sector Select Fund (PSSF) and Public Islamic Sector Select Fund (PISSF) will be closed for all sales with effect from 16 November 2007.

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Nov 16 2007, 03:33 PM
SUSDavid83
post Nov 16 2007, 09:10 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 15 2007, 02:23 PM)

Added on November 16, 2007, 3:33 pmClosure of Public Sector Select Fund and Public Islamic Sector Select Fund

Please be informed that Public Sector Select Fund (PSSF) and Public Islamic Sector Select Fund (PISSF) will be closed for all sales with effect from 16 November 2007.
How come it's closed so fast? Got problem or fully sold? The launch date is 13 November.
kingkong81
post Nov 16 2007, 10:42 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 16 2007, 09:10 PM)
How come it's closed so fast? Got problem or fully sold? The launch date is 13 November.
The fund size for both funds are only 100 million each, very small only...it has been informed that this fund will sold out fast, and it did. And in actual fact, cash investment is only accepted on the 1st day, 2nd & 3rd day for EPF only.

HOT!!

For the time being, there is no news that the fund size will be increased. rolleyes.gif
SUSDavid83
post Nov 16 2007, 10:45 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 16 2007, 10:42 PM)
The fund size for both funds are only 100 million each, very small only...it has been informed that this fund will sold out fast, and it did. And in actual fact, cash investment is only accepted on the 1st day, 2nd & 3rd day for EPF only.

HOT!!

For the time being, there is no news that the fund size will be increased.  rolleyes.gif
However, why no accounment is being made in PM website?

They're still putting the offer period from 13 November 2007 - 3 December 2007.

This post has been edited by David83: Nov 16 2007, 10:46 PM
kingkong81
post Nov 16 2007, 10:55 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 16 2007, 10:45 PM)
However, why no accounment is being made in PM website?

They're still putting the offer period from 13 November 2007 - 3 December 2007.
It was informed to all agents...no public announcement being made yet...

So lets see what is PM next plan for this fund.

Fund closure on the 1st day offer has happened before...Focus Select Fund is one example. Sold on the morning of the 1st launching day.... nod.gif

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Nov 16 2007, 10:55 PM
SUSDavid83
post Nov 16 2007, 10:56 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 16 2007, 10:55 PM)

Fund closure on the 1st day offer has happened before...Focus Select Fund  is one example. Sold on the morning of the 1st launching day.... nod.gif
I see. It's definitely something new to me. biggrin.gif
howszat
post Nov 18 2007, 09:47 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 16 2007, 10:55 PM)

Fund closure on the 1st day offer has happened before...Focus Select Fund  is one example. Sold on the morning of the 1st launching day.... nod.gif
Are these sell-outs due to the discount in the service charge?

Because I can't see anything different in those 2 funds which is investing in equities in the domestic market - sounds similar to what many other funds are doing.
kingkong81
post Nov 19 2007, 12:12 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Nov 18 2007, 09:47 PM)
Are these sell-outs due to the discount in the service charge?

Because I can't see anything different in those 2 funds which is investing in equities in the domestic market - sounds similar to what many other funds are doing.
It sell out bcoz the fund size is pretty small, RM100 million each (PSSF, PISSF). Another reason, its bcoz it is eligible for EPF investment...so usually the amount for EPF is quite big...thats y sold out so fast

The difference with other funds is in the investment strategy & Policy...it is investing according to economy sectors. Between both fund, one is Islamic another is conventional
weichong
post Nov 19 2007, 06:39 PM

93 posts

Edited

need ten character

This post has been edited by weichong: Nov 20 2007, 06:49 PM
SUSDavid83
post Nov 19 2007, 07:22 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(weichong @ Nov 19 2007, 06:39 PM)
is the new sector funds all sold out? cant buy it anymore?
If PM increases the fund size later, you can buy it at that time.
wctan83
post Nov 20 2007, 08:39 PM

92 posts

CIMB new fund, 1 lot RM25k, propect of earning 11% each year, guarantee no loss, means if whole world share crisis, they still pay you back RM 25k
min 3 years, interesting huh?

Added on November 20, 2007, 8:40 pmBtw, Icapital are going to launch its global funds, i am very excited...

This post has been edited by wctan83: Nov 20 2007, 08:40 PM

125 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:42 AM