led/light bulb price list, let's build price list together

TSmghong
post Aug 5 2015, 11:44 PM, updated 11y ago

450 posts

Let me start first.

1)Sylvania -E27 MINI-lynx economy 15w - rm 7 HOL(house of lighting)
2)Midea -E27 SaverStar 12W - RM10 (top10)..
3)NSB -12W LED-DL -RM27
4)SMD(Samsung chip) - 12w LED-DL -RM43.

Archronicles
post Aug 7 2015, 12:38 AM

262 posts

1) Laniber - 12W - RM40 (Avalon)
2) Laniber - 18W - RM50 (Avalon)

ck2chan
post Aug 7 2015, 02:04 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Archronicles @ Aug 7 2015, 12:38 AM)
1) Laniber - 12W - RM40 (Avalon)
2) Laniber - 18W - RM50 (Avalon)
Good? Not cheap too
ozak
post Aug 7 2015, 07:51 AM

17,025 posts

Without the quality, what the use with such price?
Zot
post Aug 7 2015, 08:05 AM

7,938 posts

The cost of manufacturing the LED light is very cheap. Driver design is not something new. However the price is high. With China bulbs in the market, force price down. So, if you just care about light, just go with China brand. I used one from Mr. DIY and it OK so far. biggrin.gif However, if you are looking into the one with good CRI, then the price is not cheap.

The LED color is just like other pigment based product such as tiles, there is always slight color variation. Even when ordering the LED, the color is guaranteed in in a range of color temperature, not very specific. Manufacturer has to do mix and match to get combination of LEDs that would give the right color.
ozak
post Aug 7 2015, 08:33 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 7 2015, 08:05 AM)
The cost of manufacturing the LED light is very cheap. Driver design is not something new. However the price is high. With China bulbs in the market, force price down. So, if you just care about light, just go with China brand. I used one from Mr. DIY and it OK so far.  biggrin.gif  However, if you are looking into the one with good CRI, then the price is not cheap.

The LED color is just like other pigment based product such as tiles, there is always slight color variation. Even when ordering the LED, the color is guaranteed in in a range of color temperature, not very specific. Manufacturer has to do mix and match to get combination of LEDs that would give the right color.
A normal CFL bulb can last about 1.5-2yrs with a price of RM19 for a 23w which produce 1500lumens.

If the LED can't match such an old tech, what is the point are we buying? With such a price.

Are we forget what is quality mean to us?
Zot
post Aug 7 2015, 08:49 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 7 2015, 08:33 AM)
A normal CFL bulb can last about 1.5-2yrs with a price of RM19 for a 23w which produce 1500lumens.

If the LED can't match such an old tech, what is the point are we buying? With such a price.

Are we forget what is quality mean to us?
LED is dropping price but CFL is also dropping price. LED can last much longer than CFL, A far as I know the LED require less power to produce the same lumen as CFL. CFLs are sensitive to frequent on/off cycling. Their rated lifetimes of 10,000 hours are reduced in applications where the light is switched on and off very often. CFL takes a while to go to full brightness.

For me, even if the disadvantage of LED is price, but this is is negated by its lifetime. I'm slowly phasing in LED bulb when replacement need. So, my observation is still immature wink.gif
weikee
post Aug 7 2015, 09:11 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 7 2015, 08:49 AM)
LED is dropping price but CFL is also dropping price. LED can last much longer than CFL, A far as I know the LED require less power to produce the same lumen as CFL. CFLs are sensitive to frequent on/off cycling. Their rated lifetimes of 10,000 hours are reduced in applications where the light is switched on and off very often. CFL takes a while to go to full brightness.

For me, even if the disadvantage of LED is price, but this is is negated by its lifetime. I'm slowly phasing in LED bulb when replacement need. So, my observation is still immature  wink.gif
CFL will last longer, and lumens/watt is still better on cfl. For led with higher lumens/watt than cfl will be more expensive.
ozak
post Aug 7 2015, 09:13 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 7 2015, 08:49 AM)

For me, even if the disadvantage of LED is price, but this is is negated by its lifetime. I'm slowly phasing in LED bulb when replacement need. So, my observation is still immature  wink.gif
What you tell me is just a theory. And by their brochure? How long have you using the same LED bulb ? Average how many hr? What is the lumens before and after?

You need to proof it. Not by the box telling you that is can last 40k hr. A 40k hr can last me for 4.5yrs if I ON it for 24hr. But the china LED even can't warranty me for over 1yrs.

LED use less watt. But also produce less lumens. For the capalang china brand. You even cannot find what is the lumens/watt from their product infor. What they only can tell you is watt and watt. That doesn't tell me anything about the brightness.

CFL is kill by the heat. A long hr with the high watt can heat up the electronic inside the bulb. Frequent ON/OFF doesn't kill it. Unless the switch you ON/OFF is producing spark.

LED bulb too. The main killer is the heat. And the main culprit is the capacity.

ozak
post Aug 7 2015, 09:19 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 7 2015, 09:11 AM)
CFL will last longer, and lumens/watt is still better on cfl. For led with higher lumens/watt than cfl will be more expensive.
Try get 1 of this. New exciting bulb from philip. 14w produce 100w. 1500lumens. Brought 6pcs and still testing it in US.

Zot
post Aug 7 2015, 09:34 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 7 2015, 09:13 AM)
What you tell me is just a theory. And by their brochure? How long have you using the same LED bulb ? Average how many hr? What is the lumens before and after?

You need to proof it. Not by the box telling you that is can last 40k hr. A 40k hr can last me for 4.5yrs if I ON it for 24hr. But the china LED even can't warranty me for over 1yrs.

LED use less watt. But also produce less lumens. For the capalang china brand. You even cannot find what is the lumens/watt from their product infor. What they only can tell you is watt and watt. That doesn't tell me anything about the brightness.

CFL is kill by the heat. A long hr with the high watt can heat up the electronic inside the bulb. Frequent ON/OFF doesn't kill it. Unless the switch you ON/OFF is producing spark.

LED bulb too. The main killer is the heat. And the main culprit is the capacity.
I'm not just looking at the box. Yes, previously the LED is not that good but now it is improving a lot. I searched through 3rd party articles, not manufacturer's itself.

Did you notice the black spot near the electrode of the CFL. This is because high voltage at start-up sends the lamp’s mercury ions hurtling toward the starting electrode, which can destroy the electrode’s coating over time. There are research papers that study how long the bulb last with relation on how frequent the florescent light is switch on/off. This is one of the reason why the CFL lamp did not last as long as the life indicated n the box. For me lifetime on the box is indication only. Unless everyone follow same measurement method, it is not reliable comparison. This is also same for LED lamp. I don't trust what is printed there.

CFL and LED is killed by heat. I agree on this. I've been using LED for about a year now and I have both CFL and LED bulbs in use.
ozak
post Aug 7 2015, 10:26 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 7 2015, 09:34 AM)
I'm not just looking at the box. Yes, previously the LED is not that good but now it is improving a lot. I searched through 3rd party articles, not manufacturer's itself.

Did you notice the black spot near the electrode of the CFL. This is because high voltage at start-up sends the lamp’s mercury ions hurtling toward the starting electrode, which can destroy the electrode’s coating over time. There are research papers that study how long the bulb last with relation on how frequent the florescent light is switch on/off. This is one of the reason why the CFL lamp did not last as long as the life indicated n the box. For me lifetime on the box is indication only. Unless everyone follow same measurement method, it is not reliable comparison. This is also same for LED lamp. I don't trust what is printed there.

CFL and LED is killed by heat. I agree on this. I've been using LED for about a year now and I have both CFL and LED bulbs in use.
You need to test longer. In your case, did the bulb payback your money for about a yrs? Compare to CFL. (the only bulb you can compare $/day use) Did the LED bulb lumens match the CFL? What is the lumens/watt for the LED?

You get a china LED for a RM40. That is 2.5x the price of the cfl. How long can you test and confident to tell us this LED is good?

I use Hitachi and Panasonic CFL which wrote 8k of lifetime on the box. That is average lifetime I get from the CFL bulb I use. No bullshit. Specially Hitachi old stock CFL bulb which is made in jpn. I sapu it if I saw it on the rack shop.

My car porch CFL Panasonic bulb just blow out last week. That last about 1.5yrs. 8000hr/12hr/365 =1.8yrs. That is 0.03sen/day.
weikee
post Aug 7 2015, 10:35 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 7 2015, 09:19 AM)
Try get 1 of this. New exciting bulb from philip. 14w produce 100w. 1500lumens.  Brought 6pcs and still testing it in US.

Yup saw your image before. There are improving, and to get the price down to matchable with CFL brightness will take sometime.

weikee
post Aug 7 2015, 10:38 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 7 2015, 09:34 AM)

Lifetime shown on the box is on test lab, and we do not know what are the condition and environment of the test lab. The lifespan hours maybe running nonstop 24x7, and stable voltage, while in real life the frequency of On-Off, input voltage condition, surrounding heat will have impact the lifetime of the bulbs, be it LED, CFL, or incandescent.
Zot
post Aug 7 2015, 11:15 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 7 2015, 10:26 AM)
You need to test longer. In your case, did the bulb payback your money for about a yrs? Compare to CFL. (the only bulb you can compare $/day use)  Did the LED bulb lumens match the CFL? What is the lumens/watt for the LED?

You get a china LED for a RM40. That is 2.5x the price of the cfl. How long can you test and confident to tell us this LED is good?

I use Hitachi and Panasonic CFL which wrote 8k of lifetime on the box. That is average lifetime I get from the CFL bulb I use. No bullshit. Specially Hitachi old stock CFL bulb which is made in jpn. I sapu it if I saw it on the rack shop.

My car porch CFL Panasonic bulb just blow out last week. That last about 1.5yrs. 8000hr/12hr/365 =1.8yrs. That is 0.03sen/day.
No doubt you have to test longer. I do not have lux meter to measure actual brightness to be more specific but now I'm comparing my LED and CFL. The LED (6x8W) I light up everyday seem to be brighter than my CFL which I rarely used in the same hall (6x8W), but that probably just my perception.

At the end of life cycle the florescent tube will require a bit more power to start ionizing the gas the tube and light up. I've observed this when repairing the electronic "ballast". One that has not been used for more than a year just failed to light up. I suspect everything but the tube. Unfortunately the tube just killed the driver. I was also surprised. Gas leak? It was either Toshiba or Philips, can't remember hmm.gif
ozak
post Aug 7 2015, 12:03 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 7 2015, 11:15 AM)
No doubt you have to test longer. I do not have lux meter to measure actual brightness to be more specific but now I'm comparing my LED and CFL. The LED (6x8W) I light up everyday seem to be brighter than my CFL which I rarely used in the same hall (6x8W), but that probably just my perception.

At the end of life cycle the florescent tube will require a bit more power to start ionizing the gas the tube and light up. I've observed this when repairing the electronic "ballast". One that has not been used for more than a year just failed to light up. I suspect everything but the tube. Unfortunately the tube just killed the driver. I was also surprised. Gas leak? It was either Toshiba or Philips, can't remember  hmm.gif
In my home, the most last is the flurosent light. I still have flurosent light working since 17yrs ago. It just freaking don't want to spoil.

The 2nd last is the PLC light which last more than 5yrs. The 3rd last is the LED DL overtake the CFL just recently and still counting.
aeiou228
post Aug 7 2015, 12:09 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 7 2015, 11:15 AM)

At the end of life cycle the florescent tube will require a bit more power to start ionizing the gas the tube and light up. I've observed this when repairing the electronic "ballast". One that has not been used for more than a year just failed to light up. I suspect everything but the tube. Unfortunately the tube just killed the driver. I was also surprised. Gas leak? It was either Toshiba or Philips, can't remember  hmm.gif
I started phasing out E27 CFL slowly with LEDs too since few years ago when the price of Phillips in Giant slashed 40% to around RM2x~.
The Philips and Osram still serving well till now at the kitchen and dining area.
I also have few Mr DIY 5w E27 LEDs serving at the hall and stairway area for more than a year now. The LED at the stairway is switched on overnight everyday. From my naked eyes, I find the 5w LED is brighter than the 5w CFL when comparing it side by side.
So far, there were 2 LEDs failed after one year that is Sylvania and EcoLife.
After few years of experimenting with LED bulbs, I think the China made LEDs is getting better, brighter and cheaper. I will continue to replace the retired CFL with LED bulbs.
aeiou228
post Aug 7 2015, 12:15 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 7 2015, 12:03 PM)
In my home, the most last is the flurosent light. I still have flurosent light working since 17yrs ago. It just freaking don't want to spoil.

The 2nd last is the PLC light which last more than 5yrs. The 3rd last is the LED DL overtake the CFL just recently and still counting.
Haha, your are right, the 36w T8 flourosent is damn lasting. The ballast already emitting annoying sound and I was hoping it spoil faster in order to replace it with T5 LED. End up I can not tahan the annoying sound and replace it with a LED tube anyway. biggrin.gif
ozak
post Aug 7 2015, 12:37 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 7 2015, 10:35 AM)
Yup saw your image before. There are improving, and to get the price down to matchable with CFL brightness will take sometime.
What I observe in the western market and their consumer usage, the 100w is not a favour. Instead 60w warm white are more popular and cheaper. They don't like bright light for home. Not like Asian people. Instead 100w like this is more for sturdy lamp.

Another LED in Thailand market. If you see properly the packaging, they state the Watt, Lumens, price, Dimension etc. Same as the western Philip. Their consumer is more informative compare our local.

weikee
post Aug 7 2015, 01:52 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 7 2015, 12:37 PM)
What I observe in the western market and their consumer usage, the 100w is not a favour. Instead 60w warm white are more popular and cheaper. They don't like bright light for home. Not like Asian people. Instead 100w like this is more for sturdy lamp.

Another LED in Thailand market. If you see properly the packaging, they state the Watt, Lumens, price, Dimension etc. Same as the western Philip. Their consumer is more informative compare our local.

Now go all the way to Thailand shopping biggrin.gif Should spend time at their outlet lah.
SUSskyblu3
post Aug 7 2015, 02:51 PM

157 posts

Some cheap white LED bulbs have slight blue tint (blue light) and this harmful to our eyes.
Do a google on this.

This is why I only go for branded LEDs.
ozak
post Aug 7 2015, 03:08 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 7 2015, 01:52 PM)
Now go all the way to Thailand shopping biggrin.gif Should spend time at their outlet lah.
Jalan jalan only la. Thailand shopping not much different from here.
TSmghong
post Aug 10 2015, 12:52 AM

450 posts

1)Sylvania -E27 MINI-lynx economy 15w - rm 7 HOL(house of lighting)
2)Midea -E27 SaverStar 12W - RM10 (top10)..
3)NSB -12W LED-DL -RM27
4)SMD(Samsung chip) - 12w LED-DL -RM43.
5) Laniber - 12W - RM40 (Avalon)
6) Laniber - 18W - RM50 (Avalon)

update back the list , my intention is to build a price list for any new comer at least got a based to compare.

When you update ,please cut n paste the latest list...

Eng_Tat
post Aug 11 2015, 12:54 PM

2,216 posts

18w Philips Essential Rm8 for down light, any one know can get cheaper than this?
ck2chan
post Aug 12 2015, 01:11 AM

2,145 posts

Promotion,...
I'm not salesman. flex.gif

This post has been edited by ck2chan: Aug 12 2015, 01:11 AM

tengcm
post Aug 16 2015, 05:46 PM

138 posts

NSB 4" 12 w - RM 27
NSB 6" 18 w - RM 35
Yes Plus 4" 12 w - RM 39
Yest plus 6" 18 w - RM 49

House lighting
wodenus
post Aug 16 2015, 05:57 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 11 2015, 12:54 PM)
18w Philips Essential Rm8 for down light, any one know can get cheaper than this?
Probably not, is that LED?

SSblack
post Aug 16 2015, 06:56 PM

220 posts

Philip 4" round Led downlight - 32.90
Buy from Cima, C180 Balakong. They are Philip authorised dealer, refer Philip Malaysia Facebook, I think it's a good deal
Eng_Tat
post Aug 16 2015, 11:02 PM

2,216 posts

not led, currently i saw tesco selling led 8w twin pack for less than rm25, not sure what brand tho. i notice nowdays shops are not offering warranty for philips lights.

18w Philips Essential i found cheapest rm6.90 cnc/no warranty

QUOTE(wodenus @ Aug 16 2015, 05:57 PM)
Probably not, is that LED?
frostier
post Aug 16 2015, 11:05 PM

447 posts

Interesting topic. I shall be here again tomorrow

aeiou228
post Aug 17 2015, 12:23 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 16 2015, 11:02 PM)
not led, currently i saw tesco selling led 8w twin pack for less than rm25, not sure what brand tho.
The brand name is EcoLiving. RM19.99 for a pair during promo. Pretty bright tho.
Eng_Tat
post Aug 17 2015, 08:23 AM

2,216 posts

Thanks, worth to get? might consider since its cheap. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 17 2015, 12:23 AM)
The brand name is EcoLiving. RM19.99 for a pair during promo. Pretty bright tho.
ozak
post Aug 17 2015, 08:56 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 16 2015, 11:02 PM)
not led, currently i saw tesco selling led 8w twin pack for less than rm25, not sure what brand tho. i notice nowdays shops are not offering warranty for philips lights.

18w Philips Essential i found cheapest rm6.90 cnc/no warranty
If the manufacturing don't give warranty, how the shop going to give warranty? Unless the shop want to take the risk.

So far, I survey, non of the LED bulb have warranty. Even in others country. Only the downlight type got the manufacturing warranty. Some I brought have 5yrs off warranty.
Eng_Tat
post Aug 17 2015, 09:04 AM

2,216 posts

Ozak, the philips bulb, is like test at shop if light up but once you leave the shop no warranty is given even 1 week. GE is giving 1 yr, china mari bulb is giving 6 months the place i buy but none for philips. i check 3 diffrent shop same implied for philips.

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 17 2015, 08:56 AM)
If the manufacturing don't give warranty, how the shop going to give warranty? Unless the shop want to take the risk.

So far, I survey, non of the LED bulb have warranty. Even in others country. Only the downlight type got the manufacturing warranty. Some I brought have 5yrs off warranty.
aeiou228
post Aug 17 2015, 09:16 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 17 2015, 08:23 AM)
Thanks, worth to get? might consider since its cheap. biggrin.gif
Since it cost only RM10 per bulb, there is no reason to buy CFL anymore.
Compare the brightness with the same wattage Phillips LED side by side, I can't see the difference between the two with my naked eyes. As for durability, I just bought it few months ago, yet to know. Before EcoLiving brand, Tesco was selling LEDUS brand. I had 2 LEDUSs from Tesco more than 2 years ago still working fine. The very first batch of my LEDs are original Phillips/Osram, really durable, I think more than 4 years already, back then not many chapalang brand available in the market.

I guess the the depreciation of ringgit has taken its toll, the price has increased to RM25 per pair. Used to be RM19.99 during promotion period.

fireballs
post Aug 17 2015, 09:16 AM

5,650 posts

ikea also good one
i remember is rm15
ozak
post Aug 17 2015, 09:19 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 17 2015, 09:04 AM)
Ozak, the philips bulb, is like test at shop if light up but once you leave the shop no warranty is given even 1 week. GE is giving 1 yr, china mari bulb is giving 6 months the place i buy but none for philips. i check 3 diffrent shop same implied for philips.
Most I see, the warranty didn't state in the box. So I presume they don't have warranty. The warranty sometime is the distributer itself given.

Example of the LED DL with 5yrs warranty state on the box. The warranty is given by the manufacturing in this case.

Eng_Tat
post Aug 17 2015, 09:39 AM

2,216 posts

i might give a try on eco living at my room later since i only need to change 4 units. depends on luck and usage i think, i have more than 30 down light at home, since i move to new house past 3 yrs i think only replace 3 units of bulbs.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 17 2015, 09:16 AM)
Since it cost only RM10 per bulb, there is no reason to buy CFL anymore.
Compare the brightness with the same wattage Phillips LED side by side, I can't see the difference between the two with my naked eyes. As for durability, I just bought it few months ago, yet to know. Before EcoLiving brand, Tesco was selling LEDUS brand. I had 2 LEDUSs from Tesco more than 2 years ago still working fine. The very first batch of my LEDs are original Phillips/Osram, really durable, I think more than 4 years already, back then not many chapalang brand available in the market.

I guess the the depreciation of ringgit has taken its toll, the price has increased to RM25 per pair. Used to be RM19.99 during promotion period.
Eng_Tat
post Aug 17 2015, 09:42 AM

2,216 posts

Ozak, i see most of the box doesnt state warranty. the shop i bought will tell me how long is the warranty, the place i bought will put a date on the lamp.
fireballs
post Aug 17 2015, 09:49 AM

5,650 posts

if you install your downlight yourself, its ok to go for the cheapos

i have instaleld 10 downlights in stages, swapping out balasted cfls
the result is good and costs is reasobable.

i spend about rm25/downlight
chantzeshyuan
post Aug 17 2015, 09:55 AM

55 posts

philip facing problem now with all their led tube and bulb due to china manufac issue..now philip product all price drop
aeiou228
post Aug 17 2015, 10:00 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 17 2015, 09:39 AM)
i might give a try on eco living at my room later since i only need to change 4 units. depends on luck and usage i think, i have more than 30 down light at home, since i move to new house past 3 yrs i think only replace 3 units of bulbs.
Ya, slowly replace it with LED one at a time after the existing CFL retires. Replacement priority givien to most frequently used light point. The chapalang brand are getting better as time advances, last time the bulb had aluminum heat sink kind of base but now no more heavy heat sink base, just plastic. Maybe better driver technology used in the bulb.
Eng_Tat
post Aug 17 2015, 10:08 AM

2,216 posts

i like to used all the same so that the deviation of light diffrence is minimal. i tried 2x philips 8 watt lef before, due to brightness is not there i gave it to my relative. the eco living i saw in tesco seems to be as bright as the philips 18w essential.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 17 2015, 10:00 AM)
Ya, slowly replace it with LED one at a time after the existing CFL retires. Replacement priority givien to most frequently used light point. The chapalang brand are getting better as time advances, last time the bulb had aluminum heat sink kind of base but now no more heavy heat sink base, just plastic. Maybe better driver technology used in the bulb.
aeiou228
post Aug 17 2015, 10:26 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 17 2015, 10:08 AM)
i like to used all the same so that the deviation of light diffrence is minimal. i tried 2x philips 8 watt lef before, due to brightness is not there i gave it to my relative. the eco living i saw in tesco seems to be as bright as the philips 18w essential.
I must say that the EcoLiving warm white is rather yellow, I mixed it with cool white at 1:1 ratio and to my surprise, the mixed light color temperature is just perfect and natural.
Don't forget to mark the date of installation on the bulbs so that you can track the durability of the bulbs.
Eng_Tat
post Aug 17 2015, 11:15 AM

2,216 posts

will take note of this. will report back after i get the bulbs later.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 17 2015, 10:26 AM)
I must say that the EcoLiving warm white is rather yellow, I mixed it with cool white at 1:1 ratio and to my surprise, the mixed light color temperature is just perfect and natural.
Don't forget to mark the date of installation on the bulbs so that you can track the durability of the bulbs.
frostier
post Aug 17 2015, 11:42 AM

447 posts

When it comes tto LED, its not the brightness that matter.

You need to check the lumen, wattage, power factor.

In some case, I would suggest you go thru the SDCM (for indoor) as the color temperature should not have huge variance.

A lot didn't aware of the impact of power factor especially by consumers. I agree with the marking as this will tell you how often you change the bulbs.

Most of my bulbs in my house are now failing. I've converted to LED.
post Aug 20 2015, 01:44 PM

353 posts

Where's the cheapest place to buy LED Bulb, say Philip one?

Appreciate recommendations please...need quite a number of it....
frostier
post Aug 20 2015, 10:49 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(93126668 @ Aug 20 2015, 01:44 PM)
Where's the cheapest place to buy LED Bulb, say Philip one?

Appreciate recommendations please...need quite a number of it....
http://www.lighting.philips.com.my/v2/help...here_to_buy.jsp
post Aug 21 2015, 08:12 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(frostier @ Aug 20 2015, 10:49 PM)
Thanks bro...which shop can get the best deal? Any idea?
Eng_Tat
post Aug 21 2015, 09:39 AM

2,216 posts

just nought ecoliving is tesco twin pack led 10w for rm27.90. any one know where to get changing bulb mechanism for 15-20ft ceilling? tq
ozak
post Aug 21 2015, 09:43 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 09:39 AM)
just nought ecoliving is tesco twin pack led 10w for rm27.90. any one know where to get changing bulb mechanism for 15-20ft ceilling? tq
You can get the changing bulb pole from ACE. Occasionally saw it in DIY shop.
Eng_Tat
post Aug 21 2015, 09:48 AM

2,216 posts

do you know if ace sell the mechanism alone. at home i got those aluminium extendable post already. now i need to change bulb at 16ft high. my ladder is just 8ft.

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 21 2015, 09:43 AM)
weikee
post Aug 21 2015, 09:49 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 21 2015, 09:43 AM)
or a DIY smile.gif http://pad39a.com/gene/light.html

For my case is a PLC blub, no pole can do, it need some physical strength to pull out the plc light. Then again, plc only need replacement like once is 4-5 years with average 6-8 hours usage. Some climbing still ok.
ozak
post Aug 21 2015, 09:50 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 09:48 AM)
do you know if ace sell the mechanism alone. at home i got those aluminium extendable post already. now i need to change bulb at 16ft high. my ladder is just 8ft.
It come with the pole. Never see it sell separately. The whole thing is yellow color.

Not that expensive. Just get the whole thing, and takeout the pole if you prefer.
weikee
post Aug 21 2015, 09:54 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 09:48 AM)
try this diy method

http://pad39a.com/gene/light.html
ozak
post Aug 21 2015, 09:55 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 21 2015, 09:49 AM)

For my case is a PLC blub, no pole can do, it need some physical strength to pull out the plc light. Then again, plc only need replacement like once is 4-5 years with average 6-8 hours usage. Some climbing still ok.
That plastic bottle doesn't look like give a good grip.

You can get a crocodile grip stick. But not sure is long enough. I guess it has about 60-70cm long the stick.
Eng_Tat
post Aug 21 2015, 10:09 AM

2,216 posts

thanks guys, tomorow i will go look at h/w store. not sure where have one in jb. first time having a apt with this high ceiling. other wise might need to look for 12-13ft high ladder.
ozak
post Aug 21 2015, 10:22 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 10:09 AM)
thanks guys, tomorow i will go look at h/w store. not sure where have one in jb. first time having a apt with this high ceiling. other wise might need to look for 12-13ft high ladder.
With such a high ceiling, you better get a good bulb and extra bright. You don't want change it everytime. Later you curse the ceiling. tongue.gif

Just walk over to sg lah.

This post has been edited by ozak: Aug 21 2015, 10:23 AM
Eng_Tat
post Aug 21 2015, 11:17 AM

2,216 posts

i usually used philips essential only, got light bulb can last more than 5 yrs ar? so far mine all can last >2 yrs 6-8 hrs aday usage.

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 21 2015, 10:22 AM)
With such a high ceiling, you better get a good bulb and extra bright. You don't want change it everytime. Later you curse the ceiling. tongue.gif

Just walk over to sg lah.
ozak
post Aug 21 2015, 11:31 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 11:17 AM)
i usually used philips essential only, got light bulb can last more than 5 yrs ar? so far mine all can last >2 yrs 6-8 hrs aday usage.
I don't no what bulb can run over 5yrs. LED bulb is the only answer. But I don't have experience for that long.

The Philip LED that I show, is still under testing. With 1500lumens, it is promising.

The only LED DL I have now is run over 2yrs and look reliable. But not suitable for your height ceiling. The changing will be troublesome.

So you got to try and error to find a good bulb. Walk over to SG and find some better 1. I believe SG have more choice and good quality LED bulb.
aeiou228
post Aug 21 2015, 02:33 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 10:09 AM)
If can't buy ready made one off the shelves, find a small diameter 2 ft long bamboo and split one end to 8 fingers, wrap up each finger with rubber bands or cut rubber tube. More sturdier. Modified my kampung mango plugging technology to bulb fastener. Haha.

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 11:17 AM)
My first E27 Phillips LED is in service 4 years + already. On/off frequently at Kitchen and Dining area.
Eng_Tat
post Aug 21 2015, 03:02 PM

2,216 posts

aeiou, last time led used to be exp now days is alot cheaper not sure does the quality drops, btw how many w unit u are using? and now days philips is not giving warranty.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 21 2015, 02:33 PM)
If can't buy ready made one off the shelves, find a small diameter 2 ft long bamboo and split one end to 8 fingers, wrap up each finger with rubber bands or cut rubber tube. More sturdier. Modified my kampung mango plugging technology to bulb fastener. Haha.
My first E27 Phillips LED is in service 4 years + already. On/off frequently at Kitchen and Dining area.
aeiou228
post Aug 21 2015, 04:26 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 03:02 PM)
aeiou, last time led used to be exp now days is alot cheaper not sure does the quality drops, btw how many w unit u are using? and now days philips is not giving warranty.
My very first LED was a 7w Phillips after a massive stock clearance discount of 60% at Giant. The price after discount was around RM25-RM29. Very cheap at those days standard, more so, there wasn't much chapalang brand available.

As for the Phillips warranty, this is today Thestar Metro ad. You go check it out and update us.
Eng_Tat
post Aug 21 2015, 05:30 PM

2,216 posts

thanks, most of the johor shop i go are not giving warranty for philips. current i am going to try eco living, it seems to bright. will see how later. i read the philips power factor is 0.7 in their web site spec, any one knows what this mean?

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 21 2015, 04:26 PM)
My very first LED was a 7w Phillips after a massive stock clearance discount of 60% at Giant. The price after discount was around RM25-RM29. Very cheap at those days standard, more so, there wasn't much chapalang brand available.

As for the Phillips warranty, this is today Thestar Metro ad. You go check it out and update us.
frostier
post Aug 22 2015, 10:29 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(93126668 @ Aug 21 2015, 08:12 AM)
Thanks bro...which shop can get the best deal? Any idea?
Sin Lian Wah
frostier
post Aug 22 2015, 10:32 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 21 2015, 09:49 AM)

Remember to change ur driver/ballast too
frostier
post Aug 22 2015, 10:34 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 03:02 PM)
Philips do give warranty. Just the terms and condition a lot strict.
frostier
post Aug 22 2015, 10:41 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 05:30 PM)
thanks, most of the johor shop i go are not giving warranty for philips. current i am going to try eco living, it seems to bright. will see how later. i read the philips power factor is 0.7 in their web site spec, any one knows what this mean?
If you in JB, look for Genuine Electric/Lighting. They are Philips distributor. Near Tmn molek I think.

Power factor with less than 1 indicates that the electricity supplier need to provide more generating capacity than actually required

Eg, a 100w with power factor of 0.6 means, you need to draw more than 100w to light up that bulb.

Ideal PF would be 0.9
frequency
post Aug 27 2015, 09:59 AM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

SMD(Samsung chip) - 9w LED-DL -RM39 (Mr Brightman House)

This post has been edited by frequency: Aug 27 2015, 10:19 AM
codeiki
post Nov 18 2015, 01:16 AM

169 posts

Philips CFL that I bought in 2013, about 5% burned in 6 months (some as early as 1 month), 15% burned in 12 months, some just burned without noticing because seldom used. I bought it from authorized philips shop that you all mentioned but without warranty. Should I give Philips LED a try or to consider GE, OSRAM or any other brand?
frostier
post Nov 18 2015, 02:59 AM

447 posts

Problem with electronic is that the pcb board will spoiled due to leakage from capacitor.

ozak
post Nov 18 2015, 09:20 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(codeiki @ Nov 18 2015, 01:16 AM)
Philips CFL that I bought in 2013, about 5% burned in 6 months (some as early as 1 month), 15% burned in 12 months, some just burned without noticing because seldom used. I bought it from authorized philips shop that you all mentioned but without warranty. Should I give Philips LED a try or to consider GE, OSRAM or any other brand?
I have been stop using Philip CFL for over 12yrs. I have long discover it is not reliable.

I using Hitachi and Panasonic which average 2yrs lifetime.
coolkwc
post Nov 18 2015, 11:41 AM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

Just got myself some Philips 10.5W (1055lumens) cool white LED receently. The brightnees is amazing, i consider 100lm/W is quite decent spec. Got 14W 1500lm bulb, however the size is too big, not suitable for my application. Will wait for it downsizing.

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Nov 18 2015, 11:41 AM
codeiki
post Nov 18 2015, 04:50 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 18 2015, 09:20 AM)
I have been stop using Philip CFL for over 12yrs. I have long discover it is not reliable. 

Price paid for a lesson. I had heard too some people recommended panasonic..
It just kind of weird, those called leaders of the "light" industries couldn't produce quality CFL, like philips and osram. GE bulbs still working after replacing some of the philips..
weikee
post Nov 18 2015, 04:53 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 18 2015, 09:20 AM)

CFL as in the E47 bulb? The other CFL bulb with external ballast is very reliable lah. Almost 95% of my house bulbs are CFL with external ballast.
ozak
post Nov 18 2015, 05:08 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 18 2015, 04:53 PM)
CFL as in the E47 bulb? The other CFL bulb with external ballast is very reliable lah. Almost 95% of my house bulbs are CFL with external ballast.
Those inside got electronic 1 lor. Very unreliable.

Those external ballast is PLC type. PLC type no electronic. That's why last long.
weikee
post Nov 18 2015, 05:22 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 18 2015, 05:08 PM)
Those inside got electronic 1 lor. Very unreliable.

Those external ballast is PLC type. PLC type no electronic. That's why last long.
The PLC is also sometime called CFL too (to be specific is define as "Non-integrated CFL") don't spoiled the name of PLC lah biggrin.gif
ozak
post Nov 18 2015, 05:35 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 18 2015, 05:22 PM)
The PLC is also sometime called CFL too (to be specific is define as "Non-integrated CFL") don't spoiled the name of PLC lah biggrin.gif
Don't no lah. Normally they called it PLC light. If you see the casing, it state PLC light also.
weikee
post Nov 18 2015, 06:27 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 18 2015, 05:35 PM)
Don't no lah. Normally they called it PLC light. If you see the casing, it state PLC light also.
Not all know is PLC, some light shop seller also confuse. PLL, PLC, T8, T5 are amount most reliable light I used.
WahBiang
post Nov 18 2015, 09:45 PM

3,718 posts

Noobie here, how to consider a light bulb as a good bulb?
Watt, lumens, power factor are??
Thanks for advising me.

If looking at the below comparison, we should choose LED? but its price very expensive?
http://www.designrecycleinc.com/led%20comp%20chart.html

This post has been edited by WahBiang: Nov 18 2015, 09:50 PM
frostier
post Nov 19 2015, 02:49 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Nov 18 2015, 09:45 PM)
Noobie here, how to consider a light bulb as a good bulb?
Watt, lumens, power factor are??
Thanks for advising me.

If looking at the below comparison, we should choose LED? but its price very expensive?
http://www.designrecycleinc.com/led%20comp%20chart.html
Depending on what you comparing now?
LED ? then few parameters for measurement I would say

1. Lumen/W which translate to efficacy
2. dollar/lumen which means how much you paying for the brightness (in some case, u need this comparison)
3. Power factor - should be 0.9 as it is electronic item. Exception for candle type LED
4. rated lifetime - consumer range usually rated at 15k~25k hrs which would give you the performance over at least 3 yrs of usage
5. CRI - i personally think this is important which gives you a better quality of light

there are few more parameters but it should be sufficient for now.
WahBiang
post Nov 19 2015, 06:02 AM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(frostier @ Nov 19 2015, 02:49 AM)
Depending on what you comparing now?
LED ? then few parameters for measurement I would say

1. Lumen/W which translate to efficacy
2. dollar/lumen which means how much you paying for the brightness (in some case, u need this comparison)
3. Power factor - should be 0.9 as it is electronic item. Exception for candle type LED
4. rated lifetime - consumer range usually rated at 15k~25k hrs which would give you the performance over at least 3 yrs of usage
5. CRI - i personally think this is important which gives you a better quality of light
there are few more parameters but it should be sufficient for now.
I see, but what does the CRI mean??
We got those warm light and cool light. How to choose where to use which?

Sorry no mean to interrupt this price list.
frostier
post Nov 19 2015, 09:33 AM

447 posts

CRI = color rendering index.

Google it.
Should be buying those at least 80 and above.
ozak
post Nov 19 2015, 10:05 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(frostier @ Nov 19 2015, 09:33 AM)

Google it.
The price will be expensive. And I don't think average person will see it as important.

As long as they see the red won't turn into blue. tongue.gif
ozak
post Nov 19 2015, 10:08 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Nov 19 2015, 06:02 AM)
I see, but what does the CRI mean??
We got those warm light and cool light. How to choose where to use which?

Sorry no mean to interrupt this price list.
CRI is a light color shine on the object color and how accurate the color you see on the object.

Different white color shine on the object will produce different color accuracy.
WahBiang
post Nov 19 2015, 10:53 AM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(frostier @ Nov 19 2015, 09:33 AM)

Google it.
QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 19 2015, 10:05 AM)
The price will be expensive. And I don't think average person will see it as important.

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 19 2015, 10:08 AM)
CRI is a light color shine on the object color and how accurate the color you see on the object.

Different white color shine on the object will produce different color accuracy.
You guys are awesome!! I roughly estimated, a double storey with 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms, easily need about 50bulbs, assuming RM40 each, that gonna cost me RM2k!
aeiou228
post Nov 19 2015, 11:22 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Nov 19 2015, 10:53 AM)
You guys are awesome!! I roughly estimated, a double storey with 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms, easily need about 50bulbs, assuming RM40 each, that gonna cost me RM2k!
Try using E27 light bulb base in anywhere possible. E27 LED bulbs are the cheapest in terms of dollar/lumen/versatility unless you want to pay more for aesthetic reason.
Giant currently offering 10w 810lm AREX Eco branded E27 LED for RM10.
You can also try out MR DIY LEDs, been using a 3w MR DIY for night light at the stairway approx 10 hours a day for more then a year now.
WahBiang
post Nov 19 2015, 01:37 PM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 19 2015, 11:22 AM)
Try using E27 light bulb base in anywhere possible. E27 LED bulbs are the cheapest in terms of dollar/lumen/versatility unless you want to pay more for aesthetic reason.
Giant currently offering 10w 810lm AREX Eco branded E27 LED for RM10.
You can also try out MR DIY LEDs, been using a 3w MR DIY for night light at the stairway approx 10 hours a day for more then a year now.
Thats good news to me, but my house still need another 2-3months..

Do you think if one bulb is enuf for one bedroom? Currently estimating about 4 bulbs being required.
aeiou228
post Nov 19 2015, 01:50 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Nov 19 2015, 01:37 PM)

Do you think if one bulb is enuf for one bedroom? Currently estimating about 4 bulbs being required.
Should be more than enough for a typical DSL room if you put in 10w x 4.
Go Giant or MR DIY buy 4 x 10w LEDs to test it out your self at your new house before you draft your lighting plan.

frostier
post Nov 19 2015, 01:59 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 19 2015, 10:05 AM)

Depending on how you look at it. If im paying 4~5 times over thr standard CFLi, of course need to have a better specs.

frostier
post Nov 19 2015, 02:02 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Nov 19 2015, 01:37 PM)

Depending on the brightness you need. Elderly needs more lights where as im used to have minimal light at home. Just so it is rather cozy.

Go for E27 screw type of bulb if you have no confident in certain brand. You can change the bulb anytime rather confined to a certain fixture.

Zhaga compliant fixtures has yet to be taken momentum and will take a while before all the component can be interchangeable
codeiki
post Nov 19 2015, 07:39 PM

169 posts

General guide that i used

Location Illuminance (lux) 
Living room 50
Bedroom 50
Reading room 150
Hall/landing 150
Study 300
Kitchen 300
Outdoor entrances 30
Corridors 100
Restaurant 100
Entrance hall 150
Stairs 150
Public house bar 150
Casual assembly work 200
Rough/heavy work 300
Filing room 300
Classroom 300
Medium assembly work 500
General office work 500
Shop counter 500
Supermarket 500
Laboratory 500
Kitchen 500
Computer room 750
Drawing office 750
Fine assembly work 1000
Precision work 1500

Can't remember the source d.

This post has been edited by codeiki: Nov 19 2015, 07:48 PM
codeiki
post Nov 19 2015, 07:45 PM

169 posts

1 lux = 1 lm/m2
i read in my bedroom, so my bedroom brightness is about the same as study room when turning on all the lights
total lm = 300 lux (study room) * bedroom size in m2 (22.84)
total lm = 6851
if you planning to get an even light in every corner probably 6 bulbs and each about 1141lm..
It's a rough guide i used to follow

This post has been edited by codeiki: Nov 19 2015, 07:50 PM
codeiki
post Nov 19 2015, 08:06 PM

169 posts

You can select a range of brightness that you needed. Let say bedroom, most other time is about 50 lux
total lm = 50 lux (bedroom)* bedroom size in m2 (22.84)
total lm = 1142

So the bedroom brightness is range from 1142- 6851lm
Then you can put switch to turn on number of bulbs you need. 1 switch for 2 bulbs, you will get about 100 lux (1 switch on), 200lux (2 switch on) and 300 lux (3 switch on)

WahBiang
post Nov 19 2015, 09:13 PM

3,718 posts

Thanks for all the kind advice and sharing!!

But I'm unfamiliar with those jargon. Is my below interpretation correct?

A) Lux = lm = lumen ? If I need 800 lumens, I can either pick a bulb with 800 lumens, or 2 bulbs with 400 lumens each?
B) E27 is the bulb that we can easily screw them using bare hand? and easy matching the holder?
C) Higher lumens will be required for area which one wanted to see thing clearer, such as study room?

QUOTE(frostier @ Nov 19 2015, 02:02 PM)
Depending on the brightness you need. Elderly needs more lights where as im used to have minimal light at home. Just so it is rather cozy.

Go for E27 screw type of bulb if you have no confident in certain brand. You can change the bulb anytime rather confined to a certain fixture.

Zhaga compliant fixtures has yet to be taken momentum and will take a while before all the component can be interchangeable
QUOTE(codeiki @ Nov 19 2015, 07:39 PM)

Living room 50
Bedroom 50
Reading room 150
Hall/landing 150
Study 300
Kitchen 300
Outdoor entrances 30
Corridors 100
Restaurant 100
Entrance hall 150
Stairs 150
Public house bar 150
Casual assembly work 200
Rough/heavy work 300
Filing room 300
Classroom 300
Medium assembly work 500
General office work 500
Shop counter 500
Supermarket 500
Laboratory 500
Kitchen 500
Computer room 750
Drawing office 750
Fine assembly work 1000
Precision work 1500

QUOTE(codeiki @ Nov 19 2015, 07:45 PM)
1 lux = 1 lm/m2
i read in my bedroom, so my bedroom brightness is about the same as study room when turning on all the lights
total lm = 300 lux (study room) * bedroom size in m2 (22.84)
total lm = 6851
if you planning to get an even light in every corner probably 6 bulbs and each about 1141lm..
It's a rough guide i used to follow
QUOTE(codeiki @ Nov 19 2015, 08:06 PM)
You can select a range of brightness that you needed. Let say bedroom, most other time is about 50 lux
total lm = 50 lux (bedroom)* bedroom size in m2 (22.84)
total lm = 1142

So the bedroom brightness is range from 1142- 6851lm
Then you can put switch to turn on number of bulbs you need. 1 switch for 2 bulbs, you will get about 100 lux (1 switch on), 200lux (2 switch on) and 300 lux (3 switch on)
hondaracer
post Nov 21 2015, 07:31 AM

1,616 posts

Any LED bulb dimmable? Brand? Shop? Price?
BoobaabaaBoo
post Nov 21 2015, 01:06 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(hondaracer @ Nov 21 2015, 07:31 AM)
Any LED bulb dimmable? Brand? Shop? Price?
You can request the shop to change the driver for you. Driver is the one control it.
Rubypoyo
post Dec 3 2015, 02:37 PM

374 posts

Is there any review for MR DIY 9w e27 led bulb?
Its so cheap just RM11.90.
Its half the price of branded led bulb...
Kelv
post Jun 25 2016, 11:12 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(codeiki @ Nov 19 2015, 07:39 PM)

Living room 50
Bedroom 50
Reading room 150
Hall/landing 150
Study 300
Kitchen 300
Outdoor entrances 30
Corridors 100
Restaurant 100
Entrance hall 150
Stairs 150
Public house bar 150
Casual assembly work 200
Rough/heavy work 300
Filing room 300
Classroom 300
Medium assembly work 500
General office work 500
Shop counter 500
Supermarket 500
Laboratory 500
Kitchen 500
Computer room 750
Drawing office 750
Fine assembly work 1000
Precision work 1500

Quoting this for future reference.

Which LED brand is cheap and reliable nowadays?
Few shops introduced Goodlite, Elegantz, GE, and of course budget China LED (I wonder can last how long?)
codeiki
post Jun 26 2016, 03:53 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Jun 25 2016, 11:12 PM)
Quoting this for future reference.

Which LED brand is cheap and reliable nowadays?
Few shops introduced Goodlite, Elegantz, GE, and of course budget China LED (I wonder can last how long?)
I tried this in my dining hall.
1. I changed all 4 E27 sockets to LED bulb at the same time (all bulb has same luminance, will undergo same amount of switching on-off and usage time)
2. The 4 LED bulb that I used is - 1 midea, 1 philips, 1 osram, 1 mrDIY with the price range from 11+ to 28+
3. The color is not much differencecomparaing each other, if you are didn't pay very much attention to it.
4. After 6 months usage, all except one is stop functioning. The brand started with o.... (this i get a replacement as it still under warranty)
5. The rest of the LED bulbs still has the same amount of luminance/color comparing each others.
6. The test is still ongoing.

The test is limited by one random LED bulb which may not be representative of the whole product. I can only conclude that the cheaper brand is not worse than the more branded one.

This post has been edited by codeiki: Jun 26 2016, 03:54 PM
Redflare
post Jun 26 2016, 05:01 PM

Hi all,

just to share a little of my experience,

after visiting most of the lighting shops i found ppl recommended, i finally found one shop which is selling the cheapest among all.

S&S LED at old klang road, opposite pearl point hotel.

Normally i buy LED Surface downlights 12Watt from houses lighting & Top Ten,
They are selling at RM 21 -RM 25.
Now i found the Same thing same grade and with 2 years warranty at S&S LED for RM 19.

They also have cheaper ones like RM 8-15, but quality difference lo.

Their deco lights also quite cheap.

Happily bought for my 2 new units thumbup.gif

Safe up a lot haha

and also,,, They have a beautiful cashier hahaha wub.gif
Kelv
post Jun 26 2016, 08:44 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(Redflare @ Jun 26 2016, 05:01 PM)
Hi all,

after visiting most of the lighting shops i found ppl recommended, i finally found one shop which is selling the cheapest among all.

Now i found the Same thing same grade and with 2 years warranty at S&S LED for RM 19.

Happily bought for my 2 new units  thumbup.gif

Safe up a lot haha

What brand? At least share the picture of the downlights .. or the cashier.
Autocountstick
post Jul 12 2016, 11:51 AM

678 posts

Hi all,

Safe up a lot haha

Can have photo for "same grade and with 2 years warranty at S&S LED for RM 19" ?

Kelv
post Jul 13 2016, 05:22 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Any recommended lighting shop in Cheras?
echoesian
post Jul 13 2016, 08:52 PM

3,294 posts

Can share the cashier's photo?
arju
post Jul 15 2016, 07:46 PM

239 posts

Anyone know brand GEC LED downlight. My fren said rm20 only
arrsoo
post Jul 16 2016, 12:13 AM

600 posts

Hi all,

Safe up a lot haha

been there upon reading your post. unfortunately, they only carry the led with temperature of 6500k and 3000k, dont hv 4000k which I was looking for. I asked them why dont hv 4000k and they said bcos is not popular doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif . Aiyah....did not read your post properly about the pretty cashier....cisss!!!
kent05
post Jul 21 2016, 02:09 PM

183 posts

anyone hear of enersun brand? is GE brand worth to buy?
soonwai
post Feb 8 2017, 08:02 PM

11,459 posts

This thread seems to have stagnated a bit. Hope to revive it with some latest pricing. I just bought a few over the weekend.

CIMA Lighting, Balakong
Price includes GST
Philips LED E27 9w RM16.90
Philips Essential LED E27 9w RM13.50
E27-E27 Extension RM3.50

Aeon/Jusco
Not including GST
Philips Essential LED E27 9w Twin Pack RM26.90

I don't feel comfortable with the light of the new & cheaper Philips Essential. According to Philips' website, it's CRI>70 whereas the older one is CRI>80.

They also sell Osram and Cielo. Haven't tried Osram. My E14s are Cielos.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 8 2017, 10:43 PM
alexander3133
post Feb 8 2017, 09:27 PM

1,716 posts

Never knew this thread existed earlier.
Bought some LED lights end of last year.

Shop: Alt-Tech Electrical & Trading, Bukit Mertajam, Penang

1. GE T8 LED Tube 16W (1600 LM) Performance: RM 61.20 + 6% GST
2. GE 4" 9W LED Round Down Light (750 LM): RM 66.30 + 6% GST

Hope worth the investment sweat.gif
frostier
post Feb 8 2017, 09:29 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Feb 8 2017, 09:27 PM)

Hope worth the investment  sweat.gif
GE is pulling out from Asia.

alexander3133
post Feb 8 2017, 09:49 PM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(frostier @ Feb 8 2017, 09:29 PM)
GE is pulling out from Asia.
I do aware about this, the salesman in the shop did mention it.
I do have backup plan in case of my GE downlight or T8 tube not functioning.

Round downlight:
1. Replace using similar diameter downlight
2. Replace using E27 downlight with additional housing
3. Worst case if first two options not available, replace with downlight with larger diameter, hence make the plaster ceiling hole diameter larger.

T8 light:
1. Should be easy to find replacement tube, example Philips.
luvox
post Feb 8 2017, 10:16 PM

626 posts

This is what i use, cheap & good. 1 year d & no issue. It is efficient, brighter than older high wattage less efficient LED

Philips 9w rm29
Philips 3.5w rm19

There is no reason to go for china brand, since philips is as cheap as china brand n efficient if compare lumen per watt. Should be less likely to cause fire :|

This post has been edited by luvox: Feb 8 2017, 10:22 PM
soonwai
post Feb 8 2017, 10:46 PM

11,459 posts

Is that normal T8 tube to replace a flourescent tube? Cause back in Dec 2015, I bought a 4ft T8 18w from CIMA Lighting for only RM16.90. I think it was Philips also.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 8 2017, 10:47 PM
alexander3133
post Feb 8 2017, 11:20 PM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 8 2017, 10:46 PM)
Is that normal T8 tube to replace a flourescent tube? Cause back in Dec 2015, I bought a 4ft T8 18w from CIMA Lighting for only RM16.90. I think it was Philips also.
The size and shape of the GE T8 LED tube looks the same as the normal T8 fluorescent tube, and fit on the normal T8 housing.
I bought the LED tube together with the housing for new installation, not as replacement on old fluorescent tube.
soonwai
post Feb 8 2017, 11:36 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Feb 8 2017, 11:20 PM)
The size and shape of the GE T8 LED tube looks the same as the normal T8 fluorescent tube, and fit on the normal T8 housing.
I bought the LED tube together with the housing for new installation, not as replacement on old fluorescent tube.
I see, that explains the higher cost. Mine is just the T8 tube. To keep costs down, I reused the existing housing after removing the ballast..
duckaton
post Feb 9 2017, 03:07 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

fuhhh......really expensive,
how long to claw back the investment...
alexander3133
post Feb 9 2017, 05:22 PM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Feb 9 2017, 03:07 PM)
fuhhh......really expensive,
how long to claw back the investment...
Just hope the light can last for more than 10 years. whistling.gif
mot88
post Feb 9 2017, 05:47 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 8 2017, 08:02 PM)
I don't feel comfortable with the light of the new & cheaper Philips Essential. According to Philips' website, it's CRI>70 whereas the older one is CRI>80.

They also sell Osram and Cielo. Haven't tried Osram. My E14s are Cielos.
Philips Essential series is budget version.Lower performance per watt and hence cheaper price.

Their standard series is Philips 'BrightComfort'.
frostier
post Feb 9 2017, 11:40 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 8 2017, 10:46 PM)
That would be the glass tube.
Power factor 0.7
Cri 70
And lower lifespan. I think 20k hrs

ozak
post Sep 3 2017, 01:53 PM

17,025 posts

IKEA selling LED bulb for RM5.90.

Not mistaken 400lm.

Selling fast.
soonwai
post Sep 3 2017, 02:13 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 3 2017, 01:53 PM)
IKEA selling LED bulb for RM5.90.

Not mistaken 400lm.

Selling fast.
Thanks for the info. Are they E27s?
ozak
post Sep 3 2017, 03:01 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 3 2017, 02:13 PM)
Thanks for the info. Are they E27s?
Yes.

http://www.ikea.com/my/en/catalog/products/90377654/

This post has been edited by ozak: Sep 3 2017, 03:04 PM
soonwai
post Sep 3 2017, 03:40 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 3 2017, 03:01 PM)
Thanks, at that price, I hope there isn't going to be a Ryet.
Kenon70
post Mar 6 2018, 05:15 PM

20 posts

Has anyone used Lumileds downlights with 3 years warranty sold by LC Lighting?

airtawarian
post Feb 13 2021, 06:52 PM

1,252 posts

QUOTE(codeiki @ Jun 26 2016, 03:53 PM)
I tried this in my dining hall.
1. I changed all 4 E27 sockets to LED bulb at the same time (all bulb has same luminance, will undergo same amount of switching on-off and usage time)
2. The 4 LED bulb that I used is - 1 midea, 1 philips, 1 osram, 1 mrDIY with the price range from 11+ to 28+
3. The color is not much differencecomparaing each other, if you are didn't pay very much attention to it.
4. After 6 months usage, all except one is stop functioning. The brand started with o.... (this i get a replacement as it still under warranty)
5. The rest of the LED bulbs still has the same amount of luminance/color comparing each others.
6. The test is still ongoing.

The test is limited by one random LED bulb which may not be representative of the whole product. I can only conclude that the cheaper brand is not worse than the more branded one.
So Which 1 would u recommend from Your experience So far?

0.0614sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:20 PM