Without the quality, what the use with such price?
led/light bulb price list, let's build price list together
Aug 7 2015, 07:51 AM
17,025 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Without the quality, what the use with such price?
Aug 7 2015, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 7 2015, 08:05 AM) The cost of manufacturing the LED light is very cheap. Driver design is not something new. However the price is high. With China bulbs in the market, force price down. So, if you just care about light, just go with China brand. I used one from Mr. DIY and it OK so far. A normal CFL bulb can last about 1.5-2yrs with a price of RM19 for a 23w which produce 1500lumens.The LED color is just like other pigment based product such as tiles, there is always slight color variation. Even when ordering the LED, the color is guaranteed in in a range of color temperature, not very specific. Manufacturer has to do mix and match to get combination of LEDs that would give the right color. If the LED can't match such an old tech, what is the point are we buying? With such a price. Are we forget what is quality mean to us? |
Aug 7 2015, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 7 2015, 08:49 AM) LED is dropping price but CFL is also dropping price. LED can last much longer than CFL, A far as I know the LED require less power to produce the same lumen as CFL. CFLs are sensitive to frequent on/off cycling. Their rated lifetimes of 10,000 hours are reduced in applications where the light is switched on and off very often. CFL takes a while to go to full brightness. What you tell me is just a theory. And by their brochure? How long have you using the same LED bulb ? Average how many hr? What is the lumens before and after? For me, even if the disadvantage of LED is price, but this is is negated by its lifetime. I'm slowly phasing in LED bulb when replacement need. So, my observation is still immature You need to proof it. Not by the box telling you that is can last 40k hr. A 40k hr can last me for 4.5yrs if I ON it for 24hr. But the china LED even can't warranty me for over 1yrs. LED use less watt. But also produce less lumens. For the capalang china brand. You even cannot find what is the lumens/watt from their product infor. What they only can tell you is watt and watt. That doesn't tell me anything about the brightness. CFL is kill by the heat. A long hr with the high watt can heat up the electronic inside the bulb. Frequent ON/OFF doesn't kill it. Unless the switch you ON/OFF is producing spark. LED bulb too. The main killer is the heat. And the main culprit is the capacity. |
Aug 7 2015, 09:19 AM
Aug 7 2015, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 7 2015, 09:34 AM) I'm not just looking at the box. Yes, previously the LED is not that good but now it is improving a lot. I searched through 3rd party articles, not manufacturer's itself. You need to test longer. In your case, did the bulb payback your money for about a yrs? Compare to CFL. (the only bulb you can compare $/day use) Did the LED bulb lumens match the CFL? What is the lumens/watt for the LED?Did you notice the black spot near the electrode of the CFL. This is because high voltage at start-up sends the lamp’s mercury ions hurtling toward the starting electrode, which can destroy the electrode’s coating over time. There are research papers that study how long the bulb last with relation on how frequent the florescent light is switch on/off. This is one of the reason why the CFL lamp did not last as long as the life indicated n the box. For me lifetime on the box is indication only. Unless everyone follow same measurement method, it is not reliable comparison. This is also same for LED lamp. I don't trust what is printed there. CFL and LED is killed by heat. I agree on this. I've been using LED for about a year now and I have both CFL and LED bulbs in use. You get a china LED for a RM40. That is 2.5x the price of the cfl. How long can you test and confident to tell us this LED is good? I use Hitachi and Panasonic CFL which wrote 8k of lifetime on the box. That is average lifetime I get from the CFL bulb I use. No bullshit. Specially Hitachi old stock CFL bulb which is made in jpn. I sapu it if I saw it on the rack shop. My car porch CFL Panasonic bulb just blow out last week. That last about 1.5yrs. 8000hr/12hr/365 =1.8yrs. That is 0.03sen/day. |
Aug 7 2015, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 7 2015, 11:15 AM) No doubt you have to test longer. I do not have lux meter to measure actual brightness to be more specific but now I'm comparing my LED and CFL. The LED (6x8W) I light up everyday seem to be brighter than my CFL which I rarely used in the same hall (6x8W), but that probably just my perception. In my home, the most last is the flurosent light. I still have flurosent light working since 17yrs ago. It just freaking don't want to spoil. At the end of life cycle the florescent tube will require a bit more power to start ionizing the gas the tube and light up. I've observed this when repairing the electronic "ballast". One that has not been used for more than a year just failed to light up. I suspect everything but the tube. Unfortunately the tube just killed the driver. I was also surprised. Gas leak? It was either Toshiba or Philips, can't remember The 2nd last is the PLC light which last more than 5yrs. The 3rd last is the LED DL overtake the CFL just recently and still counting. |
Aug 7 2015, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 7 2015, 10:35 AM) Yup saw your image before. There are improving, and to get the price down to matchable with CFL brightness will take sometime. What I observe in the western market and their consumer usage, the 100w is not a favour. Instead 60w warm white are more popular and cheaper. They don't like bright light for home. Not like Asian people. Instead 100w like this is more for sturdy lamp.Another LED in Thailand market. If you see properly the packaging, they state the Watt, Lumens, price, Dimension etc. Same as the western Philip. Their consumer is more informative compare our local. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Aug 7 2015, 03:08 PM
Aug 17 2015, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 16 2015, 11:02 PM) not led, currently i saw tesco selling led 8w twin pack for less than rm25, not sure what brand tho. i notice nowdays shops are not offering warranty for philips lights. If the manufacturing don't give warranty, how the shop going to give warranty? Unless the shop want to take the risk.18w Philips Essential i found cheapest rm6.90 cnc/no warranty So far, I survey, non of the LED bulb have warranty. Even in others country. Only the downlight type got the manufacturing warranty. Some I brought have 5yrs off warranty. |
Aug 17 2015, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 17 2015, 09:04 AM) Ozak, the philips bulb, is like test at shop if light up but once you leave the shop no warranty is given even 1 week. GE is giving 1 yr, china mari bulb is giving 6 months the place i buy but none for philips. i check 3 diffrent shop same implied for philips. Most I see, the warranty didn't state in the box. So I presume they don't have warranty. The warranty sometime is the distributer itself given.Example of the LED DL with 5yrs warranty state on the box. The warranty is given by the manufacturing in this case. ![]() |
Aug 21 2015, 09:43 AM
Aug 21 2015, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 09:48 AM) do you know if ace sell the mechanism alone. at home i got those aluminium extendable post already. now i need to change bulb at 16ft high. my ladder is just 8ft. It come with the pole. Never see it sell separately. The whole thing is yellow color. Not that expensive. Just get the whole thing, and takeout the pole if you prefer. |
Aug 21 2015, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 21 2015, 09:49 AM) or a DIY That plastic bottle doesn't look like give a good grip.For my case is a PLC blub, no pole can do, it need some physical strength to pull out the plc light. Then again, plc only need replacement like once is 4-5 years with average 6-8 hours usage. Some climbing still ok. You can get a crocodile grip stick. But not sure is long enough. I guess it has about 60-70cm long the stick. |
Aug 21 2015, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 10:09 AM) thanks guys, tomorow i will go look at h/w store. not sure where have one in jb. first time having a apt with this high ceiling. other wise might need to look for 12-13ft high ladder. With such a high ceiling, you better get a good bulb and extra bright. You don't want change it everytime. Later you curse the ceiling. Just walk over to sg lah. This post has been edited by ozak: Aug 21 2015, 10:23 AM |
Aug 21 2015, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 21 2015, 11:17 AM) i usually used philips essential only, got light bulb can last more than 5 yrs ar? so far mine all can last >2 yrs 6-8 hrs aday usage. I don't no what bulb can run over 5yrs. LED bulb is the only answer. But I don't have experience for that long.The Philip LED that I show, is still under testing. With 1500lumens, it is promising. The only LED DL I have now is run over 2yrs and look reliable. But not suitable for your height ceiling. The changing will be troublesome. So you got to try and error to find a good bulb. Walk over to SG and find some better 1. I believe SG have more choice and good quality LED bulb. |
Nov 18 2015, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(codeiki @ Nov 18 2015, 01:16 AM) Philips CFL that I bought in 2013, about 5% burned in 6 months (some as early as 1 month), 15% burned in 12 months, some just burned without noticing because seldom used. I bought it from authorized philips shop that you all mentioned but without warranty. Should I give Philips LED a try or to consider GE, OSRAM or any other brand? I have been stop using Philip CFL for over 12yrs. I have long discover it is not reliable. I using Hitachi and Panasonic which average 2yrs lifetime. |
Nov 18 2015, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 18 2015, 04:53 PM) CFL as in the E47 bulb? The other CFL bulb with external ballast is very reliable lah. Almost 95% of my house bulbs are CFL with external ballast. Those inside got electronic 1 lor. Very unreliable.Those external ballast is PLC type. PLC type no electronic. That's why last long. |
Nov 18 2015, 05:35 PM
Nov 19 2015, 10:05 AM
Nov 19 2015, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(WahBiang @ Nov 19 2015, 06:02 AM) I see, but what does the CRI mean?? CRI is a light color shine on the object color and how accurate the color you see on the object.We got those warm light and cool light. How to choose where to use which? Sorry no mean to interrupt this price list. Different white color shine on the object will produce different color accuracy. |
| Change to: | 0.0284sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:09 PM |