11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha modelling thread V37, Ver Revive

heally82
post Aug 20 2015, 06:53 AM

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 19 2015, 06:21 PM)
heally82 Bro, saw ur decal sheet, awesome!
where did u find those decals paper, and do u print on laserjet or inkjet?
Got mine from Taobao n print it with company laser jet but I advice you to print at printer shop where usually the graphic design student go one cz resolution I recommend as high as possible mine 1600 laser jet still can't get the warning details clear.

Also after that decal was done it failed miserably after top coated it and apply on my black shield. Because decal look awesome on white surface but not on black my skeleton decal turn dark brown...

So kinda abandon my Hebrew lucifer wording decal too, pity.

Tried MGM top coat too but also failed terribly, tonight gonna put 2nd coat see whether can get back glossy finish or not.
heally82
post Aug 20 2015, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 20 2015, 07:51 AM)
What programme u use

If u wan sharp edges, accurate color and clearer images use adobe illustrator
Actually it's not the software issue but the printer I used normal printer won't print white so might seemed nice on blank decal white paper but when remove the decals actually the white portion become transparent and the background will replace the transparent portion of your decal turning dark brown in my case.
heally82
post Aug 20 2015, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 20 2015, 12:20 PM)
ic, btw there's no local shop that sell decal sheets for printing?
interested to try but will probably test with inkjet 1st
Not sure bout local, usually I ordered from taobao that bundled with my other gunpla supplies to save shipping and it sure does together with other paints and stuff.

There are PC shop should sell these referred to some us guy YouTube video but the price he mentioned is crazy think 15usd 5sheet something like that. I just bout like below 7rmb exclude shipping.

Bare in mind, these DIY decals might gets a bit rough on the edges depend on how u cut it. Also need glossy topcoat after u print it.
heally82
post Aug 20 2015, 03:07 PM

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 20 2015, 02:40 PM)
noted, btw if u plan to order some sheets, can i tumpang  laugh.gif
Can but u just missed the last shipment that ship my stein, also I putting all purchase on hold due abang jib rm fall impact. Cannot tahan already, japan site also even though there's a few kit I'm putting my eye on.
heally82
post Aug 21 2015, 09:40 AM

QUOTE(Godevil @ Aug 21 2015, 08:45 AM)
Anyone buy from Mandarake Nakano online before?

I wonder how much is the express delivery cost for Metal Build?
for most of their products should have auto calculate when you proceed to buy, but i have tried with pg but delivery cost didnt come out.

you can try out 1st see whether will auto calculate...
heally82
post Aug 21 2015, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Aug 21 2015, 11:27 AM)
Lol no.

First of all MG freedom is 2004, revive freedom is 2015.... Thats 11 years of difference for crying out lout. If there isnt an improvement then Bandai might as well stop making kits for all eternity.

Secondly, MG is always about design details and accuracy to the show, articulation has nvr been the main priority. Ppl who buys MG dont usually care about articulation, its an added advantage sure, but is not the main point in determining if 1 will buy or wont buy. May i remind u of ex-s, the only thing brickier than it is an actual brick and that was in 2003 yet despite that its still a pretty popular kit. Didnt stop them for making more then, wont stop them from making more now.
but the mg line sure is slowed compare to previous years, mainly because of price hence re100 lines that sacrificed the inner frame...

only most gen x and early gen y into mg lines, life is getting hectic and people just want to build it fast... (im thinking of becoming one too... many backogs)
heally82
post Aug 21 2015, 02:34 PM

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Aug 21 2015, 12:35 PM)
MG line is slow yes but it not about price, Bandai was nvr ashamed of churning out pricey kits, The O was sold at 10000yen, Hi nu at 7000yen, did not stop them from making more. RE100 is not created bcos of the price, its for kits that will otherwise nvr c the light of day in MG form because it doesnt make business sense.

Nightingale will nvr work in MG for the sheer size and for the simple fact that plastic is not filled with magic pixie dust that magically give it the strength of steel.

MK III i doubt any1 read msv to know what it is.

GP04 heck it doesnt even exist as a proper ms in 0083, only on paper.

Would any of these sold profitably in MG, or in the case of nightingale will it even work as an MG? Even in RE form its not selling like gangbuster, that in itself tells u these kits arent all that popular with the general audience because its not recognizable outside of hardcore fanatics.
MG line is slow because there isnt any running show at the moment. The last 2 successful Gundam anime is all about fighting HG kits, seems appropriate to make HG to cater to it dont u think? If G Reco was more well receive it would hav more MGs, if AGE was not a mess that it was it would hav more MGs. A show popularity dictates its merchandise.
i really do agree that g recon and age series really a bit far fetch, still there are 5 of them make it to mg not sure future will be mg line for g recon.

as for bf and bft series amazingly 4 make it to mg, so pretty much we can relate anime series popularity there. but dont forget most of the recent kits are either redesign from previous or remold old mgs. so cost down plays a great part nowadays...

heally82
post Aug 21 2015, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 21 2015, 02:47 PM)
The problem with Bandai is they never looked at demands outside Japan.

Seriously, if they make all the Wing series movie version MGs, and as normal release, easily can sell like hot cakes overseas
true only people who knew anime line around that time will go for mg, well now all big company goes for hunger marketing strategies...

p bandai... gosh gotta hate them for making things limited...

heally82
post Aug 21 2015, 03:46 PM

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Aug 21 2015, 03:31 PM)
The thing is other conventional Gundam series where 20m tall pew pew lazer giant robot of doom is the main attraction, MG is looked upon as the default mainstay line because of its accuracy to the source material. Transformation kit in MG really do transform under its own weight as portrayed in the show n not a parts-former like HGs often does. It has innerframe as depicted in all obligatory hanger scene where most HGs r lacking. Every small color details comes as its own parts (most of them anyway). HG can nvr be perceive in the same way an MG would in a conventional series purely for the accuracy it portray.

The BF series on the other hand is full on meta, its meant to parody the real world which is why all the kits featured in it r all real life existing HG kits. This completely flips the status between HGs n MGs since HGs is explicitly portrayed in the show as the mainstay line. The show was a huge success and because of that HGs is now the more accurate design of the 2 with accordance to the show, more ppl r buying em because of the success n influence of BF series which is why the releases of MG has been slowed down significantly. What other recent series that MG can be looked upon as the mainstay kit?

Prices is irrelevant to the recent decline in MG releases, dont forget the main market for gunpla is Japan n Bandai dont care about any other market for the most part. Fluctuation in the currency dont affect Japanese buying Japanese product using Japanese yen, 2000yen is still 2000yen, 7000yen is still 7000yen, it makes no difference to them. If they can afford 7000yen MG Nu 2 years ago they can afford a hypothetical 7000yen MG kit right now.
yeah i what i meant was the conventional mass production mgs are getting less while p bandai are getting more mgs coz less effort with higher selling price.

i dont doubt their buying power just bandai dont think mass pro mgs is a profitable line as its used to...

sorry for not clearing this out though, cz im a big fan of mgs too but not with p bandai stuff...
heally82
post Aug 21 2015, 05:39 PM

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 21 2015, 05:23 PM)
I still dont get the hype on bf series especially the chathedral gundam. The design is very blant but maybe I didnt watch the series so I only judge solely on the design.
yeah i would prefer a series much more like the good old plamo kyoshiro (may be the decision to make mg perfect gundam red warrior is a tribute to the series?), would be totally awesome to put plamo building tips and tricks into an anime instead of talking crap like plavsky particles and summore all those shouting here and there would totally awkward, may i have grown up to get the kids stuff anymore...

im fine with bf but it got worse with bft...
heally82
post Aug 21 2015, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(advocado @ Aug 21 2015, 05:33 PM)
how long does it take for wet acrylic paint to dry? i sprayed a wet layer to get the gloss look more than 24hrs it's dry doesn't stick however will leave finger prints when i hold it.
not sure about acylic but my lacquer took me 3 days for the paint to fully cure, 24hours would still leave finger print but still ok to apply water decals
heally82
post Aug 21 2015, 08:36 PM

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 21 2015, 07:00 PM)
the hype is the battle scenes only, it gets your blood boiling(or burning? laugh.gif)
for Cathedral, everyone has their tastes, if not no point having so many Gundam universes and designs lol

example, I love bulky MSes like Ex-S and FAZZ, but some people don't get why I like bricks, they prefer sleek and high speed types
dudes, that's way too thick sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
acrylics and lacquers are well known for their fast drying and curing time
It's safe to start masking or assembling 10-15 mins after painting with acrylics or lacquers, but if wanna be safe, usually wait for an hour is more than enough
if you guys need to wait more than a day, it's not right
Huh sorry for didn't further elaborate mine is 1 coat of prime 1 coat of glossy black and another coat of metallic color all in a go. It's safe for u to put another coat within minutes but assemble them usually 3 day mainly because 2 day I apply water slides and third day top coat then an hour later assemble them. My exp is 24hrs later will still leave slight finger print but able to remove by eye glass cloth wiping (with a bit of force)
heally82
post Aug 22 2015, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(advocado @ Aug 21 2015, 11:10 PM)
will the finger print be noticeable once you gloss coat it with future? you leave it room temp or use aircon/heater?
If you leave the finger print without rectifying it yes, usually after 1night ( or with my DIY oven 15mins) the finger print should easily be removed.

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 21 2015, 11:59 PM)
still too long, a lot of modellers can start work in the morning and finish everything by night.
even with enamels which are notorious for slow drying, are adviced by manufacturer to wait 24 hours for it to cure only.
because MG Gouf Custom is still using the 1.0 frame
been waiting for Bandai to make MG Gouf Custom 2.0 sad.gif
serious yes
even when I was using spraycans, even wet coats dried up and safe to handle after an hour
worst case scenario, hobby magazine add-ons whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
Then I think should be different brand of paints used, I used all china xunin paints, last time I use mr hobby was felt a bit dry compare to xunin even with thinner than have retarder in it. Seriously my painted kits are not thick at all (mostly because I'm cheapskate) because using tamiya coarse polisher can eat through easily if too much force use... But your 15mins dry time does amaze me because most Plamo japan videos I watched only handle their painted kits after 15mins curing time with small oven or may be they just playing careful.
heally82
post Aug 22 2015, 01:02 AM

QUOTE(advocado @ Aug 22 2015, 12:35 AM)
how to remove the fingerprints?

is it possible to polish with just finish compound? coarse & fine what is the big difference? i tried wet sand 2000P seems will sand off the paint. what about those car polisher are they closer to finish or fine compound since they are designed to remove light scratches on cars.
If the finger print is not deep and it's done after paint has cured for sometime there is hope to polish it off. I do have exp of leaving finger print right after minutes of paint job done and try assemble them leaving finger prints while snapping the parts. That require me to put another layer of paint after polish it.

Coarse is equal to 800 grade of sand paper if not mistaken just that polisher compound can do a better job on painted surface ( less in depth scratches) the finer the compound the less worry when polishing your kit with force (usually with fine compound I put full force and there's time I got finger blisters.

Many try alternatives such as car polisher and even Colgate can do the job, like I always said get your little spoon to test it out and get a grip of how new stuff works.

Just learned that MGM brand top coat ( in direct translate should be cold bake top coat paint) it's a liquid epoxy that will gives you mirror like glossy finish without tough polishing. But require a lot of thinning, didn't try it on spoon and it spoiled my diablo gundam...

Spoon is my life saver now...
heally82
post Aug 27 2015, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 27 2015, 10:11 AM)
been thinking abt it, but....there's still many gunpla which i wish to get, and erm the real fun is building it i suppose
damn bandai only remodel the claw for HGUC and only if u buy the banshee norn (unicorn mode)  mad.gif

i think theres 3rd party option for claws, v fin, beam cannon and norn backpack even for phenex also have.

you will have to mod a bit on your unicorn though and the price for me still a bit on the higher side... (think around rm100 if you want complete option on banshee norn or phenex set and its a gk so no color separation too...)
heally82
post Aug 27 2015, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 27 2015, 11:00 AM)
so canspray is actually good enough?
do i need to do priming if i only painting the same color or similar color code?
even with worse rm but still already put order at mandarake on 3 mgs 1 00q 1 08 platoon and 1 rick dias for 7000 yen not yet get the shipping cost yet.

from my opinion a bit risky on smaller scale kits if you use spray cans that hard to control the paint amount outflow gotta know your skills before doing smaller scales... my time i have small defects of under estimating these hg and rgs...

heally82
post Aug 27 2015, 12:50 PM

QUOTE(chyll2 @ Aug 27 2015, 12:33 PM)
so canspray is good enough? it depends on how good your control is. Some people can achieve good results on it since they are used to do it (misting), others blame it really bad. THere are certain variables as well like some spray can from the same brand can be thicker or thinner.
yes it is really depends on the can spray brand nozzles that gives different outflow, with that in mind you will also need to control how far away to spray it (normally will take around 30cm away from target). some spray cans require extra shake and even dip in warm water beforehand also...

others will basically depends on weather and parts prep (washing, cleanliness etc)

i do saw lots of spray can works even surpass a lot of air brush works but that takes a lot of skills which i dont have...

again plastic spoon law... never fails me...
heally82
post Aug 28 2015, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 27 2015, 06:07 PM)
Remind me of 08th team unit, looks heavy buy Yea I prefer this one than 3.0

hoping they will provide metal build decals and in water slide of course!
once bandai shrunk never goes back... soon when new series come out dont expect you will have cool weapons too...
water decals buy separately, weapons buy separately and you now what soon when they turn p bandai you're gonna curse like hell...

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 27 2015, 09:04 PM)
Spent 6 mid year campaign cards and didn't even hit one sad.gif
hehe previously a guy from guy used a stack of 60 i think still got nothing, imagine his the level of trauma...
heally82
post Aug 28 2015, 10:51 AM

QUOTE(xein @ Aug 28 2015, 10:07 AM)
Sigh. Astray...
They should just sell the weapon packs and mod units as option/conversion kits unless it is a different frame.
always the garage kit option will have these, with revive series on goin, bandai most likely release common use weapon series...

so expect to mix match iron-blooded orphan series weapon la...

QUOTE(konn @ Aug 28 2015, 10:20 AM)
guys wta.. what solvent need to clean of lacquer paint, can mineral spirit do the thing..  sweat.gif
general purpose thinner (GP thinner), mineral spirit, lacquer thinner all can do the same cleaning job but difference is on how strong it is.

normally for cleaning kit parts i would recommend lacquer thinner coz less corrosive on the plastic, other options are strictly for cleaning other stuff

QUOTE(HoNeYdEwBoY @ Aug 28 2015, 10:37 AM)
But her opening time is superb weird lol....
totally agreed, went there a few times during my working hours also can see them open... and thought closed them forever...
heally82
post Aug 28 2015, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(xein @ Aug 28 2015, 11:00 AM)
I'm thinking of getting mr. Masking sol r.
Any opinions and safety precautions.
Thank you.
i guess nothing, bought mine tried it and really hard to use if you dun have a steady painter hands, the liquid viscosity also very hard to achieve your masking purposes. for me i end up same old micro masking.

the old bottle just left there, after a few disaster of mix method for micro mask and liquid mask pretty much give up.

remember, this require extreme painter skill set and really hard to dry when it gets thick, most of the time i tried the masking didnt gets dried even after hour of waiting and end up smudging my parts and hard to remove when these liquid get thin...

still, might not be as bad, purely my own experience because i have low skill set on painting...

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:14 AM