Nov 12 2006, 09:49 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
If you're on a budget, go for either SX or Yamaha Pacifica strats. Probably around the RM500 mark, but they are good......
Humbuckers are a must if you're playing punk..... but don't quote me on that. Also, you'll need a fairly powerful or dirty amp to play punk songs....... We ARE talking about Ramones, Sex Pistols style Punk rock and not the crappy Blink 1-8-suck right? |
Nov 12 2006, 10:02 PM
871 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: A Galaxy Far Far Away... |
how about squiers tho? how does sx compared to let say a squier double fat strat? and what amps are you recommending man?
oh btw, i forgot to state my budget. roughly around RM 1500 for guitar. and maybe another RM 500 for a practice amp. This post has been edited by Ryo: Nov 12 2006, 10:05 PM |
Nov 12 2006, 11:38 PM
Well, these days, alot of punk rockers find that the Gibson Les Paul Special seems to be the weapon of choice. You can find the Epiphone version, but won't recommend that. The pickups just plain sucks...... something to keep in mind.
But for the price of a Squire, I would rather get a Yamaha Pacifica and put the left over cash in lets say a Vox AD30vt..... |
Nov 12 2006, 11:42 PM
1,217 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Kuching<-->KL/PJ |
ibanez's SA series and the RG series have some good guitars with that budget of yours...price ranging from rm900+ to 1.5k...u can give it a try and see whether it fits ur style..
there're tons of amps out there for u to try and find the one that suit ur taste...the vox AD30vt stated by blacktrix is quite good...but i went for line6 spider 2...since i'm tight on my budget... |
Nov 12 2006, 11:48 PM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
instead of ibanez, go check out cort.
same quality but cheaper than ibanez cos cort makes some of the ibanez. Made in indonesia. M-200 RM680. http://www.cort.co.kr/english/products/com...?product_id=127 Z-42 RM730. this model has a coil tap also. http://www.cort.co.kr/english/products/com...?product_id=114 tho i wish got the EVL Z-6, sure that one RM2k http://www.cort.co.kr/english/products/com...?product_id=106 This post has been edited by Everdying: Nov 12 2006, 11:50 PM |
Nov 13 2006, 12:07 AM
6,339 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 12 2006, 11:38 PM) Well, these days, alot of punk rockers find that the Gibson Les Paul Special seems to be the weapon of choice. You can find the Epiphone version, but won't recommend that. The pickups just plain sucks...... something to keep in mind. that depends actually But for the price of a Squire, I would rather get a Yamaha Pacifica and put the left over cash in lets say a Vox AD30vt..... my epi LP classic came with gibson pickups while not the best im not complaining |
Nov 13 2006, 12:08 AM
how did your epi classic come with gibson pickups?
you got 2nd hand? |
Nov 13 2006, 09:41 AM
I wasn't talking about the LP classic...... I'm talking about either the LP Special OR junior.
Heck, even the LP-100's Open-coil humbuckers suck.... |
Nov 13 2006, 09:46 AM
Nov 13 2006, 10:35 AM
1,399 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: KL PJ |
haha woh f*** haha
SX wud b a gud beginner guitar to start wit |
Nov 13 2006, 12:19 PM
289 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Nov 13 2006, 02:09 PM
229 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: ask me lah... |
i would say SX because i am using SX now..
Nov 13 2006, 02:33 PM
Nov 13 2006, 03:59 PM
871 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: A Galaxy Far Far Away... |
Thanks for the quick reply guys, i'll check out some of the guitars u guys mention. i like the cort EVL Z-6 and maybe the epi les paul special. but yea, need to upgrade to better pickups for the epi i guess. which store carries these particular model of guitars and can you guys recommend me a good pickup for the epi les paul special? thanks again guys
Nov 13 2006, 09:45 PM
Nov 13 2006, 10:06 PM
868 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Just wana tumpang here, where can I get the 'BEST' guitar string? Because my bf guitar strings broken out as he was not using it since last year. He went to UK to continue his lesson. So, I would like to buy the guitar string and help him to fix the guitar back. Anyway, its a santa cruz guitar.
Nov 13 2006, 10:51 PM
687 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Actually, at one point, lots of Epi LP came with Gibson USA stickers on the pickups. I think the marketing pitch was designed in the USA by Gibson.
Sorry to bust your bubble Sean but your Epi pickups are just that, Epi pickups. I hope you didn't pay extra for it because of the stickers. |
Nov 13 2006, 10:52 PM
This is no "best" string..... what kind of player is he? And is this for an Acoustic or an Electric? There are so many variables.... too many to list down.
Back to the guitar pickups..... would suggest something Bright for the Les Paul special.... maybe Seymour live wires or something like that. This post has been edited by blacktrix: Nov 13 2006, 10:57 PM |
Nov 13 2006, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Nov 13 2006, 10:51 PM) Actually, at one point, lots of Epi LP came with Gibson USA stickers on the pickups. I think the marketing pitch was designed in the USA by Gibson. actually the current MIC ones i think come with the stickers again.Sorry to bust your bubble Sean but your Epi pickups are just that, Epi pickups. I hope you didn't pay extra for it because of the stickers. you can even see the same stickers on the fake gibsons made in the epiphone factories in China. btw sean, how come your epi LP classic had stickers on the pickups? the classic has open coils, normally you dont find stickers on those. This post has been edited by Everdying: Nov 13 2006, 11:00 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0179sec
5 queries
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:01 AM |