7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Car amp recommendation, What brand?

TSD_Y2k.4^
post Nov 30 2006, 05:25 PM

Enriching Your Lifestyle!
2,271 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Nov 30 2006, 05:13 PM)
for me i'll only choose between Steg and TRU
DLS doesn't sound any special to me

steg sounds warm and kinda laid back... very good for listening orchestra
TRU on the other hand is dynamic, fast and clean... no nonsense amp ! and also very underated
I see.I was recommended by many friends to go for DLS.

Thanks for your recommendation bro.Probably will look at Steg range.Which model is good for 4 channel around RM2k+?
(N)3
post Nov 30 2006, 05:32 PM

2,661 posts

TRu's new range is the billet series
there is a B4100 i think
100W x4

This post has been edited by (N)3: Nov 30 2006, 05:33 PM
driftmeister
post Nov 30 2006, 05:46 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Nov 30 2006, 05:25 PM)

Thanks for your recommendation bro.Probably will look at Steg range.Which model is good for 4 channel around RM2k+?
it's normal lor
u can go out and ask how many ppl know DLS how many ppl know TRU, Steg, Mcintosh, Brax
for sure.. the number of ppl answering DLS is more
they dono how well the latter can perform
thus suggest something that are more popular... or in another word.. well known

another suggestion by me is..
i just saw u said that u're using focal..is it ?
focal + steg will give a good result..
focal + tru will be a bit awful ... too dynamic
i will suggest pairing sinfoni or PHD with focal... they sound natural.. no ajinomoto added! will perform it's best with some silk dome tweeters also (depends)
do let me know if interested with sinfoni... got 2 units to let go at cheap price wink.gif
TSD_Y2k.4^
post Nov 30 2006, 10:41 PM

2,271 posts

QUOTE((N)3 @ Nov 30 2006, 05:32 PM)
TRu's new range is the billet series
there is a B4100 i think
100W x4
I think you're refering to B-4110 which is a 110watts x 4 amp smile.gif
TSD_Y2k.4^
post Nov 30 2006, 10:44 PM

2,271 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Nov 30 2006, 05:46 PM)
it's normal lor
u can go out and ask how many ppl know DLS how many ppl know TRU, Steg, Mcintosh, Brax

i will suggest pairing sinfoni or PHD with focal... they sound natural.. no ajinomoto added! will perform it's best with some silk dome tweeters also (depends)
do let me know if interested with sinfoni... got 2 units to let go at cheap price  wink.gif
I see.THanks bro,learned something new today:)
I'm actually using the Focal tweeters only bro,I'm using Hertz Hi-Energy series for front and back:) So like what you've suggeted,i think PHD or Steg may be my answer:D

Probably you can PM me your Sinfoni amps' prices and info yea;)
morgan
post Nov 30 2006, 11:15 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Nov 30 2006, 05:25 PM)

Go for Alpine if you want volume and velocity smile.gif
(N)3
post Nov 30 2006, 11:15 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Nov 30 2006, 05:46 PM)
it's normal lor

do let me know if interested with sinfoni... got 2 units to let go at cheap price  wink.gif
driftmeister sifu
what about eton and tru leh?
i know eton and steg sound very nice and very warm biggrin.gif
driftmeister
post Nov 30 2006, 11:24 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

not sifu le... just some noob trying to be smart tongue.gif

well.. basically using steg
u dun need to be worry too much as it suits almost every kind of speakers with different characteristic.. as it as well known for it's warmness

had try out steg whacking morel, dyna, alpine, scanspeak, vifa and some other which i forgotten
but not eton.. only heard eton powering by genesis ( sounds very refine and laid back)
they all perform quite well..

talking about tru.... i am not too sure... haven try any yet... since genesis and tru are quite similiar to each other in characteristic.. i guess it wont be too much different... mayb the power that we feed them is different causing some different sounding.. as well as acoustic..

only worry if u're getting fast and dynamic amp..(for example audio system) they might not suit all the speakers out there

This post has been edited by driftmeister: Nov 30 2006, 11:26 PM
(N)3
post Dec 1 2006, 09:20 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Nov 30 2006, 11:24 PM)
not sifu le... just some noob trying to be smart tongue.gif

well.. basically using steg
u dun need to be worry too much as it suits almost every kind of speakers with different characteristic.. as it as well known for it's warmness

had try out steg whacking morel, dyna, alpine, scanspeak, vifa and some other which i forgotten
but not eton.. only heard eton powering by genesis ( sounds very refine and laid back)
they all perform quite well..

talking about tru.... i am not too sure... haven try any yet... since genesis and tru are quite similiar to each other in characteristic.. i guess it wont be too much different... mayb the power that we feed them is different causing some different sounding.. as well as acoustic..

only worry if u're getting fast and dynamic amp..(for example audio system)  they might not suit all the speakers out there
icic
well nvm then i find some time as the shop to demo for me
planning on getting an eton sub, thinking what amp to pair it with
TSD_Y2k.4^
post Dec 1 2006, 02:47 PM

2,271 posts

Anyone here own PHD 4075amp?
shocker
post Dec 1 2006, 08:19 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

i hope threadstarter doesnt mind me hijacking his thread to ask amp related questions tongue.gif ....hehehe... laugh.gif

since we are talking about amps, i have been thinking off 2 scenarios of a 4 channel amp connection to a set of front component speakers.... icon_rolleyes.gif

scenario 1
2 channels to left comp speaker
2 channels to right comp speaker

scenario 2
1 channel goes to left comp speaker
1 channel goes to right comp speaker
1 channel goes to left tweeter
1 channel goes to right tweeter

my questions would be:
1. wat is difference would it make to the speakers performance between these 2 scenarios....
2. also how different is it if we connect a "1 channel left comp speaker and 1 channel right comp speaker (normal setup)" if compared to above scenarios...
3. is there an side effect that would spoilt the speaker, maybe over powered leadi...
4. any other notes/remarks?

the above setup/scenario is just a thought tongue.gif .....so for now, lets leave out the subwoofer connection... rclxm9.gif

thanks to whoever replies me.... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 1 2006, 08:21 PM
driftmeister
post Dec 2 2006, 10:56 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Dec 1 2006, 02:47 PM)
Anyone here own PHD 4075amp?
that amp not bad eh...
affordable with quite impressive sound
characteristic is all rounder
btw.. the sinfoni is price at rm2500 with local warranty wink.gif

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 1 2006, 08:19 PM)
i hope threadstarter doesnt mind me hijacking his thread to ask amp related questions tongue.gif ....hehehe... laugh.gif

since we are talking about amps, i have been thinking off 2 scenarios of a 4 channel amp connection to a set of front component speakers.... icon_rolleyes.gif
my questions would be:
1. wat is difference would it make to the speakers performance between these 2 scenarios....
2. also how different is it if we connect a "1 channel left comp speaker and 1 channel right comp speaker (normal setup)" if compared to above scenarios...
3. is there an side effect that would spoilt the speaker, maybe over powered leadi...
4. any other notes/remarks?

the above setup/scenario is just a thought tongue.gif .....so for now, lets leave out the subwoofer connection... rclxm9.gif

thanks to whoever replies me.... notworthy.gif
1) Scenario 1 - U need to have passive crossover, Scenario 2 - U need to have active crossover
2) same like scenario 1, just that scenario 1 u r using 2ch bridge, and this case u r using single channel
3) Providing the gain is set at the correct place, possibility is none, even if gain is set too high... the chance of getting distortion will be higher than speaker spoilt
4) do update with ur decision so that we can help u out
TSD_Y2k.4^
post Dec 2 2006, 12:19 PM

2,271 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 2 2006, 10:56 AM)
that amp not bad eh...
Well,now I've come up with a conclusion and that is Steg VS PHD with the budget of up to RM1.8k.Which one should I go for?Might be buying one next weekend already.

As for your Sinfoni,I heard before and its a master piece.But... sweat.gif over budget dude.Coz saving up some money for tweeters
shocker
post Dec 3 2006, 03:01 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 2 2006, 10:56 AM)
that amp not bad eh...
1) Scenario 1 -  U need to have passive crossover, Scenario 2 -  U need to have active crossover
2) same like scenario 1, just that scenario 1 u r using 2ch bridge, and this case u r using single channel
3) Providing the gain is set at the correct place, possibility is none, even if gain is set too high... the chance of getting distortion will be higher than speaker spoilt
4) do update with ur decision so that we can help u out
thanks for ur reply..... notworthy.gif

quite possibly since we are talking about component sets, they shud atleast come with some passive crossover rite tongue.gif ? so by referring to my questions again, let me rephrase that what is the most outstanding difference that i can feel in sound reproduction if lets say i choose either 1 of the 2 scenarios?? rclxms.gif

wat im trying to understand from here is that what is the huge difference the 2 scenarios would make in listening to music? is it just plain stupid to think of the 2 scenarios blink.gif , or is it just waste of amps channels and extra wiring sad.gif , or is it giving more power to component speakers where actually those comp speakers doesnt need the extra power doh.gif (since we power speakers using amps) or will those comps and tweeters sound better if connected with extra 1 channels each drool.gif [meaning scenario 1 and 2] (as supposed to normal setup which is one each) or is there an extra thing blink.gif ?

well, this is just an idea or thought as i said earlier thumbup.gif , im just thinking if lets say by some chance i got a 4 channel amp and decide to put 2 channels for front comps and dont decide to put up a subwoofer just yet, may be i can utilise the extra 2 unused channels for better purpose (like connecting to front comps) while waiting for subwoofer budget to come in hand since normally ppl would use 2 channels bridge to 1 for connection to subwoofer..... whistling.gif

sorry for my long explanation drool.gif ...thanks driftmeister...... flex.gif
loon1031
post Dec 3 2006, 09:45 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

QUOTE(shocker @ Dec 3 2006, 03:01 AM)
thanks for ur reply..... notworthy.gif

quite possibly since we are talking about component sets, they shud atleast come with some passive crossover rite tongue.gif ? so by referring to my questions again, let me rephrase that what is the most outstanding difference that i can feel in sound reproduction if lets say i choose either 1 of the 2 scenarios?? rclxms.gif

wat im trying to understand from here is that what is the huge difference the 2 scenarios would make in listening to music? is it just plain stupid to think of the 2 scenarios blink.gif , or is it just waste of amps channels and extra wiring sad.gif , or is it giving more power to component speakers where actually those comp speakers doesnt need the extra power doh.gif  (since we power speakers using amps) or will those comps and tweeters sound better if connected with extra 1 channels each drool.gif [meaning scenario 1 and 2] (as supposed to normal setup which is one each)  or is there an extra thing blink.gif ?

well, this is just an idea or thought as i said earlier thumbup.gif , im just thinking if lets say by some chance i got a 4 channel amp and decide to put 2 channels for front comps and dont decide to put up a subwoofer just yet, may be i can utilise the extra 2 unused channels for better purpose (like connecting to front comps) while waiting for subwoofer budget to come in hand since normally ppl would use 2 channels bridge to 1 for connection to subwoofer..... whistling.gif

sorry for my long explanation drool.gif ...thanks driftmeister...... flex.gif
From the last statment you said "a 4 channel amp and decide to put 2 channels for front comps and dont decide to put up a subwoofer just yet, may be i can utilise the extra 2 unused channels for better purpose (like connecting to front comps) while waiting for subwoofer budget to come in hand since normally ppl would use 2 channels bridge to 1 for connection to subwoofer..... "

YOU CAN DO IT... it is active setup for component same as the scenario 2 without using crossover. If your amp have crossover more better... thumbup.gif

driftmeister
post Dec 3 2006, 03:51 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

if using passive crossover
the frequency is set and kenot be change

so by using active crossover
we can fully utilize and fully release the potential of a speaker
by tuning to the most optimum cut off freq using the active crossover
also give more flexibility about wat kinda sound we desire

about the difference part is
how much difference u can notice?
it's depends on the sensitivity of ur ears
some ppl may have more difference bcos of the speaker they use
cable, amp also a part of the factor
shocker
post Dec 3 2006, 04:40 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

i did asked a fren of mine about this setups, just a simple explanation that he gave is that since we are giving extra power to the speakers (considering the fact that amps are used to power speakers), there is possibility that those comp speaker might get spoilt/damaged/koyak or have sound distortion over a prolong use... doh.gif

according to him, it depends whether those comps speakers can support the extra power and if they do, then its a good news biggrin.gif ....but thats not all also, tuning plays a important role too... rolleyes.gif

well, thanks for answering to my questions before notworthy.gif ....all i just wanted to know if giving extra channels and power to comps speakers might give out extra performance in those speakers.... icon_rolleyes.gif
driftmeister
post Dec 3 2006, 05:33 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

sometimes power isn't everything ler
used to feed 150w to my tweeter
then i change to 2 x 2channel amp
with just 50w to the tweeter
and it sounds better

and for over powering part
a good speaker wont be spoilt ler
shocker
post Dec 3 2006, 10:24 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 3 2006, 05:33 PM)
sometimes power isn't everything ler
used to feed 150w to my tweeter
then i change to 2 x 2channel amp
with just 50w to the tweeter
and it sounds better

and for over powering part
a good speaker wont be spoilt ler
hehehehe....you have a point there too...thanks for the explanation and advice biggrin.gif ....just asking OK, for RM1K wat is the good amp i can get within this price range flex.gif ....preferably a 4 channel amp, 2 channel also can for listening to SQL direction... icon_rolleyes.gif

i heard agako 2 and 4 channel amp in penang can get around the same price only.....which is about RM800 smile.gif ....might as well go for 4 channel ones rclxm9.gif ....but im not sure it suits the kind of music i listen to as some ppl says that different amp supports certain type of music better....like example amp X supports music X or Y better but not music A or B..... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 3 2006, 10:25 PM
driftmeister
post Dec 3 2006, 11:05 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

penang u need to ask loon1331
i am not penang lang

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:55 PM