Car amp recommendation, What brand?

shocker
post Dec 1 2006, 08:19 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

i hope threadstarter doesnt mind me hijacking his thread to ask amp related questions tongue.gif ....hehehe... laugh.gif

since we are talking about amps, i have been thinking off 2 scenarios of a 4 channel amp connection to a set of front component speakers.... icon_rolleyes.gif

scenario 1
2 channels to left comp speaker
2 channels to right comp speaker

scenario 2
1 channel goes to left comp speaker
1 channel goes to right comp speaker
1 channel goes to left tweeter
1 channel goes to right tweeter

my questions would be:
1. wat is difference would it make to the speakers performance between these 2 scenarios....
2. also how different is it if we connect a "1 channel left comp speaker and 1 channel right comp speaker (normal setup)" if compared to above scenarios...
3. is there an side effect that would spoilt the speaker, maybe over powered leadi...
4. any other notes/remarks?

the above setup/scenario is just a thought tongue.gif .....so for now, lets leave out the subwoofer connection... rclxm9.gif

thanks to whoever replies me.... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 1 2006, 08:21 PM
shocker
post Dec 3 2006, 03:01 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 2 2006, 10:56 AM)
that amp not bad eh...
affordable with quite impressive sound
characteristic is all rounder
btw.. the sinfoni is price at rm2500 with local warranty wink.gif
1) Scenario 1 -  U need to have passive crossover, Scenario 2 -  U need to have active crossover
2) same like scenario 1, just that scenario 1 u r using 2ch bridge, and this case u r using single channel
3) Providing the gain is set at the correct place, possibility is none, even if gain is set too high... the chance of getting distortion will be higher than speaker spoilt
4) do update with ur decision so that we can help u out
thanks for ur reply..... notworthy.gif

quite possibly since we are talking about component sets, they shud atleast come with some passive crossover rite tongue.gif ? so by referring to my questions again, let me rephrase that what is the most outstanding difference that i can feel in sound reproduction if lets say i choose either 1 of the 2 scenarios?? rclxms.gif

wat im trying to understand from here is that what is the huge difference the 2 scenarios would make in listening to music? is it just plain stupid to think of the 2 scenarios blink.gif , or is it just waste of amps channels and extra wiring sad.gif , or is it giving more power to component speakers where actually those comp speakers doesnt need the extra power doh.gif (since we power speakers using amps) or will those comps and tweeters sound better if connected with extra 1 channels each drool.gif [meaning scenario 1 and 2] (as supposed to normal setup which is one each) or is there an extra thing blink.gif ?

well, this is just an idea or thought as i said earlier thumbup.gif , im just thinking if lets say by some chance i got a 4 channel amp and decide to put 2 channels for front comps and dont decide to put up a subwoofer just yet, may be i can utilise the extra 2 unused channels for better purpose (like connecting to front comps) while waiting for subwoofer budget to come in hand since normally ppl would use 2 channels bridge to 1 for connection to subwoofer..... whistling.gif

sorry for my long explanation drool.gif ...thanks driftmeister...... flex.gif
shocker
post Dec 3 2006, 04:40 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

i did asked a fren of mine about this setups, just a simple explanation that he gave is that since we are giving extra power to the speakers (considering the fact that amps are used to power speakers), there is possibility that those comp speaker might get spoilt/damaged/koyak or have sound distortion over a prolong use... doh.gif

according to him, it depends whether those comps speakers can support the extra power and if they do, then its a good news biggrin.gif ....but thats not all also, tuning plays a important role too... rolleyes.gif

well, thanks for answering to my questions before notworthy.gif ....all i just wanted to know if giving extra channels and power to comps speakers might give out extra performance in those speakers.... icon_rolleyes.gif
shocker
post Dec 3 2006, 10:24 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 3 2006, 05:33 PM)
sometimes power isn't everything ler
used to feed 150w to my tweeter
then i change to 2 x 2channel amp
with just 50w to the tweeter
and it sounds better

and for over powering part
a good speaker wont be spoilt ler
hehehehe....you have a point there too...thanks for the explanation and advice biggrin.gif ....just asking OK, for RM1K wat is the good amp i can get within this price range flex.gif ....preferably a 4 channel amp, 2 channel also can for listening to SQL direction... icon_rolleyes.gif

i heard agako 2 and 4 channel amp in penang can get around the same price only.....which is about RM800 smile.gif ....might as well go for 4 channel ones rclxm9.gif ....but im not sure it suits the kind of music i listen to as some ppl says that different amp supports certain type of music better....like example amp X supports music X or Y better but not music A or B..... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 3 2006, 10:25 PM
shocker
post Dec 3 2006, 11:22 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 3 2006, 11:05 PM)
penang u need to ask loon1331
i am not penang lang
yeah, sort of waiting for him to reply biggrin.gif ....but i dont mind listening to u (or reading ur posts) if u got recommendations on amps as well in that budget range notworthy.gif ....thanks....
shocker
post Dec 4 2006, 09:17 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(morgan @ Dec 4 2006, 01:12 AM)
Guys, even tho you have a perfect speaker components, you still have to have one High End  head unit which can play beautiful crystal clear quality sound. This is just my opinion, like i would suggest go for Alpine HU. It really rocks!!:)
u have point there which i would agree... biggrin.gif

better HUs which has better EQ and functions tends to produce higher quality sound as compared to lower level HUs, but money also spendly nice maa....hahahaha..... brows.gif

heard like eclipse and alpine is quite good HUs..... thumbup.gif
shocker
post Dec 4 2006, 08:08 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 4 2006, 07:33 PM)
I also not Penang lang... I am Ipoh lang..  laugh.gif
i penang lang but parents in ipoh...kekekeke... tongue.gif

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 4 2006, 07:41 PM)
Agako ar... Maybe suitable for beginer
last time my agako not using enough one year then sold liao...
if u looking for SQ because it not enough clean & clear......it will not satisfy you for future....Maybe later u will regret and change it...
Why to save until have enough budget then but a good amp... no need waste too much money mah..
agako amp with penang ICE ppl is particularly famous becos the shop Golden....hehehehe... laugh.gif

well thanks for ur infor loon notworthy.gif , but I dont wish to join any ICE competition tongue.gif ....just want to enjoy the kind of music I listen to nod.gif .....if agako is good enuff for intermediate or beginner ppl like me, perhaps will take it..... smile.gif

as for money or budget, I got the moolah for a good amp, but I choose not to go so high end or spend so much on amp cos ICE is like nvr ending story cool.gif ....put a great amp today and heard other ppls setup amp is better then change again, sure spend a lot money one laugh.gif .....hehehehe.....I prefer to be moderate level OK ler....set a budget limit for amp, comps set, sub and enclosure, probably HU and wiring with tuning and probably u can go wrong from here.... biggrin.gif
shocker
post Dec 4 2006, 08:35 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 4 2006, 08:13 PM)
If prosible, you can looking for Alpine amp ma...At least I think it more better than Agako...

Only the Golden Auto introduce people using Agako.... I know one Golden Kaki using DLS Iridium 3 way component but using Agako because Golden introduce him and saying it good for SQ...haha...
hehehe....i heard like so far Golden is good in tuning rolleyes.gif .....but dat does not come cheap also ler.... sweat.gif

the question is if take alpine amp, is it in range of my budget RM1K 4 channels type sweat.gif ? if add RM100 or so, still acceptable but then how good or different is it if compared to agako smile.gif ? if more than RM1K 4 channel amp then lari leadi la from my budget.... whistling.gif
shocker
post Dec 5 2006, 02:14 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 4 2006, 09:20 PM)
The golden using Lanzar 15 band EQ for agako mah...lol..

I heard friend said the alpine amp cost around RM1k... real price not so sure...at least it sound more clear than Agakp la...
about the lanzar 15 band EQ for agako, even if u install agako without EQ, they can tune the ICE system for ur car to maximum level it can support, all depends on wiring, comps set and HU whether these 3 things can produce sound up to how good wink.gif .....atleast this is wat I heard ler.... rolleyes.gif

as for alpine amp, u mind giving me da amp details...thanks... biggrin.gif
shocker
post Dec 5 2006, 08:31 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 5 2006, 09:31 AM)
You use Agako amp before?
Agako amp only have limited setup...so how to produce SQ le...

Wiring is the last thing to do because normally people can't difference the sound by changing wiring...

The most important thing is HU, amp & speaker.. then Soundproof & Wiring...
no I nvr use any amp before so my amp experience is none wink.gif ....anyway, thanks for additional infor thumbup.gif ....by the way, which alpine amp u talking about around RM1K smile.gif ?
shocker
post Dec 8 2006, 07:58 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

hey guys, wat is a good or reasonable budget for a 4 channel amplifier to complement or drive a component set worth about around RM1K rolleyes.gif .......u all know this wat, if u have a reasonably good comps set, no point if ur amp is chaplang or not good enuff to match the comps set performance, right? smile.gif ....perhaps someone will agree with me..... blush.gif

no subwoofer at the moment wink.gif ....hehehehe...but planning to put one in future, so will use the 2 channels from this amp to power it up biggrin.gif ....thanks for the replies... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 8 2006, 07:59 PM
shocker
post Dec 9 2006, 05:33 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 9 2006, 12:16 PM)
see watch component you use then match with what amp...
QUOTE(ahboy2725 @ Dec 9 2006, 01:17 PM)
bro loon1031, wiring especially rca also important for ur setup. Not only rcas, power cables n grounding also important too. my 2cts nia
QUOTE(loon1031 @ Dec 9 2006, 01:43 PM)
Can heard the diferrence ... is that much change by changing cable..
For expert can...for the beginner might can't..
So the wiring might become the last one to be updated...
bro loon and ahboy, thanks for the replies icon_rolleyes.gif .....I think my question is pending till the component set is bought first.... rolleyes.gif
shocker
post Dec 23 2006, 12:22 PM

LivingLegend
901 posts

hie all wave.gif

I got a question on amplifier (since this is a amplifier thread brows.gif )....

let say before u buy an amp, what are the things that u must consider or see before choosing and buying one smile.gif ?

besides the channels supported, brand and budget, what else there is rclxub.gif ??

looking to power up the front components (confirmed) and either a subwoofer or a pair of 6 inch 2 way coaxials (rear setup not confirmed yet).... rolleyes.gif

thanks..... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shocker: Dec 23 2006, 12:23 PM
shocker
post Dec 24 2006, 02:12 AM

LivingLegend
901 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Dec 24 2006, 02:06 AM)
Look for the RMS of your woofer and the amp
lets say no subwoofer for now doh.gif smile.gif ......but thinking of using one when budget is in hand, for now will use the amp to drive the front components, please advice.... notworthy.gif

0.0205sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:44 PM