Volkswagen Cars Discussion: Ver. MK VIII, Das Auto

outpace
post Jul 31 2015, 09:55 PM

574 posts

Guys, do you check engine oil condition after every service?
the oil should be pretty close to the oil in bottle in term of colour.
But mine is very dark, could the SC having not extract all residual oil and simply top up. or they are using recycle oil?

anyone check their engine oil colour after service? was it clean oil or rather dark in colour?

Mine was the first of the 5 complimentary FOC services, checked on the next morning, the colour really look like oLD oil compare to what's remaining in the Castrol bottle.

outpace
post Aug 27 2015, 08:38 PM

574 posts

Guys, after service, would the engine turn to black really fast, I mean real fast like less than 100KM after oil change.

SC told me that it's normal. Googled a bit on web, it's very common for diesel engine, but petrol engine? 1.4TSI is a twin charge engine right?

On the right is the new oil from the bottle ( Castrol Edge Fully Synthetic), the dark oil on left was from the engine 1 day after the oil change.
Normal?

This post has been edited by outpace: Aug 27 2015, 08:43 PM
outpace
post Sep 2 2015, 11:07 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Aug 27 2015, 10:31 PM)
whats your mileage and where did u get your oil change done?

QUOTE(Error404 @ Aug 28 2015, 12:21 AM)
Color dont mean anything.
The most important is the viscocity of the oil.
It could turn into dark color because it might have carbon deposit inside your engine or maybe mixture of left over from previous oil change because it cannot drain 100%...
Viscocity?

I think I can only use my finger to press the oil and feel the stickiness or roughness (presence of metal) of the engine oil.
Any other better and convenient method to suggest?

Is there too much of carbon deposit considering its millage was less than 15K?

outpace
post Sep 2 2015, 11:07 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Kicimiao66cc @ Sep 2 2015, 11:33 AM)
Hi bro sis, may I know any reliable and experience outside workshop to chand the break pad for MK7 GTi?
area?
outpace
post Sep 2 2015, 11:09 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(masamura @ Sep 1 2015, 08:07 PM)
Today my 2013 Passat masuk hospital because mechatronics failure.... sad.gif

Was told it'll take them 2 days to fix it. Hopefully the new mechatronics won't fail anymore
what's your millage ?
Did you change to mineral oil during the call up?
outpace
post Sep 18 2015, 07:22 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(futra @ Sep 18 2015, 04:57 PM)
Guys, what do u guys think if I were to trade in my alza for.. let's say.. a polo sedan?

Is it considered as a downgrade or upgrade?
DG or UG in terms of seating capacity? blush.gif

or face problem? what others said are not important, and TBF it's not much different IMO.

What's the purpose of buying Alza at the first place?
outpace
post Sep 19 2015, 12:19 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(futra @ Sep 18 2015, 08:35 PM)
DG or UG? Sorry, I don't quite understand you there.
Initially it was to replace my retired wira sedan (given to sister after I got married). Anyway, it's just me wifey and our son.. so the 3 of us (plus his child car seat and stroller) are always there wherever we go. Fyi, the alza just passed its 60k service last month.
It just came to me that perhaps someday I might wanna get a good (german/japan/etc) car, good enough for family wkend drive and occasionally balik kampung during festive season.
so you view this Japs German thingy as an UG=UpGrade right?
Like the folks said here, use VW as second car will be wise enough.

60K is nothing.
going to have another kid soon? seating capacity/ durability / budget for maintenance / driving experience and safety , which is your priority?

in your shoe, I won't trade it for polo sedan.
outpace
post Sep 19 2015, 12:25 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Sep 14 2015, 07:09 PM)
yes... the new map for the DSG7 is retarded...
on partial throttle (which is what we use daily), the gearshift is slow...
only upon full throttle application that the gearshift is as the usual DSG crispiness...

so u have claim mecha or did a clutch adaptation or change clutch recently or have their gearbox changed to mineral oil... they will load this latest DSG7 map into the controller...
rclxub.gif
fortunately there is way to by pass it, flat it.

BTW, would sport mode faster?
outpace
post Dec 11 2015, 07:50 AM

574 posts

Well, I had encountered some issue with wet 6 speed.
Driving highway
Downhill
130KM/h
oil temp 112 Celsius
traffic at the front, so I release the pedal for a brief moment
the car moved away, so I press on pedal again
it simply stalled. After a few press, no choice but to shift to N and shift back to D1.
Back to normal.

Millage 20K plus, not sure what I can do with this issue, it's only once off, but not pleasant.

outpace
post Dec 17 2015, 12:10 PM

574 posts

I had switched into sport and manual mode, D mode, prior to this sudden unresponsiveness.
+iguan 1.4
outpace
post Dec 27 2015, 12:01 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(cysun @ Dec 26 2015, 03:38 PM)
Nope. Doesnt sound like a problem to me.

Read this -> DSG Game

And learn how the gearbox behaves and why it behaves this way. This article should be a mandatory read for all to-be DSG owners.
A long one but constructive post, although my case was not about 200ms or 800ms matter.

I then swift back to D and then N, then pushed to D again, back to normal again.

outpace
post Dec 31 2015, 01:27 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 30 2015, 10:28 PM)
U paid 1k for the battery? Should just change outside. RM300± can settle already
would it cause any problem to warranty?

outpace
post Feb 26 2016, 08:22 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(defnose @ Feb 25 2016, 11:47 AM)
Hey guys, my loan just got approved yesterday & im getting my Golf GTi Mk7 i think somewhere around next week. It's a pre-reg car from VW Sg Besi there. Got it @ RM198,000 including insurance.

Registered Dec 15, with mileage of 1,200KM. Pretty good deal to me i think.

But then again, just only today im having a second thought about this car. Is it true it has that infamous DSG problem? As someone had mentioned it here before.

EDIT: Also, any good recommended service centers? I heard the one in TTDI is quite good.
MK7 GTi , badass and sexiest GTi in my eyes, 6 speed wet clutch, don't worry, enjoy your drive! Wolf muscle in the disguise of rabbit, btw what colour?
outpace
post Apr 30 2016, 01:51 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Apr 28 2016, 10:56 PM)
cityhopper any pics of your re-upholstered seats? What was the damage like? I've been toying around with that idea, since my seats are sagging a little.
QUOTE(cityhopper @ Apr 29 2016, 11:15 AM)
got pic but will need to upload from home computer

I did it with VW
cost me 2.4k
Cost 2.4K to cover up the new seat cushion?

Need to refill some sponge if the seat has sag ?
outpace
post Jul 19 2016, 08:18 AM

574 posts

though I don't see any practical benefit about putting up a push start button, but the price difference is seriously, "phew"...

good to have someone help to program it, basically the hardwares in our car are ready for a lot more features, but most of us here can only go to the mediocre/ overloaded SC to get things done.
outpace
post Aug 30 2016, 07:02 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(SupremeLahh7 @ Aug 29 2016, 01:22 PM)
hi! can anybody help a buddy here sad.gif. im considering polo 1.2tsi sport (2012 model) (2ndhand offcourse). I know the maintenance can be higher than local cars, and idc bout that, but i want to know about the reliability of this car..izit bulletproof? or its just an another lemon that should be avoided at all cost. thanks for reading. looking forward for you guys punya reply. thanks!
your question is too general, so generally u are right.

There's certainly some lemon among all used Polo TSI 2012, by the way, what do you like about this model? what car are you driving currently?

You might want to share the second choice in your mind for comparison.
outpace
post Sep 14 2016, 07:51 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Sep 14 2016, 02:38 PM)
Century Marathoner cost RM350 only, DIN75
Varta cost RM1k & it's DIN60 or 65 only
What battery is Tiguan using?
How do you guys change the battery? change it while the engine is running?
outpace
post Nov 18 2016, 01:41 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Nov 16 2016, 06:29 PM)
Passat B8 price......

5 years manufacturer warranty + 5 years free service for purchase in 2016
With 5 years / 75K free service?
outpace
post Dec 20 2016, 03:26 PM

574 posts

1 and 4 months for Tiguan with start stop

I suspected was due to unleveled parking in the night before it failed.

Parked at slope, tilted to one side, with auto light switch on function next day the battery failed. Replaced it at SC under warranty, waited for one day, surprise that don't keep stock.
outpace
post Apr 27 2017, 08:43 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(ABCDEFAT @ Apr 27 2017, 06:28 AM)
Hi, sifus.
I am interested in getting 2nd hand  2012 Scirocco 1.4 Tsi. It has low mileage of 26k and is available for 70k.

However, I have read issues about the clutch problems in older scirocco. How serious is the problem actually?
I am only driving during weekends so there will be very minimal usage of the car which is one of the reason for me to get a 2nd hand car instead of new one.

Please provide some advices.
2012 is not my no., I wouldn't take it if I'm in your shoe, but since it's a weekend car. U can "afford" to have it.

0.0959sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:26 AM