14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

PROTON - VW wow!, It's still on suckers!!

Polishman
post Mar 18 2007, 01:05 AM

371 posts

Skoda is a good car - well only compared to Proton. Actually Skoda is a poor man's car in Europe...

tunertoobe
post Mar 18 2007, 01:10 AM

9,309 posts

Still they can compete in WRC and make turbo models. tongue.gif
Polishman
post Mar 18 2007, 01:36 AM

371 posts

The turbo engine is VW's and so what that they compete in WRC. You probably have never seen nor driven a WRC car. WRC cars have very little in common with massive production cars.

Pretty much the only manufacturers that are bringing technology developed and tested in rallying into normal mass production is Mitsubishi, Subaru and many years ago Audi.

Oh Skoda could have been also making cars to be driven on Mars or F1 bolids - still they mass production is CRAP big time. They are VW's el-cheapo.

btfan
post Mar 18 2007, 09:32 AM

Lowyat.NET #1 Fan
1,292 posts

It will be interesting to see where this is going since VW indirectly says they don't want their name to be smeared by Proton.
rcracer
post Mar 19 2007, 09:43 PM

?????
3,772 posts

'Volkswagen to introduce new sedans once Proton deal is finalised"

"Volkswagen’s head of international sales Kevin Rose says talks between Volkswagen and Proton are now at a fairly advanced stage, and both parties clearly know what they would want from such an agreement. Volkswagen said it would also work within the Malaysian government’s March 31st 2007 deadline"

Looks like it might just go through.

Source : paultan.org
pacer
post Mar 19 2007, 09:50 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(Polishman @ Mar 18 2007, 01:05 AM)
Skoda is a good car - well only compared to Proton. Actually Skoda is a poor man's car in Europe...
that was 5 years ago, now they are quite good, no more skoda jokes then... hahahahhahaha
Polishman
post Mar 23 2007, 02:23 AM

371 posts

skoda is the cheap crap - I know, I've driven many (usually as rentals).

SUSDrifter
post Mar 27 2007, 11:14 PM

1,349 posts

so, any update on the takeover?
travis_ckf
post Mar 27 2007, 11:16 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Sources says Proton partner will be announced this week, and it could be a local partner instead! If this is true, we will see miss hypermount pretty soon sweat.gif
SUSDrifter
post Mar 28 2007, 04:17 PM

1,349 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Mar 27 2007, 11:16 PM)
Sources says Proton partner will be announced this week, and it could be a local partner instead! If this is true, we will see miss hypermount pretty soon sweat.gif
got link????
Kagaya
post Mar 28 2007, 08:19 PM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

QUOTE(geforce1982 @ Nov 9 2006, 02:39 AM)
Don't be too excited yet. There are too many empty cheques and promises given by Proton before and it is hardly for us to believe them anymore. But if Proton really can give 51% of foreign party control to Volkswagen as the potential partner in the manufacturing operations, I doubt Volkswagen will really do technology transfer such as their very state of the art DSG or super-turbo charger to us. I believe maybe they are just interested with Proton's manufacturing factory at Tanjung Malim in order for them to set up their base to assembly and export cars to South East and Asia countries.

Anyway, looking forward some good news from Proton. I don't expect Proton cars to fully packed with Germany technology but at least please give us some camshaft profiling or Vvt-I alike technogies. I don't mind to buy Proton car in future if their car is reliable,having low fuel consumption and highly rated safety. No more Tin Nipis Proton.

I hope Malaysia Boleh, Proton Boleh too.
Well, one thing for sure that this will definitely happened.

But will it be bad to Proton when Proton is already in a state that can't go anymore worst laugh.gif ???

It's making LOSSES, and now someone willing to take the stake of 51%, it means bearing the losses before making the profit. They need some bigass oligopoly with guts big enough to swallow something like Proton is like telling those European to eat durian.

Bucking up on the production facility in terms of quality and quantity, management, R&D (I think the German might either be surprised by our local talent, positively or negatively)...

Hope that Proton will have a chance of Rebirth and morph into something that really gives us Malaysian, TRUE PRIDE...
SUSDrifter
post Mar 28 2007, 09:49 PM

1,349 posts

remember to post the link here
xplodingbomb
post Mar 28 2007, 09:51 PM

215 posts

I hope we don't become like Skoda. I personally find them ugly and yes, they're the el cheapo. Still considered the low-end stuff. Only here in malaysia are Skoda and chevy's are considered luxury.
How will this affect the launch of the Iswara replacement model? If they ever release one?
travis_ckf
post Mar 28 2007, 09:55 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

QUOTE(Drifter @ Mar 28 2007, 09:49 PM)
remember to post the link here
I read that frm the edge from the past few weeks. Darn cant find it sweat.gif

QUOTE(xplodingbomb @ Mar 28 2007, 09:51 PM)
I hope we don't become like Skoda. I personally find them ugly and yes, they're the el cheapo. Still considered the low-end stuff. Only here in malaysia are Skoda and chevy's are considered luxury.
How will this affect the launch of the Iswara replacement model? If they ever release one?
I dont think so, Proton will be much benefited with this Skoda model given by Volks. Skoda cars might be not so nice in designs but they are brilliant and reliable cars, their image has changed dramatically in Europe with positive image.
sqwerk2
post Mar 28 2007, 11:24 PM

The Big One
1,799 posts

so the deadline is up rite? wat is the results?
SUSDrifter
post Mar 29 2007, 08:14 AM

1,349 posts

searching the edge now
m|ng
post Mar 29 2007, 08:56 AM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

you guys want results? heres some to piss ya'll off tongue.gif

No decision on Proton partner

KUALA LUMPUR: It appears unlikely that the Government will make a decision on Proton Holdings Bhd's strategic partner by the end of the month deadline.

"The Treasury and Miti (Ministry of International Trade and Industry) were supposed to do a valuation and present it to the (Cabinet) committee but they have not presented it yet," Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said yesterday after delivering a special address at the Global Islamic Financial Forum.

Najib heads the Cabinet committee on the automotive industry.

As for the March deadline, he said: "Never mind. There'll be time. Don't worry. It doesn't matter if we miss it."

v1ctorong
post Mar 29 2007, 09:01 AM

364 posts

proton design good but quality sucks, services also sucks
SUSDrifter
post Mar 29 2007, 09:42 AM

1,349 posts

QUOTE(m|ng @ Mar 29 2007, 08:56 AM)
you guys want results? heres some to piss ya'll off  tongue.gif

No decision on Proton partner

KUALA LUMPUR: It appears unlikely that the Government will make a decision on Proton Holdings Bhd's strategic partner by the end of the month deadline.

"The Treasury and Miti (Ministry of International Trade and Industry) were supposed to do a valuation and present it to the (Cabinet) committee but they have not presented it yet," Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said yesterday after delivering a special address at the Global Islamic Financial Forum.

Najib heads the Cabinet committee on the automotive industry.

As for the March deadline, he said: "Never mind. There'll be time. Don't worry. It doesn't matter if we miss it."
the deadline means nothing to them

and hypermount is safe for the day
CrisisX
post Mar 29 2007, 09:54 AM

267 posts

heard from 988 today
VW might lost interest in proton, due to proton does not have enough variety of car....

so i guess, good bye, proton!!

This post has been edited by CrisisX: Mar 29 2007, 09:54 AM

14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0247sec    3.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:02 AM