18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

stimix
post Jun 28 2009, 08:51 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Normal-lah..If low-land super hot, it sure affect the highland. If during the cooler months i.e from Nov-Feb, u will experience very cool temp @ CH

For eg from Nov-Feb, Avg temp day ~19-22C & night ~ 16C-17C...I hv recorded temp as low as 15C during Dec 2007.
But during May-Sept, temp during day ~25C & night ~19C

QUOTE(Sawamura @ Jun 28 2009, 04:37 PM)
anybody know whether this is a good season to go to CH..

i checked another forumer comment, that in July the climate is quite hot. is it true?
This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 28 2009, 08:52 PM
stimix
post Jul 2 2009, 06:38 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah the main road there having few tour agent offering diff packages....it can be full day trip or 1/2 day...I booked the 1/2 day Rafflesia tour (Need junglr tracking) for RM60. for full day, I think some of them giving RM88 special rate now..to hunt for the rafflesia flowers.

Check my earlier posting here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=26367291

QUOTE(lamode @ Jul 1 2009, 11:28 PM)
lovelybao123 - can advice on the agent contact no, local and what was the price?

I am planning a trip to Cameron, searched the internet for a while and finally i have decided to take bus to there and hire a local tour guide for a 2D1N trip.

From what i found is that there are tour guide to be hired @ main road of Tanah Rata, but can anyone confirm this? or have any recommendation?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

I actually don't mind paying and going and take a trip with agent if it is around RM300 per head.
stimix
post Jul 3 2009, 09:06 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Got..Foot reflexology...I think 2 there along Tanah rata...Brinchang no idea....pricing X1.5 of KL.

QUOTE(buntutman @ Jul 3 2009, 02:36 AM)
cameron got massas place or not ? i wan the good massas
stimix
post Jul 7 2009, 10:18 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Kavy I think is just a budget hotel, previously located at Tanah Rata & now moved to Brinchang.

Not sure about the flora hotel. Titiwangsa as reviewed by others....None of the hotels I stayed b4 so I reserved my comment
stimix
post Jul 11 2009, 07:24 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

If u stay at Century Pine which is in Tanah Rata & coming from KL, no point making such a big loop to Spg Pulai & ended up got stuck in the jam at Kea farm & brinchang b4 reaching Tanah Rata..It's better using the old road..not so bad as others mentioned...the road is still the same narrow & lotsa minor landslide but in good condition. I prefer using old road rather than the new one.

QUOTE(yyteik @ Jul 11 2009, 01:31 AM)
so here is my plan for next weekend CH visit for 3 days 2 nite

1. travel route - spg pulat (better condition but longer hour)... tapah route now ok?
2. stay - century pine - ald booked through cameronhighland.com
3. tea farm - plan to go BOH farm
4. strawberry farm - no idea which farm to go.. can suggest?
5. steamboat - mayflower
6. pasar malam - brinchang
7. shopping - kea farm (heard offer good deal on vege & flowers)
8. others - T cafe (but i don't know where is it)
others - time tunnel
9. Others - butterfly farms or cactus farm (only if got time)

i am looking for a bakery shop to buy cake as well..  brows.gif

please give comment or any other thing that i should try/do.. travelling in 2pax..
stimix
post Jul 13 2009, 07:21 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I think staying @ Tanah Rata better for those without transport as that's the town wthh bust station, taxi station, banks, post office, hospital, travel agents, better food than the slaughtering houses at Brinchang & more budget hotels than brinchang.

The only advantage that I can see on brinchang is they have a huge Pasar malam compare to a rather tiny one in Tanah Rata..that's what u mean wth activities...

If u mean activities like visisting farms & tea plantation, staying either one of the location does not make any diff because all those places are distances away from both towns...U need to arrange wth the travel agencies at tanah Rata for those activities, Otherwise, the bus/taxi station at Tanah Rata (No such facility in Brinchang)
stimix
post Jul 13 2009, 04:59 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah century pine is within walking distance from the "bust" station.

Not sure about the taxi rate or even the bus services bcos all the time driving there.

The distance between both town is ~4.5km..Normally Mat Salleh walk from Tanah Rata to brinchang...cooler temperature so 5km walk is not bad...I hv seen them walking up to Gunung Brinchang too from the main road junction..
stimix
post Jul 14 2009, 12:28 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Mat Salleh luv CH too...not really on the weather which is common to them but more on the sceneries, nature & the fact that easier & cheaper to see Rafflesia flower in CH...via numerous agencies in Tanah Rata..

If feeling too tire, just hitch hike any cars/jeep to/fro Brinchang...I did stopped once tumpang a Mat Salleh walking down Gunung Brinchang..kesian that Mat Salleh
stimix
post Jul 14 2009, 06:50 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

On top of Marybrown Tanah rata. Closed on Sunday. Their name probably change to My Lord's Cafe by now hmm.gif
Name changed in malfreemaps already.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 14 2009, 06:33 PM)
Mind telling where exactly is T Cafe ?
stimix
post Aug 3 2009, 08:23 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Passing-by frequently there..just a normal flat type of accomodation & downstairs are dorminated by flat/shoplots u can find anywhere in KL...They are more like local residential flats 7 owners renovated it into rented apartments..more like a flat..Anyway they are pretty new.. just opened sometime mid/end of 2007. the expansions of those flats really enlarge Tanah Rata resindential area.. smile.gif

QUOTE(april @ Aug 3 2009, 05:00 PM)
anyone stay at Royal Lily Apartments before? mind to share the experience?
stimix
post Aug 3 2009, 09:39 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Tanah rata for quiet environment & cheaper food
Brinchang for noisy, happening & more varieties & big pasar malam. But be prepared to kena slaughter
stimix
post Aug 4 2009, 07:37 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

CH Resort haunted-leh...I can feel on leh during Merlin time liao..me sked..
stimix
post Aug 4 2009, 05:20 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Isn't that price over killing hmm.gif ...Even the resoanable & much better taste steamboat at Tanah rata such as Mayflower, hong Kong & Nyonya fern never exceed Rm14/pax biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kumie7 @ Aug 4 2009, 05:15 PM)
steamboat at rosapassadena hotel,tanah rata...urm...yummy...rm25/person if i'm not mistaken..correct me if i'm wrong
stimix
post Aug 4 2009, 09:27 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Try the original scone & not the fruity scone can liao..that one suxx. I only tapau both bck bcos restaurant closed liao by the time I reached.

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Aug 4 2009, 08:45 PM)
Anybody can give recent review on T Cafe? The online review sounds promising
stimix
post Aug 6 2009, 07:02 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

If in Brinchang normaly dinner & thereafter pasar malam.

At Tanah Rata, after dinner straight away bck to the guest house garden & sit down there for hours chatting wth others mat Salleh/ climbers while watching my termometer temperature keeps on dropping from 19C to 15C by midnite biggrin.gif

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Aug 6 2009, 03:28 PM)
how happening is Tanah rata on Saturday? Anything to do from 7 till 10 pm?
stimix
post Aug 6 2009, 08:13 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Bo lui liao..X ada wang X ada amoi... sad.gif ..I can only enjois the cool & peep the amoi from far liao biggrin.gif

QUOTE(buntutman @ Aug 6 2009, 07:55 PM)
stimix wan go CHR to enjoys ? RM 1k++ a nite and girl bath u is extra .
stimix
post Aug 6 2009, 09:34 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah interm of pubs, TR having more...German, & few more but not my cup of wine. biggrin.gif T-Cafe (Soon My Lord cafe)...is more like cafe/ restaurant

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Aug 6 2009, 09:22 PM)
Not exactly what i have in mind. Any pub in Tanah rata? Does T-cafe sell wine?
stimix
post Aug 7 2009, 01:43 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

blush.gif blush.gif ..Anyway,,,I'm not into clubbing-lah....I goto CH also concentrate & look for new roads to track..nowadays.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Aug 6 2009, 09:53 PM)
Any particular pub to recommend with good setting and price?
Are you the stimix that was mention in thestar a few week ago regarding GPS nav in malaysia?
stimix
post Aug 11 2009, 01:05 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hi KC, long time din see u here...Anymore Indo-chiona trips recently hmm.gif biggrin.gif

I think u mean Habu Tea plantation? No I don't but 1 day....I'm not sure whether they allow us to enter that area but for sure it will join somewhere near Jalan Batu 49 further North...I hv tracked jln Bt 49 without MTB...Stop short after road getting bad at Kg Getan orang asli settlement
However those PCC MTB event did that b4 but none of them submitted the tracklogs doh.gif U can check one of malsingmaps sifu's tracklogs from this Epic DH from Kuala Terla Jln Bt 49 down to Habu Tea plantation..I was like shocking.gif at his stamina...not easy....
http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopi...t=13904&start=0

Check the yellow line on the latest MFM...this is the possible tracks from Kuala Terla far north via Jln Bt49 (Tracked 1/2 way by me...) to Habu Tea Plantation way far South of CH!

Added: After revisited Malsingmaps ex-mapper/guru (turbosnail) link above, noted that he had posted his tracklogs thumbup.gif ..but I don't think it's updated in the maps..not sure why... hmm.gif .If it's added to malsingmaps...this will be an additional trail that will never in MFM unless turbosnail post it in MFM sad.gif

Sumore after checking the photoblog...Those trail are jungle trail..so impossible there will be link...my mistake blush.gif Anyway, I will try bringing my MTB during nxt CH trip. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(sunshine-kc @ Aug 11 2009, 12:20 AM)
Hi Stimix,

have you logged the BOH plantation road from the Tea House ( In the plantation ) into the plantation itself.

It seems there is an inner road which links to 3 orang asli villages. Did ride into the factory and passed the BOH workers quarters and further into another Tea plantation.

I was on my mountain bike but did not have my GPS with me. Also was tried out due to the thin air. ;-(

So did not venture into the road which goes to the orang Asli villages. ( Tarmac !!! ) ;-)
This post has been edited by stimix: Aug 11 2009, 09:25 AM
stimix
post Aug 21 2009, 10:45 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

geee... bro..I hv been continously warn lotsa ppl about Brinchang food liao..yet u pulak kena liao

18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0421sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:30 AM