~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V4!, Happy Chinese New Year 2007 ! Rock on !
blacktrix
Dec 4 2006, 02:07 AM
Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
In that case we'll have to get a keyboardist!!! But yeah, Alexi Laiho is just insane with the scales...... Isn't really about speed.... but the depth of musical knowledge is astounding. On a side note..... found a site with F**k tons of amp schematics..... Dunno if anyone finds it useful: http://www.drtube.com/guitamp.htmThis post has been edited by blacktrix: Dec 4 2006, 02:12 AM
Zavier18
Dec 4 2006, 09:40 AM

hi guys, firstly I would like to apologize if I ask this question in the wrong thread.
I just receive a guitar yesterday as a gift, but I have no idea how to play it. Is there a software that teaches you how to play ? Is it ok if I look for a tutor straight away ? Thanks guys
blacktrix
Dec 4 2006, 10:14 AM
There are software available (like, virtual guitar teacher type programs)...... but if you're a beginner, the best is to start with classes from a music school. Once you got your basics down, then you can use the virtual tutor to further your knowledge.
And don't worry. On this thread, you can post anything remotely guitar related!
Zavier18
Dec 4 2006, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 4 2006, 10:14 AM) There are software available (like, virtual guitar teacher type programs)...... but if you're a beginner, the best is to start with classes from a music school. Once you got your basics down, then you can use the virtual tutor to further your knowledge. And don't worry. On this thread, you can post anything remotely guitar related! Thanks for the advice. Really appreciate it... Think I'll start with a tutor then.
Pix
Dec 4 2006, 02:59 PM
Tube Glower Phreak
many people learn the guitar by themselves though, but you need a lot of motivation to be able to do that.
If you got a guitar without really asking for it, then you might need a teacher to build your motivation and push you through the difficult first weeks.
blacktrix
Dec 4 2006, 04:38 PM
YAY! Pix is back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We all miss your inane rants..... especially Led_zep..... he just misses you....
Everdying
Dec 4 2006, 05:57 PM
Two is One and One is None.
well today i went to harmony to stock up on my ernie ball strings... they also have both the zakk ghs set, 10-60 and 11-70, rm22 each. plus they have the cool levy hendrix straps, rm88. they also have a levy strap with the bullseye pattern
blacktrix
Dec 4 2006, 06:25 PM
Harmony..... um...... THat's the one in Curve, right??? Damn. Have to go get some strings..... I wonder if they do bulk?? hehehehe.....
Everdying
Dec 4 2006, 06:50 PM
its the one in d'sara uptown near the ship. its no fun having 3 different guitars, cos they all need different gauges   and i didnt realise that the ibanez RG 300 series are now made in indonesia, cos harmony had a RG320, and the bridge looked real cheap. This post has been edited by Everdying: Dec 4 2006, 07:56 PM
blacktrix
Dec 4 2006, 08:48 PM
Luckily for me, both my Les Pauls uses the Zakk Wylde GHS Boomers..... It's only the RR3 that now uses D'addario strings.....
Oh yeah....... and crap strat uses Slinky.
asura_86
Dec 4 2006, 09:03 PM
a noob question here...
if i were to change my gauge to a thicker gauge, do i need to readjust my trem? i'm using a non-floating bridge by the way...currently using 0.0095 - 0.044( <--correct?) maybe wanna change to 0.010 - 0.052
blacktrix
Dec 4 2006, 09:41 PM
If you're changing your gauge, you'll have to get it re-setup if you don't want to face problems later. I remembered when I swapped in the Zakk Wylde GHS boomers for the first time in my Les Paul...... had to get a whole new saddle! Decided to send it to Guitar Collection and get it properly setuped.
And do you think it's overkill if I swapped in the EMG-Hzs into my RR3?? Getting itchy fingers.... not used to the sharp tones of the RR3 at the moment.....
This post has been edited by blacktrix: Dec 4 2006, 09:49 PM
headhunter7
Dec 4 2006, 09:59 PM
I thought RR3's had JB = treble pickup ? O_____O
Try tweak around with your amp? O_o
BTW SPM'S OVER
blacktrix
Dec 4 2006, 10:29 PM
Yes. It's a treble pickup..... which is why I'm not used to it!!!!!!!!! You know me...... Bass freak!!!
asura_86
Dec 4 2006, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 4 2006, 09:41 PM) If you're changing your gauge, you'll have to get it re-setup if you don't want to face problems later. I remembered when I swapped in the Zakk Wylde GHS boomers for the first time in my Les Paul...... had to get a whole new saddle! Decided to send it to Guitar Collection and get it properly setuped. And do you think it's overkill if I swapped in the EMG-Hzs into my RR3?? Getting itchy fingers.... not used to the sharp tones of the RR3 at the moment..... how much do they usually charge for guitar setup?
headhunter7
Dec 4 2006, 11:00 PM
Ah yes I tersilap baca, I read "I want sharp tones" XD
Its kinda hard getting a bassy tone out of it, as it has Alder + JB >_> Blacktrix , could you post up some metal riffs (preferably Trivium) for me ? I wanna hear the JB pickup. I've always wanted an rr3!!!!!! T_________T
This post has been edited by headhunter7: Dec 4 2006, 11:01 PM
blacktrix
Dec 5 2006, 12:35 AM
A guitar setup could range from 20 ringgit to about 50 and above..... depending on the shop and what kind of service you want done on your guitar........
And for the RR3...... will record once this stupid semester in MMU is over...... no time to do anything much!!!!!!
Planning to get an input device to record my guitar...... something like Digidesign M-Box or Line6 UX1..... but not too keen on that because I want to record through my Tonelab SE...... and not through Line6 (although excellent) amp simulators...... any idea how much an M-Box 2 would cost??
This post has been edited by blacktrix: Dec 5 2006, 12:37 AM
z3r0l33t
Dec 5 2006, 10:46 AM
I think im a bit delayed about this, but OMG G3 Was the bomb!!!  my first time experience of G3 was ear shattering with all those dive bombs, and legato runs, and robotic pickin! About the pics, i didnt take much cos i didnt have a camera , as well as the fact that i was sitting in the middle and not near the front( blasts those kiasu ppl!  in just 1 day all front tix gone or rather, 3 hours! ) . the stadium was filled to the brim with petrucci out first, vai next(received the most attention), and satch( not many ppl was interested, but i was enjoying every second of anyone of them)...
Pix
Dec 5 2006, 04:07 PM
Tube Glower Phreak
blacktrix , "inane rants" ? ... to talk in excited manner with a total lack of significance ? me ? really ? Well, talk about a warm greeting.. so i'll tell you two words. First one starts with an F. The second word, with a Y  I hope I'm not ranting too much here, and (for once ?) it definitely makes sense... anyway, i don't really play guitar much nowadays so i don't come around much (moving out of tahiti, a lot of stress !! i've too much to think about and it messes with my (poor) ability to play). sorry led zep  zeroleet : how come ppl were not that interested by the satriani's part ? how did he play ? and which songs ? And what about the 3G part, where they're all playing together ?
Everdying
Dec 5 2006, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(Pix @ Dec 5 2006, 04:07 PM) blacktrix , "inane rants" ? ... to talk in excited manner with a total lack of significance ? me ? really ? Well, talk about a warm greeting.. so i'll tell you two words. First one starts with an F. The second word, with a Y  I hope I'm not ranting too much here, and (for once ?) it definitely makes sense... you want to Fondle blacktrix? damn im going to puke  maybe the G3 got pulled out by the cops again  like what happened here, goddamn idiots. This post has been edited by Everdying: Dec 5 2006, 04:12 PM