ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

HSM still has no autofocus for D40. Ami right? sweat.gif
travis_ckf
post Sep 22 2007, 10:24 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(zzloo @ Sep 22 2007, 03:45 PM)
bb lo, hv to leave D40/D40x club ed lo...

tis morning my dad sold the D40 n bought a D80~
As long u dont quit photography or u join the NONAC side then its ok, u got a better cam what tongue.gif

Btw i just myself the SB600 speedlite frm Uncle Jason at J-One for RM755. Tested used it during today's fashion show at Pavillon, KL. Check my gallery for my shots, and btw, vol 1 of my shots were taken w/o the speedlite, but the next few vols will be. blush.gif
travis_ckf
post Sep 23 2007, 09:31 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Sep 23 2007, 09:12 PM)
d3 is 16k or mre...forgot edi.. sweat.gif

d300 is semi pro...
very good for semi pros...
sweat.gif
i talking rubbish...
Master ur own skills with the D40 1st before ever think of getting a d300 or d3. doh.gif
travis_ckf
post Sep 23 2007, 10:18 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(coolboy_kl @ Sep 23 2007, 10:13 PM)
Hi all

I wanted wanted to get
a) Nikkor 18-200mm VR lens,  manage to get best price from one of Camera shop at MidValley, 3rd floor, quoted me at RM2,500.00
b) Nikkor 50mm F1.8 lens, best price  from the same shop at MidValley, RM350

Anyone got better offer?
The 50mm F1.8 for 350 is ok, but the 18-200 is abit too expensive. If u looking for Nikon products and lens, try visiting J-One at amcorp, and talk to the shop owner Uncle Jason. I bet he can give u a better price. Last sat he quoted me 18-200 for 2450 if i not mistaken, but nego more n i think u can get 2400 or a cheaper filter. smile.gif
travis_ckf
post Sep 28 2007, 01:16 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(skyther @ Sep 28 2007, 05:21 AM)
Just a heads up for those who might use NSC's services in the future...

Just got my D40X back from NSC after 10 days... was sent in due to hot pixels.

Sensor was replaced but now I have more than twice as many hot pixels compared to before, approx. 50 with 30 sec shutter @ ISO 1600. Even 10 secs also got more than 15 hot pixels. I suspect they replaced sensor but didn't bother to remap at all. Technician came out and told me to use NR... chibai now even ISO 800 got hot pixels lah use NR for wut?

Also this sensor seems to be abit noisier than my old one... dunno if it's just me imagining things but I find that it overexposes a lot more and my AWB also seems to be acting a bit weird compared to before; it seems to get confused between incandescent and fluorescent lighting... dunno WTF is going on.

Then today I noticed dust inside the LCD compartment and there's some black ribbon thing coming out from the side of my USB port and pinched in between body panels. CCD is clean but there was dust on the mirror. Where the f#$k do these guys learn how to repair cams? vmad.gif
Sent it back to Nikon HQ at menara PKNS to claim warranty. Sorry to hear that too.
travis_ckf
post Sep 29 2007, 05:14 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Sep 29 2007, 12:39 PM)
sweat.gif after reading skyther's proble i decided to check for hot pixel...luckily dun have sweat.gif

sad.gif i hope nikon change their service attitude if not all will switch to canon ki... doh.gif
Changing brands wont help if u dont even know how to manage and maintain a cam. ;
travis_ckf
post Sep 30 2007, 09:42 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(FESEM @ Sep 30 2007, 09:37 PM)
i'm thinking to get a nikkor 50mm f1.8.
Except the features, such as fast speed, and more natural look (human viewing angle).
wat exactly this fellow can do, why so many ppl recommend it?
Due of its high f ratting, u can clear more sharper pics and its useful for portrait photography. However the bad news is the 50mm F1.8 is a AF lens and the D40 dont have AF for such lens, unless if u willing to use manual focusing. Good news that this lens is cheap and produce superb and sharp results, provided if u patience with manual focusing.

You can consider another prime lens from Sigma, its the 30mm f1.4 which has auto focus for the D40. Expect to pay around 1.5k for that.
travis_ckf
post Oct 7 2007, 11:52 AM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Oct 7 2007, 10:41 AM)
what is sync speed?
Instead of waiting ppl for answer, why dont u google urself? Kids these days doh.gif

Or go get the ebook from ac98, bet it will answer all ur questions and reduce ur post counts here. whistling.gif
travis_ckf
post Oct 7 2007, 07:39 PM

6,413 posts

SB600 with D40 if i not mistaken will be 1/64.
travis_ckf
post Oct 8 2007, 09:23 PM

6,413 posts

I may suggest u give J-One a try. The price should be alot better than fotokem, bintang maju or any major shops. Also the shop owner is a nice and friendly person. He can give u a good deal as well. smile.gif
travis_ckf
post Oct 12 2007, 02:09 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(yawchoong @ Oct 12 2007, 09:20 AM)
i read some article about taking potrait photos
using small f-stop value 1/f-stop,the hole or the aperture will be larger and the depth of field will be narrow,and hence is easy to take potrait photo which will result is the backkground blur,

on the other hand,using large f-stop value,1/f-stop,the depth of field will be deeper and u can have far object in focus
about saving RM100,i think that i still can bargain with it until RM1850 because with the RM100 save i can buy other items,is i correct?
You can have portrait pics with blurry background (called bokeh) using a zoom lens (zoom around 200mm++). The effect will be better if using a zoom lens with fixed f-stop, say for most its f2.8 70-200mm zoom lens. Or for a cheaper alternative consider using a prime lens with setting up as high F-stop as possible.
travis_ckf
post Oct 18 2007, 09:09 AM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(loon1983 @ Oct 18 2007, 01:15 AM)
hi bro, any suggestion where to buy D40X?? n the latest price??

thanks a lot!!!
It should be 2.5k by now. I recommend J One at amcorp mall. It always give the best price and the shop owner is a friendly n kind person as well.
travis_ckf
post Oct 29 2007, 12:28 AM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Oct 28 2007, 10:58 PM)
icic....tks for ur advice..
exp comp stay at 0 is the best??bcuz higher or lower also makes no difference..
Not at all, all depends on the environment as well. If ur pics end up looking dark, apart of jumping up the ISO, u can increase the exp comp. Well as i mentioned, it all depend on the environment.
travis_ckf
post Oct 31 2007, 12:54 AM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(loon1983 @ Oct 31 2007, 12:41 AM)
ic.. cause i just bought my D40 few days.. but no money aredy...

yesterday went concert at bukit jalil.. i mention tat my 18-55mm is definately not enough.. shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

so, now looking for cheaper long range lense...

btw, which one u recommend...

wana go for 50-300VR.. but Rm1800 wor.. if other used around Rm600 should be ok...
btw, just no auto focus mah?? y the price different so much de??

thanks flex.gif  flex.gif
the 70-300 (not 50-300) for RM600 has no VR, but still able to autofocus (AF) since it is a AF-S lens, in which D40 supports AF for AF-S lens. The more pricey 1.8k 70-300 has VR, which is an mechanism to reduce vibration while zooming and focusing on the subject. Its a useful tool for capturing long distance pics. Also that 70-300 VR is a AF-S lens so no worries on AF for the D40.

travis_ckf
post Nov 4 2007, 12:26 PM

6,413 posts

Greenlight given for v2 !!!! thumbup.gif

In the meantime, i got temptation to replace my cam for a D80 body. Hmmm sweat.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0416sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:32 AM