Which to choose as my first sportbike?, Beginner SportBike

H2D
post Jul 9 2015, 11:40 AM

598 posts

Ride sensibly it should not be a problem for beginner. Too bad hly is always lame in promoting ymh bikes, where as kawa organise rides for journo siap with reg ready vulcan s + new versys...

All these reg versys, I wonder where it will end up aft the press ride...

Kawa msia was able to price vulcan s lower than 30k wit gst.. even direct convert can't get this price...

This post has been edited by H2D: Jul 9 2015, 11:57 AM
epicapple
post Jul 9 2015, 06:19 PM

120 posts

ill tell you what, are you looking for sound? or just a sportbike?

Have you ever ridden a sportbike? with a clutch, id advise you to start on a 250 but its not impossible to start on a 500+ just the learning curve is steeper.

if youre planning to get a cbr500f chip in a little and you could get an xj6. Imo i think its abit terrible to get a cbr 500, it looks ecactly like a 250, but with 2 cylinders, pricey too. but an xj6, that things a beast and a really good learner bike.

If youre looking at the 250cc class, your best would be the yamaha r25, cheap and has real good powerband.

There also bikes like the kawasaki vulcan S. it goes for 28k you can check that out smile.gif

This post has been edited by epicapple: Jul 9 2015, 06:21 PM
Mubarak90
post Jul 9 2015, 06:32 PM

482 posts

Suggestion is not to go for a bike with a power of over 60HP for first time riders. Easier to learn with a bike with smaller power. Going with either a 150/200/250/300/390/500 is fine.

The smaller the capacity, the cheaper and usually goes the same way the other way around.

If you want the most out of the below RM30K learners bike, the bigger capacity should do better.

If you're a beginner in sportsbike arena, and are not that much into motorcycles, go with the more popular ones as they would be easiest to maintain (yes, I mean ninja/z 250/300).

Single cylinder bike usually will sound more like a motorized grass cutter compared to twin cylinder bikes. But the differences in terms of sound aren't as apparent when compared to 3 and 4 cylinder bikes.

Bigger bike usually uses bigger tires too so keep that in mind if you do travel a lot and have a rather constraint budget.
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 06:35 PM

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 9 2015, 10:01 AM)
terencewtcCBR500R is 470cc at 28k. MT-07 is 689cc for ~RM35k (CKD).
Power: 43Nm vs 68Nm
Torque at 3000 RPM: 25Nm (58%) vs 40Nm (59%)
Torque at 4000 RPM: 27Nm (63%) vs 44Nm (65%)
Weight: 192 kg vs 172 kg (Both are kerb/wet weight, comparison is equal)
- MT07 is much more responsive in city ride.
- Highway cruising for MT07 will be more efficient between 4-5k RPM (95~120kmh) since there is a tuned peak around that rev range. For CBR, it would have to be at 5-6k RPM to reach that speed.
*RPM and speed calculation based on engine gear ratio and rear wheel size.

Maintenance:
Tyre size, front/rear are 120/160 vs 120/180, respectively. Rear tyre on MT07 will be significantly high.
Chain type: Presume both uses 520/525 chains... replacement about equal.
... and so on.

For the amount that you are going to pay maintaining these bikes, my personal opinion is to buy the more expensive one.

If you can afford it, the 3-cylinder MT-09 is even more interesting, at RM54k CKD.
In this case, the full-fairing bike only looks nice, but ride quality is uninteresting. Aka, boring bikes...
Yeah! The fairing only help in Looking sporty and streamline design!
Naked bike isn't that bad looking as well.
Hmmph....
1 more things, I used to think about buying 600cc above bike, but soon I think those are too much for me.
I don't need to speed up like 150-200 kph. Feel like 500-650cc just ngam for me.

I got this from 1 sifu: there is no difference in brand and model of superbike, only things is how you maintain your bike well.
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 06:39 PM

QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Jul 9 2015, 10:54 AM)
MT07 can be scary for new beginners. the torque.. ngaummmmmm haha

ts seems to fancy faired bikes.. maybe he can buy a naked and add on custom fairing tongue.gif
YAYA! Full-fairing really look sporty! I persuade myself to get a naked, save money but failed!
Can ar? naked with add on fairing??!??!
are you kidding me?
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 06:41 PM

QUOTE(SpeedyTaco @ Jul 9 2015, 11:22 AM)
A few tweaks here and there. Change of Airfilter . using BMC Filter.
Alongside with exhaust upgrade. >150kph ? Goyang abit. but nothing that regular bikers cant handle.
That's more things to learn in the BIKE WORLD
Thanks for the info bro!
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 06:59 PM

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 9 2015, 11:24 AM)
I didn't mention HP, only torque. Notice other people also reply you with torque. HP sells cars\bikes, but torque wins races.

You're paying 25% more, for 60% more torque. At the far end of mid-cc bike, there's the KTM690 at >60Nm torque, that's another 33% more than the MT-07.

A boring bike is without character, where its strength lies in the fact that it has no weaknesses.
3 months after you own it, you will begin to feel the burden of needing to pay for it.
You start it, and doesn't excite you. Riding it doesn't send chills down your spine, and it behaves as it is expected to be.

Since this is your first bike, you might not feel it. But, have I'm sure you have heard of people saying things like 'oh, I miss riding my old bike or their previous car'... as compared to less interesting bikes, people will miss it for things like breaking down less often.
Sound great!
I got my Nissan Cefiro and really enjoy with her!
I have try with Nissan Teana but dont have the feeling like Cefiro.
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 07:03 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 9 2015, 11:40 AM)
Ride sensibly it should not be a problem for beginner. Too bad hly is always lame in promoting ymh bikes, where as kawa organise rides for journo siap with reg ready vulcan s + new versys...

Kawa msia was able to price vulcan s lower than 30k wit gst.. even direct convert can't get this price...
Vulcan got any problem?
Heard some rumor about the bike, but they dunno how to tell the problem.
So need help on that!
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 07:11 PM

QUOTE(epicapple @ Jul 9 2015, 06:19 PM)
ill tell you what, are you looking for sound? or just a sportbike?

Have you ever ridden a sportbike? with a clutch, id advise you to start on a 250 but its not impossible to start on a 500+ just the learning curve is steeper.

if youre planning to get a cbr500f chip in a little and you could get an xj6. Imo i think its abit terrible to get a cbr 500, it looks ecactly like a 250, but with 2 cylinders, pricey too. but an xj6, that things a beast and a really good learner bike.

If youre looking at the 250cc class, your best would be the yamaha r25, cheap and has real good powerband.

There also bikes like the kawasaki vulcan S. it goes for 28k you can check that out smile.gif
i'm looking just a sportbike, sound doesn't matter.
I have try little yamaha125
never try with the sportbike
what do you think about Vulcan? Hve you try with that? Torqy? quality?
TSterencewtc
post Jul 10 2015, 07:13 PM

QUOTE(Mubarak90 @ Jul 9 2015, 06:32 PM)
Suggestion is not to go for a bike with a power of over 60HP for first time riders. Easier to learn with a bike with smaller power. Going with either a 150/200/250/300/390/500 is fine.

The smaller the capacity, the cheaper and usually goes the same way the other way around.

If you want the most out of the below RM30K learners bike, the bigger capacity should do better.

If you're a beginner in sportsbike arena, and are not that much into motorcycles, go with the more popular ones as they would be easiest to maintain (yes, I mean ninja/z 250/300).

Single cylinder bike usually will sound more like a motorized grass cutter compared to twin cylinder bikes. But the differences in terms of sound aren't as apparent when compared to 3 and 4 cylinder bikes.

Bigger bike usually uses bigger tires too so keep that in mind if you do travel a lot and have a rather constraint budget.
Thanks bro!
intel_centrino33
post Jul 10 2015, 08:38 PM

59 posts

any ppl here can advise me on either choosing 2nd hand 2013 Ninja 250, or 2nd hand 2012/2013 Yamaha XJ6.

I have both budget to buy without loan and planning only to use it on weekend for leisure. Not for daily riding purpose.

How much do I need to spare a month minimum for these 2 bike maintain? Roughly standby RM200? My spare only for maintenance purpose, not including petrol.

Initially I only thinking bout Ninja 250 but after hearing In Line 4 engine sound, I'm in love with XJ6..is XJ6 maintain higher than Ninja 250 by a lot? as in double or triple the cost of maintaining it? Pls advise me if any of you had the experience
adamhzm90
post Jul 10 2015, 09:14 PM

1,386 posts

QUOTE(intel_centrino33 @ Jul 10 2015, 08:38 PM)
any ppl here can advise me on either choosing 2nd hand 2013 Ninja 250, or 2nd hand 2012/2013 Yamaha XJ6.

I have both budget to buy without loan and planning only to use it on weekend for leisure. Not for daily riding purpose.

How much do I need to spare a month minimum for these 2 bike maintain? Roughly standby RM200? My spare only for maintenance purpose, not including petrol.

Initially I only thinking bout Ninja 250 but after hearing In Line 4 engine sound, I'm in love with XJ6..is XJ6 maintain higher than Ninja 250 by a lot? as in double or triple the cost of maintaining it? Pls advise me if any of you had the experience
xj6 lorh..sweet inline 4 sound will make your day after a stressfull day brows.gif
H2D
post Jul 10 2015, 09:56 PM

598 posts

here's a review comparing mt07 - cbr650r - er6f

http://www.motorcyclistonline.com/reviews/...mparo-road-test

now fully faired xj6f after gst is ~2k cheaper than b4 gst... biggrin.gif

good as it sounds the inline4 but the low rev torque tarak cukup .... biggrin.gif need to rev high high = makan petrol...

review said xj6 gear not long enough, compare to mt-07

This post has been edited by H2D: Jul 10 2015, 10:22 PM
mr-2
post Jul 10 2015, 11:44 PM

733 posts

TS, Since you considering the CBR500, do more research before putting in your $$$. For CBR500 I got the feedback from mechanic is quite a number have ignition issue and there were recall in the U.S recently. for oil leak I think. Not sure in MY. So far Yamaha bike are still ok, didn't hear problem with the XJ6 or MT 07. If got the budget go for it. I have no budget for the Yamaha hence I settle for ER6N. cry.gif

This post has been edited by mr-2: Jul 10 2015, 11:51 PM
H2D
post Jul 11 2015, 12:17 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 10 2015, 07:03 PM)
Vulcan got any problem?
Heard some rumor about the bike, but they dunno how to tell the problem.
So need help on that!
where u heard got problem ? biggrin.gif

the engine same as er6. versys.. proven, except got valve issue last time, now not a problem anymore i think...
grixis
post Jul 11 2015, 05:07 AM

82 posts

go for mt-09
good bike for beginner (in b-mode of course for the 1st month)
easy thru traffic

and lots of power that should keep you busy for a year or two
H2D
post Jul 11 2015, 06:15 AM

598 posts

Fz-09 recall....

http://www.cycleworld.com/2015/04/09/yamah...-gearbox-issue/
VictorKeong
post Jul 11 2015, 05:51 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(terencewtc @ Jul 10 2015, 07:39 PM)
YAYA! Full-fairing really look sporty! I persuade myself to get a naked, save money but failed!
Can ar? naked with add on fairing??!??!
are you kidding me?
with money, all is possible bro xD
especially if u head down to serdang, selangor. whew... near equine park there. haha
got dobot all those
VictorKeong
post Jul 11 2015, 06:06 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 9 2015, 12:40 PM)

they gonna sell the versys after this?? keep me posted rclxm9.gif

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0152sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:27 AM