Music Classical music thread, European Classical Music

mattkhoo87
post Jun 15 2008, 01:43 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ May 5 2008, 05:01 PM)
Anyone listen to MPO's performance on 3rd and 4th of May??  <--- (It is over)

They perform:
Elgar's In the South
Duddell's Ruby
Nielson's "The Inextinguishable" Symphony No. 4

From all the above, I impress with the timpani duel in "The Inextinguishable" and also the percussion's music in Ruby.

I would strongly recommend the Duddell's Ruby!! This music piece is very nice, and the percussionist, Colin Currie have receive (I think is) 5 ovations!!

Next on the list MUST WATCH/LISTEN
i went for that concert.. smile.gif i liked the inextinguishable a lot! smile.gif agreed that the timpani "duel" was good! smile.gif well done paul philbert and kiyomi kikuchi.. smile.gif

of course colin currie was good as well smile.gif very well presented smile.gif i got his autograph.. haha xD

ohh.. beethoven`s symphony no.9 and no.8... i`m quite interested to go watch cos MPO`s playin` symphony no.9... hehe.. thinking of goin`.. smile.gif

anyone goin` for june 28th? they`re playin` tchaikovsky`s pieces.. smile.gif i love tcaikovsky and bach a lot! smile.gif i like bach`s suites... hehe.. currently learning bach suite no.1 prelude on marimba...

btw.. a little "advertisement" here... anyone who has or know`s places where they have marimba and allow public to "rent" them out? i want to "rent" it to practice.. haha.. =p
mattkhoo87
post Jun 15 2008, 11:57 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Jun 15 2008, 11:48 PM)
Oh~
The timpanist is Paul Philbert and Kiyomi Kikuchi??

From the seat I got, I can only see Kiyomi Kikuchi, and can't see Paul Philbert well...
She is very good!! Like her very much especially on the duel!! thumbup.gif

And you got Colin Currie's autograph?? Oh, can upload a photo to let us see?? (make sure to put watermark on it)

For the Tchaikovsky's music, I will not go... But I sure will go on the Beethoven's 8th and 9th.
By the way, the Beethoven's 8th and 9th ticket is sold out... tongue.gif
yup.. both are the timpanist.. from my seat can see both.. haha.. but can see paul philbert more clearly... kiyomi kikuchi can see a bit oni.. haha.. paul philbert is my senior`s timpani tutor.. haha.. he`s quite a funny and nice person! smile.gif went for his masterclass before..

haha.. yea.. i got his autograph on the programme notes smile.gif oh.. watermark? meaning? hehe.. noob question =p

beethoven`s symphony tickets are sold out?!?!? damn!! :S i love the choral symphony.. nice smile.gif sigh.. u mean all days sold out?!?!

This post has been edited by mattkhoo87: Jun 16 2008, 12:01 AM
mattkhoo87
post Jun 16 2008, 12:57 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Jun 16 2008, 12:29 AM)
Wow~ You even know them... ><

You can refer to here for information about watermark
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_watermarking

I told you to do so is to avoid other people use the photo as their own...

Hahahaha laugh.gif

http://myclassical.blogspot.com/
This is my classical music blog, please go there, and play the music in latest post!
You will know what music is that~~ brows.gif

By the way, after saw your news then only I know they have very big amount of wages!! shocking.gif
haha.. i dun really know them personally.. lol.. smile.gif hopefully i can la.. cos next semester i`ll be having an MPO percussionist as my tutor also.. hopefully it`s paul! smile.gif oh.. lol..

lol.. yea.. there are having big wages.. lol.. but that`s the price of having good music.. smile.gif

ya.. when`s next season`s schedule coming out ah? hopefully next season will have a lineup of great music played! smile.gif

anyway.. here is the picture of the autograph smile.gif

This post has been edited by mattkhoo87: Jun 16 2008, 12:59 AM
mattkhoo87
post Jul 4 2008, 11:24 PM

327 posts

where u found it?
mattkhoo87
post Jul 4 2008, 11:25 PM

327 posts

good news!! new season schedule for MPO is out!!! this time the schedule is nicer!! haha.. in a book form some more! smile.gif

and there`s the Lord Of The Rings symphony!!! anyone going?
mattkhoo87
post Jul 5 2008, 12:46 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Jul 5 2008, 12:37 AM)
Where you found it??
and how much is it??

Where you got the schedule?? The official website still haven't update the new schedule...
13rd of July
Dewan Filharmonik PETRONAS will have organ music!
And the most important things is, it is FREE!!!

Ticket can only be taken on same day 11am... Thats mean if we go earlier, we sure will have seat!!

Lets have gathering on that day!! rclxm9.gif
lol... got the schedule from MPO itself.. smile.gif haha.. they were promoting it on thurs when i went.. smile.gif
mattkhoo87
post Jul 5 2008, 10:11 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Jul 5 2008, 01:06 AM)
then interested to have gathering?? tongue.gif
to talk about classical music laugh.gif
haha.. sure smile.gif when?
mattkhoo87
post Aug 31 2008, 03:20 PM

327 posts

this is a classical music thread.. so let`s talk about classical music!! smile.gif

name your top 5 symphonies.. smile.gif

mine would be..

5) Nielsen - Symphony No. 4, "The Inextinguishable"
4) Brahms - Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98
3) Elgar - Pomp And Circumstance March
2) Beethoven - Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
1) Beethoven - Symphony No. 7 in A major (Op. 92)

many people would put beethoven 9th as their number 1 compared to beethoven 7th... well.. this is just my preference.. smile.gif i have my reasons for it..

what about yours? wink.gif

mattkhoo87
post Sep 8 2008, 09:43 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Sep 8 2008, 03:37 PM)
LotR in Dec 13?
i`m goin for that! smile.gif

0.0307sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:56 AM