need advice on having baby., mostly about item

TSda drummer
post Jun 28 2015, 02:37 AM, updated 9y ago

:)
808 posts

hye, good day everyone
my wife is expecting to deliver our first baby on this November.
so please help me to list out important item or a must have item that i need to prepare.

example:
1.stroller
2.baby seat@baby car seat?
3.baby bed?
what else? icon_question.gif

i need this item list so that i can start looking for it now according to my budget(slowly...month by month)..n yes..im nervous. laugh.gif

plsss.. n thank you notworthy.gif

update list

list :
1.stroller
2.baby seat@car seat
3.baby bed
4.newborn diaper
5.baby cloth
6.mittens
7.Baby towel
8.Blanket
9.Netting
10.Rubber matt
11.TYT oil
12. milk bottle(stainless steel or glass ones, avoid plastic)
13 Mosquito net
14 baby lotion, rash cream, baby oil
15 maternity pads for ur wife
16 baby bath tub
17 socks and hoods
18 cotton diaper, for daytime usage(disposable ones R expensive, only for nite time)
20. Breastpump
21. Baby milk bottles
22. Spare some emergency funds
23.sterilizer for milk bottle

This post has been edited by da drummer: Jun 30 2015, 11:05 PM
lc12-x
post Jun 28 2015, 02:53 AM

33 posts

newborn diaper, baby cloth, mittens
TSda drummer
post Jun 28 2015, 03:08 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(lc12-x @ Jun 28 2015, 02:53 AM)
newborn diaper, baby cloth, mittens
tq sir notworthy.gif
yakuza1_45
post Jun 28 2015, 03:26 AM

62 posts

nice,gratz u having baby.

mine also,

my wife due on 10/August

1st time baby...;')...

bless u living happy.
razgriz_0087
post Jun 28 2015, 03:42 AM

76 posts

Congrats bro..
Baby towel
Blanket
Netting
Rubber matt
TYT oil
jamesteoh8177
post Jun 28 2015, 04:23 PM

465 posts

QUOTE(da drummer @ Jun 28 2015, 02:37 AM)
hye, good day everyone
my wife is expecting to deliver our first baby on this November.
so please help me to list out important item or a must have item that i need to prepare.

example:
1.stroller
2.baby seat@baby car seat?
3.baby bed?
what else? icon_question.gif
i need this item list so that i can start looking for it now according to my budget(slowly...month by month)..n yes..im nervous. laugh.gif

plsss.. n thank you notworthy.gif

update list

list :
1.stroller
2.baby seat@car seat
3.baby bed
4.newborn diaper
5.baby cloth
6.mittens
7) milk bottle(stainless steel or glass ones, avoid plastic)
8) Mosquito net
9) baby lotion, rash cream, baby oil
10) maternity pads for ur wife
11) baby bath tub
12) socks and hoods
14) cotton diaper, for daytime usage(disposable ones R expensive, only for nite time)

BTW, welcome to parenthood life... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
talexeh
post Jun 28 2015, 05:32 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
2,965 posts

OK, as a fellow father, I want to help you save wherever possible.

1. Delay the purchase of baby stroller.
I might catch some flak for saying this but baby stroller is not a necessity. Some babies hate baby stroller due to our hot & humid weather so they might get a tad uncomfortable. Moreover, baby strollers don't really age well with your baby & by 1.5 or 2 years old, your baby would most probably want to walk around by themselves instead of being straddled into the stroller.

As an alternative, if you plan to bring your baby around for sight-seeing, you may consider baby carrier instead. It allows you better bonding with the baby & it's cheaper too.

2. Delay the baby bed too.
If your wife plans to breastfeed, there's a high chance that she'll have to breastfeed the baby in the middle of her sleep via the lying down position. Once she gets comfortable with this style, you're pretty much guaranteed that your baby will be co-sleeping with your wife most of the time & your baby bed will be rendered redundant by then.

Invest heavily & smartly in items that promote safety instead. Car seats are no joke. Before you buy one, I strongly suggest you to Google for reviews to ensure that what you bought is worth the bucks you paid for. If your car has ISOFIX mounts, get ISOFIX car seat.

Some other items that I don't see in your list are:
1) Breastpump if your wife is a working mom & plan to breastfeed. You pretty much have 2 choices only; Medela (pricy) or Spectra (economic). Both are good brands & I'll let you Google their pros & cons yourself. smile.gif

2) Baby milk bottles?

3) Spare some emergency funds too, especially for jaundice related issue which is pretty common. smile.gif

4) Last but not least, do remember to pamper your wife too. It's very easy for us guys to forget about our wife since we're anxious with the prospect of having an additional family member soon. smile.gif
TSda drummer
post Jun 28 2015, 09:09 PM

808 posts

wow..im surprise from the support u all give...today i start to look a few item,down know what they call(baby carrier i think,stroller n baby seat...just to get some ideas...ahaha

tq for the list guys n wish too...
braindeath
post Jun 29 2015, 12:14 AM

521 posts

Welcome to parenthood bro flex.gif

Agree with talexeh can delay on stroller and car seat, wait after yoir baby delivered than only can look for it

Look for confinement lady
SUSsupersound
post Jun 29 2015, 02:03 AM

11,554 posts

1.stroller - a cheapest at rm140-180 will do
2.baby seat@car seat - let your baby try it out before decide
3.baby bed - sarong with motor will be a better option most of the time
4.newborn diaper - don't waste money on this, buy S size
5.baby cloth - ask around your friends and relatives
6.mittens - is this North pole?
7.Baby towel - normal towel will do, more important is change it regularly and don't wash it with normal detergents.
8.Blanket - cotton towel will do the trick
9.Netting - get number 13 will do
10.Rubber matt - if using cotton diaper, yes this is needed.
11.TYT oil - can get few bottles, at least 1 big for house use, small bottle when you are going out.
12. milk bottle(stainless steel or glass ones, avoid plastic) - getting plastic with BPA free will do and do not buy the Avent, sometimes babies don't like it.
13 Mosquito net - repeating stuff
14 baby lotion, rash cream, baby oil - can get anywhere
15 maternity pads for ur wife - 1 bag will be enough, make sure give your wife "sang fa" soup to clear out all the dirty blood.
16 baby bath tub
17 socks and hoods
18 cotton diaper, for daytime usage(disposable ones R expensive, only for nite time)
22. Spare some emergency funds - spend rm1600 in GH for C-sec(if some complications) is better than waste >rm5000 in private hospital will keep your wallet full.

TSda drummer
post Jun 29 2015, 08:42 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jun 29 2015, 02:03 AM)
1.stroller - a cheapest at rm140-180 will do
2.baby seat@car seat - let your baby try it out before decide
3.baby bed - sarong with motor will be a better option most of the time
4.newborn diaper - don't waste money on this, buy S size
5.baby cloth - ask around your friends and relatives
6.mittens - is this North pole?
7.Baby towel - normal towel will do, more important is change it regularly and don't wash it with normal detergents.
8.Blanket - cotton towel will do the trick
9.Netting - get number 13 will do
10.Rubber matt - if using cotton diaper, yes this is needed.
11.TYT oil - can get few bottles, at least 1 big for house use, small bottle when you are going out.
12. milk bottle(stainless steel or glass ones, avoid plastic) - getting plastic with BPA free will do and do not buy the Avent, sometimes babies don't like it.
13 Mosquito net - repeating stuff
14 baby lotion, rash cream, baby oil - can get anywhere
15 maternity pads for ur wife - 1 bag will be enough, make sure give your wife "sang fa" soup to clear out all the dirty blood.
16 baby bath tub
17 socks and hoods
22. Spare some emergency funds - spend rm1600 in GH for C-sec(if some complications) is better than waste >rm5000 in private hospital will keep your wallet full.
nice tips bro..btw, what is sang fa soup?
TSda drummer
post Jun 29 2015, 08:44 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Jun 29 2015, 12:14 AM)
Welcome to parenthood bro  flex.gif

Agree with talexeh can delay on stroller and car seat, wait after yoir baby delivered than only can look for it

yeps...i also consider to buy after deliver..but just want to do some survey n reading.
SUSsupersound
post Jun 29 2015, 10:11 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(da drummer @ Jun 29 2015, 08:42 AM)
nice tips bro..btw, what is sang fa soup?
That's Chinese herbal soup, meant to clear dirty stuffs. If you are not Chinese, I'm pretty sure other races should have such herbs to clear all those dirty stuffs after delivery.
But beware(depending to person to person also), it may cause some serious "blood shed", like normal period only 200-300ml, after drinking this soup may have 2-4X extra. This will really freak you guys out sweat.gif
babymonster
post Jun 29 2015, 07:48 PM

35 posts

sorry for the baby car seat, I beg to differ.. you should get 1 first, because you should use it when you bring your baby home from the hospital... most people will say just carry la (actually very unsafe).. but please don't compromise on safety...
craftsnknots
post Jun 29 2015, 07:56 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(babymonster @ Jun 29 2015, 08:48 PM)
sorry for the baby car seat, I beg to differ.. you should get 1 first, because you should use it when you bring your baby home from the hospital... most people will say just carry la (actually very unsafe).. but please don't compromise on safety...
I agree with this. You should always bring your baby home in a baby/infant car seat, unfortunately many people still carry baby in their hands because in malaysia there is no law stating that they must..

MoonRider
post Jun 29 2015, 08:17 PM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

as father of 3 boys .. below is my suggestion

if you plan to buy baby cloth for 1-6 months .. buy white color ... as it can be re-used for next baby boy or girl

baby car seat you should buy those can fit till 2 years at least .. buy good brand like mine .. can used for 3 kids .. smile.gif

baby stroller .. no need first .. unless u really want to go out jalan.. better dont for 3 months .. baby easy kena virus...

baby bed .. buy those which can convert to normal bed .. to cater till 1 years old .. \

i dont use sarong for my kids .. dont like the idea swinging their otak up and down

playpen .. depends if you want to put at living hall .. else dont waste the space dont buy

bouncer .. buy the big one if you want .. anyway they only used for baby 1-5 months .. as moslty 6 months baby can turn their body so not safe anymore..

toys buy 1-2 from fisher price .. althoug expensive .. but it is safer as baby like to jilat ..

pampers for newborn buy 1 set enough ..the rest can buy s size.. buy it during jusco members day .. cheaper..

maternity pads look for pigeon warehouse sales .. within this few months should get 2 packets

nursing bra .. when got discount can buy after delivered..

This post has been edited by MoonRider: Jun 29 2015, 08:23 PM
talexeh
post Jun 29 2015, 11:43 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
2,965 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Jun 29 2015, 12:14 AM)
Welcome to parenthood bro  flex.gif

Eh... I didn't mention about delaying car seat. Car seat is one of the very first things I bought during my wife's pregnancy. biggrin.gif
braindeath
post Jun 30 2015, 08:21 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jun 29 2015, 11:43 PM)
Eh... I didn't mention about delaying car seat. Car seat is one of the very first things I bought during my wife's pregnancy. biggrin.gif
Owh, sorry on the car seat part, but delaying on the stroller would be good choice

But as for me, even when my baby was 1month, she still wasnt really strong enough to sit on the car seat, what i did was i asked my wife to sit at the back and drive real slow sweat.gif i know still it wasnt safe but that was the only way, before your baby strong enough to actually sit on it....
cadiators
post Jun 30 2015, 08:28 AM

164 posts

For milk bottles, don't buy starter set. U can buy just one bottle to test out to see if it suit your baby. In my case, I have to switch three brand before settling with the right one.
braindeath
post Jun 30 2015, 08:40 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(cadiators @ Jun 30 2015, 08:28 AM)
For milk bottles, don't buy starter set. U can buy just one bottle to test out to see if it suit your baby. In my case, I have to switch three brand before settling with the right one.
May i know why people keep saying they need to change the bottle? I understand if the nipple, but what about the bottle? May i know how do you know when the bottle doesnt suit your baby?

0.0189sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th March 2024 - 03:41 PM