Samsung Galaxy Note 4 Official Thread V9, 5.1.1 Rolling out in Malaysia

benny888
post Jun 27 2015, 07:11 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ Jun 27 2015, 12:25 AM)
No regret to me after buying note 4. After a weeks, s6 price drop like hell. If note 4 price drop like s6,sure i will rage like hell. Lol
The Note4 is already deemed an old phone ...price drop is inevitable. It is in the market since last Sept!!
By year end expect it in the range of 1.5k with Note5 coming up? Will keep it if Note5 rumored as only a 5.5 incher but some sites pointed to possibility of 5.9 inch??
Anyway this Note4 is one of my top 3 favourite phone besides Mate7 n LG G4. It is best phablet with the SPEN. I really miss using the SPEN . It is now my main phone these days.
Dunno whether is a case of long absence using it I do find it on lollipop performs much better than previous kit kat version.
benny888
post Jun 27 2015, 10:08 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Jun 27 2015, 10:00 AM)
The new lollipop is much better than the first update from kk.

I thought sifu said s6edge also nice to use? laugh.gif
S6E display too small for me. I still rate it as best Android I had used to date.
benny888
post Jun 27 2015, 12:43 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(alcali @ Jun 27 2015, 12:36 PM)
Hi Uncle benny888
Did u use/dl xposed framework installer and wanam xposed module from wanam website?
This is what I replied to a PM to me
You must installed the right xposed to avoid bootloop. Once you had flash it be PATIENT and wait for the phone to boot as all your apps will be scanned all over again. It could take a few minutes to fully boot back
Google for this xposed mod file for the Note 4 ( on lollipop)
xposed-sdk21-arm-20150430-arter97-V3.zip
You need to installed the xposed installer apk too :XposedInstaller_3.0-alpha2.apk

Sorry I cannot give you the link as these files I copy out from my phone
Is easy to find it on the web

I download Wanam Xposed app from playstore
benny888
post Jun 27 2015, 05:35 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ Jun 27 2015, 05:16 PM)
Eh i tot your fav phone are lg pro 2?
That is my next 6 incher favourite after Mate7
Best value phone one can buy for rm1.2K now

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 27 2015, 05:40 PM
benny888
post Jun 27 2015, 06:05 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ Jun 27 2015, 05:42 PM)
Ahh i see,so you like huawei model too right? Gonna try P8? Since youre using mate 7,how about the update? Maybe i will honor 6 or 4x for my mom.
HW phones has the worst update . Don't buy HW if updates are important. I had used Mate 6.1, X1 n Mate7 n all similar problem. It's China n Euro sets already 4-5 updates while Msian still zero!!
However HW firmware is very stable n can say has zero bugs n problems. I had tested euro firmwares on Mate7 n seriously don't see any significant difference
benny888
post Jun 27 2015, 07:51 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ Jun 27 2015, 07:21 PM)
Thanks uncle for explanation! Any recommend midrange smartphone for my mom? Right now she using basic samsung phone. This gonna be the first smrtphone for her.
Sorry no idea as I don't follow any mid range smartphone models
benny888
post Jun 28 2015, 11:57 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Tested the reported good Ultimate Kernel v36 but took it down after a day. Simply because after installed I keep having Facebook app Force Closing - cleared its cache/data and it was Ok for a while but FC again . Wondering how a kernel can even affect an app such as Facebook. This kernel is ban in XDA and one need to download from the developer site
Restored back to stock kernel and problem never appear anymore !!
benny888
post Jun 29 2015, 06:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

UMobile is only 3g/h+ at my place n is generally poorer vs Maxis. No LTE yet
If you travel a lot around the country n needs data comnection, think twice before subscribing to UMobile
benny888
post Jun 29 2015, 09:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Jun 29 2015, 09:03 PM)
hello guys... had been read through sweetrom threads in XDA. found out the developer suggested to install an apps/somthing call "3 minit battery".

Can someone explain more about this? What is this about? What purpose?
This is to modify the battery logo. See my task bar as example n screenshot of the app

benny888
post Jun 30 2015, 07:25 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Jun 30 2015, 01:13 AM)
Oh! So it doesn't have any help in saving battery juice, am I right?!

Thanks  thumbup.gif
Agree.. Too many is a problem also. Still prefer Samsung default font. whistling.gif
If phone is rooted many ways to improve battery usage
If unrooted : check those app that need to refresh data as some are often at even 15 minutes. Just change the refresh time to your own convenience. Example is it necessary the weather widget info or any tweeter freds need updating every 15 min?
Greenify pro is quite useless in unrooted phone but you can try ..use the pro version n not the free version
App such as DS battery saver, Juice Defender or Internet commander will help conserve battery drain in standby mode. IC is excellent in my unrooted G4. In standby mode over few hours with 3g/lte on drain is mainly zero n at times hit 1% only.
Disable BT, WiFi, Sync n GPS if you don't need these
There are many other ways n too long to list ...just Google for tips.

benny888
post Jun 30 2015, 04:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(yuckz @ Jun 30 2015, 04:40 PM)
I'm new note 4 user, today I realised that when I slightly shake the phone, it got "tick tick" sound. I Google the problem, some user say it related to camera sensor, and it normal.

Just wonder all user here got same "effect" or I got myself a lemon unit?
Doesn't have such problem at all in my previous n current units
I remember some early users last Sept/Oct did report such problem . However it affected only a few users. If still under wrranty go to service center n had it rectified??
benny888
post Jun 30 2015, 04:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Another highly recommended rom is Simpl. I installed the lite version 3c.
Rom is free of a lot of Samsung bloatware. I had saved about 1gb space installing it
However I did miss a few Samsung app n that I installed back manually from the apk ( search in XDA). Tried restoring back from my Titanium Backup doesn't work at all.
Overall a great n stable rom
I tested CM11 ( based on 5.1.1) out of curiosity the latest 25jun build. As reported the rom failed to recognize n detect simcard!!
Anyway the developer said he will rectify this few days back ?? CM firmware is more stable in those Snapdragon sets
Installing CM would mean all Samsung SPen n it's various unique features are gone. SPen only can be used as stylus only. INITIAL impressions is very very fast n smooth vs TW. Well I would tried again once the simcard problem is solved. Camera also not working too well n as usual CM camera is well below Samsung camera in features.

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 30 2015, 04:56 PM
benny888
post Jul 1 2015, 09:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Jul 1 2015, 09:19 AM)
I haven't flash Simpl yet, but keeping eye on it. How was Simpl Rom work so far? Do you still using it? Battery perfomance compared to Sweet Rom? What kind of Samsung app you use?
Is as good as Sweetrom but much less Samsung bloatware.
Samsung app such as S Voice, Galaxy app
Is my current rom
Battery life didn't really monitor it...it could be slightly better as less bloatware
Test yourself to assess which is a better way
My usage definitely different from you.

benny888
post Jul 1 2015, 09:51 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Jul 1 2015, 09:49 AM)
I wonder if Ultimate Kernel will be working with the rom.. I'm pretty happy with Sweet, but some app still there, and I'm not using it.
Yes ...I am using Ultimate v37 with it
As far as I know all custom kernels can work with any custom rom including stock rom

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 1 2015, 10:00 AM
benny888
post Jul 2 2015, 04:18 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 2 2015, 02:20 PM)
Those who using solid explorer, you guys using classic or the new one ?
I just go update it then found classic and new one hmm.gif
The new one had been there quite some time already. I got email from developer to test when available
But I don't like it's new material like design
Still using the classic version

benny888
post Jul 3 2015, 10:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jul 3 2015, 08:55 AM)
guys.. want to ask... does samsung malaysia bring in note 4 dual sim variant?
No
benny888
post Jul 3 2015, 04:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Telco issues depend on area
At my place best reception n lte downloads is Celcom followed by Maxis ( weak LTE) n Digi ( no LTE at all)
I had converted both my lines to Celcom postpaid n missus line on Maxis ( due expiry Nov)
I had no such telco issues as reported on all the phones I had used to date.
It would be wise to test out other telco using their prepaid cards to determine whether is phone sim module problem

benny888
post Jul 3 2015, 10:06 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Jul 3 2015, 09:49 PM)
faster in term of??

And one question before I flash Sweetrom, is Sweetrom must flash with custom kernel in order to get better battry life?

What kernel is come with Sweetrom actually? Stock kernel, right? If i stick with stock kernel, battery life will still better than stock rom + stock kernel, right?
Sweet rom comes with stock kernel
Battery life dependent on your usage
Battery life on this rom is better than stock rom
You can try custom kernel n tweak it for better battery life . Such stuffs I did only for the older gen phones n no longer for current phones as I find unnecessary. The newer OS since kitkat has improved battery life greatly vs older firmwares

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 3 2015, 10:06 PM
benny888
post Jul 4 2015, 07:20 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 4 2015, 07:24 AM
benny888
post Jul 4 2015, 07:25 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(surefire v LED @ Jul 4 2015, 07:24 AM)
Yes you can tweak the kernel via Synapse - can get it at PlayStore.
I saw all these through synapse.
XDA guide on these gov sketchy only

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:32 PM