6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

AMD Radeon™ Discussion V13, Radeon Software 16.5.3, God Speed

terradrive
post Jun 25 2015, 09:47 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 25 2015, 08:45 AM)
Currently having very bad experience with Sapphire R9 3xx series. sad.gif

The screen just flickers away, often crash and unable to do anything. NOTE : That's on the same system that's able to run GTX 980 Ti and R9 295X2.

I got fed up, did a fresh installation on different SSD, change mobo, RAM, processor, PSU, SATA cables whatever you can think off. Still the same thing.

Windows is 8.1 of course, driver is 15.6 as on the site. Nope, didn't work. 15.5, 15.4, 14.12 also doesn't work.

Now I'm just waiting for PowerColor units to come in and see if it's the brand issue or the Radeon chip itself.

And so far I have problem with R9 390X and R9 390 Nitro from Sapphire. Fury? Well, I haven't plug it in.
Use drivers 15.15 instead, that's for the 300 series IINM

EDIT: AMD sites said 15.6 is for 200 series and below only use this:
http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/P...300-Series.aspx

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jun 25 2015, 09:50 AM
terradrive
post Jun 25 2015, 04:59 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(shikimori @ Jun 25 2015, 04:52 PM)
lol nvm my itchy hand cannot tahan anb bought this instead

Why not custom models that can boost alot straight from the box?
terradrive
post Jun 25 2015, 05:41 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(shikimori @ Jun 25 2015, 05:27 PM)
I'm also getting lower score lol T_T

worst than my 970sli but then again this is just synthetic benchmark

asked for fury x but non of the shop in penang got selling
this is then only 980ti i can find in penang lol sad.gif
980ti is like that de, you need to overclock to match the speed of 970 sli.

Later try overclock and tell us how loud the cooler is haha
terradrive
post Jun 26 2015, 01:15 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jun 26 2015, 01:12 PM)
Anyone notice Hardware.info review of the Fury X? They overclocked the memory. sweat.gif 

Not sure if futtushuppu.  http://us.hardware.info/reviews/6158/19/am...locking-results

That's really high graphics score at 19k. Unseen83 only get less than 17k.
terradrive
post Jun 26 2015, 09:51 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 26 2015, 08:55 PM)
apparently you dude. Even if not ure monitor is doing it with the response rate and bad overdrive i guess.
batman almost done lol.. no jaggies here at 4k.

AA is needed u guys just dont want to accept the fact.
cause the alternative ppl would be comfortable with the amount of vram they have.

anyway end of this banter as it reminiscence the same beginning of whether ssd needed for gaming and 8gb needed for gaming etc..
now everybody is using it and forgot their earlier remarks.
With widely available post processing AA now, I don't think we need to turn off AA anymore. Almost no performance hit and not much VRAM usage for AA...

No stuttering on the batman?
terradrive
post Jun 27 2015, 10:46 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

New trend lol

terradrive
post Jun 27 2015, 01:43 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

http://www.eteknix.com/amd-fury-x-quadfire-results/
Fury X quadfire benchmark, graphics score:

single card: 3946
two cards: 7754 (96.5% performance of single card added)
three cards: 11599 (97.4% performance of single card added)
four cards: 15307 (94.0% performance of single card added)

Wow almost perfect scaling all the way to four cards!

And quad Fury X vs Quad Titan X:

Quad Fury X on Thief:

Quad Titan X on Thief:
terradrive
post Jun 27 2015, 09:28 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jun 27 2015, 09:06 PM)
No Coil whine on my Fury x...  AND i know what Coil whine / Fan rattle sound like.. use to own R9 290x TriX ...
hmm.gif  bro i think Fury X running on Mantle and Titan X DX11, Mantle always give a good /higher Min Fps
It depends, SLI quad doesn't necessary good in giving high min fps too. XDMA crossfire had usually been a better multicard technology than SLI until Nvidia update the SLI in the future.
terradrive
post Jun 27 2015, 09:44 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

Not even one stock of 300 series or Fury X at Kota Kinabalu.

Suddenly there's a single Titan X for sale @RM4799 lol. Feels weird why bring it in instead of 980 Ti.
terradrive
post Jun 28 2015, 04:01 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

I played Dying Light and Son of Rome on my cousin's computer with HD7790.

Oh man, I can't stand it lol, only managed 30-40 fps with lower settings at 1080p. Playing for 60fps for so long ruins me sad.gif
terradrive
post Jun 29 2015, 12:28 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jun 29 2015, 10:58 AM)
RM1759 for 390x seems tempting...powercolor.

Anyone found any better deal?
What GPU are you using now?
terradrive
post Jun 29 2015, 07:22 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jun 29 2015, 06:48 PM)
that guy need Nvidia gpu  thumbup.gif no matter what.. if he install AMD gpu he run into unhappy issues.. so better Go green if you keep runing into issues with current Gpu.
Every time turning on the computer, try check if the catalyst control centre have the memory overclocking unlocked on the Fury X.
That's how the overclocker's forum said when they overclocked the HBM to 600Mhz. You can see if it works.
They said there's bug on the catalyst control centre, every few reboots of the computer the memory overclocking is there unlocked haha.
terradrive
post Jun 30 2015, 11:22 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jun 30 2015, 11:07 AM)
sweat.gif  Which AIB brand of 390x/290x and 390/290 that have problem in your case?

Edit: In case if you guys want to know, the beta VBIOS update from Sapphire disables the VRAM powertune functionality(only two vram power states) as well increasing a little bit voltage to GPU core and VRAM. GPU powertune is retained.

In ASUS vbios though.......asus decided to disable powertune functionality for both gpu core and VRAM in addition to slight increase in voltage for gpu + vram.

AMD actually knows about this issue, which is why the driver automatically load the "fix" once it is installed. But how the hell people install the driver if they can't get pass the black screen in first place. Not many know how to enable integrated GPU in order to install the discrete gpu driver. Those with AMD FX processors are screwed because the fx series doesnt have IGPU.
I had a blackscreen issue too, turns out the problem is my PSU, changed to seasonic and never blackscreened anymore.

Now I can run my card at 1100Mhz core and 1500Mhz memory with only +31mV smile.gif

With the newer Sapphire BIOS for the tri-X 290, opening the Afterburner will reports that the voltage auto configured to +25mV.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jun 30 2015, 11:23 AM
terradrive
post Jun 30 2015, 01:36 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Jun 30 2015, 01:19 PM)
One of my friend said (Electronic background)

How to explain this bill (bill price is dummy data) :

850W PS --> Use 250W ---> Bill is RM 400

500W PS --> use 250W ---> Bill is RM 250

Note : Please ignore other household appliance. We are doing comparison.
It's like this, if both have the same efficiency of 90% then:

850W PS ---> Use 250W ---> 250W divide by 0.9 = 278W from the wall plug @ 12.5 cents per hour (assuming 45 cents per kWh)
500W PS ---> Use 250W ---> 250W divide by 0.9 = 278W from the wall plug @ 12.5 cents per hour (assuming 45 cents per kWh)

It's the same wink.gif

The advantage of 850W PS is it can output more wattage than 500W unit.
How efficient is the power supply depends on how the power supply was built and what rating is has. 80+ Platinum, Gold etc and how it handles on varying temperature. You also have to take into account how efficient the power supply is when handling low power draws.
For example, The 80 Plus Gold standard requires 90% efficiency at 50% of rated load, and 87% efficiency at both 20% load and full rated load. So that means that if the 850W power supply is gold rated standard, it can deliver 87% efficiency from 170W onwards.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jun 30 2015, 01:41 PM
terradrive
post Jun 30 2015, 03:14 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Jun 30 2015, 02:13 PM)
But haven't answer me if the consumption is same, why difference in bill ?
I've already explained.

It all depends on the efficiency rating of the power supply... sweat.gif
terradrive
post Jun 30 2015, 07:51 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 30 2015, 04:39 PM)
I'm running FSP Aurum S 700, Cooler Master V700 and Cooler Master V850. smile.gif All didn't work. For sure not PSU issue because that's the first thing I tried.
Very serious issue.
It's already bad image that AMD is seen as budget brand, now creating more hassle for users.
People buy things so that it'll work, not to figure how to get it to work...
What brand is that 390 and 390X?
terradrive
post Jun 30 2015, 10:18 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(Desprado @ Jun 30 2015, 08:52 PM)
AMD is a budget brand and will remain as a budget brand unless they beat Nvidia in performance , efficiency, Driver, Overclocking and Customer support.
Whatever floats your boat.

I would've regretted getting 780 or 780Ti when I bought my card one and half years ago. To each their own.
terradrive
post Jul 1 2015, 12:10 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

I would like microsoft to buyout AMD.
Let Microsoft do the managing and marketing better.
Also buy Global Foundries too.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jul 1 2015, 12:11 PM
terradrive
post Jul 2 2015, 08:39 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 2 2015, 12:20 AM)
Even without DDU you can uninstall all AMD drivers.

And drivers from the box doesn't necessarily work.

Take for example, R9 380 that I tested from Sapphire. I had all drivers removed so on boot it shows Microsoft Basic Display Adapter.

Install driver from CD, reboot and that's it. Once driver loads it's black screen.

EDITED : sorry I just realize I replied to you earlier. kekeke.
Happened exactly like the same on my cousin's HD7790.
Once the driver loads black screen come out.
But the reason it became like that because the GPU is faulty, it worked fine for 6 months. Now already given another replacement card under warranty and no more problems.
terradrive
post Jul 3 2015, 12:26 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

Banyak orang gaduh pasal ini already lol

Titan X road lines looked to be half transparent, just like on the first image. Is that Alpha channel error? Discounting the black and gray comments, look at the texture. Fury X's road texture looked sharper, the pillar have better shading. Tanks looked sharper on Titan X but textures looked more washed out.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jul 3 2015, 12:27 AM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0584sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:00 AM