4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

AMD Radeon™ Discussion V13, Radeon Software 16.5.3, God Speed

area61
post Jun 24 2015, 10:42 PM

615 posts

I'd say its a tad disappointing that its not able to beat 980ti @ 1440p. With the improvement with respect to the R9 290X, thats huge. But as a competitor to big maxwell, nope. Not helped by gameworks introduction, saving face really. Hope for newer drivers, not betas, couldnt come faster.

nvidia has licked this round. We'll see what happens @ 14/16nm.

If anything at all, this card will be paving way for the new HBM, kudos to AMD for that. Lets see if there will be an OC version of it and how far the AIB partners push it.

No wonder Lisa Su said that the dual GPU Fury is going to be the fastest card ever. With that said, I'm looking forward for Nano now.

This post has been edited by area61: Jun 24 2015, 10:49 PM
area61
post Jun 24 2015, 11:02 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jun 24 2015, 10:56 PM)
Come on come on,release the Nano. laugh.gif
Nano should be around after summer, I'm guessing around August.

QUOTE(Patent @ Jun 24 2015, 10:57 PM)
What's the estimated price of the nano when it reach here? hmm.gif
I'm guessing it might be similarly priced to the R9 390X
area61
post Jun 25 2015, 03:04 AM

615 posts

If the card is cool i dont see the issue of needing thermal pads or anything being stuck to the backplate..

Card hardly goes above 50 degrees. Pretty sure AMD that has the expertise to design such a complex chip would know whether or not to add thermal pads to the back plate
area61
post Jun 25 2015, 10:39 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jun 25 2015, 10:02 PM)
when you think ubi emas gonna fin his benchmark... ?? ? i'm curious... and hoping he do better than me smile.gif as i think Fury X is limited by 1,125Mhz...
Are you still selling your R9 290X?
area61
post Jun 26 2015, 07:54 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jun 26 2015, 06:02 AM)
I'm in the same boat as you. Especially the bolded part. The problem is newer games are...boring. Apart from amazing graphics the gameplay/game mechanics/storyline are boring. My highly anticipated game this year is GTA V, because I'm enjoyed San Andreas very very much I never watch a single gameplay or anything related to it before it was released to PC. When it finally out, I find the game lackluster. Amazing graphics yes, but it lacks the fun San Andreas brings. Some mission is just a re-spin from it so there is nothing new regarding it. For the record I finished San Andreas six times, from start to finish, on GTA V I haven't finished the first one yet. The only amazing new games I find interesting these past few years is Metro series. I love the original 2033, the atmosphere, the story, the graphics, it's a rare mix of those three making the game amazing. Game mechanics are a bit wonky where stealth are literally broke in the game but they fixed it in new Redux. Looking ta E3 this year the upcoming games aren't that interesting. Doom 4 looks meh (I love Doom3 BTW despite a lot of hate), Fallout 4 looks exactly like older Fallout, might play this one.

I'm too waiting for next Zen APU to comes out. Hoping they will put the HBM on it. If they really do I can say goodbye to discrete graphics. Even with 500MHz 1024-bit bus first gen HBM netted 128GB/s, a massive improvement over 34GB/s bandwidth from dual channel 2133MHz DDR3 memory.
You are absolutely right..i cant recall how many times i replayed the old splinter cell series and nfs most wanted...altho i loved gta v, i dont think im gonna play it back again..dont get me started on watch dogs..

Of all the current games...only back list for me has the highest replay value..waiting to see how underground 3 turns out to be
area61
post Jun 26 2015, 11:17 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jun 26 2015, 11:07 PM)
AMDMatt Fury X Quadfire.

Sauce: https://twitter.com/themattb81 | http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/394261...pport-engineer/
Now thats a view I will never have
area61
post Jun 28 2015, 12:08 PM

615 posts

Kinda hard getting a used r9 290 now..damn the prices arent going down as fast as i want

On the other hand triple a title batman has been pulled off! Any idea if its going to be fixed and redeployed or they are just going to dump pc gamers?
area61
post Jun 28 2015, 12:20 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 28 2015, 12:15 PM)
might due to the new series pricing is not touching those r290 series 2nd hand pricing. and most seems no point upgrading to r390x if you have 290s unless gunning for Fury series  smile.gif

for batman, i dont think any1 have idea except those dev. best is to wait for redeploy since there are working on it. (i hope they port from ground up instead of fixing the current port).
Hold your gun as i believe you still have alot of backlog.....(who doesn't  whistling.gif  laugh.gif )
QUOTE(shikimori @ Jun 28 2015, 12:15 PM)
to be honest I don't really see any issues with the new batman game . Yes , there are minor stutters but not that frequent other than that the game plays great
Well since Batman has been pulled off, i can still wait to purchase R9 290 till its redeployed..on the other hand, dang that Asus GTX 970 Turbo is a fine ass white looking card..off topic tongue.gif
area61
post Jun 28 2015, 12:23 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jun 28 2015, 12:19 PM)
what your budget for used R9 290 ? i got on sale i think is lowest... Trix is sold as minute i open threads.. x only Vapor X but look for Trix r9 290..  i saw on sale RM800-850

x
did u manage to buy batman before it was pull steam ?
The best offer i got for used reference R9 290 was RM 650..but seller havent replied my messages so thats that

Typically i dont do pre sales pre order bullcrap..Its going to be half baked upon release..might as well wait for fall sales..or i could get it from my local game store
area61
post Jun 28 2015, 12:35 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jun 28 2015, 12:29 PM)
if your going for Reference r9 290 please note that it is Loud Turbo v8 engine in that...  unless your planing to add custom wc...  by way what your current LCD Resolution ? PSU ?

x
good for you.. well i order w3 day it got on sale tongue.gif lol turn out OKAY..
Well i dont mind the type of card..as long as the price is right..Im on 1080p thats good enough for me as I dont wanna burn tons of cash on more expensive cards just need a card that can get some AA on them

Price/perf is my sweet spot..was itching to get a GTX 970 after i saw that white Asus..but im not going to see real world difference at 1080p with a GTX 970 or R 9 290 so better i get the cheaper one
area61
post Jun 28 2015, 12:45 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jun 28 2015, 12:41 PM)
what your psu...
Currently using silverstone strider 500w..changing soon to fsp raider 650w
area61
post Jun 28 2015, 01:16 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jun 28 2015, 01:09 PM)
Yup,IdealTech are bringing it in too. nod.gif

This looks to be the cheapest R9 390X

area61
post Jun 28 2015, 01:55 PM

615 posts

area61
post Jun 28 2015, 07:28 PM

615 posts

Update on Arkham Knights

Rocksteady has released a list of things they are working on in an attempt to get Batman: Arkham Knight to a playable state.

Below is the list of the key areas where we are dedicating our resources to improve the experience for our loyal fans:

Support for frame rates above 30FPS in the graphics settings menu

While we work on improving performance, we will also continue to make interim patches available to address issues for those still playing the game on PC. The first patch is being released now and the updates include:
Fixed a crash that was happening for some users when exiting the game
Fixed a bug which disabled rain effects and ambient occlusion. We are actively looking into fixing other bugs to improve this further
Corrected an issue that was causing Steam to re-download the game when verifying the integrity of the game cache through the Steam client
Fixed a bug that caused the game to crash when turning off Motion Blur in BmSystemSettings.ini. A future patch will enable this in the graphics settings menu
We would like to thank our fans for their patience and invaluable feedback. We will continue to monitor and listen for any additional issues.

http://www.hardocp.com/news/2015/06/27/upd...ht#.VY_Z-PmqpBc
area61
post Jun 28 2015, 08:21 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jun 28 2015, 07:33 PM)
4K (Theif) R9 fury X  Very High setting all switch on or very high..

4K (Tomb Raider) Ultimate setting all on

bro requesting you to post up GTA V numbers if can
area61
post Jun 28 2015, 09:16 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jun 28 2015, 08:53 PM)
GTA V got built in bench ? .. i go check it out see if i can screen capture it.  icon_rolleyes.gif

add-on: eh i found benchmark but how to screen capture it.. it go on bench than it restart the game unsure.gif

edit : Check goldfry he got it.. i gonna try shadow of mordor  biggrin.gif
there is a log file generated in the save files u can pull the numbers from there

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 28 2015, 09:10 PM)
Numbers posted since last week, not here though. biggrin.gif

http://www.goldfries.com/hardware-reviews/...ic-card-review/
fries, do you have 980Ti numbers as well? Fury is very slow even to a GTX 980 on 1080p
area61
post Jun 28 2015, 09:23 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 28 2015, 09:19 PM)
I screwed up in my GTX 980 Ti bench and the card left my lab already.

The thing I hate about GTA V is that the settings keep CHANGING.

You can set it to whatever you want but once the game detects a card of different specs, it will adjust to the setting that works best with the card.

In my case, the V-sync was enabled and I didn't realize so the speed was capped.

From my observation - the GTX 980 Ti wins hands down on GTA V results. Take what you have on GTX 980 and add 5% to 10%.
for the bolded part, was it for the Fury review or GTX 980Ti?
The weird thing is that the 8GB R9 390X was pretty much tied in GTA v to GTX 980 ~ based on guru3d's number hmm.gif
area61
post Jun 28 2015, 09:40 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jun 28 2015, 09:37 PM)
eh is this it .. [attachmentid=4511363]
Yeah thats the one.
area61
post Jun 29 2015, 01:00 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jun 29 2015, 12:30 PM)
850W corsair.

EDIT: I misread. Haha. Currently using 7850. But I am contemplating whether to go for 390x or 390...the difference is minute.
The 390 seems to outperform the 290X as well. I'd say a tie with the GTX 970 minus the power consumption
area61
post Jun 30 2015, 08:46 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jun 30 2015, 07:58 PM)
dragon ball MSI as always since late 90 problematic until now.. actually shouldn't be a problem to buy 390/390x if wanna build new rig from new users or upgrading from old gpu.

those owned xeon processor w/o discrete graphic would be very leceh with 390/390x

Sapphire & PowerColor the only brands can be trusted.
fries unit of R9 390X is Sapphire, so...Starting to seem as though the Hawaii chips are pushed to the max here..

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0223sec    1.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:18 AM