Nokia N80 Club Reborned!, Continue all our discussion here...

xtracooljustin
post Sep 12 2006, 11:12 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

anybody know wats da latest price for a Zitron N80? i travel btw KL-JB often so if i buy da phone from KL n if i hav any problem, can i send to any Zitron/Nokia Centre in JB to claim warranty?

Or must i go back to da same shop where i bought it from?

Also Mobile World magazine specify that da N80 got no FM radio tuner. is true?
xtracooljustin
post Sep 13 2006, 11:50 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Sep 13 2006, 07:50 AM)
No FM radio???? Bro, u must never read Mobile World magazine ever again!! tongue.gif If N80 has no FM radio tuner, then how is it possible for me to listen to 988, Hitz FM on my N80???  biggrin.gif of cause it has!!!  thumbup.gif
i quote Mobile World magazine la... who would hav known that da magazine got mistake also?

wanna ask wats da audio n video files formats supported on da phone? hav to ask da users here...dun dare read from magazines or review liao.

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Sep 13 2006, 12:01 PM
xtracooljustin
post Sep 13 2006, 02:58 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Sep 13 2006, 01:16 PM)
It supports 3GP, MP4...AVI format is possible with SmartMovie software installed.
wat bout audio formats? wma n wmv format can or not?

by da way, from u guys experience, which brand 1GB memory card best compatible wif N80 wif regards to loading speed n not lagging?
xtracooljustin
post Sep 13 2006, 03:28 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

Thanks Survivor. but wat is OEM. No specific brand name? N80 can cope wif 2GB?

Thanks to all notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Will be getting a N80 in da not too distant future.
xtracooljustin
post Sep 15 2006, 04:01 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

anybody bought this phone recently? can comment how much u bought it for (AP, Zitron, watever) and where u bought it from?
xtracooljustin
post Sep 15 2006, 12:28 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

a fren from a klang h/p shop quoted me RM1850 for an AP N80.

dun think i'll take up that offer... cant afford to go back klang if got any problem... (i study in JB tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Sep 15 2006, 05:21 PM
xtracooljustin
post Sep 19 2006, 02:36 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(butthafly @ Sep 19 2006, 02:17 AM)
went to a phone shop yesterday
and asked about the N80.
Almost picked it.

but the shop guy said
"personally I won't encourage you to buy N80. It's because the phone is so powerful that the movie is in MP5 file and other phones couldnt read this file. So does the pictures. It's so high in megapixel that other phones can't support it."

Is this true?sad.gif
i think N80 record movies in .3GP format n not MP5. and i dun c wat "high in megapixel that other phones can't support it" has got to do wif ur phone.
xtracooljustin
post Sep 25 2006, 05:21 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(butthafly @ Sep 23 2006, 08:36 PM)
so truly N80 doesn't have the 3G?  blink.gif
that same magazine also told me that N80 got no FM radio tuner. they must hav hired fools as editors in da mag.
xtracooljustin
post Oct 15 2006, 02:51 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

can anybody list down what are the items in a complete sales package? Nokia website dun seem to have that list.

dun wan to buy and miss any accessories laugh.gif
xtracooljustin
post Oct 15 2006, 03:43 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(unamed @ Oct 15 2006, 03:05 PM)
Mine is clear.
Sales Package
Nokia N80- colors available: Smooth stainless, Pearl black
Nokia Charger (AC-4)
Nokia Charger Adapter (CA-44)
Nokia Battery (BL-5B)
Nokia Stereo Headset (HS-23)
Nokia Connectivity Cable (CA-53)
128 MB miniSD memory card
Nokia Audio Adapter (AD-15)
ah thanks so much. but wat is the audio adapter for? and the nokia connectivity cable, has one USB end rite?
xtracooljustin
post Oct 17 2006, 02:54 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

just got my N80 from SG today. A used unit, which was originally bought in June 2006. S$590 which is about RM1380. Dun really mind it being used as long as its cheap. Im waiting for the N95 anyways. Yippie...

Anybody can recommend where to download or watever useful program to install?

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Oct 17 2006, 02:56 AM
xtracooljustin
post Oct 19 2006, 01:38 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

just go to services>options>settings>access point>always ask.

by doing this, evytime u wan to connect to a particular website, the phone will search for available access points, either 3G, GPRS etc. from then on there'll b an option "search for WLAN".

click that to c a list or WLAN around ur area. simple.

and yes, the N80 comes wif light sensor. if im not mistaken its at ur secondary camera. try covering it in bright daylight n ur keypads will light up. leave it uncovered n ur keypads wont light up. nice technology wink.gif

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Oct 19 2006, 01:40 PM
xtracooljustin
post Nov 10 2006, 03:55 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

on my previous phone nokia 6230, i could display da phone numbers under my contacts name in the Phonebook section.

i've browse all options but it seems N80 doesnt have that option to show phone numbers besides da names. Dunno y, cos I always like to have a look at da number before making a call or sending sms. heh heh.... wish it could be done on da N80.
xtracooljustin
post Nov 11 2006, 12:17 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

yes. but u can send anywhere as long u pay for da repairs.

but da repairs could be quite expensive if dun repair at da shop u bought from.
xtracooljustin
post Nov 11 2006, 10:28 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

i bought mine from Sg, there's no such thing as AP or oris there. All phones are from Nokia and all warranties covered by Nokia. heck u can even buy any phone from there and tell da dealers not to fill in da warranty. U can have pretty much an unlimited warranty til da first time u sent in ur phone for repairs.

But FYI< u can now update ur phone online by urself.

But locally, AP is going for bout RM1600 and oris for about Rm2300.

Check a few forummers price list, Amedion etc.

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Nov 11 2006, 10:33 PM
xtracooljustin
post Nov 11 2006, 11:33 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

anybody knows how does it take to update da phone leh?

Seems to take forever.

and doesnt da update file size of 72.9 MB seem a little to big for our N80's phone memory?

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Nov 11 2006, 11:40 PM
xtracooljustin
post Nov 13 2006, 11:35 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

n80's 3.0 MP camera is nothing much to shout about. looks good on da phone but once da pic is uploaded on da PC, its horrible.

if u like da N80 all rounded abilities then N80 is for u. IF not get any phone but da N80 if u da camera matters a lot to u.
xtracooljustin
post Nov 15 2006, 11:51 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

Synovate? da only market intelligence company i know from IGB towers are Asia Market Intelligence (AMI).

So are you guys for real or is this a scam?
xtracooljustin
post Nov 17 2006, 01:22 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(Masterq @ Nov 16 2006, 08:46 PM)
Plan to get N80 next month, i heard my friend said, this phone also hang. It's true??
hang once in a blue moon when running on Version 3.xx

now nvr hang (so far la) on version 4.xx.

xtracooljustin
post Nov 17 2006, 08:00 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

Anybody knows what does the Media Player option do when i connect my phone to da PC using da USB cable?

It goes into offline mode if you choose that option.

0.0429sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:23 AM