[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System

Bobby C
post Dec 12 2017, 03:17 PM

663 posts

Wow lot of info here. Got bombarded by 2 water filter vendors during Homedec near Sunway last Sunday. Better do more research than just listening to sale talk.

Looking for outdoor filter and indoor filter if necessary for a landed house.

Sand filter by Waterco quite reasonable. UF quoted by Nesh quite pricey if auto flush. Too troublesome to do daily manual flushing. Thinking of sand filter for outdoor with UF only for drinking tap. Or any better solution out there?
Bobby C
post Dec 12 2017, 05:58 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 7 2016, 05:38 PM)
A little info for your thesis, NESH water filters are not NSF tested or certified.
Nesh sales guy claimed they export to Oz. So when I asked them for certification he cant provide, said only Sirim, other certs with management .. hehe. Only found out of this NSF thingy in lowyatt. Anyway, if export international need international standard ma Sirim how to pakai. laugh.gif

Anyway, their explanation on their UF filter do make sense. More holes compares competitors hence easier for flushing and backwash.

If use UF at outdoor water quality must be very clean so no need indoor filter?
Bobby C
post Dec 12 2017, 06:04 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(Ch33r @ Dec 12 2017, 03:42 PM)
External water sand filter. This one.
What brand is this? Any specs or cert?
Bobby C
post Dec 13 2017, 03:25 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 12 2017, 10:07 PM)
Exactly.
Wah Bro.. long time no see since we all deserted the Swiftlets Thread.

My opinion on point of entry filter is that, don't buy the old tech sand filter. Use this PP filter.
Secure Back wash  RM468 @ 11Street and replacement cartridge only RM48. It's built-in bask wash design is very neat and interesting, you don't need to instal messy external piping and control valves for the backwash. No need call people to change the sand media and no more fine sand blocking the faucet.   

As for point of use (PoU) filter, depending on your usage, buy any reasonable priced and certified filter will do. Avoid any smart PoU filter that requires AC current and has electronic chip board which is prone to power surge damage.
Time to return to swiftlet tread bro. Price up already. laugh.gif

Sounds like you have lot of knowledge on water filter. Need to do lot of reading than listen to sales talk. laugh.gif

Any comment on Aqua UF water filter?
Bobby C
post Dec 13 2017, 07:24 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 1 2016, 04:14 PM)
My mom house changed to membrane outdoor filter is work far better than the sand filter we had before.  I think in Malaysia, is unavoidable to pay tax, toll, and water filter.
Good feedback here. Klang valley lap sap water sand filter seem lot of issues.
Bobby C
post Jan 24 2018, 10:10 AM

663 posts

Been searching around for water filter. Notice lot of overpriced water filters in the market, many local assemble and internal cartridge made in China selling >3k which IMO overpriced.

Found this surprisingly low profile GE filter currently giving pretty good offer. External sand filter package with internal carbon filter promo below $1900. Cartridge made in China though but with NSF certificates. If US made then >3k at least still cheaper than 3M.

GE is probably one of the largest co in the world, will get sue if try hanky panky. They are quite famous in industrial water filtration but surprising quite low profile in domestic market.

Just to share from consumer perspective. Not sales talk. Pls give feedback too in you come across GE water filter.

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Jan 24 2018, 10:11 AM
Bobby C
post Jan 24 2018, 07:00 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 24 2018, 02:40 PM)
GE Appliances is now a Haier company. I suppose water filter is under GE Appliances, so no surprise if the cartridge is made in China.

You can verify GE's NSF claim here.
http://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/
Thanks bro for info.

Got to use magnifying glass to check all the fine print.

Lot of misinformation out there .. rclxub.gif
Bobby C
post Jan 30 2018, 06:55 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Jan 30 2018, 04:32 PM)
Ok, this time I will post without any links or any sales.

My background is water treatment. I worked in Canada, USA and South America on various water treatment projects mainly RO projects though. I was also appointed by one of my employers to go to establish manufacturing in China, which didn't go well, but whatever.

So what a good home system must have? Right now we're talking about 3 stage system only. Why 3 stage? Surprisingly, it's the most economical and easy solution. You can do 2 stage as well, but it's not worth it, I'll explain why.

Stage 1 MUST be a sediment filter. It's cheap and it takes the first hit and you should replace it often (3-6 month). There are 3 types, string, pleated and melt blown. Just use the melt blown one. Cost for a good, USA made one is roughly 20 RM, change it 3 times a year. So 60RM yearly for this one. Choose 1 or 5 micron (I prefer 5 for better flow)

If your system doesn't have a sediment filter as a first stage, then all the large kaka goes to your first filter and reduces it's lifetime and performance dramatically.

Stage 2 is your main filter. Normally it's sub-micron, hollow membrane or other technology (in USA they don't even make UF, they have other sub-micron filters). This is the heart of your system and it's also must have. Make sure it removes: bacteria, viruses, cyst, lead, arsenic, ferrous iron, mercury, pharmaceuticals and plastics. Pretty much everything except: fluoride, chlorine, bromine, iodine and VOC. Change once per year. Roughly 160-200RM for a very good one (US made)!

Stage 3 is your carbon block. This will remove chlorine, bromine, iodine and VOC. Change once a year, roughly 80-100RM for a very good one (US made, coconut activated carbon).

So you're looking at 300-350RM per year worth of outstanding quality filters.
So see the logic here: first, remove large particles. Then, remove all nasty stuff such as bacteria and heavy metals, then get rid of bad taste and odor.

What's left? Normally it will be minerals and fluoride. But, sometimes you still have a bad taste, how come? Answer is chloramine. Nasty nasty stuff. Widely used in USA now instead of or together with chlorine, but can also form if ammonia is present in your water. You need a special chloramine carbon block and these are not cheap. EVEN THE BEST SYSTEM without chloramine filter will produce nasty water. Chloramine is not removed by any UF or sub-mic or anything else. If you have chloramine, your cost of carbon block (stage 3) becomes close to 160-200RM.

So say you don't have chloramine and let's assume you don't have any radiation (unless it's well water, hopefully not). Then what's left is fluoride. They do add crappy fluoride to our water in USA and in Malaysia (Western Europe banned it for example). You need a special filter if you want to get rid of it, so an extra stage. I personally don't care, but choice is yours.

Now to plastic leaching. If components of your system (not filters, but everything else) are made God knows where, then there are high chances that they leach chemicals into your water. Anything before stage 2, we don't care, since our stage 2 will take care of it, but anything after it goes straight to your cup. So know where each and every COMPONENT that touches the water is made. (example, does your faucet contain lead? if yes, then what's the point if filtering out all the lead before?)

Last but not least, I HIGHLY recommend a system with standard housings and filters. We call them 2.5 by 10, 2.5 by 20 and so on. Even if the manufacturer of your system jacks up the price for replacement cartridges or goes out of business, you can always buy cartridges from reputable US companies at reasonable prices.

This is it for now. If you have any questions, please let me know smile.gif
rclxms.gif good info out there.

I was offered GE sand filter as stage-1 filter install at the main intake to the house after metering while Stage-2 carbon filter as drinking water. Carbon filter (understand 0.5 micron) was made in China with NSF cert while option US made one is much more expensive.

Any comments? Need to find out the model number though if you need.

Better hear from the professional than sales ..

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Jan 30 2018, 06:57 PM
Bobby C
post Feb 2 2018, 01:45 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Jan 30 2018, 07:40 PM)
Please PM me what was the offer. GE filter as stage 1 is what, 5 micron Puretrex? I need to know sizes that were offered. Assuming it's BB housings (4.5 by 20 inches?). PM me all details and we'll see.

Actually, from my experience, whole house systems rarely make sense, unless your water is horrible or you have like 5 bathrooms and 2 kitchens. Simply because you'll be using filtered water to flush toilets, wash driveways and your car etc.

And closer your filters are to the outlet better it is. Normally.
GE Pentair POE looks like this.

While the internal filter for drinking quality like the following link:-

http://www.cyaindustries.com/product/gsbf-1750-s-11/

What you said is true. Install for the entire house doesnt make sense hence think sand filter good enough if installed at the main and easier for maintenance / backwash I suppose. While drinking water go for premium ones. Too bad rm weak otherwise 3M no need hassle to search and research further.

Got bombard by the local sales team when approached them during the exhibition. Found out little bit more about ultra filtration. They recommend UF install at main intake but as you said not making sense. For washing and flushing toilet also 0.5micron or lower for what which is excessive and insane. Hope I am wrong, looks more like marketing gimmick for the rich and ignorant. When asked more about certification and details on the filters many will not tell the full stories where the source. UF will require daily flushing so lot of wastage and maintenance. So total easily cost 3.5k including timer to install UF for a terraced house which does not come with NSF certification which I think excessive in terms of cost, design, water quality etc etc.

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Feb 2 2018, 01:53 PM
Bobby C
post Feb 2 2018, 05:07 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(oyching88 @ Feb 2 2018, 03:54 PM)
UF, RO or membrane are always waste of water, daily flushing is insane.
POE filter sand media is good enough, easy maintenance and long lasting.
Correct.

RO is never suitable for drinking. Wonder why so many RO drinking machine out there?

UF install at main intake to the house where many vendors are promoting right now is insane. Only for rich and ignorant sorry be blant. Kena bombard by too much sales talk bit gila liau rclxub.gif Pls dont advise pangsai pun use UF quality punya water ya. Still sane not gila yet ... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Feb 2 2018, 05:16 PM
Bobby C
post Feb 6 2018, 09:17 AM

663 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Feb 3 2018, 09:37 PM)
It's first time in my life I see someone backwashing melt blown filter. Not a good idea at all. You wash melt blown once and it's performance decreases by a lot. Melt blowns are never meant for backwash or any kind of wash, they're cheap and should be replaced regularly (like every 3-6 months!)

This is in fact 4.5" by 10" housing, slightly weird design so that you can only use their filter (my guess, maybe any filter will fit).

You can just get a standard 4.5" by 10" housing and install high quality pleated polyester in it. It will be just a little bit more expensive, but your flow will be much better, it will last longer and it will not degrade significantly for whole 2 years. But even pleated polyester, just take it our and quickly wash, no need to backwash.

Yes, this size might be too small for a full house, but also feasible if you don't use much water.

Price breakdown (approximate):

1. Housing with pressure release valve - 250RM

2. Quality pleated polyester 5 micron - 150RM (NSF, US made, washable, 2-3 years service life)

3. If you absolutely want melt blown filter for some weird reason, then good NSF one will cost roughly 50RM. But no way it can last 2 years. Change at least every 6 month or even more often depending on water quality.
So yes, all in all this is what I described before, just smaller and uses melt blown for some reason. For "whole house" solutions always use pleated polyester, for drinking water filters can use melt blown if change often.
Now, when they tell you ("they" including me) "it will last 3 months, 6 months etc. These are just AVERAGE numbers. It may last 1 month or 3 years depending on how bad is your water and how much of it you use. So how to determine???

The ONLY way is to install pressure gauges before and after the filter. So with new filter, the drop in pressure will be say 3 psi. 3 months after, the drop becomes 10, at 13-15 it's time to change (or wash in case of pleated polyester), means your filter is clogged. You can buy cheapest gauges, you don't care how accurate, only care to see difference in readings.
Pressure gauge is the industrial way of monitoring pressure drop for filters, strainers, pipes etc. Technically correct thumbup.gif . But layman will only appreciate indicators and schedule. Layman should learn more so not to fallen to sales talks. For domestic use not sure easily available. Need to check around major hardware shops.

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Feb 6 2018, 09:18 AM
Bobby C
post Feb 7 2018, 11:04 AM

663 posts

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Feb 7 2018, 11:05 AM
Bobby C
post Feb 13 2018, 02:56 PM

663 posts

Too many marketing gimmick in the market. Got to thank Hestati for the educational part. May be you can elaborate more on the need of chlorine in the water tank for disinfection purposes hence RO or UF is not recommended at point of entry POE to the house.

I too got bombarded by sales talk over the months and understand more how they push the sale. Businessmen will offer whatever the market demand, not what the market need. They will offer the 'best' with the 'best price' for especially for the kiasu. The more kiasu the merrier, the easier to push up the price. So long the market is convince this is the Best for your family, they will pay. Best is if you sign up maintenance contract with them like D.. water, no brainer $ making machine. Everyone like free and easy, tell us the best, we just compare the 'best' and easiest type we will pay. Few years back lot of Diamxxx water right? Hardly heard about them nowadays. Discovered recently in the exhibition from one of the sales guy that his boss was boss of Dxxx water, now gone into coffee making machine .. same concept monthly/yearly contract and they use Starbuck coffee to convince their price cheaper .. lucky aint Starbuck coffee fans else might have signed up thumbup.gif

Another eg.the latest water heater in the market some local brand offer DC motor version. Wonder what's the need of DC motor in a water heater?? Price double compares to AC. DC is more dangerous than AC (recently many case of death due to electrocution caused by handphone charger) and now they put DC into the water heater. Wonder comply with international standards. Anyway, off topic.

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Feb 13 2018, 04:27 PM

0.2073sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:43 AM